Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
Buy On
  1. 72
    The game's not perfect. There are some camera issues. Some AI issues. And I really would have preferred to have more control over spells. But it still arrives as a solid entry to the series. Kids will probably like it a lot.
  2. It's a worthwhile platforming experience for hardcore Potter fans, but some may be put off by all the collection quests and backtracking.
  3. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is a good game, but it is more "muggle" than magic.
  4. Game Informer
    65
    Goblet of Fire is the best console Harry Potter action game yet, but it's still a far cry from good. [Dec 2005, p.161]
  5. The linear nature of the gameplay ensures that you will be forced into the various scenes as the director and developer intended. The puzzles and mini-games are fun but they are like eating candy floss; there's not much nourishment.
  6. 70
    The constant action means the Harry Potter series has always lent itself well to the video-game format, and thankfully (albeit surprisingly) EA has mostly improved upon their winning formula, while upping the ante visually and adding welcome multiplayer features, easily making the Goblet of Fire their best adaptation yet.
  7. 60
    The inability of this series to learn from its mistakes is baffling. You'll often find yourself fighting enemies you can't see because some decorative element in the foreground entirely blocks your view, and you've zero control over the camera.
  8. 60
    A mostly average button masher that has the good luck of being associated with the hottest kids' property to come along in years.
  9. AceGamez
    50
    Seasoned gamers will find very little of interest here, regardless of how massive a Harry Potter fan you are (personally I love the books and the films).
  10. Play Magazine
    75
    A fine, if not predictable, bit of movie gaming. [Jan 2006, p.49]
  11. Pelit (Finland)
    70
    Nothing more than a bunch of minigames that suffer from an awkward camera system. [Dec 2005]
  12. 60
    This take on the Hogwarts crew is purely by the numbers, not at all emblematic of the magic wielded by the characters within.
  13. A sharp, visual style and a great co-op mode that overcomes the average action gameplay provide a wonderfully wizardly good time despite a too-short and too-easy escapade.
  14. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    A cut above its peers. [Jan 2006, p.100]
  15. An unbelievably lazy title that just feels cheap. It has poor gameplay that the target audience will just fall asleep at, which only adds to the infuriating realisation that it will still sell thanks to the lightning scarred teen’s name.
  16. PSM Magazine
    70
    This is by no means a perfect game, but it serves the license admirably and is definitely worth playing through with friends. [Feb 2006, p.82]
  17. The visuals, music and voice acting are beautifully done, but the same can’t be said for the storyline, and controls.
  18. Series fans will find a lot to love in this title, which offers an attractive, immersive, and most importantly, fun excursion into the world of J.K. Rowling's imaginative works.
  19. Somewhat annoyingly, the game often requires you to tackle each level a multiple number of times in order to collect items such as shields before the next area is unlocked.
  20. I can guarantee you will be flying over Hogwarts evading the snapping Hungarian Horntail or swimming underwater in search of your best friend Ron, all the time getting rid of the pesky Merpeople. It is worth all the repetitive gameplay, and questing for Triwizard Shields in order to unlock these levels.
  21. The game changes a few of the things Harry fans have come to expect from the games, and though aimed at a younger audience, Harry fans will find a lot to like in the game.
  22. EA’s most recent effort at representing our spectacled wizard is good enough to please this rabid bunch as well as providing a somewhat entertaining game for the rest of us. Although it may be a little easier than most titles out there.
  23. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire delivers the expected “you’ve seen the movie, now play it” goods, though tedious collection quests and a dearth of fresh material that goes beyond the movie storyline will limit the game’s appeal to the teen-and-up audience.
  24. The highlight is a brief but thrilling broomstick chase against a fire-breathing dragon. An underwater interlude is less successful, although it provides variety.
  25. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    60
    It's decent enough, but there's a lack of gameplay innovation. [Christmas 2005, p.108]
  26. An exciting adventure that will keep you engaged until the final battle.
  27. It’s a healthy change of pace for the series. However, these moments fade out fast as you find yourself repeating levels over and over just so you can move on.
  28. Fans of Harry Potter may be disappointed that the game doesn’t quite reflect the darkness of the movie or book, but Goblet of Fire certainly does some things right including impressive graphics, sound, nice 3-player co-op and easy to pick up gameplay. The real problem with the game is the camera, AI and repetitiveness.
  29. While Goblet of Fire might be a more exciting and fun game than the rest of the Potter series, it still lacks many of the ingredients that made the Lord of the Rings-based games so much fun.

Awards & Rankings

#38 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Tiffanie
    Oct 16, 2007
    5
    Ive got to say that this game does not measure up to the standard the Harry potter books deserve! The last three HP games were excellent, but Ive got to say that this game does not measure up to the standard the Harry potter books deserve! The last three HP games were excellent, but this game was a disapointment! There is just NO flowing story in it!! I agaree with over people, that it sholud be made like HP the prisoner of azkaban as that game, in my opinion was the best one so far!! I gave it a five because it wasnt a terrible game itself, however it just doses not compare to the previous versions!! This game failed to meet the feel of HP and should of been made with more story and adventure..its too mission bassed. purchase this game and prepare to be kinda disapointed!! Full Review »
  2. Mar 14, 2016
    8
    It's been quite a few years since I completed this game, but as I recall this was a very faithful adaptation of the movie, and had veryIt's been quite a few years since I completed this game, but as I recall this was a very faithful adaptation of the movie, and had very enjoyable gameplay. I might be wrong though.. Full Review »
  3. Mar 28, 2015
    5
    This is not my favorite of the Harry Potter games. It's so action oriented that it actually is very hard. It's great for people who like allThis is not my favorite of the Harry Potter games. It's so action oriented that it actually is very hard. It's great for people who like all action games, but I really feel it loses much of the story by being all action. And I miss tending classes. Part of the fun of the previous games was being able to go to school at Hogwarts and learning the magic. At least it was for me. I finished it, but I won't play it again. Full Review »