User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 694 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 694
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JennC.
    Aug 5, 2003
    6
    This game isn't the best of GTA games. I believe that GTA 3 was the absolute best. The graphics, colors, and story lines in this game need a little more work.
  2. CodyS.
    Jul 26, 2003
    8
    This game is mind numbingly addictive and would be one of the games I would buy the ps2 for. the only thing that keeps it from getting a 10 is it is glitchy and the graphics aren't that great.
  3. NickV.
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    A Masterpeice everyone who does not like it must have probelums cause this is a great games. There are so many things to do. You can steal cars. Be a cop, firefighter, ice cream man, taxi driver, medic, pizza man or a hardened criminal. And there are so many veicles from a military helicopter (that actually shoots) to a golf cart.
  4. Rossjudge
    Jul 10, 2003
    10
    It is very good to play.
  5. ShayneA.
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    Its the best especially with the smart ass comments and the pootang involved in the film studios.
  6. Brown
    Jun 24, 2003
    4
    The graphics are bad and too many glitches. the people are stupid and you can ram people on the road right next to some cops and they will just stay there and do nothing. which is very gay. do something more fun like 8=0 (:) if you are smart enough to not play the game, you will figure that out and go do it right now.
  7. GregT.
    Jun 15, 2003
    9
    This game is a superbly twisted, and wonderfully sick example of the next generation of games to come. GTA-VC Let's you interact,Go anywhere,and Do anything you could possibly imagine. P.S. Need's some improvements on Graphics; like distance, Fire, Wheels, That red sunglare is totaly useless. lightning "Bolts" would be nice. Even better if the bolts hit stuff, I'm looking This game is a superbly twisted, and wonderfully sick example of the next generation of games to come. GTA-VC Let's you interact,Go anywhere,and Do anything you could possibly imagine. P.S. Need's some improvements on Graphics; like distance, Fire, Wheels, That red sunglare is totaly useless. lightning "Bolts" would be nice. Even better if the bolts hit stuff, I'm looking foward to GTA-LA, or GTA-Hawii Expand
  8. MichaelD.
    May 18, 2003
    0
    Such garbage, i hate this game.
  9. BenN.
    May 16, 2003
    8
    A proper game!
  10. JacanP.
    May 15, 2003
    10
    It is very fun to find out the many different buildings you can buy and the stripper club actually makes you money if you go to the part that you pay 3$ every game hour a hole bunch.
  11. JonathanF.
    May 3, 2003
    8
    Okay, i would really give this game a 7.5 but i cant. i think the thing that really lets this game down is the colour. rockstar tried to make it better than gta3 but it's way too bright and colourful. the good thing is when you read the game booklet you feel like you're on holiday! sorry i couldn't give this a 9 or a 10 but it just isn't as good as gta3.
  12. JoshF.
    May 2, 2003
    10
    That game rockes you can get the hoes in your car.
  13. ZackF.
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    Wow what a great game. And the soundtrack is great. But rockstar could do better graphics than that but it's a real kickass game. Some stuff would be cool to add would be like start your own mobs or rob a bank or something. the missions were a little suckie though. oh well all in all i can't put the control down when i get the chance. Good job rockstar.
  14. NebaR.
    Apr 23, 2003
    0
    This game is real boring.
  15. AlexB.
    Apr 18, 2003
    9
    Liberty City is a cooler environment, but where VC misses out for variety and size it makes up with greater detail and a more visceral feel. There are flaws. The radio stations get tired quickly, and a lot of space in the environment seems wasted. But these are minor points. Just getting up to 3 stars and running from the cops is a game in itself. I wish they'd take this one on line!
  16. TaHawk
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    Clean game.
