User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 704 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 704
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. J.Palm
    Nov 9, 2002
    9
    This is the best game ever made. Even better then GTA3. Not only is does this game have over 60 hours of game play while trying to beat the game it also has 50 hour of just messing with the game. Lastly There are major improvements from GTA3 including interiors. Man this game is good.
  2. MicahC.
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Totally SICK!
  3. EXXX
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Anyone who gives this game a bad score has either not played it, or knows nothing about videogames. It is pure gaming bliss and there's an endless amount of things you can do in it. The main character, Tommy Vercetti, is absolutley hilarious, and he's a badass who knows how to handle his guns and cars as well. The gameplay is probably the best gameplay you are going to find in Anyone who gives this game a bad score has either not played it, or knows nothing about videogames. It is pure gaming bliss and there's an endless amount of things you can do in it. The main character, Tommy Vercetti, is absolutley hilarious, and he's a badass who knows how to handle his guns and cars as well. The gameplay is probably the best gameplay you are going to find in any game on any system. This game is simply brilliant. Everyone already knows its great, so just go out and buy it now. Dont listen to morons giving it 1s and 0s just because they are pissed Vice City is a PS2 exclusive. Expand
  4. Idi
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    I spend really beautifull christmas with this game. =] And it is not said that you must kill everybody on your way. ;P
  5. DamianM.
    Jan 15, 2003
    9
    The game was really good 10 times better than GTA 3. You can bail out now, and you can buy more hide-outs, it has motorcycles. But There is one BIG PROBLEM YOU CANT SWIM IN THIS GAME.
  6. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    while not as good as 3 this game is still a true marvel awesome shooting outrages fun with missions. driving is same as ever but still fun. The character kodels are impressive too still a 10
  7. May 22, 2012
    10
    With great story, great radio stations (including the commercials), great vehicles, all around great sense of style, hilarious characters and great gameplay... this is by far one of the top 5 to have on PS2.
  8. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    As many people said before "I grew up with this game" so did I. It was amazing how cars got on fire and people head exploded when shot with sniper. "OMG" and boats... oh goood awsome. Was a best game many years ago but for today you cant compare this game with GTA IV ect. So 10/10! Second good GTA after GTA:LONDON :)
  9. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    When this game came out there was no such thing as flying a helicopter over a sprawling city in any other video game. There was no such thing as a rich and funny storyline stretched over a diverse and exciting city. Today, you may have seen better, but Vice City truly openend up for a bigger kind of gaming back then. I was very sceptic that a new "spin" on GTA III could be worth anything,When this game came out there was no such thing as flying a helicopter over a sprawling city in any other video game. There was no such thing as a rich and funny storyline stretched over a diverse and exciting city. Today, you may have seen better, but Vice City truly openend up for a bigger kind of gaming back then. I was very sceptic that a new "spin" on GTA III could be worth anything, but it blew everyone away. The soundtrack was also sold seperately in a boxed set. It represented the coolest music of the era in all genres. I agree with the many who place Vice City high in the GTA series. Expand
  10. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    i had the ps2 for my entire childhood and this was one of the only games i'd play since i was 6 to the age i am now this game is always my fav its just pure game the cheats are hilarious (i.e flying cars) the graphics are amazing (B***H who the hell cares about graphics) the story was legendary and i craved for more after i was done and the time you can play this for Jesus i think I'vei had the ps2 for my entire childhood and this was one of the only games i'd play since i was 6 to the age i am now this game is always my fav its just pure game the cheats are hilarious (i.e flying cars) the graphics are amazing (B***H who the hell cares about graphics) the story was legendary and i craved for more after i was done and the time you can play this for Jesus i think I've clocked in over 500+ hours of just free roam into that game and over 50+ into the campaign may the next GTA be just like this one Collapse
  11. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    an awesome game indeed! i love the gameplay and the radio stations, especially K-Chat! that one had me gut laughing most of the time, anyways i don't like the cops in this game and they are very annoying, for instance, two people are having a brawl and the cop just passes by like nothing is happening, then when i want to beat them up too, the officer turns around and starts beating me withan awesome game indeed! i love the gameplay and the radio stations, especially K-Chat! that one had me gut laughing most of the time, anyways i don't like the cops in this game and they are very annoying, for instance, two people are having a brawl and the cop just passes by like nothing is happening, then when i want to beat them up too, the officer turns around and starts beating me with his stick! :( Expand
  12. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    This game is my favorite GTA III Era game. It has style, story and big pack of action. I grew on this game (along with GTA3 and GTA San Andreas). One of the best games EVER.
  13. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Welcome to Vice City. Welcome to the 1980s. Having just made it back onto the streets of Liberty City after a long stretch in maximum security, Tommy Vercetti is sent to Vice City by his old boss, Sonny Forelli. They were understandably nervous about his re-appearance in Liberty City, so a trip down south seemed like a good idea. But all does not go smoothly upon his arrival in theWelcome to Vice City. Welcome to the 1980s. Having just made it back onto the streets of Liberty City after a long stretch in maximum security, Tommy Vercetti is sent to Vice City by his old boss, Sonny Forelli. They were understandably nervous about his re-appearance in Liberty City, so a trip down south seemed like a good idea. But all does not go smoothly upon his arrival in the glamorous, hedonistic metropolis of Vice City. He's set up and is left with no money and no merchandise. Sonny wants his money back, but the biker gangs, Cuban gangsters, and corrupt politicians stand in his way. Most of Vice City seems to want Tommy dead. His only answer is to fight back and take over the city himself. Vice City offers vehicular pleasures to suit every taste. For the speed enthusiast, there's high-performance cars and motorbikes. For the sportsman, a powerboat or a golf buggy lets you enjoy the great outdoors. For those that need that sense of freedom and escape, why not charter a helicopter and see the beauty of Vice City from the air? Expand
  14. Dec 22, 2010
    4
    I think this game kinda sucks. A lot. The graphics suck too, bad. You can't even see they're emotions. Lamest game on the PS2. Don't buy it. Please just don't buy it.
