God of War PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1035 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)O começo do que seria a melhor trilogia que já joguei,tudo é perfeito nele (para a época),a batalha final é épica,Kratos conquistou uma legião de fãs com este jogo,acho que foi o jogo que mais vezes zerei.
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    I was reading the negative reviews of this game and its just like... Oh this game's music is horrible. Then turn the music off. "It's too hard and there is so much blood..." First of all games dont suck because there hard and this is god of war, there is tons of blood. No that that done with we can review this awesome game. The story is good but the game lacks a lot of cutscenes so youI was reading the negative reviews of this game and its just like... Oh this game's music is horrible. Then turn the music off. "It's too hard and there is so much blood..." First of all games dont suck because there hard and this is god of war, there is tons of blood. No that that done with we can review this awesome game. The story is good but the game lacks a lot of cutscenes so you will find you self a few hours brefor something happens. The game presents it self well though. The music is awesome not much to complain about, The gameplay is superb and the QTE's can be hard but are extremely satisfying. The blades of chaos are extremely good but late game you will prbabaly ditch them for the artemis sword. The puzzles will get you thinking. The magic isnt really that notable becuase you use it when its needed. The graphics are ok but its ps2 game y'know? Kratos is an extremely deep and badass character while the supporting characters, um support. The only notable characters are Kratos, athena, and Ares who has an epic flame beard by the way. The game is worth renting, as its not that notable but if you really like it buy it. The bosses all have a puzzle to solve in order to beat them, like the hydra boss you have to impale each head when you down it. However ares is the boss you really want to fight. The diffculty isnt to bad but the part in underworld is frustrating as hell. The art design is completly good, you will feel like your in ancient greece. And did i mention theres is a sex minigame and boobies! So if you like boobs, sex blood and gore, hack and slash, and flame beards than this game is for you Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    A different beast entirely from the series' later entries. Kratos is a reasonably sympathetic Byronic Hero. The atmosphere intentionally invokes Ray Harryhausen films, and gives you an idea of what those films might have been like with blood n guts and all that good stuff. The dialogue can be clumsy in places, but otherwise the story is sound. Some puzzles are real headscratchers, whileA different beast entirely from the series' later entries. Kratos is a reasonably sympathetic Byronic Hero. The atmosphere intentionally invokes Ray Harryhausen films, and gives you an idea of what those films might have been like with blood n guts and all that good stuff. The dialogue can be clumsy in places, but otherwise the story is sound. Some puzzles are real headscratchers, while others you'll barely have to think about. The combat, arguably the main draw of the series, is certainly less complex in this one. It feels more like an action adventure game than a hack n slash (Devil May Cry, Ninja Gaiden, et all) as far as the combat is concerned, but there's still quite a lot of combo potential. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This game was awesome back when it came out. The boss fights were awesome but there was not as many as player would have like but this has been fixed in God of War 2.
  5. Oct 31, 2016
    10
    The first and the best. God of War is a master class in hack and slash fun. With an amazing story and fun and satisfying gameplay, this game sets a standard for many other games to follow.

    The game is mature, it's brutal, it contains to much energy and violence. Swinging your chain blades around and clearing a room with brutality and strength never gets old, and supplanted by magical
    The first and the best. God of War is a master class in hack and slash fun. With an amazing story and fun and satisfying gameplay, this game sets a standard for many other games to follow.

    The game is mature, it's brutal, it contains to much energy and violence. Swinging your chain blades around and clearing a room with brutality and strength never gets old, and supplanted by magical abilities that you unlock along the way, the game is always fun and provides a meaty challenge for those who seek to brave this violent Greek tale of revenge.

    The combat system is top-notch, and swinging your chain blades around and cutting into legions of undead hellspawn feels heavy, satisfying and cathartic, and you are given a wide variety of combos and abilities to tackle whatever is in your way, sending hundreds of enemies straight back to Hades. Some enemies will require more strategy than just mashing square and triangle all over the place, which suffices for most encounters. Magic is provided to tip the scales in your favor for more hectic battles, and the boss fights this game has will definitely test your abilities.

