User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 601 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 601

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MicahC.
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Totally SICK!
  2. Idi
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    I spend really beautifull christmas with this game. =] And it is not said that you must kill everybody on your way. ;P
  3. EXXX
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Anyone who gives this game a bad score has either not played it, or knows nothing about videogames. It is pure gaming bliss and there's an endless amount of things you can do in it. The main character, Tommy Vercetti, is absolutley hilarious, and he's a badass who knows how to handle his guns and cars as well. The gameplay is probably the best gameplay you are going to find in Anyone who gives this game a bad score has either not played it, or knows nothing about videogames. It is pure gaming bliss and there's an endless amount of things you can do in it. The main character, Tommy Vercetti, is absolutley hilarious, and he's a badass who knows how to handle his guns and cars as well. The gameplay is probably the best gameplay you are going to find in any game on any system. This game is simply brilliant. Everyone already knows its great, so just go out and buy it now. Dont listen to morons giving it 1s and 0s just because they are pissed Vice City is a PS2 exclusive. Expand
  4. GabrielL.
    Oct 31, 2003
    10
    Its the most fun I had on the PS2. Graphix not perfect, but the game is. :)
  5. VilleJ.
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    This is my life but moral way this game is dangerous to children brains.
  6. SWEETGAME
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    Everyone who said that vice city was lame can go suck an Xbox. This was the greatest GTA game, even better than VCS, and is so vivid. the only downsides are no multiplayer and you need your parents to purchase it with you. crap. But still a fricken good game. The second best series ever on ps2, right after SOCOM us navy seals series.
  7. MatthewCool
    Aug 5, 2009
    10
    it is very good id play it over and over again better than gta3 much like scarface (the shootouts) miami vice(cops in sports cars) and other stuff like great 80s music and the mission might get very annoying but the game is makes it fun nonetheless
  8. SianH.
    Nov 6, 2002
    10
    This game is the best. It's a lot better than gta 3.
  9. BrandonB.
    Nov 7, 2002
    10
    I give this game a 10, but like CHris H. said, it does need to be harder. But other than that, this is a bad game!!!
  10. ChrisO.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    Other game makers need to learn from this game. this should be the steping stone to a hole new way we play games. Can't wait to see if they can get better.
  11. MartinA.
    Dec 27, 2002
    10
    You suck Kevin B! This game rocks.
  12. TommyV.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    I just played this game at my cousins house for about 3 hours. I would give it a ten just because they added motorcycles! It's almost funny when you hit something on one, almost. It has many great aspects I have not seen to the full yet. You can buy buildings?! I do not exactly know what the point of that is yet. One thing I cannot understand, why can't the main character swim?! I just played this game at my cousins house for about 3 hours. I would give it a ten just because they added motorcycles! It's almost funny when you hit something on one, almost. It has many great aspects I have not seen to the full yet. You can buy buildings?! I do not exactly know what the point of that is yet. One thing I cannot understand, why can't the main character swim?! It would not take much coding or animation at all, and makes the game more realistic. Anyone who does not give this movie a ten is smokin crack! Please E-mail me at toolband515@yahoo.com if you know of any unique or special motorcycles! Collapse
  13. EricS.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    This game has broken new ground in open-ended gameplay, in a series that had already broken a ton of it. If you haven't gone out and purchased this yet (assuming you can find a copy!), I have no idea what you're waiting for.
  14. K.L.
    Jan 13, 2003
    10
    This is a sweet game, and very fun.
  15. Alon
    Jan 3, 2003
    10
    This game is so freaking awesome! Flying helicopters is so awesome along with the ability to own buildings and businesses.
  16. The8thDragon
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    The most grousome game that's been created---Brilliant.
  17. Floop
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    This game is THE BOMB!!!!POP!
  18. MattK.
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    This is the best game ever.
  19. RyanF.
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    If i could pick 1 game in the whole intire world it is this 1.
  20. Rossjudge
    Jul 10, 2003
    10
    It is very good to play.
