User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 602 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 602

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MicahC.
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Totally SICK!
  2. J.Palm
    Nov 9, 2002
    9
    This is the best game ever made. Even better then GTA3. Not only is does this game have over 60 hours of game play while trying to beat the game it also has 50 hour of just messing with the game. Lastly There are major improvements from GTA3 including interiors. Man this game is good.
  3. Idi
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    I spend really beautifull christmas with this game. =] And it is not said that you must kill everybody on your way. ;P
  4. EXXX
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Anyone who gives this game a bad score has either not played it, or knows nothing about videogames. It is pure gaming bliss and there's an endless amount of things you can do in it. The main character, Tommy Vercetti, is absolutley hilarious, and he's a badass who knows how to handle his guns and cars as well. The gameplay is probably the best gameplay you are going to find in Anyone who gives this game a bad score has either not played it, or knows nothing about videogames. It is pure gaming bliss and there's an endless amount of things you can do in it. The main character, Tommy Vercetti, is absolutley hilarious, and he's a badass who knows how to handle his guns and cars as well. The gameplay is probably the best gameplay you are going to find in any game on any system. This game is simply brilliant. Everyone already knows its great, so just go out and buy it now. Dont listen to morons giving it 1s and 0s just because they are pissed Vice City is a PS2 exclusive. Expand
  5. DamianM.
    Jan 15, 2003
    9
    The game was really good 10 times better than GTA 3. You can bail out now, and you can buy more hide-outs, it has motorcycles. But There is one BIG PROBLEM YOU CANT SWIM IN THIS GAME.
  6. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    an awesome game indeed! i love the gameplay and the radio stations, especially K-Chat! that one had me gut laughing most of the time, anyways i don't like the cops in this game and they are very annoying, for instance, two people are having a brawl and the cop just passes by like nothing is happening, then when i want to beat them up too, the officer turns around and starts beating me withan awesome game indeed! i love the gameplay and the radio stations, especially K-Chat! that one had me gut laughing most of the time, anyways i don't like the cops in this game and they are very annoying, for instance, two people are having a brawl and the cop just passes by like nothing is happening, then when i want to beat them up too, the officer turns around and starts beating me with his stick! :( Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    When this game came out there was no such thing as flying a helicopter over a sprawling city in any other video game. There was no such thing as a rich and funny storyline stretched over a diverse and exciting city. Today, you may have seen better, but Vice City truly openend up for a bigger kind of gaming back then. I was very sceptic that a new "spin" on GTA III could be worth anything,When this game came out there was no such thing as flying a helicopter over a sprawling city in any other video game. There was no such thing as a rich and funny storyline stretched over a diverse and exciting city. Today, you may have seen better, but Vice City truly openend up for a bigger kind of gaming back then. I was very sceptic that a new "spin" on GTA III could be worth anything, but it blew everyone away. The soundtrack was also sold seperately in a boxed set. It represented the coolest music of the era in all genres. I agree with the many who place Vice City high in the GTA series. Expand
  8. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    while not as good as 3 this game is still a true marvel awesome shooting outrages fun with missions. driving is same as ever but still fun. The character kodels are impressive too still a 10
  9. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    This game is my favorite GTA III Era game. It has style, story and big pack of action. I grew on this game (along with GTA3 and GTA San Andreas). One of the best games EVER.
  10. May 22, 2012
    10
    With great story, great radio stations (including the commercials), great vehicles, all around great sense of style, hilarious characters and great gameplay... this is by far one of the top 5 to have on PS2.
