Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sora, Donald and Goofy travel down a long road that meanders through endless fields, and come to a crossroads. As Sora stands in the crossroads, he gazes up at the night sky and thinks of his lost friends. Just then, a mysterious man approaches from down one of the branching paths. "AheadSora, Donald and Goofy travel down a long road that meanders through endless fields, and come to a crossroads. As Sora stands in the crossroads, he gazes up at the night sky and thinks of his lost friends. Just then, a mysterious man approaches from down one of the branching paths. "Ahead lies something you need," he says, "but to claim it, you must lose something dear." The man vanishes before a single path, leading to a castle that eerily resembles a girl's drawing... In the coming journey, what will Sora and his companions gain, and what will they lose? In addition to Sora, players can control Riku in this adventure that bridges the gap between KINGDOM HEARTS and KINGDOM HEARTS II
    A full 3D remake of the original GBA release, KINGDOM HEARTS Re:Chain of Memories offers a refreshing rendition of the hit title for the PlayStation 2 system. The talented voice cast from the North American releases of KINGDOM HEARTS and KINGDOM HEARTS II, including David Gallagher and Haley Joel Osment, return to breathe new life into the beloved characters. The mini-game catalog has been completely renewed, now with four brand new experiences accompanying the main adventure. [Square Enix]
    Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories for the PS2 is definitely worth checking out, especially if you haven't yet played the GBA original.
  2. 84
    An impressive remake that improves the presentation of the original GBA version by leaps and bounds while simultaneously streamlining the battle system.
  3. 80
    Even though it's not a wholly fresh experience, Kingdom Hearts: Re:Chain of Memories is definitely worth a try, especially if you didn't play the original GBA release.
  4. games(TM)
    70
    If Birth By Sleep's twee story fails to impress, fans will be delighted to learn that it features the best combat in the series to date. Fast, fluid and featuring a variety of interesting mechanics, it's a huge improvement over past instalments. [Issue#101, p.122]
  5. 67
    Seriously, though -- for Kingdom Hearts fans who missed out on COM the first time, this is definitely the best way to play it. While the new stuff is small (a few so-so minigames in Hundred Acre Wood, additional voice acting from the Sixth Sense kid, etc.), my memory of Chain of Memories hasn't changed: It's a pleasant little title that reminds me how much I want Kingdom Hearts 3.
  6. This remake is solid fan service, but recycled content and disjointed exploration limit its appeal.
  7. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    40
    Rebuilding it using the PS2 game's engine just makes it a much more obvious retread. [Jan 2009, p.83]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    I may be giving this a 10 because I'm biased due to the fact this is a Kingdom Hearts game, and I am a huge fan of the series. But once youI may be giving this a 10 because I'm biased due to the fact this is a Kingdom Hearts game, and I am a huge fan of the series. But once you get used to the cards, the rest will be smooth sailing. Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    This is an interesting game. I played it when it first came out on GBA several times and just finished playing through this PS2 version. IThis is an interesting game. I played it when it first came out on GBA several times and just finished playing through this PS2 version. I love this game because I think it has the single best combat system in any Action-RPG. Period. However, I can understand the polar opposites in terms of reviews. There is an enormous amount of depth to the combat system. The game requires you to think om a wide range of strategic levels very quickly. The PS2 version even more so because it requires more spacial thinking due to the fact that it is in 3D and, unlike the GBA version, you cannot always see everything that is occurring at once, forcing you to predict and anticipate enemy movements (whom you cannot always see if they are behind or above you) on the fly, while also card counting, adding card values, dodging, attacking, blocking, keeping track of your HP and more. On top of it all, the combat difficulty forces you to grasp all concepts and use them or you will die. It is not forgiving in any way. The strategy and customization goes far beyond the standard swing swing block, shoot shoot roll of even some of the greatest Action-RPG (in terms of challenge and strategy it out does even Mass Effect and Elder Scrolls) This depth is what may turn a lot of would be fans away though. It is several times more complex than what Kingdom Hearts folks are used to.
    Other parts of the game don't quite live up to the one of a kind battle system, however. The main overall story is pretty interesting and well done but has many of the trappings of a JRPG which is not necessarily bad but tends to push away some. The small plots in each of the worlds are kind of a throw away though. The world exploration, while very unique, is not it's strongest point. I understand that it is a carry-over from the GBA which had it's technical limitations. What I would like to see happen is for Square to take combat system of Chain of Memories and apply to a Action-RPG with a bigger scope. Something with a larger and more open world to explore. There is a lot Square could do in terms of evolving the gameplay concepts they started with Chain of Memories and I would love to see it happen (I don't care if is within the Kingdom Hearts franchise or not) It seems any people couldn't quite grasp the game. This is apparent by the fact that there are many people on here rating this game a "0" because they don't like the fact that enemies can defend themselves and counter-attack any attack made by the player that is not thought out. Due to the fact that the general attitude of big game developers is that they must appeal to as many people as possible, the chances of Square picking a concept back up that was so divisive is slim to none.
    Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2013
    8
    First, let me just say, do NOT compare this any other game in the franchise. This game is the black sheep of Kingdom Hearts, but that doesn'tFirst, let me just say, do NOT compare this any other game in the franchise. This game is the black sheep of Kingdom Hearts, but that doesn't have to be bad. The story of Castle Oblivion is ultimately an intriguing one and will be what keeps you going forward. Graphically the game looks good, despite that fact that everything is reused and room layouts don't change dramatically. The reason the game is sometimes disliked is due to it's radically different card-based combat. It's handled way differently than any other thing you've seen. You have to manage your deck while fighting in real-time, keep track of numbers, and use sleights to the best effect. It can get extremely chaotic and difficult if you can't keep up. Now the system isn't bad, if you know exactly what you're doing you can have a lot of fun. If you don't think you'll be able to manage it, play it on beginner mode. Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    5
    sigh, this game is dissapointing and i'm a big kingdom hearts fan. the game feels linear, although you can go back to previous areas, theresigh, this game is dissapointing and i'm a big kingdom hearts fan. the game feels linear, although you can go back to previous areas, there really is no reason to. the storyline... the only parts i enjoyed were the parts that took place in castle oblivion, the disney storylines though... oh god they are terrible! they are literally the same from kingdom hearts 1, maybe only a slightly bit different. and the gameplay is annoying because now you play with F***ing CARDS! it is especially annoying with bosses, who can easily break your cards to do their own rediculously annoying attacks. and every time you run out of cards you have to reload them, but each time you reload you lose more cards from your deck, until you're stuck with one weak attack card that can't do SH*T against bosses. the bosses on the other hand have unlimited cards, that they can use as they please while you're stuck with your weak attack card. the only part where i started enjoying the game was the last floor in castle oblivion, and the final boss fight, which i gotta say had some pretty awesome music. after you complete Sora's story you can start a new game with Riku, with a different story, and slightly different battle system, playing as riku isn't much better though, the disney worlds have no storyline now, and all you do is run through the same areas you did as sora, and you can't customize your deck, the game does it for you. i suggest just watching the cutscenes on youtube if you want to know the story, because the game isn't worth playing through. Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2015
    5
    i give the game a 4 i am a huge fan of kingdom hearts but this games gameplay just does not okay with the cards im okay with games tryingi give the game a 4 i am a huge fan of kingdom hearts but this games gameplay just does not okay with the cards im okay with games trying something new like dream drop distance added flowmotion but this is isn't the kind that i need for such a good series its decent but not as good as the other ones Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2015
    3
    I really don't like this game. But the really sad thing is if the presentation and battle system were better this would easily be in my top 3I really don't like this game. But the really sad thing is if the presentation and battle system were better this would easily be in my top 3 of the franchise. The story is quite slow but picks up and the ending is quite good since it explains what happens to the trio after kh 1. BUT the battle system is garbage. You use cards instead of commands or the regular battle system and they make battles that I can deal with on Kingdom Hearts 1 and 2 final mix really hard. The two main problems are: 1 you can run out of cards and have to waste time to "reload" them and 2: You cant use the conventional block and since the dodge roll is nearly useless, unless you can organize your thoughts in a stressful situation to use "card breaks" which can be annoying to organize when the boss is using their desperation move. Also presentation sucks and I USUALLY don't care about presentation in a game but the level design is in excusable. The game uses cards to generate your next area which may sound small but is a big issue! I.E if you use a "calm bounty" card in atlantica and then in twilight town the area minus the textures is exactly the SAME!!!
    and finally there is barely any voice acting which makes the events in your boring bleak adventure even more drawn out. Even as a massive fan of the series and usually defend the games with my life, this is unacceptable even by my standards SE if you remake the game WITHOUT the cards I will change my view but 3 remakes later I dont think this will happen
    Expand
  7. Sep 17, 2015
    0
    While the first Kingdom Hearts were far from a perfect game, I had fun with the first Kingdom hearts, so I decided to try the chain ofWhile the first Kingdom Hearts were far from a perfect game, I had fun with the first Kingdom hearts, so I decided to try the chain of memories on the HD remix.

    This game is absolutely terrible. The game suffered some of the same problems as the first game - indicative of either low budget or lazy programming, especially the sound engineer during battles. The same audio would be looped over and over again as the AI kept spamming the same attack, to a point that it felt better to mute the TV entirely and play the game in silence.

    On top of this is the terrible battle system Square decided to tag into the game. Not only did you have to pay attention to a real time battle on screen (running around, dodging, and attacking the right targets.) You must also pay attention to a separate card system, making sure your attack cards is a higher number than your enemies - imagine doing math while you're getting shot at on a battlefield.
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2008
#7 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2008