Indiana Jones and the Emperor's Tomb PlayStation 2

Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
Buy On
  1. Game Informer
    83
    This title's epic scope, engrossing story, and addictive combat system easily outweigh these minor concerns. [Aug 2003, p.92]
  2. PSM Magazine
    80
    Solid gameplay, spot-on voice acting, and a classic Indy story make this a must have title. [Sept 2003, p.40]
  3. 80
    It's well worth your time to play through, if only for the motorcycle and gun turret scenes, and some of the more freakish weirdoes to cull later in your romp.
  4. 80
    I'd only get this if I were desperately in need of a new adventure game (any adventure game), or a ridiculous Indy fan. Or, if I'd never played an Indiana Jones game before, I'd get it but on another system.
  5. This may not be the prettiest game, but it plays great. It's a little mellow, yet still very addictive.
  6. Its strongest asset is the fact that the developers have pulled off the feat of marrying some old-style Tomb Raider gameplay with a brilliant control system that makes Lara seem rather sloth-like by comparison. [Playstation 2 Max]
  7. Get past the visuals, the levers, the stupid bloody water sections and you’ve got a game that doesn’t get anywhere near the high potential of the worlds greatest action hero, but still manages to provide some guilty pleasures.
  8. GMR Magazine
    70
    The textures aren't quite as sharp [as the Xbox version] and the framerate is a little dodgy, but Indy controls slightly better on the PS2 controller, thanks to the additional shoulder buttons. [Sept 2003, p.69]
  9. A classic adventure that doesn't try to innovate yet still manages to deliver the goods.
  10. Some people (myself included) just can’t stand games with graphics as choppy and visually butchered as this one.
  11. 60
    A mix of intense head-bashing against smart A.I. and an occasional crate-smashing balance out to some solid gameplay.
  12. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    The framerate here bogs down so much that it actually hampers gameplay. And there's no excuse for that - Emperor's Tomb isn't doing anything PS2 can't handle. [Aug 2003, p.98]
  13. Indy has a game that is worthy of his name in terms of gameplay and style, but definitely not technically on the Playstation 2.
  14. The replayability is very poor as it is already boring the first time you go through it. Levels are very predictable and the action is weak... It's simply just not worth your time.
  15. Play Magazine
    50
    Most disappointing, the drab use of color and flat architecture design show a basic lack of aesthetic awareness. [Aug 2003, p.77]
  16. While the game does a lot of things right, severe graphical issues surface at almost every turn and essentially nullify its strong points, leaving behind a game with lots of untapped potential.
  17. Edge Magazine
    40
    Instant deaths, glitchy combat, uninspiring boss encounters and twitchy controls conspire to make this a below-par experience. If it wasn't for the occasional flashes of imagination and the familiarity and richness conveyed through the license then The Emperor's Tomb would be utterly forgettable. [May 2003, p.99]
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 2, 2015
    7
    I have a soft spot in my heart for the Indiana Jones movies and so whenever there will be an Indiana Jones game coming out, I will hope andI have a soft spot in my heart for the Indiana Jones movies and so whenever there will be an Indiana Jones game coming out, I will hope and pray it will be worthy of this great movie series.

    But alas, so far I haven't played an Indiana Jones game which is as high quality as the movies they are based on. Indiana Jones and the Staff of Kings (2009) had rather poor gameplay and unattractive graphics. Only the music was nice. Whenever i hear the Indiana Jones main theme it automatically brings me in a good mood and a smile will appear on my face.

    Indiana Jones and the Emperor's Tomb is an older game but for me it has nicer gameplay and feels more true to the movies. The graphics are not very pretty on the PS2 even for a game made in 2003, but the sound is nice and the levels interesting. It feels a bit like playing the Tomb Raider games, which reminded me of the Indiana Jones movies when i first played them many years ago.

    The Indiana Jones games are not nearly as good as the Tomb Raider games though. The controls are just awkward and feel clumsy, the enemies are annoying coz shooting them is such a hassle. The best feature of this game is the whip, which can be used to jump over ravines but also to smack the enemies around a bit. It feels all the more satisfying to do so because the shooting and fighting mechanics are so poor.

    The face of Indy looks like Harrison Ford's and the voice actor who did the voice of Indiana Jones delivers a sound pretty similar to Harrison Ford's voice. The music is atmospheric and creates a nice movie feel.

    The game would be a lot less enjoyable if it didn't bring back those fond memories of going to the cinema to see the Indiana Jones movies and become emerged in this exotic world of adventure. But because it does exactly that, i rate this game a score of 7 out of 10.
    Full Review »
  2. Sam
    May 17, 2006
    6
    Now I love Indiana Jones just as much as the next guy, but this is just sad. Not to say I didn't enjoy myself, but it could have been so Now I love Indiana Jones just as much as the next guy, but this is just sad. Not to say I didn't enjoy myself, but it could have been so much better if the controls were improved. It feels clunky, confusing, and really holds it back from what it could have been. Full Review »
  3. AndrewJ.
    Jun 26, 2004
    7
    It's no Tomb Raider, but I still had fun! :)