Gun Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the untamed West of the late-1800s, GUN is a free-roaming action-adventure game that takes players to a world without laws where greed, lust and murder are rampant. As Colton White, a vengeful gunslinger, players must straddle the line between good and evil as they showdown against corrupt lawmen, a murderous preacher, renegade army psychopaths, merciless outlaws and unforgiving Native Americans, while waging war on horseback, collecting bounties, and commandeering trains. Players travel through an action-packed landscape of high mountain wilderness, deserts and bustling territorial towns in an epic story of betrayal, greed, and revenge. Multiple gameplay styles include: strategic gunplay and precision shooting, stealth tactics, and use of explosives. Embark on numerous side missions to master gun slinging and horse riding. Players can unlock secret weapons and upgrade skills and abilities to improve their weapon and equipment performance. [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. The core gameplay is very refined and every aspect of the presentation is top-notch. If the game was a bit longer, there really wouldn’t be anything to complain about.
  2. Gun surrounds you with characters and a story that put their own stamp on the genre and make you a participant in a grand adventure that stands up to the rich tales of the legendary west. [Dec 2005, p.150]
  3. A no-holds-barred, straight up western that certainly deserves a good look. The major flaw is how quick it is to finish and how easy it is to complete 100% of the tasks the game has to offer.
  4. One of the strongest aspects of the game is the outstanding story.
  5. It forgets the most important thing - toys. [Jan 2006, p.73]
  6. The shortness of the game doesn't give it very much replay value.
  7. Far too generic to be considered anything other than average. [Christmas 2005, p.114]

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. ArsenioP.
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    GENIUS!!! These guys rock dude!! Wow when da stem bote blew up I was like totally blown away man This game is totally like dope ya know yas gotta buy it NOW!!! Expand
  2. SamuraiS.
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    Howdy partners! Feel like blowing the heads off of some nasty hombres, hanging wit whores, scalping Indians, herding cattle, slashing wild wolves with a tomahawk, killing a wild grizzly, guarding a stagecoach, blowing stuff to kingdom come? Then saddle up, partner and ried into the wild west. This game is so awesome that its tough to describe. There's just an amazing thing about kicking butt the old fashioned way. There's no laser beams to hurdle, no hacking codes, no electronic gadgets of any kind... 'cause they weren't invented yet. Just the good 'ol fashioned firearms that won the west. The gameplay is great, the visuals are damn near unbelievable and mainly its a crap-load-o-FUN! When you firebomb an enemy they hot around screaming, ooh, ahh... fire... water, water water..." Its hilarious, trust me. And when a guy is lying there on the ground he'll beg for mercy as you proceed to saw off his scalp. Gruesome, yes but oh so satisfying. You can upgrade all your weapons and even your horse so he gets faster and more agile. You can jump your horse over buffalo, cattle, fences and townsfolk... again, it's hilariously fun. There's a slow-mo phase you slip into called Quickdraw where you can pick off multiple enemies one by one. They'll even moan in a low slow-mo groaning way that's wonderful.You can also mine gold to make more cash to buy stuff and can play poker in the local saloons. ANYWAY, I'm giving the whole game away but really, you NEED to experience it for yourself. Even the background music adds a real western supense and adventure level to the game andhelps complete the package. The storyline is GREAT... like a movie, the characters are GREAT and as for the main man, Colten White, you really care about him and become personally involved in his journey to seek bloody revenge. It is rather short so you might wanna rent it but personally, I'll jump on my horse from time to time just to enjoy a peaceful gallop across the great plains. Yee-haw! Giddyup! Expand
  3. MickeyM.
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    It's an amazing game but a little short it offers a good range of weapons including bow and arrow I highly recommend this game for all shoot em up lovers. Expand
  4. BenB.
    Feb 4, 2006
    9
    Excellent story line and side games. Thoroughly enjoyable game, enjoyed from start to finish.
  5. GregT.
    Mar 27, 2006
    8
    This is a short game but it is excellent fun. I rented it and easily completed it within the 2 night time frame including all the sub missions. I would have been disappointed if I have paid full price for it. Highly recommended. Collapse
  6. NateP.
    Nov 29, 2005
    8
    the game I thought was really cool. what disappointed me was the fact that is was so short but for what the game was I would recommend it.
  7. ZackM.
    Nov 22, 2005
    1
    This game sucked! The missions were boring. The characters were boring, the game-play was boring and basically the whole game was boring. Do yourself a favor, save the money and get SOCOM 3 for off the wall action... Expand

See all 18 User Reviews