  11. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    As many people said before "I grew up with this game" so did I. It was amazing how cars got on fire and people head exploded when shot with sniper. "OMG" and boats... oh goood awsome. Was a best game many years ago but for today you cant compare this game with GTA IV ect. So 10/10! Second good GTA after GTA:LONDON :)
  12. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    i had the ps2 for my entire childhood and this was one of the only games i'd play since i was 6 to the age i am now this game is always my fav its just pure game the cheats are hilarious (i.e flying cars) the graphics are amazing (B***H who the hell cares about graphics) the story was legendary and i craved for more after i was done and the time you can play this for Jesus i think I'vei had the ps2 for my entire childhood and this was one of the only games i'd play since i was 6 to the age i am now this game is always my fav its just pure game the cheats are hilarious (i.e flying cars) the graphics are amazing (B***H who the hell cares about graphics) the story was legendary and i craved for more after i was done and the time you can play this for Jesus i think I've clocked in over 500+ hours of just free roam into that game and over 50+ into the campaign may the next GTA be just like this one Expand
  13. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Welcome to Vice City. Welcome to the 1980s. Having just made it back onto the streets of Liberty City after a long stretch in maximum security, Tommy Vercetti is sent to Vice City by his old boss, Sonny Forelli. They were understandably nervous about his re-appearance in Liberty City, so a trip down south seemed like a good idea. But all does not go smoothly upon his arrival in theWelcome to Vice City. Welcome to the 1980s. Having just made it back onto the streets of Liberty City after a long stretch in maximum security, Tommy Vercetti is sent to Vice City by his old boss, Sonny Forelli. They were understandably nervous about his re-appearance in Liberty City, so a trip down south seemed like a good idea. But all does not go smoothly upon his arrival in the glamorous, hedonistic metropolis of Vice City. He's set up and is left with no money and no merchandise. Sonny wants his money back, but the biker gangs, Cuban gangsters, and corrupt politicians stand in his way. Most of Vice City seems to want Tommy dead. His only answer is to fight back and take over the city himself. Vice City offers vehicular pleasures to suit every taste. For the speed enthusiast, there's high-performance cars and motorbikes. For the sportsman, a powerboat or a golf buggy lets you enjoy the great outdoors. For those that need that sense of freedom and escape, why not charter a helicopter and see the beauty of Vice City from the air? Expand
  14. Dec 22, 2010
    4
    I think this game kinda sucks. A lot. The graphics suck too, bad. You can't even see they're emotions. Lamest game on the PS2. Don't buy it. Please just don't buy it.
  15. RJBlake
    Sep 7, 2003
    5
    this game is good but it feezes if it did not freeze it would be awsome rockstar has to work on that for a better gta.
  16. SteveH.
    Jan 9, 2003
    5
    This game is okay but i hate the frickin pastel colors everything in the 80's wasnt pastel for christ sake and for the love of god why didn't you make on the same basis as GTA3 come on.
  17. C.Smith
    Feb 23, 2003
    0
    Exactly the same game as GTA3...just pink. If you played GTA3, you will beat this game in 1-2 days. Driving around doing nothing is boooooring afteryou have already done that in GTA3!
  18. JennC.
    Aug 5, 2003
    6
    This game isn't the best of GTA games. I believe that GTA 3 was the absolute best. The graphics, colors, and story lines in this game need a little more work.
  19. BrianD.
    Jan 4, 2006
    0
    I dont even give it a point for violence this time. The controls STILL suck and the graphics are horrible. it suffers the same problems of the first game. The only reason this game sells is for the shock value that really isnt that shocking.
  20. BobM.
    Nov 8, 2002
    1
    Are u people insane??? the game sucks, have you even acknowledged the graphics, its complete crap!! its like mega drive grapics. the game that all you ppl should be looking at is GETAWAY wait for it people watch this space. this game kills GTA all of em put 2getha.
  21. BobPlatter
    Jan 8, 2003
    3
    Too Hard at Times and unrealistic.
  22. SteveS.
    Feb 14, 2003
    5
    Distinctly average game. Played GTA3 and got bored very quickly. Run here, kill this, run back, save game, drive here, kill them, drive back, save game... zzzzz... Best bit - spawn a tank cheat. Then just kill everyone. Mucho fun. Nice graphics, but they should've upped the pace of the gameplay IMHO.
  23. NebaR.
    Apr 23, 2003
    0
    This game is real boring.
  24. MichaelH
    Jan 29, 2007
    0
    I hate this game because it is so annoying! You can never find anything on it and you always die! It is really boring.