    Level design is amazing as well, with each area feeling fresh with lots of secrets to uncover to reward a bit of exploration. Puzzles can get complex, and will make you stop the violence for a bit to think. The central location of the game itself is one of the most memorable locations in gaming for me, as it is a gigantic temple of trials, containing within itself multiple level types with their own challenges and enemies. Even though you spend most of the game in this one place, it never feels the same as you challenge its deadly halls, filled with demons and traps to test only the bravest and strongest warriors.

    The story is one of revenge, just like everything else nowadays, but it's told very well, and the scale of it sets a precedent that is hard to reach. You are a man up against a god, and it's up to you to gather the strength and the will to destroy the being who wronged you. However, it's not just murder and carnage, as the game will sometimes stop to make you think about your actions, perhaps making you feel some regret for all those innocent people you killed for health orbs back in the first area (you monster). The character of Kratos is tragic and depressing, a man blinded by rage and power who ends up committing atrocities that curse him, all of the world knowing him and the things he's done. It's a quest for redemption and absolution as much as it is for revenge, and it can be quite engaging.

    God of War is a timeless classic, setting the standard for the rest of the series to follow, setting the bar high and providing a gripping and amazing experience the whole way through.
    Expand
  6. TomL.
    Jan 31, 2009
    10
    Amazing!
  7. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    This game is the best i have ever played awesome bosses, puzzles and especially awesome combat after playing all three GOWs this one is still the best because of the way it got me so hooked. I personall love greek mythology and think this presented it amazingly. The hydra was just awesome
  8. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = Very clever in it's execution, and espiacially for game with so much blood, gore, and medusa boobs. One hell of an acton game!
  9. Jul 20, 2012
    8
    While it's less smooth in terms of gameplay than the later titles, this is still probably my favorite in the series. I don't get why people are calling it such a short game. I've beaten it twice and both times took me over 8 hours, not including mistakes. It doesn't feel rushed or thrown together at all, I actually feel that Pandora's Temple is one of the most intriguing and well designedWhile it's less smooth in terms of gameplay than the later titles, this is still probably my favorite in the series. I don't get why people are calling it such a short game. I've beaten it twice and both times took me over 8 hours, not including mistakes. It doesn't feel rushed or thrown together at all, I actually feel that Pandora's Temple is one of the most intriguing and well designed areas in a videogame. Some of the segments toward the end can be very frustrating, is my only complaint. Expand
  10. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    If theirs one word that describes God of War its Epic, the hack and slash gameplay is amazing. GOW has some of the best puzzles ive ever seen. The graphics where great for its time, this game has one of the best stories ever told. Kratos is a gods servant and must do what Ares tells him to do, but Ares takes it to far when he makes Kratos kill his own family, Kratos goes on an epic journeyIf theirs one word that describes God of War its Epic, the hack and slash gameplay is amazing. GOW has some of the best puzzles ive ever seen. The graphics where great for its time, this game has one of the best stories ever told. Kratos is a gods servant and must do what Ares tells him to do, but Ares takes it to far when he makes Kratos kill his own family, Kratos goes on an epic journey to kill the god of war Ares. If you love greek mythology or anything badass than this is the game for you. Expand
  11. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    One word: Kickass..........................................................................................................................................
  12. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    this game shows everything good that happens in playstaiton 2,it had excellent graphics(for the time)and an amazing original story,the only problem is that isn't an open world game.