  21. ShayneA.
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    Its the best especially with the smart ass comments and the pootang involved in the film studios.
  22. khgui9g
    May 1, 2004
    10
    ITS COOL AS SH.T.
  23. G.H.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    It is simply yhe best game ever played. it is way better than gta 3.
  24. Mobius
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    Vice City's best asspect has got to be its music and the introduction to vehicles that fly, being able to fly over Vice city just add another level to the game, you can now pick this game up in the bargain bins for less than a price of a PS2 magazine (I got mine for £3.99), for £30 if you shop around you can get Liberty Citys Story's, Vice City and San andreas, this Vice City's best asspect has got to be its music and the introduction to vehicles that fly, being able to fly over Vice city just add another level to the game, you can now pick this game up in the bargain bins for less than a price of a PS2 magazine (I got mine for £3.99), for £30 if you shop around you can get Liberty Citys Story's, Vice City and San andreas, this is the best time to own a PS2 as the games for them are now dirt cheap which makes all these game worth that bit more. Expand
  25. JamesD.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    The most beautiful GTA game I've ever played. When I first saw the original trailer with Kool & the Gang's hit track Summer Madness, I thought this game was absolutely gorgeous. The experience is thoroughly entertaining and whilst it retains most of the textures and animations of GTA III but it is a much grander experience overall.
  26. ssseeeeeee
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Amazing game! Best PS2 game for sure! Wish they would make some kind of a remake from this, or new game from the same setting.
  27. *Chris**Faz*
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    It has greatly improved since GTA 3 and has much better gameplay. Overall it's Fantastic.
  28. TimoK.
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    The best game ever!!!!!
  29. MatthieuR.
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    Splendid improvement over the already fabulous GTA3. The only gripes I have are the clumsy control when on foot, some crappy camera angles, and a few annoyingly frustrating RC missions (bomb the Cubans anyone?).
  30. JasonA.
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    Awesome.
  31. ryanb
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    I have one thing to say... Pure Genius!!!! That douchebag that gave it a 5 and loves Metroid prime has a small penis. There is no other explantion. I hate him. I wish he was walking and a large puertorican rapes hmi the ass on his way home. This is the best game ever. No doubt. except halo, and nothing. Once again i hate him.
  32. HeatherP.
    Nov 3, 2002
    10
    This is the best game I evered played in my hole life this is the best thank you for making it!!
  33. MattR.
    Nov 3, 2002
    10
    There goes all my free time, my social life, and everything else I needed to spend time on... This game is pure crack, and definitely improves on the original. I'd like to see tweaked controls and better graphics, but's it's brilliant as is.
  34. ElSteve-o
    Nov 7, 2002
    10
    If you dont own it, go buy it immediately. Its even BETTER than GTA 3!
  35. JohnE.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Amazing story line, the best voice work and overall audio in gaming to date, more cars and weapons and on top of all that you can buy businesses to set up your own mob family, and make more money of course. You can actually, as crazy as it sounds, "live" as the character.
  36. LarryS.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    GREAT game!! Better than GTAIII, This game ranks beter than a 10+++. MUST HAVE GAME for the GTA fan.
  37. JonathanR.
    Dec 10, 2002
    10
    This game is one of the best and most fun games I have ever played.
  38. Nchw
    Dec 28, 2002
    10
    This is a game of exceptional quality. Apart from the loading times this would have to be one of the defest games i have ever played. Buy this game immediately or i will eat your children.
  39. SeanF.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made, just like hitman 2.
  40. ChrisR.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    One word...damn!
  41. TonyG.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    Great game, i'll tell you about it but first i have to go sell some drugs, beat up a pimp, screw his ho, rob a food chain, steal a helicopter, get me a boat, a car of any choice, kill a pig, and then come back to my pornographic studio where i can tell you more about this game of my life!
  42. AdamL.
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Best game ever. I thought GTA3 was the best, but after 9 straight hours with it. It has improved in every way.