  25. AdamJ.
    Nov 26, 2002
    6
    NO WAY is this as good as GTA3 1. The City is poorly laid out 2. There is no where near enough variation in the cars 3. There is no where enough story missions 4. Money is too tight to start then stupidly easy to come accross 5. The Graphical Glitches....Where's the Floor gone, WHERE ARE THE TEXTURES! Its still a good game technically but is missing these points and the Charm that 3 had.
  26. JoeShmo
    Nov 8, 2002
    0
    I can't believe any one would buy this game. Overall it isn't very good and it is very hard.
  27. FredW.
    Dec 22, 2002
    5
    Driving is fun but the graphics are not that great. Parents, you need to be advised, this is not a game for your kids. This is a "MATURE" rated game and has a lot of hookers saying various sexual inuendos and game play violence. This game is full crime related game play.
  28. MichaelD.
    May 18, 2003
    0
    Such garbage, i hate this game.
  29. Brown
    Jun 24, 2003
    4
    The graphics are bad and too many glitches. the people are stupid and you can ram people on the road right next to some cops and they will just stay there and do nothing. which is very gay. do something more fun like 8=0 (:) if you are smart enough to not play the game, you will figure that out and go do it right now.
  30. AnonymousMC
    Sep 24, 2009
    6
    I've played worse games, and I've played better games. There is fun to be had here, don't get me wrong. The soundtrack is killer, the vehicles handle pretty well, and you can do almost anything you want. This is held back by the controls and camera. If I move the right stick, I don't want an immediate and temporary change to first-person view. I want to actually beI've played worse games, and I've played better games. There is fun to be had here, don't get me wrong. The soundtrack is killer, the vehicles handle pretty well, and you can do almost anything you want. This is held back by the controls and camera. If I move the right stick, I don't want an immediate and temporary change to first-person view. I want to actually be able to see behind me without holding down extra buttons. Then there's the controls. While usually responsive, melee combat isn't, and suffers for it. Also, there's a meh targeting system. Overall, though, it's a competent game, and you could have some fun with it. I enjoy it, but it's nothing mind-blowing. Expand
  31. GoneFission
    Nov 14, 2002
    5
    Best Game Ever? Can i ask you guys a question...? are you on drugs! There's no way as FUN as this game seems that its the greatetst game ever. This game has too many BUGS! Getting shot through walls, failing missions and having to restart, having your dimwitted AI temates randomly die just doesn't work and hurts the game play dramaticlly. This game can NOT be the best game ever Best Game Ever? Can i ask you guys a question...? are you on drugs! There's no way as FUN as this game seems that its the greatetst game ever. This game has too many BUGS! Getting shot through walls, failing missions and having to restart, having your dimwitted AI temates randomly die just doesn't work and hurts the game play dramaticlly. This game can NOT be the best game ever its not even the best game this year! Here's the list of the best games this year: 1. Metroid Prime THAT'S IT! THAT'S THE LIST!....forget the hype and know that GTAVC has bugs! Expand
  32. KevinB.
    Dec 22, 2002
    1
    It's Crap!
