Jak II PlayStation 2

Jak II Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 234 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Jak II, Jak has an entirely new move set (Dark Jak) to augment his previous move set. He has more moves with his new toys as well - gun moves (including kick/shooting combos), and entire Jet Board move set and tricks. Daxter has some special surprises as well. There are escort missionsIn Jak II, Jak has an entirely new move set (Dark Jak) to augment his previous move set. He has more moves with his new toys as well - gun moves (including kick/shooting combos), and entire Jet Board move set and tricks. Daxter has some special surprises as well. There are escort missions where Jak goes into a level area with another character and the player must work with them to complete a task. Jak II enemies have more A.I. and respond to Jak with intelligent intent. [Daniel Arey] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. I was hooked on the gameplay and the story of Jak II almost immediately and my addiction and love of the game hasn’t subsided weeks later. Jak II is, without question, one of the finest gaming experiences I’ve ever had.
  2. 100
    This may be the best adventure game you have ever played, or will play in a long while.
  3. 95
    I have to be honest with you – this is what you own a PlayStation 2 for.
  4. While some players might not like the drastic change from the original Jak and Daxter, I found it to be very fun and absolutely loved it.
  5. 90
    Our other issue with the game is that the city where the game takes place, despite having hundreds-if-not-thousands of people, feels very empty.
  6. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Less successful is the convoluted city design that forces you to spend considerable time in transit between levels. Put up with this annoyance - the missions are an addictive blast. [17 Oct 2003, p.L2T 20]
  7. Lacks the cohesion, pacing, and spirit the others possess. All else being equal, those missing qualities put Jak II squarely at the rear of the pack.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 66
  2. Negative: 4 out of 66
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that itsThis game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that its important to tell people how great this game is! Everything is perfect mystery, sci-fi, comedy, action and of course solid gameplay Expand
  2. JakC.
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    If you are a a gta freak. You will think this game rulesbreak cars killing police stealing hovers and blastin with guns.This game makes all If you are a a gta freak. You will think this game rulesbreak cars killing police stealing hovers and blastin with guns.This game makes all my other game look bad everyone accept final fantasy x and i dont know about eye toy. Expand
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. Different from the first game but just as good. It should have got a 100.
  4. MichaelT.
    Oct 15, 2003
    9
    Jaks back and this time it's personal. Jak II is a great game with some really amazing graphics but not without it's small Jaks back and this time it's personal. Jak II is a great game with some really amazing graphics but not without it's small graphical quips. This game is all about polish and it shows, Naughty Dog set out to one up it's last effort with this game and in most areas did extremely well but getting used to the GTA influened city controls did take some getting used to. At times it feels forced but a few hours into the game and it's all good. Jak II is a great game for fans of platformers and adventure games. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    The sequel to the first Jak and Daxter game is a great game with more content and game play added. The game has platformer elements like theThe sequel to the first Jak and Daxter game is a great game with more content and game play added. The game has platformer elements like the first game but it's also gotten a shooter element to it. The game again is completely open world and is fun to explore. Some of the levels have pretty bad check points and over all the game isn't as good as the first game in my opinion but it still is a very good game I'd recommend for everyone. Expand
  6. May 22, 2011
    7
    Naughty Dog's sequel to the stunning Jak and Daxter lacks the charm of the first game, partly because of its slightly imbalanced transfer toNaughty Dog's sequel to the stunning Jak and Daxter lacks the charm of the first game, partly because of its slightly imbalanced transfer to the "Teen" rating. However, Jak II still offers some solid platforming and action-adventure elements. Pros: Excellent graphics, control, camera, and sound; no loading screens; variety of weapons to play with and missions to conquer. Cons: Unoriginal; generally ugly characters and level design; a bit of a lousy attempt at transferring the series to a mature setting; sappy dialogue. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2016
    0
    WHY DOES EVERYONE LIKE THIS GAME?! IT"S BY FAR ONE OF THE WORST GAMES I EVER The original Jak and Daxter was one of my favorite games of allWHY DOES EVERYONE LIKE THIS GAME?! IT"S BY FAR ONE OF THE WORST GAMES I EVER The original Jak and Daxter was one of my favorite games of all time! And now they ruined it BY MAKING IT A **** GTA CLONE! Why?! Why did you do this, Naughty Dog? You had something great going on with the first game, and now, THIS?! This is just... UIBY FC,mjkhudtr7tu[gmhcgxkfyri75oe6r7py. Sorry, I got so pissed that I pressed all the buttons on my keyboard randomly. Anyways, it's not just the change in gameplay that annoys me, it's these **** missions! This game has a **** up check point system. Trust me, it's screwed up. If you die once, you have to go a huge chunk back in the level. Soundtrack wise, they didn't do anything to improve the already lacking soundtrack from the first game. And graphically-- IT SUCKS!!! It's so dark and bland, I mean... what the hell happened? The first game had a lot of color, and now this? So in conclusion, if you're anything like me, don't buy this game or rent it. Hell, don't even watch anyone play it. I despise this game. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#31 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003