  43. JerryT.
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    First thing i have to say is that Adam J. is stupid because the floor dissappears in gta3 too. the only reason the game glitches sometimes is because of how large this game is. And for the cars can u just tell me can u get a motorbike or dirt bike or helicopter or different kinds of boats other than that cop one? yea i thought not so do rate a game u dont noe anything about.
  44. BrandonH.
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Just plain and simple- truly and awesome game. None better.
  45. MTBones
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Did rockstar do better than GTA:III with Vice City. I think so!!!
  46. SwedenS.
    Oct 31, 2002
    10
    Gr8.
  47. JasonP.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    Dq Bomb!
  48. ZiggyStardust
    Oct 31, 2002
    10
    Granted the graphics are barely improved over GTA3s, but it's just what everyone wanted. All new missions, great design, and slight gameplay improvements here and there.
  49. JonathanF.(Therevisedvote)
    Oct 12, 2003
    10
    This game rules. As Tommy Vercetti you can do whatever the hell you want and still just drive into a car service joint to erase any record of the crime ever happening. It's like ... not the Godfather of PS2 games (that honour goes to GTA 3) but instead more like the Don. If GTA3 was Gran Turismo 3, then this would be GT Concept. Not quite as good as GTA3, but as a spin-off of the GTA This game rules. As Tommy Vercetti you can do whatever the hell you want and still just drive into a car service joint to erase any record of the crime ever happening. It's like ... not the Godfather of PS2 games (that honour goes to GTA 3) but instead more like the Don. If GTA3 was Gran Turismo 3, then this would be GT Concept. Not quite as good as GTA3, but as a spin-off of the GTA series it does more than merely keep you occupied until GTA4 comes out ... it really takes over your life. Long live Tommy! Expand
  50. EltonP.
    Jan 3, 2003
    10
    The things missing in GTA3 were added in GTA:VC. I would've given GTA3 a 9 because of a few minor gripes I had but now that they've been improved in GTA:VC I have no more gripes! The graphics are smoother (not the best of course, but better), the missions are creative, and effects are spectacular, the AI has gotten a little smarter, the vehicles have gotten a wider range and The things missing in GTA3 were added in GTA:VC. I would've given GTA3 a 9 because of a few minor gripes I had but now that they've been improved in GTA:VC I have no more gripes! The graphics are smoother (not the best of course, but better), the missions are creative, and effects are spectacular, the AI has gotten a little smarter, the vehicles have gotten a wider range and better look, and the radio is truly representative of the 80s. If you only get one game for the PS2, it has to be this! I expected another GTA3 with the same missions again but I was completely caught off guard! Expand
  51. JoyH.
    Feb 15, 2003
    10
    Great Game. Better Than GTA3.
  52. JakeS.
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    The best ever how can you think its not. Sure the missions are short but they are exciting and hard but not impossible to beat. The huge detailed city, the girls, and bad dude attitude give this game an all time greatness.
  53. TedG.
    Feb 23, 2003
    10
    This is a sexy game it is hard but assome.
  54. JackM.
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    THE BEST game i own. the graphics are brilliant and the swearing is hilirious. the radio is funny especially rusty browns ring doughnuts. basically the balls of a game.
  55. GiancarloS.
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    Sometimes U play video games...but this one it´s an adventure, I got GTAIII and never occured to me they could top it, Rockstar outdid them selves, I´ve played Video games since Atari but this is the best game ever, in depth, fun and attitude...if you only own one game let it be this one.
  56. GannonC.
    Mar 23, 2003
    10
    I liked the strip club the most. This is the best thing ever invented since the TV.
  57. TaHawk
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    Clean game.
  58. J.R.
    Apr 4, 2003
    10
    Same game mechanics as GTA 3. That's a good thing. Helicopters and motorcycles have been added. 80's music and feel done very well. Its a bit shorter than GTA 3, and I thought that the missions in GTA 3 were a bit better. However, this game is one of the best video games ever. Period. I give this a 10 because I can't give it a 9.9. GTA 3 got a 10 and deserved all of it.
