• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jul 7, 2005
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    One of the most underrated games I know, but then again I think that is exactly what it wants to be. This is one of the very rare (and maybe dying out) games that create an own universe for itself, where its own rules and laws apply. At first glimpse, one might think it is just a rail-shooter with a very weird design, but only until you find that what you have in front of you is one of theOne of the most underrated games I know, but then again I think that is exactly what it wants to be. This is one of the very rare (and maybe dying out) games that create an own universe for itself, where its own rules and laws apply. At first glimpse, one might think it is just a rail-shooter with a very weird design, but only until you find that what you have in front of you is one of the most cleverly written, though-provoking and politically controversial game you might ever have seen. Add one of the most amazing bunch of playable characters and a completely immersing soundtrack, you get Killer7, a game that is certainly not for everyone and most certainly wants it exactly that way. A game for eternity. Expand
  2. May 22, 2011
    10
    Excellent. This is truly a one of a kind game. I don't understand how this can get negative reviews. When I play a video game I expect things to be out of this world, and this game definitely delivers. Play this and take a step outside mainstream gaming; you wont be disappointed.
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    This is a game way ahead of its time. Not only in the PS2/GC generation but in this generation as well. With an unique (and weird) gameplay and a plot filled with filosophy, religion, politics and the shock of ocidental and oriental cultures, Killer7 is one of those rare games that offers not only art but substance as well. Defintively the best game SUDA51 made so far.
  4. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    A truly unappreciated masterpiece. Killer 7 is slick, stylised with fresh-faced game play that will keep you engrossed from start to finish. 10 out of 10
  5. RobinH.
    Sep 10, 2005
    5
    Counter-intuitive controls and awkward pacing make this game really difficult to get into. Story and characters seem like they might be fun - but overall, the design gets in the way. Too bad.
  6. Apr 11, 2017
    0
    Mais qu'est-ce qu'on a là mon petit bonhomme ? un jeu en 16 couleurs à faire mourir de honte une Gamegear ! non en fait, c'est un projet avorté qui devait sortir sur Atari ST et encore, c'est très insultant pour ce pauvre Atari. D'accord c'est "original" (!) mais est-ce un "jeu" au sens propre ? y a t'il une interactivité valable ? non, absolument aucune, aucune qui ait du sens en toutMais qu'est-ce qu'on a là mon petit bonhomme ? un jeu en 16 couleurs à faire mourir de honte une Gamegear ! non en fait, c'est un projet avorté qui devait sortir sur Atari ST et encore, c'est très insultant pour ce pauvre Atari. D'accord c'est "original" (!) mais est-ce un "jeu" au sens propre ? y a t'il une interactivité valable ? non, absolument aucune, aucune qui ait du sens en tout cas.

    Et à propos de sens et a fortiori de bon sens, les commandes en sont totalement dénuées. On se déplace selon des vecteurs bien définis sans possibilité de bouger la caméra sauf en vue subjective, la vue subjective le seul "endroit" du jeu "normal" si l'on peut dire. Quant aux dialogues, on les dirait sortis d'un asile psychiatrique, tout comme les effets sonores ou le bruit faisant office de musique.

