Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. This title's epic scope, engrossing story, and addictive combat system easily outweigh these minor concerns. [Aug 2003, p.92]
  2. Solid gameplay, spot-on voice acting, and a classic Indy story make this a must have title. [Sept 2003, p.40]
  3. 80
    It's well worth your time to play through, if only for the motorcycle and gun turret scenes, and some of the more freakish weirdoes to cull later in your romp.
  4. 80
    I'd only get this if I were desperately in need of a new adventure game (any adventure game), or a ridiculous Indy fan. Or, if I'd never played an Indiana Jones game before, I'd get it but on another system.
  5. This may not be the prettiest game, but it plays great. It's a little mellow, yet still very addictive.
  6. Its strongest asset is the fact that the developers have pulled off the feat of marrying some old-style Tomb Raider gameplay with a brilliant control system that makes Lara seem rather sloth-like by comparison. [Playstation 2 Max]
  7. Get past the visuals, the levers, the stupid bloody water sections and you’ve got a game that doesn’t get anywhere near the high potential of the worlds greatest action hero, but still manages to provide some guilty pleasures.
  8. The textures aren't quite as sharp [as the Xbox version] and the framerate is a little dodgy, but Indy controls slightly better on the PS2 controller, thanks to the additional shoulder buttons. [Sept 2003, p.69]
  9. A classic adventure that doesn't try to innovate yet still manages to deliver the goods.
  10. Some people (myself included) just can’t stand games with graphics as choppy and visually butchered as this one.
  11. 60
    A mix of intense head-bashing against smart A.I. and an occasional crate-smashing balance out to some solid gameplay.
  12. The framerate here bogs down so much that it actually hampers gameplay. And there's no excuse for that - Emperor's Tomb isn't doing anything PS2 can't handle. [Aug 2003, p.98]
  13. Indy has a game that is worthy of his name in terms of gameplay and style, but definitely not technically on the Playstation 2.
  14. The replayability is very poor as it is already boring the first time you go through it. Levels are very predictable and the action is weak... It's simply just not worth your time.
  15. Most disappointing, the drab use of color and flat architecture design show a basic lack of aesthetic awareness. [Aug 2003, p.77]
  16. While the game does a lot of things right, severe graphical issues surface at almost every turn and essentially nullify its strong points, leaving behind a game with lots of untapped potential.
  17. Instant deaths, glitchy combat, uninspiring boss encounters and twitchy controls conspire to make this a below-par experience. If it wasn't for the occasional flashes of imagination and the familiarity and richness conveyed through the license then The Emperor's Tomb would be utterly forgettable. [May 2003, p.99]
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sam
    May 17, 2006
    6
    Now I love Indiana Jones just as much as the next guy, but this is just sad. Not to say I didn't enjoy myself, but it could have been so Now I love Indiana Jones just as much as the next guy, but this is just sad. Not to say I didn't enjoy myself, but it could have been so much better if the controls were improved. It feels clunky, confusing, and really holds it back from what it could have been. Full Review »
  2. AndrewJ.
    Jun 26, 2004
    7
    It's no Tomb Raider, but I still had fun! :)
  3. TomC.
    Feb 22, 2004
    9
    Good story line and great hand to hand combat. A must for any Indy Fan.