Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. On its own merits, Galactic Wrestling is a solid grappler. But anyone hoping for a real step forward from the first Ultimate Muscle game is going to be a bit disappointed.
  2. Infuses even more fun and cartoonish, over-the-top action into the pro wrestling genre, but the single-player action is, unfortunately, short-lived. [July 2004, p.34]
  3. 70
    While the new game-engine changes are a definite added welcome, glitches and all, the omissions of the Story and Create-A-Wrestler modes leave this title rather pale and without substance compared to teh GameCube edition. [Aug 2004, p.68]
  4. 7 / 6 / 7 / 6 - 26 [Vol 802; 30 Apr 2004]
  5. A solid grappler, if a little pointless … it's fairly easy to see everything the game has to offer in a very short time. The fact that the only way to unlock many fighters is to repeatedly play through the same modes ultimately proves tiring, rather than bringing out the completist in you. [Aug 2004, p.105]
  6. Just a reheated serving of the Cube's "Ultimate Muscle" which was released last year. Taken on its own merit, it's not a bad wrestling game but it doesn't take the series any further, in fact it appears to take it down a notch or two.
  7. Some of the better moves defy gravity and reason—such as the four-man pile driver. The game doesn't reveal who these freaks are or why they're fighting, but extensive research has revealed they're based on a line of rubber toys and a disturbing '80s TV show.
  8. 60
    The gonzo characters and action have a certain allure, but since the game doesn’t provide much context, how you feel about the game’s unique look could easily make or break it for you.
  9. The lack of a career mode and create-a-wrestler (both considered genre norms) makes Bandai's grappler one of the shallowest wrasslin' titles out there. [July 2004, p.98]
  10. Gone are the cel-shaded cartoon graphics, replaced with rougher texture-mapped models that lack the same action-figure sheen. [July 2004, p.90]
  11. After [a dozen or so matches], Galactic Wrestling's lack of depth creeps in, followed by boredom. [July 2004, p.96]
  12. This game stinks. That's really all there is to it. [July 2004, p.115]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. RappingVegabond
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    Yo yo sucka dis game here be so tite, Yo, it give me mad fright! It got all dat with it's shine and luster, Break you back in tha Yo yo sucka dis game here be so tite, Yo, it give me mad fright! It got all dat with it's shine and luster, Break you back in tha Kinnikubuster! This game is awesome, buy it, is that too much to ask? Or do you wanna bleed, onsluaghted by tha Robin Mask? The action so fast it real shocken;, Heil to my home boy, Junior Broken! This game serves it sweet just like a masta chef, Get it now and support da IWF! Full Review »
  2. DanB.
    Jun 18, 2004
    10
    Brill.
  3. ScottS.
    Jun 11, 2004
    10
    It's great im a big wrestling game fan and i didn't think it would be any good but i was proved wrong when i got on it and deliverdIt's great im a big wrestling game fan and i didn't think it would be any good but i was proved wrong when i got on it and deliverd super moves from what seems like 100 feet in the air its just great fun and i recomend it to anyone. Full Review »