  59. DiabloStallion
    Apr 6, 2003
    10
    If I could only play one game for the rest of my life this would be the one!!!!!!
  60. JacanP.
    May 15, 2003
    10
    It is very fun to find out the many different buildings you can buy and the stripper club actually makes you money if you go to the part that you pay 3$ every game hour a hole bunch.
  61. JoshF.
    May 2, 2003
    10
    That game rockes you can get the hoes in your car.
  62. ChaddS.
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    What can you say about this game except that it is so damn good. I mean look at it, the graphics may not be up to scratch but thats not what matters,the game itself is fantastic no doubt about it.I would reccomend it to anyone.
  63. FernandoC.
    Jan 26, 2004
    10
    Spanish Comment: Asi deberian ser todos los juegos de Play2.. largos, interesantes, buenas graficas, buen sonido, con multiples posibilidades... De lo mejor... sino lo tiene en su bibioteca de juegos es imperdonable...
  64. AndrewJ.
    Jan 31, 2004
    10
    A really good, fun mafia game.
  65. PIRANHAg.
    Jan 7, 2004
    10
    Quality´s back!!!!
  66. JohnB.
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    Absolutely fantasic , 1 of da best.
  67. SlamDunk
    May 25, 2004
    10
    What is wrong with the reviewers these days? I mean, giving a maximum score of 8/10 to a game that is fun, original and has practically endless replay value (for example in one review, "lifespan = 8/10", now, that is just plain wrong). One thing I have noted in the reviews goes something like "TrackMania does not require so much driving skills and is not a racing game but mainly a track What is wrong with the reviewers these days? I mean, giving a maximum score of 8/10 to a game that is fun, original and has practically endless replay value (for example in one review, "lifespan = 8/10", now, that is just plain wrong). One thing I have noted in the reviews goes something like "TrackMania does not require so much driving skills and is not a racing game but mainly a track building/puzzle game"...erm, hello? Yeah, there's puzzles and track building but in the heart of TM there is a true racing game and it is all about driving skills. Also... TrackMania is a game where the graphics are not so important. Graphics suit the gameplay very well, no complaints. The gameplay, on the other hand, is what really matters and it is simply superb. To me, online play is the heart of TrackMania. It's all about having fun and enjoying the tracks that people make. Expand
  68. ZacM.
    May 9, 2004
    10
    Best Game ever!!!! People who think not they must be crazy becuz they have no common sense. Must Buy!!!
  69. Y.C.
    Aug 6, 2004
    10
    If i could i would give VC an 11.The freedom to do whatever you want, plus a compelling storyline and levels, awesome graphics and game play make this game better than GTA 3.
  70. ArseniyK.
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best games for ps2.good graphics, great gameplay, and so fun youll be playing it for hours! this deserves a 20!!!
  71. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    I absolutely know that San Andreas is a better game, but when it comes to the music and storyline, Vice City burns San Andreas. Oh yeah, if you have not played San Andreas and play Vice City, you will worship a video game to the fullest.
  72. Munkee
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    I would give it 100 but u people wont let me this game is alot better then gta3 it has new features and everything like i said this is good.
  73. [Anonymous]
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    It's awesome.
  74. Godigoy
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    I love this game even though its very hard!!!!!
  75. RyanM.
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    From the first press of a button to the final frame of GTA: Vice City it's incredibly obvious of it's grandeur and success. But beyond that, it expands on everything GTAIII was to make a better game for everyone, the best game of the year.
  76. GaryY.
    Nov 12, 2002
    10
    This game is the best Game ever ever ever made it is so so so better than GTA 3 I completed gta 3, it is to easy and gta vice city is rock hard.
  77. RockStar
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    The excitment will shoot u down.
  78. JordanM.
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    This is the best game.
  79. ChrisD.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Great game.
  80. ShaneH.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    F..k all u stupid ppl out there that say this game sux this game is tha best by far.
