User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 36
  2. Negative: 7 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamS.
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    Jaws can smash boats and helicopters. You can eat dogs, attack killer whales, battle other sharks and kill other underwater predators. Jaws eats people up. If you don't have it, you should get it.
  2. SamuraiSlash
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    Thies game is GREAT! It's not very deep (pardon the pun) but its HUGE on FUN! The presentaion and graphics are just outstanding. Destroying oil rigs, flipping boats, wrecking boats, eating people, eating other fish (including sharks), is some of the most fun I've had in quite a while. This aint no fish story, this game RULES!!! The feeling of that awesome power and razor sharp Thies game is GREAT! It's not very deep (pardon the pun) but its HUGE on FUN! The presentaion and graphics are just outstanding. Destroying oil rigs, flipping boats, wrecking boats, eating people, eating other fish (including sharks), is some of the most fun I've had in quite a while. This aint no fish story, this game RULES!!! The feeling of that awesome power and razor sharp teeth add up to a completely unique experience that's sure to satisfy your hunger for FUN. Chomp, chomp, dig in. Expand
  3. AlexS.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Awesome game, eating people is a blast, I can tear apart every limb on every body and destroy everything! This is a must have, finally something different thats fun as hell, not to mention the gta like open world.
  4. RyanB
    Jun 1, 2006
    8
    This is a fantastic game! Don't pay attention to all the negative reviews that the web sites are giving it. Get it for yourself and allow yourself the unadulterated thrills of being the ultimate sea predator as you fly throught the ocean devouring anything that gets in your way. The GTA style of gameply is perfect to let you roar around and take your time stalking your next victim. GoThis is a fantastic game! Don't pay attention to all the negative reviews that the web sites are giving it. Get it for yourself and allow yourself the unadulterated thrills of being the ultimate sea predator as you fly throught the ocean devouring anything that gets in your way. The GTA style of gameply is perfect to let you roar around and take your time stalking your next victim. Go get it its cheap and it gives your hours of good fun gameplay, and the graphics and controls are fine for people with any taste or motor skills. Enjoy! Expand
  5. EfeB.
    Jun 19, 2006
    9
    the huge voting gap between the so called game experts and the "real" gamers tells everthing. this is a game reviewers hate and gamers love...because the gameplay is fun, because it is silly, because there is no game like it anywhere. you are jaws, you go eat things...you terrorize people and animals and boats. the free-roaming is cool, but the missions could have been better...some the huge voting gap between the so called game experts and the "real" gamers tells everthing. this is a game reviewers hate and gamers love...because the gameplay is fun, because it is silly, because there is no game like it anywhere. you are jaws, you go eat things...you terrorize people and animals and boats. the free-roaming is cool, but the missions could have been better...some missions are too wacky, like throwing barrels into homes so they burn...huh?...what?...who came up with that idea?...so, some parts of the game feel like the original jaws and the other parts feel like the crapy sequels. what i love the most about this game is the sound...underwater screeming and above the water screeming is done just like the film...the camera freedom is amazing...you never miss anything, if you learn to control the camera well. i love the rag doll like bodies, you can bite and shake and take apart. Expand
  6. Outraged
    Mar 8, 2008
    0
    Wow. I'm shocked. It must take a hell of a lot of talent to take a game where you play as a SHARK and KILL OR DESTROY EVERYTHING and make it un-entertaining! Once I got to the first mission I knew this game was doomed. "Find an ID card to escape!" What the hell? So I'm playing as a big, dumb, bloodthirsty predator and I'm looking for ID cards? Jaws controls like crap, theWow. I'm shocked. It must take a hell of a lot of talent to take a game where you play as a SHARK and KILL OR DESTROY EVERYTHING and make it un-entertaining! Once I got to the first mission I knew this game was doomed. "Find an ID card to escape!" What the hell? So I'm playing as a big, dumb, bloodthirsty predator and I'm looking for ID cards? Jaws controls like crap, the graphics are worse than N64 graphics and killing people is not as fun as it should be. Also, if Jaws is so unstoppable, why can be killed instantly by a dolphin 1/8th his size? Or a gang of friggin' piranhas??? The whole first stage involves escaping a marine park, and this is done by head-butting heaps of glass walls, metal gratings and blocked exits. Wow, what fun. When I discovered the stage ended with a BOSS BATTLE against the marine park's ORCA WHALE, I almost threw the disc out the window. This game is so hilariously bad, it really is the PS2's answer to Superman 64- bad graphics, bad controls, laughable level design, and ruining a fantastic concept. If you're curious to play this game like I was, just rent it because you'll be sick of it within 30 minutes. Expand
  7. WC
    Aug 3, 2008
    7
    An okay game but isn't great neither. It kinda gets boring after a while of playing it as all you basically do is eat people. Fun if your in the mood for it or if you just want to eat people for the moment, otherwise a waste of money.
  8. iankirton
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    if i could i would have given it a 100 out of 10! i awlwase wanted to play as a shark wen i saw the movie jaws i wanted to b able to turn into a 25 foot shark so bad AND NOW I CAN!!!!!!! i also hope that this game will be the key to many animal games. PS: STOP CHANGING THE RELEASE DATE!!!!!!!!