  33. AbboTTF.
    Dec 31, 2002
    6
    Come'on you mindless retards... sure the game is fun and very free, but do you all have to give it a 10?... The game is nothing besides beating people and car chases (with sub-par driving mechanics nontheless)... Play Gran Tourisimo A-spec or somthing actualy mind-engaging. Don't get me wrong, it is a good game, but I honestly can say that I liked GTA2 better. (I haven't Come'on you mindless retards... sure the game is fun and very free, but do you all have to give it a 10?... The game is nothing besides beating people and car chases (with sub-par driving mechanics nontheless)... Play Gran Tourisimo A-spec or somthing actualy mind-engaging. Don't get me wrong, it is a good game, but I honestly can say that I liked GTA2 better. (I haven't played 3) The cops are dumb... this is a major prob... I stole a tank!...There are 5,000 cop cars and helicopters on my tail... o wait, I can just drive into this little garage and no one will find me... com'on! Expand
  34. Oct 11, 2012
    0
    If I'm going to finish Vice City, I'm going to need some painkillers. The only complement I have to give to this game is for the music. Worst combat I've ever tried in a video game, honestly. In addition it consists of terrible camera angles, if there's a guy next to you, you have to start looking around in first person like a moron, because the aim-assist doesn't work from where theIf I'm going to finish Vice City, I'm going to need some painkillers. The only complement I have to give to this game is for the music. Worst combat I've ever tried in a video game, honestly. In addition it consists of terrible camera angles, if there's a guy next to you, you have to start looking around in first person like a moron, because the aim-assist doesn't work from where the camera is placed at any given time. What does it depend on then you ask? The direction the character is facing, which is ridiculous. Which brings me to my next complaint. Why did they bind the aiming to the left analog stick with the rifles, making only the aim-assist weapons like the shotgun bearable, was it their goal to make the controllers dramatically different in comparison to every other game in the world to make it a challenge for all the wrong reasons? I can handle a challenge, but not because of bad controls, that's completely the wrong way to go about it. And the pacing isn't very good either, games should be about applying what you've learned so far as you gradually become better, which is not present here, it's all about successfully bypassing the randomness that is the city. Graphics were superior in GTA 3. the missions feel like doing chores, and honestly I couldn't care less about the story - seems to me some wannabe gangster story for teenagers. You will also find your imminent death right around the corner just because your car happens to flip over, or a cop comes around the corner. Speaking of cops, they are the most aggressive police force in history, if you get stuck with your car you can bet your ass they are going to drive into it in full speed, resulting in it flipping upside down starting to burn immediately, or you can even try running in an attempt to seek for a new car only to find that the only cars are police ones. Unless of course you happen to be close to a Paint Garage where they are watching you from the outside, showing how little emphasis has been put on realism. I recently played Mass Effect 1 which is known to have an inferior combat system to the sequel, but it is nothing compared to this. I can't go past 2 missions without wanting to throw the controller at my brand new TV. Even when I get a Mission Accomplished screen I don't feel like I've accomplished **** and it just so happened that during that particular attempt I didn't have a car hit me from the side when passing an intersection, or that for once the camera angle happened to be pointing at enemies and potential roadblocks. I'd like to meet this fella who came up with the idea to bind the right analog stick to first person scenery, what on earth was he thinking. Trying to go into a alleyway with this camera system is suicide, because you can't see what you're shooting at. I'm 27% into the story and this game is already giving me more headaches than playing through God of War, which is a harder game, but at least when you die you are able to blame yourself - it is not an experience comparable to the coincidental deaths in Vice City. The map is godawful and doesn't show what direction you're heading, which makes me realise this is an old game that hasn't aged very well. If you **** up a mission, most of your time will be spent afterwards doing the exact same thing over and over until you reach the last part of the mission again. It's a waste of time, just let me restart where the challenge starts, it's not a challenge driving to the mission so why would I want to do it all over again? The taxi waiting outside is intended to take care of this problem, but you still have to enter the mission, and then drive to wherever you have to go, leading to myself wasting enormous amounts of spare time. I'm currently stuck on a mission because I didn't run back and save after every successful mission, leading to my character losing his weapons every now and then, and me having to repurchase them. Now I can't afford the properties to move on past mission V, which the game made no effort to inform me of, and I'm left with options like having to drive around in cab to collect hundreds of thousand dollars, which unfortunately is something I'm not willing to do on my spare time. Rockstar's concepts with this game was something along the lines of: Here's a timer for 15 minutes, I see you happened to get the first 14 minutes right and you are now driving over a bridge, we programmed this sequence so that the driver in the opposite lane will now switch lanes so that your car flips through the air and into the water - leading you to die a slow and painful death. We made this decision because lacking remorse, and feel that you should have to play all our missions at least twice, just to make the game appear longer and more "hardcore". Expand
  35. Dec 16, 2010
    8
    Compared to GTA III, Vice City SUCKS BALLS!Don't get me wrong is not very bad, but the controls is sometimes awkward, but the action blazes.............again..............Not much to say.......Not bad, but not enough......................
  36. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Game play needed polishing. Difficulty spikes untimely in the plot. I like the setting and time period much more than III, and it was one of the funnest games around when it was first released.
  37. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    One of the coolest games ever made. The nostalgia is overwhelming and the gameplay is fantastic! This is hands down the best GTA game to play without cheats(If you want to play with cheats, I recommend GTA: San Andreas).