  17. Chuck76
    Apr 11, 2003
    8
    This is a great game don't doubt that but there are a few points that kinda bug me. The whole setting, the way the streets are laid out don't make for total enjoyment while travelling around like they did on GTA3. And the whole of Vice City in general just aint as good as Liberty City. There are more niggles but they won't ruin the game by any means. Plus points are new This is a great game don't doubt that but there are a few points that kinda bug me. The whole setting, the way the streets are laid out don't make for total enjoyment while travelling around like they did on GTA3. And the whole of Vice City in general just aint as good as Liberty City. There are more niggles but they won't ruin the game by any means. Plus points are new vehicles to use, much more varied missions and probably the best video game soundtrack I've heard. I think I coulda' picked out a few more 80's hits that would have gone well with the game. The graphics are also much improved over GTA3, but they also kinda annoy after a while, I can see what the designers were getting at but at times it can affect what you're currently doing. Though I do sometimes go back and play it again since finishing it, I much prefer to go back and play GTA3. As I've said, this is a fantastic game miles better than most, but I prefer GTA3. There's plenty more life in this series yet so I can't wait for the next title but no-more 80's please! Expand
  18. RyanF.
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    If i could pick 1 game in the whole intire world it is this 1.
  19. Idi
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    I spend really beautifull christmas with this game. =] And it is not said that you must kill everybody on your way. ;P
  20. DiabloStallion
    Apr 6, 2003
    10
    If I could only play one game for the rest of my life this would be the one!!!!!!
  21. J.R.
    Apr 4, 2003
    10
    Same game mechanics as GTA 3. That's a good thing. Helicopters and motorcycles have been added. 80's music and feel done very well. Its a bit shorter than GTA 3, and I thought that the missions in GTA 3 were a bit better. However, this game is one of the best video games ever. Period. I give this a 10 because I can't give it a 9.9. GTA 3 got a 10 and deserved all of it.
  22. ConnerM.
    Mar 27, 2003
    10
    I´m speechless, Bars, drug dealing, kidnaps, bank robberies, racing, strip joints, racing (cars and boats), laundering money, makin´fake money, makin´porno movies and your basic killing and mayhem...in short if it´s a crime GTAVC´s got it...there's no end to the fun you can have in this game...totally interactive with it´s own enviroment...this is I´m speechless, Bars, drug dealing, kidnaps, bank robberies, racing, strip joints, racing (cars and boats), laundering money, makin´fake money, makin´porno movies and your basic killing and mayhem...in short if it´s a crime GTAVC´s got it...there's no end to the fun you can have in this game...totally interactive with it´s own enviroment...this is not a game, it´s a gude to be a criminal...i´d like to see someone top this game...I dare any gamin company. Expand
  23. GannonC.
    Mar 23, 2003
    10
    I liked the strip club the most. This is the best thing ever invented since the TV.
  24. GiancarloS.
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    Sometimes U play video games...but this one it´s an adventure, I got GTAIII and never occured to me they could top it, Rockstar outdid them selves, I´ve played Video games since Atari but this is the best game ever, in depth, fun and attitude...if you only own one game let it be this one.
  25. JackM.
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    THE BEST game i own. the graphics are brilliant and the swearing is hilirious. the radio is funny especially rusty browns ring doughnuts. basically the balls of a game.
  26. MattK.
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    This is the best game ever.
  27. Floop
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    This game is THE BOMB!!!!POP!
  28. C.Smith
    Feb 23, 2003
    0
    Exactly the same game as GTA3...just pink. If you played GTA3, you will beat this game in 1-2 days. Driving around doing nothing is boooooring afteryou have already done that in GTA3!
  29. TedG.
    Feb 23, 2003
    10
    This is a sexy game it is hard but assome.
  30. JakeS.
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    The best ever how can you think its not. Sure the missions are short but they are exciting and hard but not impossible to beat. The huge detailed city, the girls, and bad dude attitude give this game an all time greatness.
  31. NickS.
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    For the kid who rated the game a 5 he must be pretty stupid if all he does is run around and kill ppl maybe he should actually play the game.
  32. JonathanG.
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    I really like this game but could you give me any hints or tips how to complete the demolition man mission please.
  33. JoyH.
    Feb 15, 2003
    10
    Great Game. Better Than GTA3.
  34. SteveS.
    Feb 14, 2003
    5
    Distinctly average game. Played GTA3 and got bored very quickly. Run here, kill this, run back, save game, drive here, kill them, drive back, save game... zzzzz... Best bit - spawn a tank cheat. Then just kill everyone. Mucho fun. Nice graphics, but they should've upped the pace of the gameplay IMHO.
