Madden NFL 06 PlayStation 2

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 120
  2. Negative: 15 out of 120
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. J.Moore
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    This could be the best video game to ever come out since PS2 and X-Box started. I stood outside of the stores for hours and almost cried when the game was placed in my hands. Im an athlete on a full-scholarship and may consider being red-shirted because I need some more free time so that I can start my 'superstar' mode!!!!! Must get game, if you dont know you better ask somebody.
  2. Noname
    Aug 10, 2005
    9
    Not perfect but still a great game.
  3. LexingtonS.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Gamespot sucks...best game out.
  4. RussK
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    The vision cone is awesome! It's so realistic, not too easy at first but after a few games it's fun.
  5. PaulS.
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    The best yet. I love it.
  6. MikeS.
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    Awesome game.
  7. Otfizzle
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    This is the best sports game in the world.
  8. RonnieM.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Great game...
  9. JustinM.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Best game ever!
  10. Opie&AnthonyFan
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Awesome.
  11. Dl
    Sep 10, 2006
    8
    I hate how you can't use created playbook that sucks so bad other then that it was an awesome game better then the 2K5 ones.
  12. DanielL.
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Any complaints for this game are most likely from weak or lazy players. The passing is a huge improvement and the truck stick makes power backs more able to dominate against safetys and corners. This version really seperates the skilled passers from the chuck it up and pray faternity.
  13. Opie&AnthonyFan
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    Awesome.
  14. Porher
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    franchise mode is excellent and gameplay is awesome . nfl superstart is alrite. qb vision is okay.
  15. Mike
    Aug 12, 2005
    3
    The only new feature added to the game, "precision passing" seems like an unnecessary step to make it harder for the passer to make plays. Every year this game gets more and more unrealistic even with the updated, smooth looking graphics...... cornerbacks swat balls 10 feet over there head even though the have no clue where the ball is because there head is turned, a lob pass is The only new feature added to the game, "precision passing" seems like an unnecessary step to make it harder for the passer to make plays. Every year this game gets more and more unrealistic even with the updated, smooth looking graphics...... cornerbacks swat balls 10 feet over there head even though the have no clue where the ball is because there head is turned, a lob pass is surrounded by 5 defenders on the field after being in the air for 2 secs, offensive line and defensive line shift in unison. Is it just me or is madden becoming more of an arcade game like Blitz than ever? The precision passing cone looks cool and inventive but really does not enhance the gameplay at all because most of the time you'll be sacked by the pass rush before you can even swivel the cone over to an open receiver. Do yourself a favor, BOYCOTT EA, and go dish out 10 or 20 dollars for NFL 2K5 from last year and play that whenever you have the urge to play a football game. Expand
  16. JoshR.
    Aug 12, 2005
    7
    This is an average version of Madden. Load time sucks in general for the PS2. This can become very frusturating during a simple change to the game settings. The percision passing option is neat but uneffective. This is a game where the other team can score without a problem in the last minute before the end of the game. I have to say, this is a dissapointment from prior versions. I This is an average version of Madden. Load time sucks in general for the PS2. This can become very frusturating during a simple change to the game settings. The percision passing option is neat but uneffective. This is a game where the other team can score without a problem in the last minute before the end of the game. I have to say, this is a dissapointment from prior versions. I reccomend skipping Madden 07 unless it is released for the next gen consoles. Expand
  17. TerryB.M.
    Aug 12, 2005
    2
    I've been playing these games for years, and this is without a doubt the most disapointment in the series! They've hardly done anything, and I've got to pay another $50?
  18. AJBernstein
    Aug 14, 2005
    9
    The added difficulty makes this came tough to learn, but that's a positive as it will be enjoyable for many months to come. This game keeps getting better and better!
  19. NBigg
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    Best football game ever!!