  38. Jun 10, 2014
    10
    OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!!
  39. GabrielL.
    Oct 31, 2003
    10
    Its the most fun I had on the PS2. Graphix not perfect, but the game is. :)
  40. VilleJ.
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    This is my life but moral way this game is dangerous to children brains.
  41. GregT.
    Jun 15, 2003
    9
    This game is a superbly twisted, and wonderfully sick example of the next generation of games to come. GTA-VC Let's you interact,Go anywhere,and Do anything you could possibly imagine. P.S. Need's some improvements on Graphics; like distance, Fire, Wheels, That red sunglare is totaly useless. lightning "Bolts" would be nice. Even better if the bolts hit stuff, I'm looking This game is a superbly twisted, and wonderfully sick example of the next generation of games to come. GTA-VC Let's you interact,Go anywhere,and Do anything you could possibly imagine. P.S. Need's some improvements on Graphics; like distance, Fire, Wheels, That red sunglare is totaly useless. lightning "Bolts" would be nice. Even better if the bolts hit stuff, I'm looking foward to GTA-LA, or GTA-Hawii Expand
  42. JustinM.
    Mar 15, 2004
    9
    Motorcycles and lots more sports car is cool, but the story is not as good as gtaIII. Like them both the same.
  43. SWEETGAME
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    Everyone who said that vice city was lame can go suck an Xbox. This was the greatest GTA game, even better than VCS, and is so vivid. the only downsides are no multiplayer and you need your parents to purchase it with you. crap. But still a fricken good game. The second best series ever on ps2, right after SOCOM us navy seals series.
  44. MatthewCool
    Aug 5, 2009
    10
    it is very good id play it over and over again better than gta3 much like scarface (the shootouts) miami vice(cops in sports cars) and other stuff like great 80s music and the mission might get very annoying but the game is makes it fun nonetheless
  45. VirtualOn
    Nov 22, 2002
    9
    Vice City is the most cohesive and convincing game environment ever conceived. GTA:VC is so lovingly crafted, from the inspired celebrity voice acting to the embarrasingly complete soundtrack, that Rockstar North should be very proud of they're newest baby.
  46. SianH.
    Nov 6, 2002
    10
    This game is the best. It's a lot better than gta 3.
  47. BrandonB.
    Nov 7, 2002
    10
    I give this game a 10, but like CHris H. said, it does need to be harder. But other than that, this is a bad game!!!
  48. ChrisO.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    Other game makers need to learn from this game. this should be the steping stone to a hole new way we play games. Can't wait to see if they can get better.
  49. MartinA.
    Dec 27, 2002
    10
    You suck Kevin B! This game rocks.
  50. TommyV.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    I just played this game at my cousins house for about 3 hours. I would give it a ten just because they added motorcycles! It's almost funny when you hit something on one, almost. It has many great aspects I have not seen to the full yet. You can buy buildings?! I do not exactly know what the point of that is yet. One thing I cannot understand, why can't the main character swim?! I just played this game at my cousins house for about 3 hours. I would give it a ten just because they added motorcycles! It's almost funny when you hit something on one, almost. It has many great aspects I have not seen to the full yet. You can buy buildings?! I do not exactly know what the point of that is yet. One thing I cannot understand, why can't the main character swim?! It would not take much coding or animation at all, and makes the game more realistic. Anyone who does not give this movie a ten is smokin crack! Please E-mail me at toolband515@yahoo.com if you know of any unique or special motorcycles! Expand
  51. EricS.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    This game has broken new ground in open-ended gameplay, in a series that had already broken a ton of it. If you haven't gone out and purchased this yet (assuming you can find a copy!), I have no idea what you're waiting for.
  52. K.L.
    Jan 13, 2003
    10
    This is a sweet game, and very fun.
  53. Alon
    Jan 3, 2003
    10
    This game is so freaking awesome! Flying helicopters is so awesome along with the ability to own buildings and businesses.
  54. The8thDragon
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    The most grousome game that's been created---Brilliant.
  55. Floop
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    This game is THE BOMB!!!!POP!
  56. MattK.
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    This is the best game ever.