  35. KevinC.
    Feb 11, 2003
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played and also the most realistic game. There is just 1 flaw in the game. Some people don't die once you run them over. But I still rate it 10. PEACE
  36. VilleJ.
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    This is my life but moral way this game is dangerous to children brains.
  37. JennetS.
    Jan 18, 2003
    10
    The game is amazing, I like everything about it.
  38. DamianM.
    Jan 15, 2003
    9
    The game was really good 10 times better than GTA 3. You can bail out now, and you can buy more hide-outs, it has motorcycles. But There is one BIG PROBLEM YOU CANT SWIM IN THIS GAME.
  39. JeffH.
    Jan 14, 2003
    9
    A solid, likeable game. The graphics are a liitle choppy and blury, and the blood looks fake, but other thatn that it's a fun game. It includes new features upgrading gta3. I would be really impressed if they came out with a multiplayer gta.
  40. K.L.
    Jan 13, 2003
    10
    This is a sweet game, and very fun.
  41. SteveH.
    Jan 9, 2003
    5
    This game is okay but i hate the frickin pastel colors everything in the 80's wasnt pastel for christ sake and for the love of god why didn't you make on the same basis as GTA3 come on.
  42. The8thDragon
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    The most grousome game that's been created---Brilliant.
  43. MicahC.
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Totally SICK!
  44. BobPlatter
    Jan 8, 2003
    3
    Too Hard at Times and unrealistic.
  45. Alon
    Jan 3, 2003
    10
    This game is so freaking awesome! Flying helicopters is so awesome along with the ability to own buildings and businesses.
  46. EltonP.
    Jan 3, 2003
    10
    The things missing in GTA3 were added in GTA:VC. I would've given GTA3 a 9 because of a few minor gripes I had but now that they've been improved in GTA:VC I have no more gripes! The graphics are smoother (not the best of course, but better), the missions are creative, and effects are spectacular, the AI has gotten a little smarter, the vehicles have gotten a wider range and The things missing in GTA3 were added in GTA:VC. I would've given GTA3 a 9 because of a few minor gripes I had but now that they've been improved in GTA:VC I have no more gripes! The graphics are smoother (not the best of course, but better), the missions are creative, and effects are spectacular, the AI has gotten a little smarter, the vehicles have gotten a wider range and better look, and the radio is truly representative of the 80s. If you only get one game for the PS2, it has to be this! I expected another GTA3 with the same missions again but I was completely caught off guard! Expand
  47. AbboTTF.
    Dec 31, 2002
    6
    Come'on you mindless retards... sure the game is fun and very free, but do you all have to give it a 10?... The game is nothing besides beating people and car chases (with sub-par driving mechanics nontheless)... Play Gran Tourisimo A-spec or somthing actualy mind-engaging. Don't get me wrong, it is a good game, but I honestly can say that I liked GTA2 better. (I haven't Come'on you mindless retards... sure the game is fun and very free, but do you all have to give it a 10?... The game is nothing besides beating people and car chases (with sub-par driving mechanics nontheless)... Play Gran Tourisimo A-spec or somthing actualy mind-engaging. Don't get me wrong, it is a good game, but I honestly can say that I liked GTA2 better. (I haven't played 3) The cops are dumb... this is a major prob... I stole a tank!...There are 5,000 cop cars and helicopters on my tail... o wait, I can just drive into this little garage and no one will find me... com'on! Expand
  48. The7thDragon
    Dec 31, 2002
    9
    I love GTA3. I love Vice City, but unfortunatly i found some bugs in Vice City which made me give it a 9. The first annoying flaw i found in the game was the fact that it kept taking mi guns. ex- I finished a mission i forgot which one and i got that machine gun that u use in the helicopter. I kept it but by the time i was half way done with the 2nd Island the game took that gun and all I love GTA3. I love Vice City, but unfortunatly i found some bugs in Vice City which made me give it a 9. The first annoying flaw i found in the game was the fact that it kept taking mi guns. ex- I finished a mission i forgot which one and i got that machine gun that u use in the helicopter. I kept it but by the time i was half way done with the 2nd Island the game took that gun and all the moltov cocktails i saved up for a "block party from hell" :) anyway that was one flaw and another was the fact mi friend found a error were he could walk through cirtin buildings. Besides these issuse and the lame helicopter controls i love the game. The musics good the play control is good and the missions just make the game even funner. I highly recomend this 2 anybody who is not a big religious/moral person. ENJOY EVERY1! Expand
  49. JordanT.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    Excellent game, anyone says otherwise will have to deal with me.....