  15. BrianD.
    Jan 4, 2006
    0
    I dont even give it a point for violence this time. The controls STILL suck and the graphics are horrible. it suffers the same problems of the first game. The only reason this game sells is for the shock value that really isnt that shocking.
  16. AnonymousMC
    Sep 24, 2009
    6
    I've played worse games, and I've played better games. There is fun to be had here, don't get me wrong. The soundtrack is killer, the vehicles handle pretty well, and you can do almost anything you want. This is held back by the controls and camera. If I move the right stick, I don't want an immediate and temporary change to first-person view. I want to actually beI've played worse games, and I've played better games. There is fun to be had here, don't get me wrong. The soundtrack is killer, the vehicles handle pretty well, and you can do almost anything you want. This is held back by the controls and camera. If I move the right stick, I don't want an immediate and temporary change to first-person view. I want to actually be able to see behind me without holding down extra buttons. Then there's the controls. While usually responsive, melee combat isn't, and suffers for it. Also, there's a meh targeting system. Overall, though, it's a competent game, and you could have some fun with it. I enjoy it, but it's nothing mind-blowing. Expand
  17. Brown
    Jun 24, 2003
    4
    The graphics are bad and too many glitches. the people are stupid and you can ram people on the road right next to some cops and they will just stay there and do nothing. which is very gay. do something more fun like 8=0 (:) if you are smart enough to not play the game, you will figure that out and go do it right now.
  18. GoneFission
    Nov 14, 2002
    5
    Best Game Ever? Can i ask you guys a question...? are you on drugs! There's no way as FUN as this game seems that its the greatetst game ever. This game has too many BUGS! Getting shot through walls, failing missions and having to restart, having your dimwitted AI temates randomly die just doesn't work and hurts the game play dramaticlly. This game can NOT be the best game ever Best Game Ever? Can i ask you guys a question...? are you on drugs! There's no way as FUN as this game seems that its the greatetst game ever. This game has too many BUGS! Getting shot through walls, failing missions and having to restart, having your dimwitted AI temates randomly die just doesn't work and hurts the game play dramaticlly. This game can NOT be the best game ever its not even the best game this year! Here's the list of the best games this year: 1. Metroid Prime THAT'S IT! THAT'S THE LIST!....forget the hype and know that GTAVC has bugs! Expand
  19. AdamJ.
    Nov 26, 2002
    6
    NO WAY is this as good as GTA3 1. The City is poorly laid out 2. There is no where near enough variation in the cars 3. There is no where enough story missions 4. Money is too tight to start then stupidly easy to come accross 5. The Graphical Glitches....Where's the Floor gone, WHERE ARE THE TEXTURES! Its still a good game technically but is missing these points and the Charm that 3 had.
  20. FredW.
    Dec 22, 2002
    5
    Driving is fun but the graphics are not that great. Parents, you need to be advised, this is not a game for your kids. This is a "MATURE" rated game and has a lot of hookers saying various sexual inuendos and game play violence. This game is full crime related game play.
  21. SteveS.
    Feb 14, 2003
    5
    Distinctly average game. Played GTA3 and got bored very quickly. Run here, kill this, run back, save game, drive here, kill them, drive back, save game... zzzzz... Best bit - spawn a tank cheat. Then just kill everyone. Mucho fun. Nice graphics, but they should've upped the pace of the gameplay IMHO.
  22. AbboTTF.
    Dec 31, 2002
    6
    Come'on you mindless retards... sure the game is fun and very free, but do you all have to give it a 10?... The game is nothing besides beating people and car chases (with sub-par driving mechanics nontheless)... Play Gran Tourisimo A-spec or somthing actualy mind-engaging. Don't get me wrong, it is a good game, but I honestly can say that I liked GTA2 better. (I haven't Come'on you mindless retards... sure the game is fun and very free, but do you all have to give it a 10?... The game is nothing besides beating people and car chases (with sub-par driving mechanics nontheless)... Play Gran Tourisimo A-spec or somthing actualy mind-engaging. Don't get me wrong, it is a good game, but I honestly can say that I liked GTA2 better. (I haven't played 3) The cops are dumb... this is a major prob... I stole a tank!...There are 5,000 cop cars and helicopters on my tail... o wait, I can just drive into this little garage and no one will find me... com'on! Expand
  23. BobM.
    Nov 8, 2002
    1
    Are u people insane??? the game sucks, have you even acknowledged the graphics, its complete crap!! its like mega drive grapics. the game that all you ppl should be looking at is GETAWAY wait for it people watch this space. this game kills GTA all of em put 2getha.
  24. C.Smith
    Feb 23, 2003
    0
    Exactly the same game as GTA3...just pink. If you played GTA3, you will beat this game in 1-2 days. Driving around doing nothing is boooooring afteryou have already done that in GTA3!
  25. SteveH.
    Jan 9, 2003
    5
    This game is okay but i hate the frickin pastel colors everything in the 80's wasnt pastel for christ sake and for the love of god why didn't you make on the same basis as GTA3 come on.
  26. KevinB.
    Dec 22, 2002
    1
    It's Crap!
  27. JennC.
    Aug 5, 2003
    6
    This game isn't the best of GTA games. I believe that GTA 3 was the absolute best. The graphics, colors, and story lines in this game need a little more work.
  28. BobPlatter
    Jan 8, 2003
    3
    Too Hard at Times and unrealistic.
  29. JoeShmo
    Nov 8, 2002
    0
    I can't believe any one would buy this game. Overall it isn't very good and it is very hard.
  30. MichaelD.
    May 18, 2003
    0
    Such garbage, i hate this game.
  31. NebaR.
    Apr 23, 2003
    0
    This game is real boring.
  32. RJBlake
    Sep 7, 2003
    5
    this game is good but it feezes if it did not freeze it would be awsome rockstar has to work on that for a better gta.
