.hack//Mutation Part 2 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Bandai
  • Release Date: May 6, 2003
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On
  1. 83
    With its compelling storyline, interesting approach to the online MMORPG community, and two more games to follow in August and November respectfully, it's hard not to latch onto this one and ride it out 'til the end.
  2. Even if you really liked Infection, you probably won't like this second installment as much, since it's just like the first, minus the originality.
  3. Game Informer
    78
    The camera is still bad and the dungeons desperately need a makeover. [July 2003, p.105]
  4. Cheat Code Central
    80
    If the rest of the games continue in the same progressive manner as this one, we might have another classic series on our hands.
  5. 82
    With Mutation kicking up the story and gameplay a much-needed notch I became totally addicted to this game. The addition of a sprinkling of some truly excellent boss battles throughout the game helped a bunch, too.
  6. The battles should be more fluid and dungeons could be more unique, but ultimately the story and its characters carry .hack a notch above the standard RPG.
  7. 70
    Simply an extension of Infection—muddy graphics, questionable control, and a story concept that’s just interesting enough to keep you going.
  8. After I finished Infection, I spent another two hours or so polishing my characters up, finding secret areas and items I read about on FAQ’s, and then just sort of let it rest.
  9. 80
    Precisely more of the same. It's bigger, stronger, and deeper. Even the flaws are repeated, as party members still need a lot of hand-holding.
  10. Because of the episodic nature of this series, you'll get the feeling that you're doing the same things over and over. And while this is true, there are enough things in the game such as secret wallpapers, new weapons, spells, and items to find, that the game stays interesting.
  11. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    68
    Sadly, the game still doesn't quite live up to its high-concept premise. Battles often degenerate to button-mashing, the difficulty is still wildly inconsistent, and the dungeons are woefully unimaginative. [June 2003, p.127]
  12. 80
    The Dot-hack universe's mysterious unfolding plot really leaves one with a desire to explore, to learn the increasingly strange (and perhaps sinister) truth behind the game's thick stew of metaphysics and technical mumbo-jumbo.
  13. Merely more of the same, which is good enough as the original kept us enthralled to the end.
  14. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    It's this kind of extra depth that helps round out an already compelling experience. At the very least, it's enough to keep me coming back for more, eagerly awaiting the next chapter in this utterly unique franchise. [June 2003, p.104]
  15. PSM Magazine
    80
    The way the game's presentation is executed is so well done that players will be immersed in no time - which more than makes up for some of Mutations shortcomings in the repetitive dungeon design and difficulty balance department. [June 2003, p.30]
  16. This game will probably appeal to people who bought the first, if only to continue the story.
  17. Really, this series is made for a very specific group (otakus and mega-RPG fanatics) so very few people will really love this game above other PS2 RPGs.
  18. Just as average, unremarkable and underwhelming as its predecessor where it counts: gameplay.
  19. netjak
    84
    The story included was strong enough to keep me interested.
  20. GMR Magazine
    80
    We keep stumbling onto funky new aspects the more we play it - like the fact that your relationships with your pals in this faux-MMORPG depend on the time you spend with them and the gifts you give them. Just like in real life. [June 2003, p.73]
  21. GameNow
    83
    The cliffhanger ending is mind-bendingly cool. [June 2003, p.51]
  22. The story and gameplay are just too inventive and riveting to abandon without discovering how it all ends.
  23. Despite the additions like the Lamda server, new items and equipment, quests, and party members, MUTATION remains plagued by the unfortunate aspects that ruined the first game: monotonous dungeon designs and an equally terrible (but at least more tolerable) camera system.
  24. More of the same but without the heart.

Awards & Rankings

#16 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#86 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
  1. RyanB.
    Nov 8, 2005
    9
    A great game with compelling storyline and gameplay. Battle system is incredibly addictive, and I like the expanisive amount of skills and A great game with compelling storyline and gameplay. Battle system is incredibly addictive, and I like the expanisive amount of skills and equipment, but party members need their hands held constantly. Full Review »
  2. FrankA.
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    The one that gave it a 5 can go to ....
  3. PedroG.
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    It's a very good game.