  13. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    as for a new title in Sony PlayStation this just nailed each and every game in all console division. the cut scenes are awesome as for PlayStation 2 .loved the blood and gore kills and one of the best story. Kratos is one of the main character that represent the PlayStation division. just feel the graphics quite low after completing god of war II. still my first PS2 game and has theas for a new title in Sony PlayStation this just nailed each and every game in all console division. the cut scenes are awesome as for PlayStation 2 .loved the blood and gore kills and one of the best story. Kratos is one of the main character that represent the PlayStation division. just feel the graphics quite low after completing god of war II. still my first PS2 game and has the hardest challenges of all!! Expand
  14. AnonymousMC
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    Ahmed A. is a real dickhead for giving this game a 1, this guy most really not know anything about gaming, or he is just a real hater who is just unhappy with life it self. He probably just started playing video games when playstation 2 came out. I bet he never played Atari 2600 or 5200, Kellicovision, Intelavision, The First Nintendo, Neo Geo, Genisis, Turbo Graphics 16, Atari Jaguar orAhmed A. is a real dickhead for giving this game a 1, this guy most really not know anything about gaming, or he is just a real hater who is just unhappy with life it self. He probably just started playing video games when playstation 2 came out. I bet he never played Atari 2600 or 5200, Kellicovision, Intelavision, The First Nintendo, Neo Geo, Genisis, Turbo Graphics 16, Atari Jaguar or any other system I forgot, shot he probably never been to an arcade. This guy just doesn't have a clue, rating this game a 1? This guy is crazy, everyone please do not go off of his inexperianced rating. The first hot game he probably played was GTA 3 or Final Fantasy X or something. This game is a 10, rent if you don't believe me and then rate it and you'll say the same thing about Ahmed A. as me. Expand
  15. AnonymousMC
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    i love this game
    i am very picky on what kind of games i play and this game is the best 1 i have ever played!!!!
    i would give this game a 20 but 10 is the highest
    i love the puzzles,graphics,fighting moves, the whole package! god of war is fuckin rad!!!
  16. AnonymousMC
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    Holy S***T is this the best game ever or the best porn game ever? Both. I thank the gods for showing me some hooters!!!!!!!!!!!! oh yeah i forgot and the best actoin game ever. This is a game you want to have and to keep forever. and when you get children give to them and then tell thats how babys are made.
  17. AnonymousMC
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    This is the type of game that reminds people why they started playing in the first place. Fun and enternaining on what unfourtunatly seems to be in second place in terms of importance on the industry theses days.
    Even with some minor flaws, this is without a doubt one of the best games around and a good influence on recent titles. Comparing this to completely different genres like Halo
    This is the type of game that reminds people why they started playing in the first place. Fun and enternaining on what unfourtunatly seems to be in second place in terms of importance on the industry theses days.
    Even with some minor flaws, this is without a doubt one of the best games around and a good influence on recent titles. Comparing this to completely different genres like Halo makes no sense at all.
    Expand
  18. BryanM.
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    Close to Prince of Persia but not there yet, otherwisean awesome game.
  19. SamJ.
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    Game of the year. Hands down. This game pushes the ps2 to its limit. Breathtaking visuals hardcore in-your-face gameplay and great live orchestra soundtrack. Not to mention the great voice overs and gritty overall ambiance. They nailed it.
  20. AB
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    If God of War were a first-person shooter, it would be a Halo killer. It isn't, but it is an amazing game in its own right. It deserves to be in a category of its own. It is better than San Andreas and Halo 2, and nearly as good as Resident Evil 4. It may be the best PS2 game this year.
  21. WonkoTheSane
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    Played the demo, and it got me hooked! For the next month or so I saved the little money I made, since I don't work and all, and bought the game. The game is ten times better than the demo, and the demo itself rules all, infact it's a god... A god of war?
  22. AllistairP.
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    Amazing. Best visuals ever in a game, surpasses Resident Evil 4. The music makes the expierence feel immersive even when you're just standing still. I can't believe how under the radar this game went. Along with MG3, HL2, and brethern, these are the type of games that are pushing limits visuals, audio, and storytelling. Awesome, and just the right amount of length.