  57. RyanF.
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    If i could pick 1 game in the whole intire world it is this 1.
  58. JonathanF.
    May 3, 2003
    8
    Okay, i would really give this game a 7.5 but i cant. i think the thing that really lets this game down is the colour. rockstar tried to make it better than gta3 but it's way too bright and colourful. the good thing is when you read the game booklet you feel like you're on holiday! sorry i couldn't give this a 9 or a 10 but it just isn't as good as gta3.
  59. Rossjudge
    Jul 10, 2003
    10
    It is very good to play.
  60. ShayneA.
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    Its the best especially with the smart ass comments and the pootang involved in the film studios.
  61. JAKEL.
    Mar 20, 2004
    9
    A good game ... but not as good as III in terms of storyline.
  62. khgui9g
    May 1, 2004
    10
    ITS COOL AS SH.T.
  63. G.H.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    It is simply yhe best game ever played. it is way better than gta 3.
  64. JohnG.
    May 4, 2005
    9
    A must have for any gamer.
  65. Mobius
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    Vice City's best asspect has got to be its music and the introduction to vehicles that fly, being able to fly over Vice city just add another level to the game, you can now pick this game up in the bargain bins for less than a price of a PS2 magazine (I got mine for £3.99), for £30 if you shop around you can get Liberty Citys Story's, Vice City and San andreas, this Vice City's best asspect has got to be its music and the introduction to vehicles that fly, being able to fly over Vice city just add another level to the game, you can now pick this game up in the bargain bins for less than a price of a PS2 magazine (I got mine for £3.99), for £30 if you shop around you can get Liberty Citys Story's, Vice City and San andreas, this is the best time to own a PS2 as the games for them are now dirt cheap which makes all these game worth that bit more. Expand
  66. ApocalypseB.
    Oct 29, 2006
    9
    Vice City is a superb game, no doubt! The Scarface theme and the era is as golden as the storyline and the comical radio broadcasts. But the area, lack of decent stunt chances and things to do within it are limited compared to San Andreas, thus making the latter a much better game. But VC has better graphics than SA and for me, is still a fanastic game to play for an hour if you get stuck Vice City is a superb game, no doubt! The Scarface theme and the era is as golden as the storyline and the comical radio broadcasts. But the area, lack of decent stunt chances and things to do within it are limited compared to San Andreas, thus making the latter a much better game. But VC has better graphics than SA and for me, is still a fanastic game to play for an hour if you get stuck on SA. Now for Bully! Expand
  67. Antonio
    Apr 29, 2006
    8
    Vice city I think is better then san adreas beacuse after you complet it hardly nothink to do and vice city feels like your in a real world which san adrears feels like a small area but vice city havnt got that good graphics as san andreas if it did it will be worth buying.
  68. HenrikS.
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    Great game, fun and addictive.
  69. ClintT.
    Jan 20, 2008
    9
    This is a brilliant, humorous satire in much the same vein as other GTA games. It owes a lot to films such as Scarface (similar plot and a couple of the shootouts in Vice City are similar to the final hurrah of Tony Montana as well as countless other references) and Carlito
  70. JamesD.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    The most beautiful GTA game I've ever played. When I first saw the original trailer with Kool & the Gang's hit track Summer Madness, I thought this game was absolutely gorgeous. The experience is thoroughly entertaining and whilst it retains most of the textures and animations of GTA III but it is a much grander experience overall.
  71. ssseeeeeee
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Amazing game! Best PS2 game for sure! Wish they would make some kind of a remake from this, or new game from the same setting.
  72. *Chris**Faz*
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    It has greatly improved since GTA 3 and has much better gameplay. Overall it's Fantastic.
  73. TimoK.
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    The best game ever!!!!!
  74. MatthieuR.
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    Splendid improvement over the already fabulous GTA3. The only gripes I have are the clumsy control when on foot, some crappy camera angles, and a few annoyingly frustrating RC missions (bomb the Cubans anyone?).
  75. JasonA.
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    Awesome.