  50. SeanF.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made, just like hitman 2.
  51. GregoryC.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    I liked the game because off its colors, and violants. Verry good and great graffics too. I think it will bee my game off the yer (yeah, i have my own lists). This IS A GOOD GAME! Bye it now!
  52. Nchw
    Dec 28, 2002
    10
    This is a game of exceptional quality. Apart from the loading times this would have to be one of the defest games i have ever played. Buy this game immediately or i will eat your children.
  53. EricP.
    Dec 27, 2002
    10
    This Game is the best ever GTA series game yet! I just love using the Rhino Tank.....It kills anything it touches.
  54. Brian
    Dec 27, 2002
    9
    Lots of upgrades from GTA3. The missions i think were what made this game great. i would of given it a 10 except for the fact myself and lots of my friends played gta3 constantly and probably got tired of the police chases but for anyone who is new to GTA on the ps2 you'll be amazed.
  55. MartinA.
    Dec 27, 2002
    10
    You suck Kevin B! This game rocks.
  56. HannahD.
    Dec 22, 2002
    9
    This game is truly exceptional. The freedom and graphics alone make this game crazy fun. The best way for me to describe is to say it's just like having your own city where you can do anything you want. The missions are the main part, but hell I have fun just driving around stealing cars, shootin ppl, and jumping ramps. Mad fly game. And a lot of ppl want to say it's all bad and This game is truly exceptional. The freedom and graphics alone make this game crazy fun. The best way for me to describe is to say it's just like having your own city where you can do anything you want. The missions are the main part, but hell I have fun just driving around stealing cars, shootin ppl, and jumping ramps. Mad fly game. And a lot of ppl want to say it's all bad and teens shouldn't play it, but when I played it I found it to be pretty tame compared to what I had heard it was gonna be like. Although I dont think it's a game for kids under 13 at all, it just gives the wrong mindset with the stealing, and killing, and hookers, and occasional profanities. Expand
  57. FredW.
    Dec 22, 2002
    5
    Driving is fun but the graphics are not that great. Parents, you need to be advised, this is not a game for your kids. This is a "MATURE" rated game and has a lot of hookers saying various sexual inuendos and game play violence. This game is full crime related game play.
  58. KevinB.
    Dec 22, 2002
    1
    It's Crap!
  59. Joe
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    When I first played this game, I was shocked in the detail of killing there is, cause I never had the pleasure of playing GTA 3. Vice City is by far the best game ever! Buy It.
  60. Tim
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    This game has everything that you could possibly want in a game. You can pick up hookers, be a cop killer, or you can do the dirty work of someone else. This is the best game ever!
  61. Jeff
    Dec 16, 2002
    10
    It's great, what more can i say?
  62. ChrisO.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    Other game makers need to learn from this game. this should be the steping stone to a hole new way we play games. Can't wait to see if they can get better.
  63. WillyS.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    It's da best.
  64. PerkolatorI.J.
    Dec 11, 2002
    10
    Hey Adam J. boy, you're a smart ass (more ass than smart, actually) dunno what u have been playing, I have played this game extensively and still to see some mayor glitches. Does it have some camera/polygon clipping? yep, but every other 3D game out there has it too, so what's new, as for floor textures??? what? they have never dissapeared to me yet, you sure you playing the Hey Adam J. boy, you're a smart ass (more ass than smart, actually) dunno what u have been playing, I have played this game extensively and still to see some mayor glitches. Does it have some camera/polygon clipping? yep, but every other 3D game out there has it too, so what's new, as for floor textures??? what? they have never dissapeared to me yet, you sure you playing the proper game and not a dodgy copy or what, this game Rocks. Big Time. Collapse
  65. JonathanR.
    Dec 10, 2002
    10
    This game is one of the best and most fun games I have ever played.