  81. MiriamC.
    Dec 1, 2002
    10
    It's an eighties wet-dream combined with one of my all-time favorite games. There are a few things that I don't like about it, such as just aiming a gun will set cops on your ass, but it does add to the realism and difficulty of the game. The selection of weapons is great, and I love the addition of motorcycles.
  82. WillyS.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    It's da best.
  83. Jeff
    Dec 16, 2002
    10
    It's great, what more can i say?
  84. Tim
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    This game has everything that you could possibly want in a game. You can pick up hookers, be a cop killer, or you can do the dirty work of someone else. This is the best game ever!
  85. KyleT.
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    A learning experience if your interested in crime.
  86. EricP.
    Dec 27, 2002
    10
    This Game is the best ever GTA series game yet! I just love using the Rhino Tank.....It kills anything it touches.
  87. GregoryC.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    I liked the game because off its colors, and violants. Verry good and great graffics too. I think it will bee my game off the yer (yeah, i have my own lists). This IS A GOOD GAME! Bye it now!
  88. JordanT.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    Excellent game, anyone says otherwise will have to deal with me.....
  89. NicholasB.
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    Probably one of the best games ever, yeah ever. The graphics are damn good, and the game play is damn damn good. By the by, who the hell is Don M, Swines, what type of loser says swines. One who lives in his moma's house and can't get no biznotch to take to the car wash.
  90. FilazaferX
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    I have been playing video games since Pong was the best game going. I was also playing when Super Mario Brothers was the best, when GoldenEye was the on top, and when Final Fantasy reigned supreme. Now GTA: Vice City is the best and it is more fun than all of those games combined. Buy it before it's sold out.
  91. DEATHSEEKER79
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    YEAAAH I GOT MINE AND WHAT. Much props to the people that hooked me up. tHANKS EB this game roks.
  92. DtotheJ
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Yes, it is what you were hoping for, yes it will blow you away, and yes you should get right now. Yes yes YES!
  93. YiannisA.
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    It's amazing that this game is acutally better than GTAIII. Buy it right now, don't wait another minute. RUN!
  94. MattK
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Friggin awesome.
  95. K.H.
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    10+++++ Everybody seems to think that the point of this game is just to run around and kill hookers, (which IS fun) But it kicks so much more ASS than that. Just......just buy it....please.
  96. JennetS.
    Jan 18, 2003
    10
    The game is amazing, I like everything about it.
  97. KevinC.
    Feb 11, 2003
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played and also the most realistic game. There is just 1 flaw in the game. Some people don't die once you run them over. But I still rate it 10. PEACE
  98. JonathanG.
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    I really like this game but could you give me any hints or tips how to complete the demolition man mission please.
  99. NickS.
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    For the kid who rated the game a 5 he must be pretty stupid if all he does is run around and kill ppl maybe he should actually play the game.
  100. ConnerM.
    Mar 27, 2003
    10
    I´m speechless, Bars, drug dealing, kidnaps, bank robberies, racing, strip joints, racing (cars and boats), laundering money, makin´fake money, makin´porno movies and your basic killing and mayhem...in short if it´s a crime GTAVC´s got it...there's no end to the fun you can have in this game...totally interactive with it´s own enviroment...this is I´m speechless, Bars, drug dealing, kidnaps, bank robberies, racing, strip joints, racing (cars and boats), laundering money, makin´fake money, makin´porno movies and your basic killing and mayhem...in short if it´s a crime GTAVC´s got it...there's no end to the fun you can have in this game...totally interactive with it´s own enviroment...this is not a game, it´s a gude to be a criminal...i´d like to see someone top this game...I dare any gamin company. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 100
    No excuses, you’re gonna have to buy this. Unless you don’t own a PS2, in which case, get out of our Internet!
  2. 97
    It's enormous, packed with an immense amount of gameplay, and it's a truly unique gameplay experience...This year's most impressive title, by a log shot.
  3. This is a long game, longer than GTA3 because there are far more missions in this game in a far larger area.