  76. JeffR.
    Nov 18, 2002
    8
    The depth and reality of this game is truly unparalled, but that realism comes at a price, unfortunately. the game is quite buggy, from draw distance glitches to ridiculous fall damage issues (trip over a curb? that'll cost you 10 health - plummet 14 stories, and it'll be 30), the sudden dissappearing of vehicles that were just there a second ago, and other miscellaneous bugsThe depth and reality of this game is truly unparalled, but that realism comes at a price, unfortunately. the game is quite buggy, from draw distance glitches to ridiculous fall damage issues (trip over a curb? that'll cost you 10 health - plummet 14 stories, and it'll be 30), the sudden dissappearing of vehicles that were just there a second ago, and other miscellaneous bugs keep this game from really being the best of the year, but regardless, there is so much fun to be had. vice city teems with life and oozes style, and the excellent sense of humor carries on through every hour you play. the radio in and of itself is sheer brilliance, and the missions, although some are quite difficult, are extremely imaginative and fun. it may not be the second coming of jesus that everyone thought it would be, but its an excellent game that deserves your $50. Expand
  77. ryanb
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    I have one thing to say... Pure Genius!!!! That douchebag that gave it a 5 and loves Metroid prime has a small penis. There is no other explantion. I hate him. I wish he was walking and a large puertorican rapes hmi the ass on his way home. This is the best game ever. No doubt. except halo, and nothing. Once again i hate him.
  78. HeatherP.
    Nov 3, 2002
    10
    This is the best game I evered played in my hole life this is the best thank you for making it!!
  79. MattR.
    Nov 3, 2002
    10
    There goes all my free time, my social life, and everything else I needed to spend time on... This game is pure crack, and definitely improves on the original. I'd like to see tweaked controls and better graphics, but's it's brilliant as is.
  80. ElSteve-o
    Nov 7, 2002
    10
    If you dont own it, go buy it immediately. Its even BETTER than GTA 3!
  81. TomS.
    Nov 7, 2002
    9
    Awsome game!! Great graphics.
  82. JonathanP.
    Nov 9, 2002
    8
    A huge improvement over the mediocre and vastly overrated GTA3, Vice City suffers from many of its problems while fixing some. The storyline is more interesting thanks to the fact you feel more involved personally, however the game suffers from the same repetition of the first and is not nearly as addictive as most great games are. I'm not compelled to play it as often as I can and A huge improvement over the mediocre and vastly overrated GTA3, Vice City suffers from many of its problems while fixing some. The storyline is more interesting thanks to the fact you feel more involved personally, however the game suffers from the same repetition of the first and is not nearly as addictive as most great games are. I'm not compelled to play it as often as I can and that says a lot about a game's quality. It's far too easy as well, I've already beat it in about a week, thankfully it was just a rental. Collapse
  83. JohnE.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Amazing story line, the best voice work and overall audio in gaming to date, more cars and weapons and on top of all that you can buy businesses to set up your own mob family, and make more money of course. You can actually, as crazy as it sounds, "live" as the character.
  84. LarryS.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    GREAT game!! Better than GTAIII, This game ranks beter than a 10+++. MUST HAVE GAME for the GTA fan.
  85. JonathanR.
    Dec 10, 2002
    10
    This game is one of the best and most fun games I have ever played.
  86. DonM.
    Dec 2, 2002
    7
    Buh? £40? FORTY POXY QUID? THE B.ST.RDS ARE SELLING IT AS A FULL PRICED GAME! SWINES! This really isn't a full game, no matter what Rockstar tell you...it's an Add-On. It's a GOOD add-on, but it's an add-on. But it's a GOOD add-on, to the best game ever...which makes it the best game ever, vicariously by being a part of the real best game ever. Look, stop Buh? £40? FORTY POXY QUID? THE B.ST.RDS ARE SELLING IT AS A FULL PRICED GAME! SWINES! This really isn't a full game, no matter what Rockstar tell you...it's an Add-On. It's a GOOD add-on, but it's an add-on. But it's a GOOD add-on, to the best game ever...which makes it the best game ever, vicariously by being a part of the real best game ever. Look, stop reading this rubbish and play it, okay? But don't pay for it. Steal it or something. Forty quid, I ask you... Expand
  87. Nchw
    Dec 28, 2002
    10
    This is a game of exceptional quality. Apart from the loading times this would have to be one of the defest games i have ever played. Buy this game immediately or i will eat your children.