  33. MichaelH
    Jan 29, 2007
    0
    I hate this game because it is so annoying! You can never find anything on it and you always die! It is really boring.
  34. Dec 16, 2010
    8
    Compared to GTA III, Vice City SUCKS BALLS!Don't get me wrong is not very bad, but the controls is sometimes awkward, but the action blazes.............again..............Not much to say.......Not bad, but not enough......................
  35. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Game play needed polishing. Difficulty spikes untimely in the plot. I like the setting and time period much more than III, and it was one of the funnest games around when it was first released.
  36. Oct 11, 2012
    0
    If I'm going to finish Vice City, I'm going to need some painkillers. The only complement I have to give to this game is for the music. Worst combat I've ever tried in a video game, honestly. In addition it consists of terrible camera angles, if there's a guy next to you, you have to start looking around in first person like a moron, because the aim-assist doesn't work from where theIf I'm going to finish Vice City, I'm going to need some painkillers. The only complement I have to give to this game is for the music. Worst combat I've ever tried in a video game, honestly. In addition it consists of terrible camera angles, if there's a guy next to you, you have to start looking around in first person like a moron, because the aim-assist doesn't work from where the camera is placed at any given time. What does it depend on then you ask? The direction the character is facing, which is ridiculous. Which brings me to my next complaint. Why did they bind the aiming to the left analog stick with the rifles, making only the aim-assist weapons like the shotgun bearable, was it their goal to make the controllers dramatically different in comparison to every other game in the world to make it a challenge for all the wrong reasons? I can handle a challenge, but not because of bad controls, that's completely the wrong way to go about it. And the pacing isn't very good either, games should be about applying what you've learned so far as you gradually become better, which is not present here, it's all about successfully bypassing the randomness that is the city. Graphics were superior in GTA 3. the missions feel like doing chores, and honestly I couldn't care less about the story - seems to me some wannabe gangster story for teenagers. You will also find your imminent death right around the corner just because your car happens to flip over, or a cop comes around the corner. Speaking of cops, they are the most aggressive police force in history, if you get stuck with your car you can bet your ass they are going to drive into it in full speed, resulting in it flipping upside down starting to burn immediately, or you can even try running in an attempt to seek for a new car only to find that the only cars are police ones. Unless of course you happen to be close to a Paint Garage where they are watching you from the outside, showing how little emphasis has been put on realism. I recently played Mass Effect 1 which is known to have an inferior combat system to the sequel, but it is nothing compared to this. I can't go past 2 missions without wanting to throw the controller at my brand new TV. Even when I get a Mission Accomplished screen I don't feel like I've accomplished **** and it just so happened that during that particular attempt I didn't have a car hit me from the side when passing an intersection, or that for once the camera angle happened to be pointing at enemies and potential roadblocks. I'd like to meet this fella who came up with the idea to bind the right analog stick to first person scenery, what on earth was he thinking. Trying to go into a alleyway with this camera system is suicide, because you can't see what you're shooting at. I'm 27% into the story and this game is already giving me more headaches than playing through God of War, which is a harder game, but at least when you die you are able to blame yourself - it is not an experience comparable to the coincidental deaths in Vice City. The map is godawful and doesn't show what direction you're heading, which makes me realise this is an old game that hasn't aged very well. If you **** up a mission, most of your time will be spent afterwards doing the exact same thing over and over until you reach the last part of the mission again. It's a waste of time, just let me restart where the challenge starts, it's not a challenge driving to the mission so why would I want to do it all over again? The taxi waiting outside is intended to take care of this problem, but you still have to enter the mission, and then drive to wherever you have to go, leading to myself wasting enormous amounts of spare time. I'm currently stuck on a mission because I didn't run back and save after every successful mission, leading to my character losing his weapons every now and then, and me having to repurchase them. Now I can't afford the properties to move on past mission V, which the game made no effort to inform me of, and I'm left with options like having to drive around in cab to collect hundreds of thousand dollars, which unfortunately is something I'm not willing to do on my spare time. Rockstar's concepts with this game was something along the lines of: Here's a timer for 15 minutes, I see you happened to get the first 14 minutes right and you are now driving over a bridge, we programmed this sequence so that the driver in the opposite lane will now switch lanes so that your car flips through the air and into the water - leading you to die a slow and painful death. We made this decision because lacking remorse, and feel that you should have to play all our missions at least twice, just to make the game appear longer and more "hardcore". Expand
  37. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    One of the coolest games ever made. The nostalgia is overwhelming and the gameplay is fantastic! This is hands down the best GTA game to play without cheats(If you want to play with cheats, I recommend GTA: San Andreas).
  38. Jun 10, 2014
    10
    OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!!
  39. The7thDragon
    Dec 31, 2002
    9
    I love GTA3. I love Vice City, but unfortunatly i found some bugs in Vice City which made me give it a 9. The first annoying flaw i found in the game was the fact that it kept taking mi guns. ex- I finished a mission i forgot which one and i got that machine gun that u use in the helicopter. I kept it but by the time i was half way done with the 2nd Island the game took that gun and all I love GTA3. I love Vice City, but unfortunatly i found some bugs in Vice City which made me give it a 9. The first annoying flaw i found in the game was the fact that it kept taking mi guns. ex- I finished a mission i forgot which one and i got that machine gun that u use in the helicopter. I kept it but by the time i was half way done with the 2nd Island the game took that gun and all the moltov cocktails i saved up for a "block party from hell" :) anyway that was one flaw and another was the fact mi friend found a error were he could walk through cirtin buildings. Besides these issuse and the lame helicopter controls i love the game. The musics good the play control is good and the missions just make the game even funner. I highly recomend this 2 anybody who is not a big religious/moral person. ENJOY EVERY1! Expand
  40. FilazaferX
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    I have been playing video games since Pong was the best game going. I was also playing when Super Mario Brothers was the best, when GoldenEye was the on top, and when Final Fantasy reigned supreme. Now GTA: Vice City is the best and it is more fun than all of those games combined. Buy it before it's sold out.