    Cette "originalité" là, cette explosion de mauvais goût tient plus d'un pet géant à la face du monde vidéo-ludique que d'une quelconque "créativité" ; les mots manquent, aussi ne retiendrons-nous qu'un seul qualificatif pour un tel étron : innommable !
    Expand
  7. Hustlepunch
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    Best style and story in a game I have ever played.
  8. AlhassanS.
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    Its a fantastic and superior.
  9. KeenanSullivan
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    This is one of the coolest games I've ever played. The gameplay may be weird and you will be confused for awhile, but if you don't complain and give it a chance you'll be treated to one of the most interesting story-driven games available. It has a very unique art style, a crazy storyline, and weird but awesome gameplay. You gotta check it out if you like games that are outThis is one of the coolest games I've ever played. The gameplay may be weird and you will be confused for awhile, but if you don't complain and give it a chance you'll be treated to one of the most interesting story-driven games available. It has a very unique art style, a crazy storyline, and weird but awesome gameplay. You gotta check it out if you like games that are out of the ordinary. Expand
  10. PfillipT.
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    This is a love it or hate it game and people spend way too much time complaining about the design they don't like - but it ain't GTA, so live with it. While its controls take time getting used to, it is in no way a bad videogame. Its story and style are both detailed and fleshed out well enough for those who can think for themselves.
  11. PhilQ.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    This game is a true "experience" unlike any other. It's hypnotic and the longer you play into it, the more you realize that fact. This is a "turn the lights off and the LCD screen on and go with the flow" kind of game. It'll definitely take you somewhere. Great cut scenes that actually entertain and move the mysterious plot along. This is like playing a game in someone This game is a true "experience" unlike any other. It's hypnotic and the longer you play into it, the more you realize that fact. This is a "turn the lights off and the LCD screen on and go with the flow" kind of game. It'll definitely take you somewhere. Great cut scenes that actually entertain and move the mysterious plot along. This is like playing a game in someone else's dream. True, the controls do take a while to master completely. Expand
  12. Oct 19, 2012
    9
    One of the weirdest (and sometimes scary) game I've ever played, all thanks of the magnificent cel-shading graphics and an insane plot that really makes people think and reflect on the meanings of the actions in game and what not. The game is structured as a shooting game...and somehow a driving game: you'll run on a line and sometimes choose a path to follow. Eventually you'll findOne of the weirdest (and sometimes scary) game I've ever played, all thanks of the magnificent cel-shading graphics and an insane plot that really makes people think and reflect on the meanings of the actions in game and what not. The game is structured as a shooting game...and somehow a driving game: you'll run on a line and sometimes choose a path to follow. Eventually you'll find enemies and there you shoot them like a normal FPS, and that's it. However, the shooting stages are actually well done and even though they can be repetitive they are challenging because the enemies, very scary and VERY well designed, need different tactics in order to be defeated and sometimes they can be quite a challenge...especially because you can't move freely, since you can only move forward and if you need to move away, you have toturn around. Infact, the big flaw here is that the fights can be hard "also" because of the inability of moving freely: you'll basically stay in one place while you aim and you cannot move unless you "gently" turn around and run away. However it's not a huge flaw and it will bother only those who want freedom at all costs in their games. The plot also is very interesting and has various scenarios and ideas behind them (the power rangers level remains epic!), and the feeling we get is that we don't know what's going to happen next: the scenes are weird and sometimes they don't make sense, but that's how the game is thought and basically it tries to be visionary. However...the plot itself is very confusing...and not because of its nature. I have finished this game several times but I still can't understand quite a lot of this game because of the confusionary plot and the fact that, basically, the game doesn't really follow a line: the plot is splitted into mini plots where basically we follow the character(s) and eventually things come up, but it's not as obvious as it should be. To be honest, that's all the flaws I can find really, because the rest is all about tastes: the game attempted to be different and basically you can either like it or not depending if you want to experiment a different type of game. I do like games that try to be different in both style and gaming experience and this game will be fascinating for that reason...but then if you rather want to play a normal fps with a proper realstic graphics and such (afterall this review is made 7 years after the game so graphics have improved quite a lot), then this game is definitely not for you, but for those who really want to experiment a different type of game, with simple yet amazing graphic, weird storyline and creepy enemies, then this game is for you. Expand
  13. Aug 5, 2017
    10
    First of all, I'm a Francophone and that guy with the 0 score is so off base it makes me want to puke. Rags on the simplistic colors and shading, too dumb to see the sheer artfulness of it all, calls the gameplay un-interactive just because it`s not another sandbox game, and might just get taken to heart by some poor person who would then miss out on a spec-flippin-tacular video game evenFirst of all, I'm a Francophone and that guy with the 0 score is so off base it makes me want to puke. Rags on the simplistic colors and shading, too dumb to see the sheer artfulness of it all, calls the gameplay un-interactive just because it`s not another sandbox game, and might just get taken to heart by some poor person who would then miss out on a spec-flippin-tacular video game even by 2017 standards.

    Yes, there is a pretty jarring adjustment period... but if you can get past the off-putting feeling this game gives you for the first 5 or 10 minutes with its absolute out-there-ness, you are in for a massive treat. Once you get the hang of the seemingly goofy control scheme, you realize it's absolutely perfect.

    I am sick and tired of 99% of video games because nothing manages to be unique anymore. But this game... The rough edges on the PS2 take nothing away from the beautifully polished visual flair, the kind even the fanciest blockbuster only dreams it had. I don't even mind what should be some annoyingly frequent load screens between map areas, this game gets a 10 from me on raw originality and intrepid weirdness.

    Imagine if Sin City had sex with Eraserhead in a kiddie pool full of neon paint, and their child later started hanging out with video games and trying to act like them.... the result would be Killer 7. Give it a chance, it`s bloody unforgettable. Unless you're a frickin philistine who wants nothing more out of their games than production porn and swift gratification. Like Frenchy down there. Crisse de twit, excuse-moi là, mais franchement.

    OK j'm'excuse.
    Expand
  14. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    this is probably the best game you never played, i say game but its more of a work of art its different and dark styling will draw you in the story will make you never want to leave, but some of the best features are the soundtrack, excellent voice acting, and distinctive sound effects the unconventional game play and innovative style is the main attraction which is one of the reasonsthis is probably the best game you never played, i say game but its more of a work of art its different and dark styling will draw you in the story will make you never want to leave, but some of the best features are the soundtrack, excellent voice acting, and distinctive sound effects the unconventional game play and innovative style is the main attraction which is one of the reasons this became a cult classic but the game suffered from one problem and that problem was the pacing, this does damage the game a bit but that by no means makes this game bad it just stops it being perfect Expand
  15. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    ok,a bit late to be writing a review for this one,only 9 years late,but this is one of my favourite games of all time and is directly responsible for resident evil 4's evolution.Anyway,why is this game so damn good?Besides it being the most visually stylish game you'll ever witness,it also has fantastic sound,not just in the music but in its effects and speech but that's not all!Theok,a bit late to be writing a review for this one,only 9 years late,but this is one of my favourite games of all time and is directly responsible for resident evil 4's evolution.Anyway,why is this game so damn good?Besides it being the most visually stylish game you'll ever witness,it also has fantastic sound,not just in the music but in its effects and speech but that's not all!The gameplay is very challenging and the control style will kick ALL fake gamers to the curb instantly (u just gotta love a game with balls like that,only Capcom usually delivers these moments of pure gamer heaven with a raised middle finger to the bigger sales audience)but challenging gameplay,stunning visuals,great sound,thats not all!!no they only just go and stick a story so clever,so well hidden in insanity,that u at first don't realise u are playing chapters that are giving u inside information on the twin towers,terrorists,enron,predictive media.... the list goes on and on -it does all of this without being boring,without even mentioning politics and with over the top insane characters that are unforgettable!One of the funniest is the enron chapter and all fans will know,ulmeyda!The entire "stock market conquering business" is all just fake wooden backdrops with just desert behind it -hilarious!Even better,this was 2005 when most of this stuff hadn't even come out in the mainstream yet -this game would have caused massive controversy if it had been understood by anyone but "on the fringe" gamers!So what im saying is,apart from being a great video game,it's even more.It's something really special that can only be recommended to someone u know really well,u cant just say to any gamer "play killer7" but there are ways to know if u will like killer7 and im here to give u the test = do u know that dante MUST die?Do u know that Leon's best weapon in all of Spain is a combat knife?Do u know what really powers Spencer's arm?If u answered yes to all of these then hunt the world for a copy of killer7,it will blow your mind! Expand
  16. Feb 2, 2016
    9
    Strange, vivid, and disturbing, this game is compulsive playing with a plot to twist the strangest mind and some really interesting characters. Simple to play, it can still be a little frustrating with some of the enemy types and battle situations, but this is a weird story told really well, with striking graphics and style all of its own. I want to give it a 10, but I can see someStrange, vivid, and disturbing, this game is compulsive playing with a plot to twist the strangest mind and some really interesting characters. Simple to play, it can still be a little frustrating with some of the enemy types and battle situations, but this is a weird story told really well, with striking graphics and style all of its own. I want to give it a 10, but I can see some people just not getting on with the controls and lack of gameplay depth. It is a dark tale, and probably not to everyone's taste.

    In conclusion...

    "This game is tight! It's outta sight! In the name of Harman...."
    (You'll get it later when you play the game.)
    Expand
  17. Sep 16, 2016
    9
    Killer7 is an odd beast of a game. As expected from any game from SUDA51, this is a twisted oddity of violence. The control scheme is unusual and can be off-putting for some players as you are constantly having to select which corridor to go down. Not the most conventional of control schemes but one that you can certainly get used to. The gameplay blends third person with FPS elements. TheKiller7 is an odd beast of a game. As expected from any game from SUDA51, this is a twisted oddity of violence. The control scheme is unusual and can be off-putting for some players as you are constantly having to select which corridor to go down. Not the most conventional of control schemes but one that you can certainly get used to. The gameplay blends third person with FPS elements. The visual aesthetics of the game are visually striking with its cell shaded graphic novel visuals, it remains for me one the most visually striking games I have seen. An underrated gem of a game that is dark and twisted and certainly not for kids! This game is like marmite...you either love it or hate it. A game like this however deserves to be recognised as you won't find many if any games like this. Killer7 is intriguing, entertaining and one hell of a bloody trip. Expand
  18. Nov 14, 2016
    8
    Andere Spiele wollen Spaß machen, logisch und fair sein. Dieser Action-Adventure-Albtraum lacht uns aus, und schlägt uns all unsere Gaming-Routinen um die Ohren. Die einen heben es bis zum Himmel, die anderen kicken es in die Hölle. Und die dazwischen sagen es ist Kunst. Wie man es auch nimmt man kommt nie auf den Punkt. Nüchtern betrachtet ist es ein lineares (das ist wörtlich zu nehmen)Andere Spiele wollen Spaß machen, logisch und fair sein. Dieser Action-Adventure-Albtraum lacht uns aus, und schlägt uns all unsere Gaming-Routinen um die Ohren. Die einen heben es bis zum Himmel, die anderen kicken es in die Hölle. Und die dazwischen sagen es ist Kunst. Wie man es auch nimmt man kommt nie auf den Punkt. Nüchtern betrachtet ist es ein lineares (das ist wörtlich zu nehmen) Action-Adventure im bludbadenden Comiclook mit ebenso genialen, wie frustrierenden Stellen. Doch sollte sich der Zocker von Welt nach einem Stück Videospielkunstgeschichte mit dem Hang zum Kranken und deiner Prise Genialität verzehren, dann kommt er um Killer 7 nicht herum. Denn bei allen Macken: So etwas gibt nicht oft! Für Fans von Games wie Mad World und No More Heroes bez. Filmen wie Sin City oder Kill Bill. Expand

Awards & Rankings

60
#60 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Gamers eager for something different and darker will eat Killer 7 up. Whereas some gamers will absolutely loathe the game because it takes time to get into and time to relearn controls. [JPN Import]
  2. Game Informer
    75
    At the end of the day, I walked away with a handful of great memories and the satisfaction that I had experienced something so innovative and insane. Unfortunately, I also left Killer7 with an insatiable hunger for answers and clarity. [July 2005, p.115]
  3. Play Magazine
    90
    Vile and bizarre, refreshing and absorbing, Killer7 is an aggressive blessing to cleanse us from the masses. [July 2005, p.70]