• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 13, 2007
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 448 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 448

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    This game was very well designed. The story was compelling and I enjoyed playing this game. The best game on the PlayStation 2 in my opinion. The sound effects were awesome, the different fights were designed masterfully and always kept me guessing. Overall, had a good time.
  2. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    Some of the artwork in God of War II is utterly breathtaking, showcasing the true limit of the PS2's graphical capabilities. Boss fights are reminiscent of old Nintendo games such as Jet Force Gemini and Zelda: OoT. A spectacular sequel in terms of storyline (a rarity of any medium) and gameplay.
  3. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    A damn near perfect game. It's easily one of the greatest games ever. I'm not sure how Santa Monica topped themselves, but they did. The first was amazing and this is just even more so
  4. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = One of the greatest action games of all-time. This game is pure genius. Six words "Epic Sky Battle With Flying Pegasus"!!
  5. May 25, 2011
    9
    This is what a sequel should be, bigger and better than the original in every way possible, the set pieces are epic, the story is interesting, the combat is once again flawless, the boss fights are more epic in scale, and the graphics are AMAZING!!! I'm amazed the PS2 is capable of these amazing visuals, the sound is just as good as the original, this game once again makes you feel like a bad ass, my only complaint and the only thing keeping this from a perfect 10, is that it slows down the epic moments for a little while near the end of the game, but picks up the pace to awesome again later, but if you like the first one, you'll love this, it's better in every way. Expand
  6. May 16, 2011
    10
    a fantasy made real. Best game on the console,it's a game the makes the ps2 proud in every way. With breath taking graphics,awesome boss battle and a combat system to die for it's definitely a 10/10
  7. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    god of war II is a true masterpiece and a perfect example of a good sequel. It improves upon its predecessor in every way imaginable and proves a stellar experience which is remembered for years to come.
  8. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    God of War 2 is one of the best action games to be made and is a significant improvement over the first game as it contains more content, is longer, a deeper storyline and a better character development. You will enjoy the sheer difficulty of the game, the improved battle system and new mechanics that revolve around the puzzle aspects of the game and you will enjoy the lush visuals that the game has as it brings out the best of what the PS2 can do. Expand
  9. Mar 4, 2012
    6
    I played it once and I played it again untill the end... But God of War 2 in my honest opinion, despite having a great art design and sound track, it's a game that cleary relies more in flashy moves, blood and gore resulting in a game full of show but lacking of substance.
  10. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    A great sequel, better than the original. The combat system is still a great button masher. One guy said prince of persia has a bad combat system and devil may cry is retarded... Well, prince of persia warrior within has a very good combat system (not as good as god of war's though) and devil may cry 3 has the best combat system I've ever seen, it's like the best hack'n'slash game. If you button mash on devil may cry 3, YOU WILL LOSE. It's really deep and requires skill, while god of war 2 even on the hardest modes is not that hard. It's one of the best games of PS2, anyway. Expand
  11. Feb 3, 2012
    3
    First off God of War 2 is way too short. the game takes about 8 hours to beat and is fun for the first 30 minutes. The game centers around Kratos the new god of war and his revenge plan to kill Zeus because he got tricked. Kratos is a moron because the gods are his family so he ends up killing his whole family again. The combat and moves are flashy and repetitive, the magic in this game is almost useless, the "puzzles" are really easy, and the boss battles take no time what so ever. this game takes thing from other games like Rygar and Devil May Cry like the rage of the titans and the orbs. the only reason this game is as popular as it is, is because of the blood, gore, and flashy moves. i didnt know pressing a button at the right time made you a badas* Expand
  12. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    It sounds like nothing can step in front of Kratos. This time Sony and SCEA have succeeded to gave us more than we can imagine. That's how you wanna cause.
  13. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    this is the best episode of the series god of war.Kratos back again with new powers such as golden fleece, amulet of moires and many other powers, but I regret that the enchainnement stops pas.ce which is extraordinary is the logical continuation of that God of War I ends with the death of Ares.il are also new powers and it is still good for fuchi terrace Giants. it deserves a 10/10.
  14. May 7, 2012
    10
    The best God of War game in the franchise to date.
  15. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    One of the best PS2 games. One of gaming's most intense and engaging experiences. Gameplay will hook you. Epic soundtrack and story. Take this bloody and over-the-top journey!
  16. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    Best PS2 game and best God of war in the serie. Period. Everything is perfect : The controls, the boss fights, the skills, the graphics ...