  88. The7thDragon
    Dec 31, 2002
    9
    I love GTA3. I love Vice City, but unfortunatly i found some bugs in Vice City which made me give it a 9. The first annoying flaw i found in the game was the fact that it kept taking mi guns. ex- I finished a mission i forgot which one and i got that machine gun that u use in the helicopter. I kept it but by the time i was half way done with the 2nd Island the game took that gun and all I love GTA3. I love Vice City, but unfortunatly i found some bugs in Vice City which made me give it a 9. The first annoying flaw i found in the game was the fact that it kept taking mi guns. ex- I finished a mission i forgot which one and i got that machine gun that u use in the helicopter. I kept it but by the time i was half way done with the 2nd Island the game took that gun and all the moltov cocktails i saved up for a "block party from hell" :) anyway that was one flaw and another was the fact mi friend found a error were he could walk through cirtin buildings. Besides these issuse and the lame helicopter controls i love the game. The musics good the play control is good and the missions just make the game even funner. I highly recomend this 2 anybody who is not a big religious/moral person. ENJOY EVERY1! Expand
  89. SeanF.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made, just like hitman 2.
  90. ChrisR.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    One word...damn!
  91. TonyG.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    Great game, i'll tell you about it but first i have to go sell some drugs, beat up a pimp, screw his ho, rob a food chain, steal a helicopter, get me a boat, a car of any choice, kill a pig, and then come back to my pornographic studio where i can tell you more about this game of my life!
  92. AdamL.
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Best game ever. I thought GTA3 was the best, but after 9 straight hours with it. It has improved in every way.
  93. JerryT.
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    First thing i have to say is that Adam J. is stupid because the floor dissappears in gta3 too. the only reason the game glitches sometimes is because of how large this game is. And for the cars can u just tell me can u get a motorbike or dirt bike or helicopter or different kinds of boats other than that cop one? yea i thought not so do rate a game u dont noe anything about.
  94. BrandonH.
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Just plain and simple- truly and awesome game. None better.
  95. MTBones
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Did rockstar do better than GTA:III with Vice City. I think so!!!
  96. SwedenS.
    Oct 31, 2002
    10
    Gr8.
  97. JasonP.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    Dq Bomb!
  98. ZiggyStardust
    Oct 31, 2002
    10
    Granted the graphics are barely improved over GTA3s, but it's just what everyone wanted. All new missions, great design, and slight gameplay improvements here and there.
  99. JonathanF.(Therevisedvote)
    Oct 12, 2003
    10
    This game rules. As Tommy Vercetti you can do whatever the hell you want and still just drive into a car service joint to erase any record of the crime ever happening. It's like ... not the Godfather of PS2 games (that honour goes to GTA 3) but instead more like the Don. If GTA3 was Gran Turismo 3, then this would be GT Concept. Not quite as good as GTA3, but as a spin-off of the GTA This game rules. As Tommy Vercetti you can do whatever the hell you want and still just drive into a car service joint to erase any record of the crime ever happening. It's like ... not the Godfather of PS2 games (that honour goes to GTA 3) but instead more like the Don. If GTA3 was Gran Turismo 3, then this would be GT Concept. Not quite as good as GTA3, but as a spin-off of the GTA series it does more than merely keep you occupied until GTA4 comes out ... it really takes over your life. Long live Tommy! Expand
  100. JeffH.
    Jan 14, 2003
    9
    A solid, likeable game. The graphics are a liitle choppy and blury, and the blood looks fake, but other thatn that it's a fun game. It includes new features upgrading gta3. I would be really impressed if they came out with a multiplayer gta.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 100
    No excuses, you’re gonna have to buy this. Unless you don’t own a PS2, in which case, get out of our Internet!
  2. 97
    It's enormous, packed with an immense amount of gameplay, and it's a truly unique gameplay experience...This year's most impressive title, by a log shot.
  3. This is a long game, longer than GTA3 because there are far more missions in this game in a far larger area.