  23. KyleH.
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    This game is by far the best game I have ever played on the PS2. It had all the elements you'd expect from a top rate title. The gameplay was excellent, both hack n' slash action & puzzle solving were fun & challenging. The audio and graphics were so good the game actually fooled me into thinking I was playing it on my Xbox! I was blown away.
  24. Melissa
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    10!! Most emphatically 10. Great story, combined with beautiful art, a fantistically full and complex hero, brutal combos, and gruesome finishing moves, God of War takes all other games in this genre and banishes them to Hades. Obviously, TelyS hasn't yet graduated from Reader Rabbit Learns Phonics.
  25. SalM.
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    A violent and fun fighting/action game for mature audiences. This game is a TON of fun. There is a great "naughty" mini-game that just cannot be missed!
  26. Donkay
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    This game is nuts! Everything from the graphics to the music to the gameplay is AWESOME. You're missing out on the best game for PS2 this year if you're not playing this.
  27. R.Baldwin
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    Great Game!!! In my opinion, one of the games of the year so far. There's nothing really innovative in this game, but it's just plain fun, and that's just something that's been missing in games now days. Please don't miss out, go and get God of War Today!!!
  28. Nihil
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    Who here thinks Tely S. is on some serious drugs? Is he kidding or what? Does he honestly believe that people are not simply laughing at his asinine review right now when not one review has graded this game below a 90? Simply put, God of War is the best action adventure game yet to come out on Playstation 2. You are armed with the Blade of Chaos, a weapon that I would loosely compare to Who here thinks Tely S. is on some serious drugs? Is he kidding or what? Does he honestly believe that people are not simply laughing at his asinine review right now when not one review has graded this game below a 90? Simply put, God of War is the best action adventure game yet to come out on Playstation 2. You are armed with the Blade of Chaos, a weapon that I would loosely compare to Jean Reno's whip in Onimusha 3 but oh, so much better! You wield this thing so flawlessly and devastate your enemy with such precision that is isn't rare to rack up 200-hit combos in the process of destroying a pack of undead skeletons or Gorgons or Minotaurs or any of a wealth of mythological enemies. You can also gain magic throughout the game, granted to you by different Gods such as Aphrodite and Poseidon and when used in combination with your Blades of Chaos, you are a force to be reckoned with! Let me just say that I absolutely adored this game as much as everyone else who's reviewed it here (with the exception of Tely S. who is obviously a prepubescent malcontent who is desperately in need of a nap) and you would be hard-pressed to find a more beautiful and entertaining action/adventure game on the Playstation 2. From the gorgeous scenery and set designs to the intricate detailing of the numerous mythological creatures you encounter to the haunting score that adds an ominous yet engaging atmosphere to each new environment, this game was put together so well that after you finally complete it you will shed a tear for you will not want it to be open. But, wait! There's more, even after you beat the game, you unlock a slew of bonus features that puts the replay value of this game through the roof. Whether it be a series of challenging side-quests, new costumes for your hero to adorn, or interviews with the games designers, there is plenty here for you to enjoy and experience once the end credits roll for the main game. Please, do yourself a favor and immediately do what ever it takes to add this game to your collection. You will not be sorry. Expand
  29. [Anonymous]
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    Incredible!
  30. D.C.
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    This is the best game ever made for the PS2, that's all there is to say about this one. Just go out and buy it, and see for yourself. PERFECTION.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#2 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Game Informer
    100
    While playing God of War, I honestly found it difficult to resist the urge to simply genuflect and be humbled to be in the presence of such digital divinity, this god among games. [Apr 2005, p.122]
  2. 98
    If you like to kill freaky things with your giant serrated knives, you'll love the s*** out of this... This videogame features sexual situations, bare breasts and excessive brutality. Good with that? Excellent!
  3. Play Magazine
    95
    The game contains so much energy and conviction, so much skill and spirit. There came a point where I was totally lost to it, in the way you are to a great movie - to any powerful art form. [Apr 2005, p.50]