  66. JerryT.
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    First thing i have to say is that Adam J. is stupid because the floor dissappears in gta3 too. the only reason the game glitches sometimes is because of how large this game is. And for the cars can u just tell me can u get a motorbike or dirt bike or helicopter or different kinds of boats other than that cop one? yea i thought not so do rate a game u dont noe anything about.
  67. NicholasB.
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    Probably one of the best games ever, yeah ever. The graphics are damn good, and the game play is damn damn good. By the by, who the hell is Don M, Swines, what type of loser says swines. One who lives in his moma's house and can't get no biznotch to take to the car wash.
  68. ChrisR.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    One word...damn!
  69. TonyG.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    Great game, i'll tell you about it but first i have to go sell some drugs, beat up a pimp, screw his ho, rob a food chain, steal a helicopter, get me a boat, a car of any choice, kill a pig, and then come back to my pornographic studio where i can tell you more about this game of my life!
  70. KyleT.
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    A learning experience if your interested in crime.
  71. DonM.
    Dec 2, 2002
    7
    Buh? £40? FORTY POXY QUID? THE B.ST.RDS ARE SELLING IT AS A FULL PRICED GAME! SWINES! This really isn't a full game, no matter what Rockstar tell you...it's an Add-On. It's a GOOD add-on, but it's an add-on. But it's a GOOD add-on, to the best game ever...which makes it the best game ever, vicariously by being a part of the real best game ever. Look, stop Buh? £40? FORTY POXY QUID? THE B.ST.RDS ARE SELLING IT AS A FULL PRICED GAME! SWINES! This really isn't a full game, no matter what Rockstar tell you...it's an Add-On. It's a GOOD add-on, but it's an add-on. But it's a GOOD add-on, to the best game ever...which makes it the best game ever, vicariously by being a part of the real best game ever. Look, stop reading this rubbish and play it, okay? But don't pay for it. Steal it or something. Forty quid, I ask you... Expand
  72. MiriamC.
    Dec 1, 2002
    10
    It's an eighties wet-dream combined with one of my all-time favorite games. There are a few things that I don't like about it, such as just aiming a gun will set cops on your ass, but it does add to the realism and difficulty of the game. The selection of weapons is great, and I love the addition of motorcycles.
  73. JordanM.
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    This is the best game.
  74. AdamJ.
    Nov 26, 2002
    6
    NO WAY is this as good as GTA3 1. The City is poorly laid out 2. There is no where near enough variation in the cars 3. There is no where enough story missions 4. Money is too tight to start then stupidly easy to come accross 5. The Graphical Glitches....Where's the Floor gone, WHERE ARE THE TEXTURES! Its still a good game technically but is missing these points and the Charm that 3 had.
  75. GettingB.
    Nov 22, 2002
    8
    This game is good but it could have been made better, such as u not being allowed to go in every building which really sucks, i could have made it better, u should be able to fly the jets and planes, cars shouldnt disappear, less cops, an the hookers actually do stuff instead of sitting there such as taking off their shirts.
  76. VirtualOn
    Nov 22, 2002
    9
    Vice City is the most cohesive and convincing game environment ever conceived. GTA:VC is so lovingly crafted, from the inspired celebrity voice acting to the embarrasingly complete soundtrack, that Rockstar North should be very proud of they're newest baby.
  77. BobSixtyniner
    Nov 21, 2002
    10
    This game is the best version of grand theft auto that has come out of rockstar since the first gta game. The only problem that i have with the game is that there are to many cops. You commit one crime and there is a oinker on your back.
  78. ryanb
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    I have one thing to say... Pure Genius!!!! That douchebag that gave it a 5 and loves Metroid prime has a small penis. There is no other explantion. I hate him. I wish he was walking and a large puertorican rapes hmi the ass on his way home. This is the best game ever. No doubt. except halo, and nothing. Once again i hate him.
