• Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2002
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 74
    At certain points it's great, but at others it can be either frustrating or very boring.
  2. The fast-paced, quickly changing gameplay is refreshingly unordinary.
  3. The free-form style of play keeps things fresh but don’t go into this one expecting to be blown away.
  4. A trend-setting effort and an absolute must-have for platforming fanatics. [Jan 2003, p.91]
  5. 61
    Haven tries to go in several directions at once. Alas, rather than excelling, it ends up doing a fairly mediocre job of almost everything.
  6. A better than average platformer with cleverly interspersed mini games to present the illusion of expansiveness and freedom.
  7. 70
    Despite the intended scope of the game, Haven’s sights and sounds are barely average.
  8. It would have worked better had the game allowed you to switch from any of these game styles at will. I think that was the original idea, but sadly it all turns out overly scripted and directed.
  9. 60
    The downside to the game's ambitious design is that the individual parts don't fare nearly as well alone as they do being part of a larger experience.
  10. A spectacular, inventive, wondrous adventure. The lead is a bit of an odd-ball, but everything else is the stuff of dreams. [Jan 2003, p.68]
  11. In the attempt to be all things for all kinds of gamer, each little mode lacks polish. [Jan 2003, p.173]
  12. Some tweaks to the gameplay and a better weapon system would go a long way towards helping this ambitious title achieve greatness.
  13. Quite involving after a while with some excellent puzzles for you to solve and many strange people to talk to, but it does take quite a while to get into.
  14. The game, like a movie trailer, provides various disjointed snippets of action without delivering the complete picture.
  15. A great choice for hardcore types who found the recent slate of platformers too easy - this is one of the toughest titles in its genre. [Jan 2003, p.124]
  16. Objectives that are generally unexciting or that go on for far too long. Even worse, in some instances, you'll find yourself wandering around trying to figure out what to do next. [Jan 2003, p.30]
  17. What we have here is a great engine and design screaming for some character and story help.
  18. Not much more than a so-so platformer with a problematic camera. [Feb 2003, p.69]
  19. Despite the great gameplay, graphics, and sound, there is one factor that cripples the entire game. Many copies of the game have a bug that causes the save feature to not work properly.
  20. 58
    So-so platform elements. [Feb 2003, p.43]
  21. The biggest problem here is how tedious some of the objectives can be, but the story is interesting enough to keep you playing, and it's a decently long experience as well.
  22. A down side to this game setup is that there is no real big picture to your accomplishments.
  23. One of the biggest complaints I have about the game is that very little of the gameplay is explained or even given much in the way of reason. You seem to just be doing stuff to keep from being bored to death.
  24. With a bit more polish, the gameplay in Haven: Call of the King could have matched the brilliant ideas that fueled the game's creation.
  25. While not perfect, Haven: Call of the King works on many levels—as a platformer, as vehicular racing title, as a centerpiece for fine soundtrack work.
  26. Every level has to be earned…every damn level…but there is also a distinct feeling of accomplishment that comes with this type of challenge and I certainly welcomed it every step of the way.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. JoeG.
    Jul 27, 2003
    0
    i cant rate it cos i cant play it..i got stuck at darkwater village at those damn fires.38!fires thats fun for you..ha ,and very early in the i cant rate it cos i cant play it..i got stuck at darkwater village at those damn fires.38!fires thats fun for you..ha ,and very early in the game.also my fingers are quite sore..i think rachet and clank is better...right level of difficulty for people who are attracted to ps2. i dont like hop,hoppity ,boss,bigger boss,bigger pain games much.must try riven or myst Full Review »
  2. D.J.
    May 27, 2003
    2
    Wow, this game is bad. It seems to fail on almost every level (layout, gameplay, character design, etc.) and is unpleasant to play. Now you Wow, this game is bad. It seems to fail on almost every level (layout, gameplay, character design, etc.) and is unpleasant to play. Now you might find this game for $10 but don't waste your money. Why do you think the game is so cheap when its not that old, hmmm. And for those who gave it anything higher than 5 should have their head inspected, or at least shown what a good game really is. To paraphrase AVOID AT ALL COSTS! Full Review »
  3. RyanM.
    Apr 28, 2003
    4
    I didn't like this game very much. It was your basic platformer. My favorite part was the very beginning, and that's the only part I didn't like this game very much. It was your basic platformer. My favorite part was the very beginning, and that's the only part that kept me interested for over 20 minutes. But you'll find better games out their and you'll realize this is not worth wasting your time. Full Review »