  20. Blue
    Aug 16, 2005
    8
    This game is not that bad, people. It does suck that you can't use a created playbook in the franchise mode, and Superstar does get lame quick (though it is neat - you'll probably appreciate it by month 4). The passing gets easier with time, and the running is more realistic than ever. My biggest beef is defence - far too easy on All-Pro this year. Last game I gave up 70 yards This game is not that bad, people. It does suck that you can't use a created playbook in the franchise mode, and Superstar does get lame quick (though it is neat - you'll probably appreciate it by month 4). The passing gets easier with time, and the running is more realistic than ever. My biggest beef is defence - far too easy on All-Pro this year. Last game I gave up 70 yards and was pissed off, even though I had 4 turnovers. Last year the CPU offence could score at will in the 4th quarter - this year if you run a Dime two over coverage against four wide, you can sack the quarterback almost everytime with your safeties (i had 7 last game and 5 before that, on 4 minutes quarters, all-pro no a.i. adjustments). If the QB does get the pass off, it's almost a guaranteed pick. Looks like it's time to try All-Madden. Expand
  21. Pete
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    I like it, the gameplay is more balanced than ever.
  22. CharlieZ.
    Aug 25, 2005
    3
    This game lacks the exciting game play that the NCAA 06 has. The graphics have not gotten any beter than the previous version. I have always been a big fan of Madden but I have lost interest. The game is just not fun to play anymore. The cut seens to show the fans is a knock off of ESPN 2K. I was expecting an awsome game when it came out and I was very dissapointed. If I feel that I need This game lacks the exciting game play that the NCAA 06 has. The graphics have not gotten any beter than the previous version. I have always been a big fan of Madden but I have lost interest. The game is just not fun to play anymore. The cut seens to show the fans is a knock off of ESPN 2K. I was expecting an awsome game when it came out and I was very dissapointed. If I feel that I need to comment on how bad this game is then you know it's not all that great. Expand
  23. J.AlfredPrufrock
    Aug 3, 2005
    4
    The new pocket pressure is merely a bazzooom to the bang. feel it?
  24. MatthewS.
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    It is DEFINITELY the greatest football game ever.
  25. TomF.
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Awesome, Simply Awesome.
  26. MatthewWhite
    Aug 8, 2005
    6
    That is soo stupid how the QB can look only one way and you have to turn his head to look the other way.
  27. RobF.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    The more control I get, the better I like it. It doesn't get any closer to actually playing the game without risking spinal injury.
  28. JohnM.
    Aug 9, 2005
    6
    Average game on it own merits, but terribly repetetive when you consider they've released near identical games in 2003 and 2004.
  29. IanC.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    The game has been been enhanced in many levels, whether it be the new passing (precision control), the new animations (which look great), the Much improved running game (being able to run inside the tackles and break long runs) and the ability to spawn a franchise and franchise games and take them online (VERY surprised that this has not yet been mentioned). It appears to me that most The game has been been enhanced in many levels, whether it be the new passing (precision control), the new animations (which look great), the Much improved running game (being able to run inside the tackles and break long runs) and the ability to spawn a franchise and franchise games and take them online (VERY surprised that this has not yet been mentioned). It appears to me that most people who are disgruntled with this game are mad that EA has gotten the license. Although I can understand that people are upset about this, the game should be graded on its merits and not because people are disgruntled. Get over it move on and play the BEST Madden game yet. Collapse
  30. MArcL.
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    Outstanding update...although you might need a PHD in Maddenomics to fully grasp everything in the game now...

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. PSM Magazine
    90
    But the real highlights in Madden 06 are on the field. For starters, the new "QB Vision" feature is simply fantastic. Even for long-time Madden fans, the ability to focus the quarterback's attention on certain receivers or parts of the field adds a ton to the gameplay. [Sept 2005]
  2. 100
    Kudos to EA Sports for not being afraid to juice the complexity factor of an already complex game. Rookies will have to pay their dues, but veterans get treated to a brand-new challenge. [Sept 2005, p.82]
  3. The other big addition offers a nice contrast to the traditional franchise mode, which returns as fully featured and deep as ever. In NFL superstar mode, instead of focusing on the fortunes of one team, you follow the career of a character you create (or import from "NFL Street 2" or "NCAA Football 06"). [Sept 2005]