• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After Jak stopped the Dark Maker menace in his last adventure, cities were rebuilt, people flourished and sports reemerged to fill the void. Combat Racing became the biggest sport of all, as the excitement of high-speed competition brought crowds to the track. Kras City led the way, with people flocking to the dangerous city of death and intrigue. When Jak and Daxter receive a mysterious invite to Kras City for the reading of Krew's Last Will and Testament, they find they have been joined by familiar faces such as Ashelin, Keira, Samos and Torn. When Krew reveals in his recording will that everyone present, including his daughter, Rayn, has been poisoned, everyone is shocked. Krew gives everyone an ultimatum -- the only way to get the poison antidote in time is to race for him in the next Kras City Grand Championship, or they will all die. Now, Jak and his friends are forced into a high-speed contest for their lives, as they are swept up into a deadly plot to win the biggest racing event on the planet -- against the best drivers in the world. With a deadly objective ahead of them, Jak and his friends take to the treacherous terrain as they are thrown into the driver's seat and find themselves racing against time in order to save the world. [SCEA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Sprinkled between the races are the kinds of cinematic scenes that Jak games have been known for: clever and extremely well animated.
  2. The most fun you can have racing and watching vehicles blow up since "Burnout Revenge." [Dec 2005, p.120]
  3. It’s a pretty good title with impressive graphics, a lot of tracks and cars, a deep single-player adventure and full online support with many game modes.
  4. 80
    It’s almost a racing game for everyone, but traces of the tad-too-touchy driving the Jak series is known for will throw newcomers for a loop and frustrate even veteran drivers on occasion.
  5. I would defiantly [sic] recommend this to anyone who ever wished they could strap a rocket launcher on the side of their car in "Gran Turismo."
  6. It's been too long since we had a great vehicular combat game, and Jak X delivers some rollicking good multiplayer fun. It just lacks the flair needed to make it a must-buy. [Dec 2005, p.101]
  7. It's a horrible, cynically produced, soulless and poorly designed racing game that manages to be as equally boring as it is frustrating. [Dec 2005, p.107]

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    In the same way Crash Team Racing (the fourth Crash Bandicoot Game) was a stellar spin-off competitive racer, Jak X (the fourth Jak & Daxter Game) wraps up Naughty Dog's share of J+D with true skill that only they have ever managed (how many spin-offs are ever as good as the original games? Until Naughty Dog came around, none). The racing is fast and intense, the number of vehicles and customisation options rival those of real racing sims and the actual "combat" side of the racing is brilliantly intuitive and very reminiscent of CTR, which is definitely a good thing, the most notable similarity is the upgrading of weapons through collecting dark eco (much like CTR did with Whumpa Fruit). As far as the story goes, its a let down coming straight out of the J+D trilogy, but it suits the subject matter well and brings back all of the characters and locations we know and love from the original titles, as well as much appreciated nods to previous events from said titles. A brilliant game that fans of the originals and newbies alike will love and a smashing send-off for Naughty Dog, we miss you D': Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    Naughty Dog made the same thing, that they made with Crash Bandicoot: the fourth game is a racing game. Jak X isn't as good as CTR, but it is still a fun game. It has the best story of racing games history. I give minus for repetitious and AI. It is stupid, that the other racers always comes to the finish within 15 seconds after you. But for a spin-off it is a good game. Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    7
    I have to admit, I did play this for a while and I liked it then I did realize it was a cheap spin-off. Its great for real racers, but I liked the platformer Jaks. Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2011
    6
    well first of all this is not a jak game!!! it is ok but it just doesn't cut it as jak. after the great jak 3 i was disapointed with this one. it is a fun racer/action but if you like jak this isn't for you. it's for racing game fans. so a 6 is fitting because it was fun but it didn't cut it. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    6
    This game is really more for either racing fans who loved the racing parts of the Jak series, or people who like filler, because that's all this game really is: useless filler. The races and other racing challenges get extremely annoying at times. I only rated this game a 6 because it had its moments at times. Collapse
  6. Apr 29, 2011
    6
    Poorly mimmicks kart racing games before it, but adds a lot of maturity. Pros: Fantastic graphics; lengthy single-player mode; variety of combat options; online mode. Cons: Awkward controls; lacks originality; was Jak X: Combat Racing really necessary? Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    I have always told myself that no game deserves a 0. But this game....this game deserves a 0. How can you get to the good aspects of a game when it constantly freezes and corrupts your saved data? Thus causing you to lose everything you have done in it and start anew. Sure the game may be worth a 6 or 7 if this bug never occurred but how can you get to that gameplay if you can't even load a **** race? You can't. And this game deserves to be down there with Duke Nukem Forever and the other pieces of trash developers have pushed out to us. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews