• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jul 7, 2005
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Vile and bizarre, refreshing and absorbing, Killer7 is an aggressive blessing to cleanse us from the masses. [July 2005, p.70]
  2. It's eye-candy from start to finish - sometimes you forget you're playing a game and feel like you're controlling the outcome of a blockbuster film instead. The boss battles are some of the best I've experienced, the graphics are some of the best I've seen, the musical score will make every game I review after this one pale in comparison and the unique gameplay will be something that I miss when I finally have to put this gem down.
  3. If you consider yourself a true gamer (and one who‘s able to buy Mature games legally), you absolutely must play Killer 7, period.
  4. It’s brilliant and it’s bizarre. It’s also a contradiction - plenty of mindless violence where the screen literally drenched with blood coupled with subversion and thought-provoking symbolism and metaphor. It’s not a high-school English class, though, it’s a game. It’s great fun if you can get into it, but if you can’t it’s probably not surprising.
  5. Recommending Killer 7 is frightening, much like recommending A Clockwork Orange, or Pulp Fiction, or Eraserhead. The art we love is not always universally enjoyable, but we all want to share that favorite special vision with others, while still worrying about what they will think. We offer our sincere but guarded blessing to Killer 7.
  6. Gamers eager for something different and darker will eat Killer 7 up. Whereas some gamers will absolutely loathe the game because it takes time to get into and time to relearn controls. [JPN Import]
  7. Greater than the sum of its parts. It's pretentious and can be frustrating or tedious at times. And it's also one of the most unusual, politically charged, and thought-provoking video games since "Metal Gear Solid."
  8. It’s difficult to shake the sensation that Killer 7 is an important production, as paving for future creative leeway if nothing else. But its likely love/hate status is testament to just how adamant it has attempted to be in its flair for extraordinary presentation. [Aug 2005, p.84]
  9. If you are indeed intrigued then it's that sense of inquisitiveness that will, at the end of the day, carry you right through the slightly slapdash puzzles, past the occasionally repetitive combat, right through the final cutscene and, if you're anything like me, onto endless debate about the game's ending.
  10. Without a doubt killer7 is seriously deranged and can only leave you imagining what goes through the minds of Mikami-san, Kobayashi-san and Suda-san at night; those who like to be spoon-fed information will be reaching for the off switch almost immediately, whilst even those who like things a little cryptic will be left scratching heads and questioning exactly what’s happening.
  11. The shaded graphics lend the outing a moody and otherworldly air, while many of the puzzles dotted around the levels are refreshingly cryptic. This may not be an epic game, but it is a satisfying spine-chiller all the same.
  12. The story had enough twists to keep me enthralled to the end, which didn't require an epic forty-hour time commitment. There were elements of strategy in the shooting, but it wasn't a first-person frag-fest. I would say that the emperor wears its bloodstained new clothes quite well.
  13. It's brilliant and obscure and like all the best satire, you probably don't even know that it's laughing at you. [Oct 2005, p.88]
  14. Insane shooter with exploding zombies and schizophrenic killers. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  15. 79
    Players who can look beyond the control mechanics will find a truly bold and intriguing adventure game lurking within Killer 7's beautiful cel-shaded visuals. This is a game that oozes style from beginning to end and also one with a story so brutally off-the-wall that it practically demands your attention.
  16. No game can claim to be as visually and aurally stunning as Killer7. There has been no video game as heavily and expressively stylised before, with the beautiful, cel-shaded visuals forming an integral part of the game, rather than a back of the box bullet point.
  17. At the end of the day, I walked away with a handful of great memories and the satisfaction that I had experienced something so innovative and insane. Unfortunately, I also left Killer7 with an insatiable hunger for answers and clarity. [July 2005, p.115]
  18. A playable work of art and is packed with wonderfully surreal moments. [Aug 2005, p.76]
  19. 75
    A unique and interesting concept for a game, but unfortunately some ideas were put forward early in to the development of the game which finalized in a title that seems unfinished and thrown together by amateurs.
  20. What will keep you playing isn't the gameplay, or even the story, exactly, but just wanting to figure out what the hell is going on. Let it take you with it and you won't be sorry.
  21. On first inspection Killer 7 appears to be a confused, disjointed mismatch of ideas, but on closer examination some of its inner beauty will slowly begin to shine through. Before you knock it, appreciate the fact that it really couldn’t have been done any other way. The upshot is that Killer7 shouldn’t be played so much as actually ‘experienced’.
  22. It’s difficult to score killer7. Its unique atmosphere and unique style almost manage to bury the faults evident in the game mechanics and the fact that the game is very simple. For those who aren’t that much into style, killer7 doesn’t offer much more than a straightforward shoot ’em up with lacking puzzles. [July 2005, p.57]
  23. If its creepiness, truckload of style, and inventive concepts sound appealing, then by all means give it a shot. On the other hand, if you think the repetitive shooting, ho-hum puzzles, and inability to actively control your characters' movements will flip your smile upside down, then it might be best to avoid this in favor of another play through "Resident Evil 4" or "God of War."
  24. 70
    At its worst, it's as curiously dysfunctional a "game" as the Harmon's are a "family," and at its best Killer 7 is one of the most artfully designed footnotes in gaming history.
  25. Capcom's quirky shooter might raise some eyebrows, but the stylish aesthetics and unpredictable gameplay will win you over, if you give it a chance.
  26. The art style is superb and there's something compelling about the simplicity of an extremely linear experience. [PSW]
  27. Killer7 represents an original and highly risky concept that could have gone horribly wrong; but due to the skill of the development team we have a highly innovative and visually visceral title that pushes both our senses and the boundaries of what we consider a game to be.
  28. The gameplay part unfortunately subtracts from an otherwise exciting experience – but Capcom deserves credit for releasing such an alternative game in times where most companies stick to the safe blockbusters.
  29. The stylish visuals and the sound design are undeniably cool, but at its core the game is just a straight-forward lightgun shooter without a lightgun. [Aug. 05]
  30. A quirky curiosity, not always enjoyable to play and not always fair, either. It'll appeal to small minority - if you like the way that the game looks, then you'll get something out of it, if you don't, then you should avoid Killer7 at all costs... It's just not much fun to play.
  31. If you want to see a game push beyond the conventions of game narrative, then Killer7 is worth renting. But prepare yourself to be consecutively thrilled, confused, provoked, annoyed and bored senseless.
  32. The kind of videogame that will give parents' nightmares. This is the videogame that every parent thinks their kids are playing. It's the culmination of everything naughty and taboo. It's only meant for adults.
  33. 60
    If this one had gameplay to match its story and visuals, we'd be looking at a Game of the Year candidate.
  34. It's hard to recommend picking up Killer7, even as a curious experiment or artistic statement, when so much of the actual gameplay screams to put it down. [Aug 2005, p.108]
  35. Ultimately, it's the style and absurdity that make Killer7 bearable. You're almost willing to deal with terrible loading times, poor puzzles, and weak shooting mechanics just to see what kind of madness will happen next. [Aug 2005, p.88]
  36. While it has an amazing cell-shaded, anime-influenced look that’s both stylish and striking, it also has totally unnatural and unnecessarily complicated controls that make it impossible to play.
  37. 40
    Killer 7 is going to start a lot of arguments -- it's definitely a love it or hate it type of game. I'm more in the "hate it" camp, but I do have to give it some props for being so radically different. Just be aware that it's a pretty severe case of style over substance.
  38. 30
    Killer 7 is certainly off-beat, but it's on the lonely side of mediocre, and even a rental will ultimately feel like wasted money.
  39. 0
    At best, playing the game is like having someone shout in your ear for 15 hours straight. At worst, it's like getting a high colonic with balsamic vinegar.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    One of the most underrated games I know, but then again I think that is exactly what it wants to be. This is one of the very rare (and maybeOne of the most underrated games I know, but then again I think that is exactly what it wants to be. This is one of the very rare (and maybe dying out) games that create an own universe for itself, where its own rules and laws apply. At first glimpse, one might think it is just a rail-shooter with a very weird design, but only until you find that what you have in front of you is one of the most cleverly written, though-provoking and politically controversial game you might ever have seen. Add one of the most amazing bunch of playable characters and a completely immersing soundtrack, you get Killer7, a game that is certainly not for everyone and most certainly wants it exactly that way. A game for eternity. Full Review »
  2. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    This is a game way ahead of its time. Not only in the PS2/GC generation but in this generation as well. With an unique (and weird) gameplayThis is a game way ahead of its time. Not only in the PS2/GC generation but in this generation as well. With an unique (and weird) gameplay and a plot filled with filosophy, religion, politics and the shock of ocidental and oriental cultures, Killer7 is one of those rare games that offers not only art but substance as well. Defintively the best game SUDA51 made so far. Full Review »
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    A truly unappreciated masterpiece. Killer 7 is slick, stylised with fresh-faced game play that will keep you engrossed from start to finish.A truly unappreciated masterpiece. Killer 7 is slick, stylised with fresh-faced game play that will keep you engrossed from start to finish. 10 out of 10 Full Review »