  41. NicholasB.
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    Probably one of the best games ever, yeah ever. The graphics are damn good, and the game play is damn damn good. By the by, who the hell is Don M, Swines, what type of loser says swines. One who lives in his moma's house and can't get no biznotch to take to the car wash.
  42. JeffR.
    Nov 18, 2002
    8
    The depth and reality of this game is truly unparalled, but that realism comes at a price, unfortunately. the game is quite buggy, from draw distance glitches to ridiculous fall damage issues (trip over a curb? that'll cost you 10 health - plummet 14 stories, and it'll be 30), the sudden dissappearing of vehicles that were just there a second ago, and other miscellaneous bugsThe depth and reality of this game is truly unparalled, but that realism comes at a price, unfortunately. the game is quite buggy, from draw distance glitches to ridiculous fall damage issues (trip over a curb? that'll cost you 10 health - plummet 14 stories, and it'll be 30), the sudden dissappearing of vehicles that were just there a second ago, and other miscellaneous bugs keep this game from really being the best of the year, but regardless, there is so much fun to be had. vice city teems with life and oozes style, and the excellent sense of humor carries on through every hour you play. the radio in and of itself is sheer brilliance, and the missions, although some are quite difficult, are extremely imaginative and fun. it may not be the second coming of jesus that everyone thought it would be, but its an excellent game that deserves your $50. Expand
  43. JonathanF.(Therevisedvote)
    Oct 12, 2003
    10
    This game rules. As Tommy Vercetti you can do whatever the hell you want and still just drive into a car service joint to erase any record of the crime ever happening. It's like ... not the Godfather of PS2 games (that honour goes to GTA 3) but instead more like the Don. If GTA3 was Gran Turismo 3, then this would be GT Concept. Not quite as good as GTA3, but as a spin-off of the GTA This game rules. As Tommy Vercetti you can do whatever the hell you want and still just drive into a car service joint to erase any record of the crime ever happening. It's like ... not the Godfather of PS2 games (that honour goes to GTA 3) but instead more like the Don. If GTA3 was Gran Turismo 3, then this would be GT Concept. Not quite as good as GTA3, but as a spin-off of the GTA series it does more than merely keep you occupied until GTA4 comes out ... it really takes over your life. Long live Tommy! Expand
  44. SeanB
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Personally, I like VC better than GTA3. Don't bother to listen to the people that say one is waaaaay better than the other one. EASILY the best series on PS2, probably in all platforms too. It's very tough to decide which one is better, almost as tough as trying to beat the game itself, let alone the fabled 100%. Because both GTA's are so deep, you can just sum up Personally, I like VC better than GTA3. Don't bother to listen to the people that say one is waaaaay better than the other one. EASILY the best series on PS2, probably in all platforms too. It's very tough to decide which one is better, almost as tough as trying to beat the game itself, let alone the fabled 100%. Because both GTA's are so deep, you can just sum up everything into one word: Perfect. Maybe San Andreas will settle the dispute one which is better. (Hopefully) Expand
  45. SamS.
    Jul 22, 2004
    8
    This is an enjoyable game at some points I like 3 better than vice city mainly because it gets me in more of a crime like mood and the controls are better. I rarely get in a crimey mood in Vice City but when I do i'ts better than 3, but like I said, those moments are rare. Also, the lighting is much better in 3. Great game but at the bottom of the river compared to 3.
  46. AndyS.
    Dec 29, 2004
    10
    There are simply no flaws in this game... well i can't say i like drowning, and comparing it to the range of new vehicles in GTA San Andreas, it's not the best it could be. I don't really mind the fact that you can't customize your guy, but the cloths make up for that, and the story is just amazing. The weapon desingn is out of this world and the great color of this There are simply no flaws in this game... well i can't say i like drowning, and comparing it to the range of new vehicles in GTA San Andreas, it's not the best it could be. I don't really mind the fact that you can't customize your guy, but the cloths make up for that, and the story is just amazing. The weapon desingn is out of this world and the great color of this game is definatly an uplift. There's only one thig to do in this game...PLAY! Expand
  47. JasonB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    8
    GTA 3 was great, and Im sure it was difficult to follow it up. But they managed to do so, and with alot of Flair! The setting is just plain awesome, esspecially if you were into Miami Vice, Knight Rider, the A-Team and other shows from that era. Gameplay is improved over the original slightly, but the setting is what makes this game better than the original.
  48. Antonio
    Apr 29, 2006
    8
    Vice city I think is better then san adreas beacuse after you complet it hardly nothink to do and vice city feels like your in a real world which san adrears feels like a small area but vice city havnt got that good graphics as san andreas if it did it will be worth buying.
  49. Mobius
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    Vice City's best asspect has got to be its music and the introduction to vehicles that fly, being able to fly over Vice city just add another level to the game, you can now pick this game up in the bargain bins for less than a price of a PS2 magazine (I got mine for £3.99), for £30 if you shop around you can get Liberty Citys Story's, Vice City and San andreas, this Vice City's best asspect has got to be its music and the introduction to vehicles that fly, being able to fly over Vice city just add another level to the game, you can now pick this game up in the bargain bins for less than a price of a PS2 magazine (I got mine for £3.99), for £30 if you shop around you can get Liberty Citys Story's, Vice City and San andreas, this is the best time to own a PS2 as the games for them are now dirt cheap which makes all these game worth that bit more. Expand
  50. ApocalypseB.
    Oct 29, 2006
    9
    Vice City is a superb game, no doubt! The Scarface theme and the era is as golden as the storyline and the comical radio broadcasts. But the area, lack of decent stunt chances and things to do within it are limited compared to San Andreas, thus making the latter a much better game. But VC has better graphics than SA and for me, is still a fanastic game to play for an hour if you get stuck Vice City is a superb game, no doubt! The Scarface theme and the era is as golden as the storyline and the comical radio broadcasts. But the area, lack of decent stunt chances and things to do within it are limited compared to San Andreas, thus making the latter a much better game. But VC has better graphics than SA and for me, is still a fanastic game to play for an hour if you get stuck on SA. Now for Bully! Expand
  51. SWEETGAME
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    Everyone who said that vice city was lame can go suck an Xbox. This was the greatest GTA game, even better than VCS, and is so vivid. the only downsides are no multiplayer and you need your parents to purchase it with you. crap. But still a fricken good game. The second best series ever on ps2, right after SOCOM us navy seals series.