  79. JeffR.
    Nov 18, 2002
    8
    The depth and reality of this game is truly unparalled, but that realism comes at a price, unfortunately. the game is quite buggy, from draw distance glitches to ridiculous fall damage issues (trip over a curb? that'll cost you 10 health - plummet 14 stories, and it'll be 30), the sudden dissappearing of vehicles that were just there a second ago, and other miscellaneous bugsThe depth and reality of this game is truly unparalled, but that realism comes at a price, unfortunately. the game is quite buggy, from draw distance glitches to ridiculous fall damage issues (trip over a curb? that'll cost you 10 health - plummet 14 stories, and it'll be 30), the sudden dissappearing of vehicles that were just there a second ago, and other miscellaneous bugs keep this game from really being the best of the year, but regardless, there is so much fun to be had. vice city teems with life and oozes style, and the excellent sense of humor carries on through every hour you play. the radio in and of itself is sheer brilliance, and the missions, although some are quite difficult, are extremely imaginative and fun. it may not be the second coming of jesus that everyone thought it would be, but its an excellent game that deserves your $50. Expand
  80. Steve
    Nov 18, 2002
    7
    Not as good as GTA3. Has good points but too many problems such as AI and depth. Is it just me, or does it bother any of you that the main character talks. I preferred the mute main character in GTA3. The music is definitely the high point in this game. You can go in buildings, but who cares? The buildings are useless. Helicoptors are a HUGE plus. Like some of the special places like the Not as good as GTA3. Has good points but too many problems such as AI and depth. Is it just me, or does it bother any of you that the main character talks. I preferred the mute main character in GTA3. The music is definitely the high point in this game. You can go in buildings, but who cares? The buildings are useless. Helicoptors are a HUGE plus. Like some of the special places like the Army Air Force Base, the Hyman Colusseum, INSIDE the Washington Beach Police Dept. But, who cares about the jewelry store? Who cares about the record store? Laundrymat?? Big deal.. It has good points, but GTA3 still has a big advantage over this game. I can't call this the best game ever, and if you break down the game and critically review it instead of buying into the hype, you will find its good, but NOT the best game ever. Expand
  81. RockStar
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    The excitment will shoot u down.
  82. GoneFission
    Nov 14, 2002
    5
    Best Game Ever? Can i ask you guys a question...? are you on drugs! There's no way as FUN as this game seems that its the greatetst game ever. This game has too many BUGS! Getting shot through walls, failing missions and having to restart, having your dimwitted AI temates randomly die just doesn't work and hurts the game play dramaticlly. This game can NOT be the best game ever Best Game Ever? Can i ask you guys a question...? are you on drugs! There's no way as FUN as this game seems that its the greatetst game ever. This game has too many BUGS! Getting shot through walls, failing missions and having to restart, having your dimwitted AI temates randomly die just doesn't work and hurts the game play dramaticlly. This game can NOT be the best game ever its not even the best game this year! Here's the list of the best games this year: 1. Metroid Prime THAT'S IT! THAT'S THE LIST!....forget the hype and know that GTAVC has bugs! Expand
  83. EricC.
    Nov 12, 2002
    9
    Is it odd to say that one of my favorite things about this game is the 80's music? I guess Michael Jackson sounds better when cops are chasing you at the same time. In addition to that, almost all the improvements that GTA3 needed have been improved with an even tougher challenge and a more engaging plot. (Also motorcycle riding kicks butt!!)However, those improvements probably could Is it odd to say that one of my favorite things about this game is the 80's music? I guess Michael Jackson sounds better when cops are chasing you at the same time. In addition to that, almost all the improvements that GTA3 needed have been improved with an even tougher challenge and a more engaging plot. (Also motorcycle riding kicks butt!!)However, those improvements probably could have gone a lot farther, as some aspects like weapon control seemed to have little improvement, if any at all. Also, I find myself be vicitm to annoying errors that make my car dissapear or my character fall into the road, freezing the game and upsetting any mission I'm on. Nevertheless, the game never took away the freedom of movement in the city that made GTA3 great and I would highly recommend it. Expand
  84. GaryY.
    Nov 12, 2002
    10
    This game is the best Game ever ever ever made it is so so so better than GTA 3 I completed gta 3, it is to easy and gta vice city is rock hard.
