.hack//Quarantine Part 4 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Bandai
  • Release Date: Jan 14, 2004
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
Buy On
  1. I just don’t think it’s worth the time, effort and above all expense of the Dot Hack series.
  2. Bandai's decision to pad one good game's worth of content with about 60 to 80 hours' worth of filler, and to split that game into four full-priced products spread out over a year, remains disappointing.
  3. The in game music does not really make an impact on the player, with boring melodies that are simple and repetitive.
  4. 60
    A rental and possible purchase for fans. For anyone else, "hack Part 4: Quarantine is a repetitive action-RPG that isn't as interesting as its concept and is almost impossible to enjoy independently of the series.
  5. PSM Magazine
    70
    Sure, it's the same old cut 'n' paste gameplay formula, but if you've played into .hack's dual layered world thus far, it's a solid and enjoyable note upon which to end the series. [Jan 2004, p.36]
  6. GMR Magazine
    70
    The gameplay, although strong at first, wasn't meant to be stretched this thin; if you're someone how intends to attempt all four games at a stretch, prepare for plenty of tedium to set in halfway through. [Jan 2004, p.52]
  7. As a concept, .hack is a great one, but perhaps one which should not have been stretched past two games at the most.
  8. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    62
    The shortest volume in all .hack-dom, and most of it is spent running errands, but the final battle (which is spoiled in the pack-in anime DVD) is a great payoff if you've been following the story all this time. [Feb 2004, p.122]
  9. Cheat Code Central
    60
    Even though this game is better than the third one the series didn't live up to my expectations.
  10. 60
    .hack does not end triumphantly. A year ago I was optimistic; now I'm just looking forward to playing something -- anything -- else.
  11. 70
    If you're a fan of the .hack universe or have stuck it out through the previous three volumes, you'll find Quarantine a satisfying ending to the series. Everybody else, play at your own risk. [Jan 2004, p.148]
  12. Play Magazine
    58
    Instead of revelations, we're left empty handed, as tantalizing mysteries are thoughtlessly swept under the rug. [Dec 2003, p.56]

Awards & Rankings

#82 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. JordynC.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    This game I think is beautiful. The story and characters are well done and the music is pretty good. I think the dungeon design should change This game I think is beautiful. The story and characters are well done and the music is pretty good. I think the dungeon design should change but that's just about it. I love this game!! Full Review »
  2. StepheniV.
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    I think the whole game is cool.
  3. CarlosG.
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    I would have rated it a 100 if i could.It's a tiny bit repetitive but it's all good. except that flyin' grunty carpet and I would have rated it a 100 if i could.It's a tiny bit repetitive but it's all good. except that flyin' grunty carpet and eyeballs they're driving me nuts to figure out! Full Review »