  52. KickA.
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Hands down this is the second best gta game (next to san andeas of course) It kicks the crap out of gta 3 cuz you can basically do anything ANYTIHNG you want to. The only reason that its not as good as san adreas is cuz the city is a little bit smaller and the graphics arent as good. Oh and i agree the music is kick a.s! (compared to all the other music in this series. the best thing Hands down this is the second best gta game (next to san andeas of course) It kicks the crap out of gta 3 cuz you can basically do anything ANYTIHNG you want to. The only reason that its not as good as san adreas is cuz the city is a little bit smaller and the graphics arent as good. Oh and i agree the music is kick a.s! (compared to all the other music in this series. the best thing about this game is being able to jack stuff that can fly, helicopters are the best mode of transpertation by far...) $ TIGHT GAME $ Expand
  53. ClintT.
    Jan 20, 2008
    9
    This is a brilliant, humorous satire in much the same vein as other GTA games. It owes a lot to films such as Scarface (similar plot and a couple of the shootouts in Vice City are similar to the final hurrah of Tony Montana as well as countless other references) and Carlito
  54. HarryL.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Simply the best game I have ever played, yes GTA 4 is realistic, but nothing can beat the slick hair does, the flowery suites, and the stunning dialogge, yes missions can get repetative, but as the same with every game, like the shooting games, look left shoot look right shoot, this game has to be the ultimate for fun, and the perfect size of the map, and the great spacial awareness the Simply the best game I have ever played, yes GTA 4 is realistic, but nothing can beat the slick hair does, the flowery suites, and the stunning dialogge, yes missions can get repetative, but as the same with every game, like the shooting games, look left shoot look right shoot, this game has to be the ultimate for fun, and the perfect size of the map, and the great spacial awareness the creators put into the game, 100% brilliant. Expand
  55. MaxM
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    Possibly my favourite game of all time. Dramatic, Funny and the look and feel of the City was breathtaking. If you wanted something to remind you of the 80's you could do much worse then this. There was a huge choice in vehicles and weapons. A great choice in music as well as humorous radio DJ's. Tommy Vercetti was a marvelous character who could create some chemistry between Possibly my favourite game of all time. Dramatic, Funny and the look and feel of the City was breathtaking. If you wanted something to remind you of the 80's you could do much worse then this. There was a huge choice in vehicles and weapons. A great choice in music as well as humorous radio DJ's. Tommy Vercetti was a marvelous character who could create some chemistry between the player and himself. The purchase property was a massive plus, the stroyline never got dull and the gang warfare was awesome. No GTA game has managed to pass the greatness GTA Vice City Achieved. Expand
  56. [anonymous]
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    youd have to be a complete idiot to say that this game is better than san andreas. while i liked the setting it in no way surpasses the story line of san andreas, its not as big, theres way less things to do after the main story, the setting isnt as varied or robust, you cant swim etc. the story in this game is good but it just doesnt match up. this is a 9 but san andreas is a 10, its youd have to be a complete idiot to say that this game is better than san andreas. while i liked the setting it in no way surpasses the story line of san andreas, its not as big, theres way less things to do after the main story, the setting isnt as varied or robust, you cant swim etc. the story in this game is good but it just doesnt match up. this is a 9 but san andreas is a 10, its just the truth Expand
  57. GiancarloS.
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    Sometimes U play video games...but this one it´s an adventure, I got GTAIII and never occured to me they could top it, Rockstar outdid them selves, I´ve played Video games since Atari but this is the best game ever, in depth, fun and attitude...if you only own one game let it be this one.
  58. MiriamC.
    Dec 1, 2002
    10
    It's an eighties wet-dream combined with one of my all-time favorite games. There are a few things that I don't like about it, such as just aiming a gun will set cops on your ass, but it does add to the realism and difficulty of the game. The selection of weapons is great, and I love the addition of motorcycles.
  59. AlexB.
    Apr 18, 2003
    9
    Liberty City is a cooler environment, but where VC misses out for variety and size it makes up with greater detail and a more visceral feel. There are flaws. The radio stations get tired quickly, and a lot of space in the environment seems wasted. But these are minor points. Just getting up to 3 stars and running from the cops is a game in itself. I wish they'd take this one on line!
  60. DonM.
    Dec 2, 2002
    7
    Buh? £40? FORTY POXY QUID? THE B.ST.RDS ARE SELLING IT AS A FULL PRICED GAME! SWINES! This really isn't a full game, no matter what Rockstar tell you...it's an Add-On. It's a GOOD add-on, but it's an add-on. But it's a GOOD add-on, to the best game ever...which makes it the best game ever, vicariously by being a part of the real best game ever. Look, stop Buh? £40? FORTY POXY QUID? THE B.ST.RDS ARE SELLING IT AS A FULL PRICED GAME! SWINES! This really isn't a full game, no matter what Rockstar tell you...it's an Add-On. It's a GOOD add-on, but it's an add-on. But it's a GOOD add-on, to the best game ever...which makes it the best game ever, vicariously by being a part of the real best game ever. Look, stop reading this rubbish and play it, okay? But don't pay for it. Steal it or something. Forty quid, I ask you... Expand
  61. Steve
    Nov 18, 2002
    7
    Not as good as GTA3. Has good points but too many problems such as AI and depth. Is it just me, or does it bother any of you that the main character talks. I preferred the mute main character in GTA3. The music is definitely the high point in this game. You can go in buildings, but who cares? The buildings are useless. Helicoptors are a HUGE plus. Like some of the special places like the Not as good as GTA3. Has good points but too many problems such as AI and depth. Is it just me, or does it bother any of you that the main character talks. I preferred the mute main character in GTA3. The music is definitely the high point in this game. You can go in buildings, but who cares? The buildings are useless. Helicoptors are a HUGE plus. Like some of the special places like the Army Air Force Base, the Hyman Colusseum, INSIDE the Washington Beach Police Dept. But, who cares about the jewelry store? Who cares about the record store? Laundrymat?? Big deal.. It has good points, but GTA3 still has a big advantage over this game. I can't call this the best game ever, and if you break down the game and critically review it instead of buying into the hype, you will find its good, but NOT the best game ever. Expand
  62. BobSixtyniner
    Nov 21, 2002
    10
    This game is the best version of grand theft auto that has come out of rockstar since the first gta game. The only problem that i have with the game is that there are to many cops. You commit one crime and there is a oinker on your back.
  63. ConnerM.
    Mar 27, 2003
    10
    I´m speechless, Bars, drug dealing, kidnaps, bank robberies, racing, strip joints, racing (cars and boats), laundering money, makin´fake money, makin´porno movies and your basic killing and mayhem...in short if it´s a crime GTAVC´s got it...there's no end to the fun you can have in this game...totally interactive with it´s own enviroment...this is I´m speechless, Bars, drug dealing, kidnaps, bank robberies, racing, strip joints, racing (cars and boats), laundering money, makin´fake money, makin´porno movies and your basic killing and mayhem...in short if it´s a crime GTAVC´s got it...there's no end to the fun you can have in this game...totally interactive with it´s own enviroment...this is not a game, it´s a gude to be a criminal...i´d like to see someone top this game...I dare any gamin company. Expand
  64. JonathanP.
    Nov 9, 2002
    8
    A huge improvement over the mediocre and vastly overrated GTA3, Vice City suffers from many of its problems while fixing some. The storyline is more interesting thanks to the fact you feel more involved personally, however the game suffers from the same repetition of the first and is not nearly as addictive as most great games are. I'm not compelled to play it as often as I can and A huge improvement over the mediocre and vastly overrated GTA3, Vice City suffers from many of its problems while fixing some. The storyline is more interesting thanks to the fact you feel more involved personally, however the game suffers from the same repetition of the first and is not nearly as addictive as most great games are. I'm not compelled to play it as often as I can and that says a lot about a game's quality. It's far too easy as well, I've already beat it in about a week, thankfully it was just a rental. Expand
  65. Brian
    Dec 27, 2002
    9
    Lots of upgrades from GTA3. The missions i think were what made this game great. i would of given it a 10 except for the fact myself and lots of my friends played gta3 constantly and probably got tired of the police chases but for anyone who is new to GTA on the ps2 you'll be amazed.
  66. R.H.
    Aug 16, 2003
    10
    Video game players of the world behold the greatest game of all time. You can all try to deny it, but it's true. Sure, the game is twisted, evil, and just plain sick. But who can resist? Even people who don't play video game will enjoy this game to no end. Deep down this is the game that everyone has wanted to play their whole life, no matter how nice or violence free you are. Video game players of the world behold the greatest game of all time. You can all try to deny it, but it's true. Sure, the game is twisted, evil, and just plain sick. But who can resist? Even people who don't play video game will enjoy this game to no end. Deep down this is the game that everyone has wanted to play their whole life, no matter how nice or violence free you are. Vice City is the guilty pleasure to top all guilty pleasures. Ok, now this is how I rate a game (and I hope it's how everyone rates a game): I rate a game based on fun factor. And this game has them all topped in that area. This game is so good, it's ridiculous. Now for all you people that already have it, turn the computer off and play this game. For all you people that don't have it...well...sucks for you. Expand
  67. NickV.
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    A Masterpeice everyone who does not like it must have probelums cause this is a great games. There are so many things to do. You can steal cars. Be a cop, firefighter, ice cream man, taxi driver, medic, pizza man or a hardened criminal. And there are so many veicles from a military helicopter (that actually shoots) to a golf cart.
  68. ryanb
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    I have one thing to say... Pure Genius!!!! That douchebag that gave it a 5 and loves Metroid prime has a small penis. There is no other explantion. I hate him. I wish he was walking and a large puertorican rapes hmi the ass on his way home. This is the best game ever. No doubt. except halo, and nothing. Once again i hate him.
  69. EltonP.
    Jan 3, 2003
    10
    The things missing in GTA3 were added in GTA:VC. I would've given GTA3 a 9 because of a few minor gripes I had but now that they've been improved in GTA:VC I have no more gripes! The graphics are smoother (not the best of course, but better), the missions are creative, and effects are spectacular, the AI has gotten a little smarter, the vehicles have gotten a wider range and The things missing in GTA3 were added in GTA:VC. I would've given GTA3 a 9 because of a few minor gripes I had but now that they've been improved in GTA:VC I have no more gripes! The graphics are smoother (not the best of course, but better), the missions are creative, and effects are spectacular, the AI has gotten a little smarter, the vehicles have gotten a wider range and better look, and the radio is truly representative of the 80s. If you only get one game for the PS2, it has to be this! I expected another GTA3 with the same missions again but I was completely caught off guard! Expand
  70. NinjaMafia
    Aug 11, 2003
    7
    This game is a disapointing sequel to GTA3. First off the producers promised a town three times larger than that in GTA3 but in reality the town seems three times smaller. The storyline in this game really needed to be worked on. You just failed a drug deal and you are trying to get your money back, but after you kill the guy that destroyed your deal, you suddenly make the most random This game is a disapointing sequel to GTA3. First off the producers promised a town three times larger than that in GTA3 but in reality the town seems three times smaller. The storyline in this game really needed to be worked on. You just failed a drug deal and you are trying to get your money back, but after you kill the guy that destroyed your deal, you suddenly make the most random decision to try to take over the town. The Mafia wants you to stop it but hey you won't listen and it eventually escalates. Sure it sound interesting but as I said, Your main character just randomly makes that decision for no apparent reason, he doesn't even hint it until he says it at the beginning of a mission. The game's graphics are bad but I don't care. The terrains are flat and the character models still need a ton of work. The games sound features music from the 80's, which I'm not partically in to. The talk radio stations are too short to be enjoyed alot. The voice acting is extrmeley good in the beginning of the game, but later in the game it is as if they stopped trying because people started to sound monotonous. The gameplay has some great car chases, and yes they did add motorcycles, however if you so much as gently bump into an object with your motorcycle you have the possibility of flying 20 feet off it. Also, the targeting system got worst than from GTA3, the camera changes when you target somebody creating a poor camera job. Overall GTA:VC is still a fun game to play and will take a weekat the least of your life. There is plenty of stuff to get in the game but the overall experience just wasn't that great for me, but it can be for other people. Expand
  71. JohnE.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Amazing story line, the best voice work and overall audio in gaming to date, more cars and weapons and on top of all that you can buy businesses to set up your own mob family, and make more money of course. You can actually, as crazy as it sounds, "live" as the character.