    A must play.
  17. Aug 17, 2013
    6
    It is, technically, a much better game than the first. The graphics are phenomenal and the combat is deeper and more complex with more moves, weapons, and more tricks like iFrame exploitation. However, for a couple of reasons I don't like it as much. Kratos is a lot angrier, and a lot less sympathetic (though I'm told the events of Ghost of Sparta explain this), and while it retains a little bit of the Harryhausen movie feel, especially with the inclusion of other characters from Greek myth and skeletons (spooky!), it just doesn't feel as charming. It's a little easy in places, and I can't remember any boss fights giving me that sense of awe that the first and third games did. It's a good game, certainly, and you can tell that the developers knew what they were doing, but I just didn't care for it that much. Expand
  18. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    This game is a major improvement over the first god of war. Better story, better graphics, more gore, more boobies, more bosses, and better weapons. The story in this game is execellent. In this game you really get to see emotions and what he will do to get revenge. There are a lot more characters in this game, a lot of recognizable Greek mythological characters. This game will make you feel Badass as you slash through centaurs and minotaurs. The game play remains the same from the first god of war and is bit easier. The bosses in this game are just epic. They are all different and you come face to face with the one who made Kratos the way he is. Weapons are where this game excels. The blades of Athena. Look way better than the original blades and this time the main weapons are equal so you dont abandon the other ones. Kratos's new super mode is extremely awesome, and it does feel quite Awesome using it. The magic in this game is cool and notable. The music in this game is a little lacking though. The art design looks awesome especially the bosses. The characters of the game are great, not dull one around. This game is definitely a buy. However there is something really disgusting at the end, I won't say what but you will know when you get there Expand
  19. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Metacritic has announced God of War II to be the best PS2 game of 2007. I fully agree with this award. Of course the best days of the PS2 were almost over in 2007, but that doesn't change the fact that this is a great game. I think it's the best action game of the PS2/Xbox/Gamecube generation. The story is not as good as the first part but the developer has managed to make the gameplay even more intense. This is the PS2 game with the best graphics and the best gameplay. If you have a PS2 or PS3 (HD remakes of the God of War games were developed for the PS3) you should also have this game. Expand
  20. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    ok the second part of god of war and it is even better than the first it comes back with better graphics better story great boss fights simply a masterpiece
  21. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    God of War II is one hell of a game its one of the best looking games on the PS2, its gameplay is a bit better than the first game. The story is awesome, this game takes place after Kratos becomes the god of war. Kratos goes on a journey for vengence. Everything about this game is great.
  22. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    "God of War II", he aquí una secuela que parece que tuvo la suficiente ambición como para superar la primera entrega de la saga que, ya por sí fue épica. Lo que digo es que "God of War II" es un juego divertidísimo y un cordial saludo a la generación PlayStation 2.
  23. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    This is another terrific game of this series,it didn't change almost nothing from the first game,the story is almost the same(you must kill all the gods and not one),a great game just like the first one.
  24. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    There's no real "in-depth" explanation that can be associated with reviewing this game.

    All I can really analyze is what, besides the amazing use of Greek-lore and brutal combat system, makes the game's story its strong point.

    God of War II does what games today can not often comes close to. It makes the player WANT what Kratos wants. It gives the player Kratos' need for revenge.
    This was the driving force behind myself playing this game. God of War II does an EXCELLENT job in making sure the gamer won't just play the story like it's a chore; they make the gamer WANT revenge. The most surprising thing about this is that they don't convey that need through an immense exchange and emphasis of Kratos' "inner feelings". They build up the desire through making the player hate every enemy, and their destruction through one of the most metal combat systems of the game's time. Of course, the main flaw in the game is it's repetitiveness during it's middle, but I'd easily recommend this game to anyone who prefers beat'em'ups.
    I'd rate this game an 8.5 if I could, but rounding up is the next best thing.
    Expand
  25. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    God of War II took action/adventure games to a brand new level by introducing more immerive gameplay, new powers, titan mode and some smart ass challenges. the game had a mild shiny tone in graphics which felt pleasing. longer to complete and some grappling's which are purely based on timings. the combat system and leveling up system is improved in GOW 2. truthfully the hardest game to complete in titan mode challenges i just love e'm :'D Expand
  26. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    This game is just... oh my god the best game i have ever played in my PlayStation i mean seriously The best game he got everything:puzzle action combos a good story just.everything
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 97
    God of War II may in fact be the best action game ever made. It outdoes the original God of War in every way.
  2. 95
    There are a few brilliant core improvements, such as the beautifully implemented grappling system that lets you swing around with your blades. But for the most part, the game's best features are context-specific things rather than features that change or improve the title as a whole...A stellar example of what can be done when a developer focuses on telling a story and lets that drive the game.
  3. It's not just one element that turned the game into a masterpiece, it's every element – the controls (perfection), world design (unbelievably creative), combat (exciting and challenging), and enemy selection (unreal) are just a few of the reasons why this is PS2’s best first-party release.