  9. JeffCarter
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    This game is going to own in 2006.This will be the first to let you play as the shark.It has several modes free roam,story,challenge and others.This has a 25 dismemorent enjine so you can sever your victims peice by peice.Bosses include the Killer Whale,Other Sharks,Crocodiles,Pirannahs,Giant Squids and others.There are over 70 sea creatures ranging from seahorses to giant blue whales youThis game is going to own in 2006.This will be the first to let you play as the shark.It has several modes free roam,story,challenge and others.This has a 25 dismemorent enjine so you can sever your victims peice by peice.Bosses include the Killer Whale,Other Sharks,Crocodiles,Pirannahs,Giant Squids and others.There are over 70 sea creatures ranging from seahorses to giant blue whales you also get to eat dogs.One of the best modes in this game will be stealth in free roam.You can swim underwater unnoticed and then when you poke your fin out people start screaming.You will even be able to beach yourself and take people on the beach.You can see those pictures on gamepro.com Nov 29th.Another interesting aspect on this game is that when you let a lot of blood from your victems other sharks will come in and fight you over them perhaps even other white sharks.The only bad thing is this game keeps getting delayed now it's been pushed back to May 30th.Enough with the delays Majesco release this.It's been delayed since May of last year. Expand
  10. RyanB.
    May 31, 2006
    8
    This is a great game! Don't listen to what the reviewers are saying if they say its horrible. It isn't as bad as they are making it out to be. The controls are easy to learn, the graphics are just fine, the draw distance is normal, and the fun factor is HUGE! I bought it yesterday, and started playing it and it is a blast. You get to roam around the whole island as the top This is a great game! Don't listen to what the reviewers are saying if they say its horrible. It isn't as bad as they are making it out to be. The controls are easy to learn, the graphics are just fine, the draw distance is normal, and the fun factor is HUGE! I bought it yesterday, and started playing it and it is a blast. You get to roam around the whole island as the top predator, in a GTA free roam environment. You are enormous and overly powerful, which makes it a blast to take down boats and Jet Ski's and such. You can also pretty much eat everything you want that is smaller than you, and you have great moves. I like the ability to increase your skills, and become even more of a beast. My point is that It is a very good game, hasn't crashed or done anything wierd to me as of yet, and the price is great. Big game Big Shark Big fun. Enjoy it! Expand
  11. RandyM.
    Aug 23, 2006
    0
    Absolutely one of the most pitiful games ever created. This game deserves nothing less than to be floating belly up in the toilet in the eighth circle of gaming hell.
  12. GianS.
    Oct 22, 2006
    8
    I heard allot of bad things about the game especially from 'Official' reviews and such. But I have always been curious by the game ever since I read about it the first time. So it was delayed here in Europe for almost indefinatley but it finally made it out this weekend. I had to get it regardless. I have to say that 10 out of 10 for originality. The graphics are pretty good too I heard allot of bad things about the game especially from 'Official' reviews and such. But I have always been curious by the game ever since I read about it the first time. So it was delayed here in Europe for almost indefinatley but it finally made it out this weekend. I had to get it regardless. I have to say that 10 out of 10 for originality. The graphics are pretty good too and I love the free camera although you have to have your head, or should I say fins about you to master it when playing. I think it is a great original title and fair play to the developers in giving us something fresh for a change, unlike so many others which always copy and change and release and expect the public to spend their hard earned cash on make overs. Great game! Expand
  13. MikeC.
    May 25, 2006
    8
    fun game a must. play or buy you cant loose i bought and its fun.
  14. RedXIII
    Jul 12, 2006
    1
    The only reason this game got a 1 is because of the highly addicting carnage for the first 30 mins, after that it gets extremely repetitive and boring, camera angles were horrible, controls bad, all in all a bad game, except the original carnage. Rent, do not buy!
  15. laladoodielaladoodie
    May 19, 2008
    0
    the carnage is bretty bloody and fun for half an hour, later youll be thinking what am i doing. it has plenty of bugs and glitches. it has bad graphics but da sound quality is ok, but da music dat cumz on after every time u attack something is so annoying. da controls are terrible itz all flimsy and flabby and an ablsoutly horrable camera angle and so on. u no what i bet these guysthe carnage is bretty bloody and fun for half an hour, later youll be thinking what am i doing. it has plenty of bugs and glitches. it has bad graphics but da sound quality is ok, but da music dat cumz on after every time u attack something is so annoying. da controls are terrible itz all flimsy and flabby and an ablsoutly horrable camera angle and so on. u no what i bet these guys didnt even try to make this a good game, well dont u think if i made this i would only do it to make money. they gave it no good graphics on porpose. if anything this game should be given for free. Expand
  16. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give it a 7.5 as a final score. It is a game I've been playing since I was 8, and eventually mine broke, I recently, and I'm playing through it, I have noticed some things I didn't pick up on when I was little, such as the difficulty and I feel Jaws is sorta underpowered in the beginning of the game, as well as the iffy camera angles and constant annoyance of jaws splashing in and out of the water while attacking, especially the Orca boss battle. I haven't noticed any glitches yet, but if I do I will update this review. Expand
  17. May 23, 2015
    8
    It could use a little bit of work. It glitches often, freezes up, and the graphical quality is not the best, but Jaws Unleashed provides a fun open world environment, where you can attack swimmers, animals, and just about everything else in the water. You can find hidden treasure, go on story adventures, or take on challenges throughout the open ocean. But the best part is getting to playIt could use a little bit of work. It glitches often, freezes up, and the graphical quality is not the best, but Jaws Unleashed provides a fun open world environment, where you can attack swimmers, animals, and just about everything else in the water. You can find hidden treasure, go on story adventures, or take on challenges throughout the open ocean. But the best part is getting to play as a great white shark! Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 29
  2. Negative: 15 out of 29
  1. 74
    Though it's correct that JAWS does suffer from a number of bothersome glitches, numerous camera issues, and sometimes-infuriating lock-ups, it also benefits from a number of gruesomely satisfying missions, a large environment to play around with, and unique combat maneuvers that you just can't do in any other game.
  2. Playing Appaloosa's ultraviolent and ultrastupid take on the titular killer shark is about as much fun as having your legs chewed off.
  3. The abstruse design and technical flaws leave us cold, but the sheer potential for savage bastardry makes it undeniably fun.