  72. TommyV.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    I just played this game at my cousins house for about 3 hours. I would give it a ten just because they added motorcycles! It's almost funny when you hit something on one, almost. It has many great aspects I have not seen to the full yet. You can buy buildings?! I do not exactly know what the point of that is yet. One thing I cannot understand, why can't the main character swim?! I just played this game at my cousins house for about 3 hours. I would give it a ten just because they added motorcycles! It's almost funny when you hit something on one, almost. It has many great aspects I have not seen to the full yet. You can buy buildings?! I do not exactly know what the point of that is yet. One thing I cannot understand, why can't the main character swim?! It would not take much coding or animation at all, and makes the game more realistic. Anyone who does not give this movie a ten is smokin crack! Please E-mail me at toolband515@yahoo.com if you know of any unique or special motorcycles! Expand
  73. PerkolatorI.J.
    Dec 11, 2002
    10
    Hey Adam J. boy, you're a smart ass (more ass than smart, actually) dunno what u have been playing, I have played this game extensively and still to see some mayor glitches. Does it have some camera/polygon clipping? yep, but every other 3D game out there has it too, so what's new, as for floor textures??? what? they have never dissapeared to me yet, you sure you playing the Hey Adam J. boy, you're a smart ass (more ass than smart, actually) dunno what u have been playing, I have played this game extensively and still to see some mayor glitches. Does it have some camera/polygon clipping? yep, but every other 3D game out there has it too, so what's new, as for floor textures??? what? they have never dissapeared to me yet, you sure you playing the proper game and not a dodgy copy or what, this game Rocks. Big Time. Expand
  74. BrandonL.
    Aug 21, 2003
    7
    Hey, a sequel! Basically, this is a direct port of GTA III for PC to the PS2. Oh, what? GTA III was on PS2 first? Wow, then this is not much of a sequel, more of a exspansion pack in a way. The engine is nearly the same, and the controls remain the same. If you own Gta 3 it'd be wise to sit this one out and wait for the next sequel (and hope it'll be a little more different).
  75. Chuck76
    Apr 11, 2003
    8
    This is a great game don't doubt that but there are a few points that kinda bug me. The whole setting, the way the streets are laid out don't make for total enjoyment while travelling around like they did on GTA3. And the whole of Vice City in general just aint as good as Liberty City. There are more niggles but they won't ruin the game by any means. Plus points are new This is a great game don't doubt that but there are a few points that kinda bug me. The whole setting, the way the streets are laid out don't make for total enjoyment while travelling around like they did on GTA3. And the whole of Vice City in general just aint as good as Liberty City. There are more niggles but they won't ruin the game by any means. Plus points are new vehicles to use, much more varied missions and probably the best video game soundtrack I've heard. I think I coulda' picked out a few more 80's hits that would have gone well with the game. The graphics are also much improved over GTA3, but they also kinda annoy after a while, I can see what the designers were getting at but at times it can affect what you're currently doing. Though I do sometimes go back and play it again since finishing it, I much prefer to go back and play GTA3. As I've said, this is a fantastic game miles better than most, but I prefer GTA3. There's plenty more life in this series yet so I can't wait for the next title but no-more 80's please! Expand
  76. GregT.
    Jun 15, 2003
    9
    This game is a superbly twisted, and wonderfully sick example of the next generation of games to come. GTA-VC Let's you interact,Go anywhere,and Do anything you could possibly imagine. P.S. Need's some improvements on Graphics; like distance, Fire, Wheels, That red sunglare is totaly useless. lightning "Bolts" would be nice. Even better if the bolts hit stuff, I'm looking This game is a superbly twisted, and wonderfully sick example of the next generation of games to come. GTA-VC Let's you interact,Go anywhere,and Do anything you could possibly imagine. P.S. Need's some improvements on Graphics; like distance, Fire, Wheels, That red sunglare is totaly useless. lightning "Bolts" would be nice. Even better if the bolts hit stuff, I'm looking foward to GTA-LA, or GTA-Hawii Expand
  77. ZackF.
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    Wow what a great game. And the soundtrack is great. But rockstar could do better graphics than that but it's a real kickass game. Some stuff would be cool to add would be like start your own mobs or rob a bank or something. the missions were a little suckie though. oh well all in all i can't put the control down when i get the chance. Good job rockstar.
  78. CleitusU.
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    OK, bob m. u obviously have some social issues 2 work out. i mean COME ON! the getaway?! that game almost made me puke. it was garbage, sure, it was fun for like a week maybe, but, then i realized it sucked. i got gta:vc almost a year ago, and it is still hella fun, psh, believe me foks, it rules.
  79. J.R.
    Apr 4, 2003
    10
    Same game mechanics as GTA 3. That's a good thing. Helicopters and motorcycles have been added. 80's music and feel done very well. Its a bit shorter than GTA 3, and I thought that the missions in GTA 3 were a bit better. However, this game is one of the best video games ever. Period. I give this a 10 because I can't give it a 9.9. GTA 3 got a 10 and deserved all of it.
  80. JordanT.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    Excellent game, anyone says otherwise will have to deal with me.....
  81. Floop
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    This game is THE BOMB!!!!POP!
  82. JonathanG.
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    I really like this game but could you give me any hints or tips how to complete the demolition man mission please.
  83. BrandonH.
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Just plain and simple- truly and awesome game. None better.
  84. MTBones
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Did rockstar do better than GTA:III with Vice City. I think so!!!
  85. K.L.
    Jan 13, 2003
    10
    This is a sweet game, and very fun.
  86. KyleT.
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    A learning experience if your interested in crime.
  87. TonyG.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    Great game, i'll tell you about it but first i have to go sell some drugs, beat up a pimp, screw his ho, rob a food chain, steal a helicopter, get me a boat, a car of any choice, kill a pig, and then come back to my pornographic studio where i can tell you more about this game of my life!
  88. SeanF.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made, just like hitman 2.
  89. HannahD.
    Dec 22, 2002
    9
    This game is truly exceptional. The freedom and graphics alone make this game crazy fun. The best way for me to describe is to say it's just like having your own city where you can do anything you want. The missions are the main part, but hell I have fun just driving around stealing cars, shootin ppl, and jumping ramps. Mad fly game. And a lot of ppl want to say it's all bad and This game is truly exceptional. The freedom and graphics alone make this game crazy fun. The best way for me to describe is to say it's just like having your own city where you can do anything you want. The missions are the main part, but hell I have fun just driving around stealing cars, shootin ppl, and jumping ramps. Mad fly game. And a lot of ppl want to say it's all bad and teens shouldn't play it, but when I played it I found it to be pretty tame compared to what I had heard it was gonna be like. Although I dont think it's a game for kids under 13 at all, it just gives the wrong mindset with the stealing, and killing, and hookers, and occasional profanities. Expand
  90. JerryT.
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    First thing i have to say is that Adam J. is stupid because the floor dissappears in gta3 too. the only reason the game glitches sometimes is because of how large this game is. And for the cars can u just tell me can u get a motorbike or dirt bike or helicopter or different kinds of boats other than that cop one? yea i thought not so do rate a game u dont noe anything about.
  91. VilleJ.
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    This is my life but moral way this game is dangerous to children brains.
  92. Rossjudge
    Jul 10, 2003
    10
    It is very good to play.
  93. VirtualOn
    Nov 22, 2002
    9
    Vice City is the most cohesive and convincing game environment ever conceived. GTA:VC is so lovingly crafted, from the inspired celebrity voice acting to the embarrasingly complete soundtrack, that Rockstar North should be very proud of they're newest baby.
  94. JonathanF.
    May 3, 2003
    8
    Okay, i would really give this game a 7.5 but i cant. i think the thing that really lets this game down is the colour. rockstar tried to make it better than gta3 but it's way too bright and colourful. the good thing is when you read the game booklet you feel like you're on holiday! sorry i couldn't give this a 9 or a 10 but it just isn't as good as gta3.
  95. ChrisR.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    One word...damn!
  96. EricC.
    Nov 12, 2002
    9
    Is it odd to say that one of my favorite things about this game is the 80's music? I guess Michael Jackson sounds better when cops are chasing you at the same time. In addition to that, almost all the improvements that GTA3 needed have been improved with an even tougher challenge and a more engaging plot. (Also motorcycle riding kicks butt!!)However, those improvements probably could Is it odd to say that one of my favorite things about this game is the 80's music? I guess Michael Jackson sounds better when cops are chasing you at the same time. In addition to that, almost all the improvements that GTA3 needed have been improved with an even tougher challenge and a more engaging plot. (Also motorcycle riding kicks butt!!)However, those improvements probably could have gone a lot farther, as some aspects like weapon control seemed to have little improvement, if any at all. Also, I find myself be vicitm to annoying errors that make my car dissapear or my character fall into the road, freezing the game and upsetting any mission I'm on. Nevertheless, the game never took away the freedom of movement in the city that made GTA3 great and I would highly recommend it. Expand
  97. GettingB.
    Nov 22, 2002
    8
    This game is good but it could have been made better, such as u not being allowed to go in every building which really sucks, i could have made it better, u should be able to fly the jets and planes, cars shouldnt disappear, less cops, an the hookers actually do stuff instead of sitting there such as taking off their shirts.
  98. MattK
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Friggin awesome.
  99. GannonC.
    Mar 23, 2003
    10
    I liked the strip club the most. This is the best thing ever invented since the TV.
  100. Godigoy
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    I love this game even though its very hard!!!!!
  101. Jul 28, 2012
    0
    i had the ps2 for my entire childhood and this was one of the only games i'd play since i was 6 to the age i am now this game is always my fav its just pure game the cheats are hilarious (i.e flying cars) the graphics are amazing (B***H who the hell cares about graphics) the story was legendary and i craved for more after i was done and the time you can play this for Jesus i think I'vei had the ps2 for my entire childhood and this was one of the only games i'd play since i was 6 to the age i am now this game is always my fav its just pure game the cheats are hilarious (i.e flying cars) the graphics are amazing (B***H who the hell cares about graphics) the story was legendary and i craved for more after i was done and the time you can play this for Jesus i think I've clocked in over 500+ hours of just free roam into that game and over 50+ into the campaign may the next GTA be just like this one Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 100
    No excuses, you’re gonna have to buy this. Unless you don’t own a PS2, in which case, get out of our Internet!
  2. 97
    It's enormous, packed with an immense amount of gameplay, and it's a truly unique gameplay experience...This year's most impressive title, by a log shot.
  3. This is a long game, longer than GTA3 because there are far more missions in this game in a far larger area.