  85. TimoK.
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    The best game ever!!!!!
  86. *Chris**Faz*
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    It has greatly improved since GTA 3 and has much better gameplay. Overall it's Fantastic.
  87. Munkee
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    I would give it 100 but u people wont let me this game is alot better then gta3 it has new features and everything like i said this is good.
  88. [Anonymous]
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    It's awesome.
  89. JasonA.
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    Awesome.
  90. Godigoy
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    I love this game even though its very hard!!!!!
  91. MatthieuR.
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    Splendid improvement over the already fabulous GTA3. The only gripes I have are the clumsy control when on foot, some crappy camera angles, and a few annoyingly frustrating RC missions (bomb the Cubans anyone?).
  92. ShaneH.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    F..k all u stupid ppl out there that say this game sux this game is tha best by far.
  93. J.Palm
    Nov 9, 2002
    9
    This is the best game ever made. Even better then GTA3. Not only is does this game have over 60 hours of game play while trying to beat the game it also has 50 hour of just messing with the game. Lastly There are major improvements from GTA3 including interiors. Man this game is good.
  94. ChrisD.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Great game.
  95. TimL.
    Nov 9, 2002
    8
    The game is hard but it's more fun then playing GTA3.
  96. JonathanP.
    Nov 9, 2002
    8
    A huge improvement over the mediocre and vastly overrated GTA3, Vice City suffers from many of its problems while fixing some. The storyline is more interesting thanks to the fact you feel more involved personally, however the game suffers from the same repetition of the first and is not nearly as addictive as most great games are. I'm not compelled to play it as often as I can and A huge improvement over the mediocre and vastly overrated GTA3, Vice City suffers from many of its problems while fixing some. The storyline is more interesting thanks to the fact you feel more involved personally, however the game suffers from the same repetition of the first and is not nearly as addictive as most great games are. I'm not compelled to play it as often as I can and that says a lot about a game's quality. It's far too easy as well, I've already beat it in about a week, thankfully it was just a rental. Expand
  97. LarryS.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    GREAT game!! Better than GTAIII, This game ranks beter than a 10+++. MUST HAVE GAME for the GTA fan.
  98. JohnE.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Amazing story line, the best voice work and overall audio in gaming to date, more cars and weapons and on top of all that you can buy businesses to set up your own mob family, and make more money of course. You can actually, as crazy as it sounds, "live" as the character.
  99. EXXX
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Anyone who gives this game a bad score has either not played it, or knows nothing about videogames. It is pure gaming bliss and there's an endless amount of things you can do in it. The main character, Tommy Vercetti, is absolutley hilarious, and he's a badass who knows how to handle his guns and cars as well. The gameplay is probably the best gameplay you are going to find in Anyone who gives this game a bad score has either not played it, or knows nothing about videogames. It is pure gaming bliss and there's an endless amount of things you can do in it. The main character, Tommy Vercetti, is absolutley hilarious, and he's a badass who knows how to handle his guns and cars as well. The gameplay is probably the best gameplay you are going to find in any game on any system. This game is simply brilliant. Everyone already knows its great, so just go out and buy it now. Dont listen to morons giving it 1s and 0s just because they are pissed Vice City is a PS2 exclusive. Expand
  100. JoeShmo
    Nov 8, 2002
    0
    I can't believe any one would buy this game. Overall it isn't very good and it is very hard.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 100
    No excuses, you’re gonna have to buy this. Unless you don’t own a PS2, in which case, get out of our Internet!
  2. 97
    It's enormous, packed with an immense amount of gameplay, and it's a truly unique gameplay experience...This year's most impressive title, by a log shot.
  3. This is a long game, longer than GTA3 because there are far more missions in this game in a far larger area.