User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 74
  2. Negative: 11 out of 74

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisG.
    May 25, 2004
    10
    Love it!
  2. BriceM.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    Madden 2005 has everything the football gamer would want.
  3. JuniorT.
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    I've bought Madden for the past 10 years, and I will finally have a game which truly resembles the reality of football...D's which are nearly unpenetrable and player ego's.
  4. EdwinH.
    Aug 17, 2004
    10
    Yo soy mexicano y no hablo muy bien ingles pero puedo decir esto "THE GAME IS VERY GOOD" 10 10 10 10 10
  5. Johnk
    Aug 17, 2004
    10
    Play on all-pro right off the bat and don
  6. JoshQ.
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    I definitely agree with almost every review I've read about Madden, it's the best football game this year. I really like ESPN, but Madden is just incredible. The defense is amazing and the franchise mode is the best ever.
  7. K.Willis
    Aug 16, 2004
    9
    A great game but there are still a few bugs. It was easy enough to play having played the previous versions, and there are so many realistic elements. I would rate this a 10, but what would I do next year when further improvements are added?
  8. GregA.
    Aug 12, 2004
    9
    No question - its just a better "football" game then ESPN and worth the price.
  9. MikeS.
    Aug 28, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome, definitely a perfect ten, it has all the aspects of a great game.
  10. Bob
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    James S. has devalued my faith in humanity's future. Anyone that actually believes that ESPN 2K5 is better than Madden should be killed with the betterment of humanity in mind. P.S. Here's a tip: If you're scoring too many points, try changing some settings... maybe start by changing the difficulty setting.
  11. TroyM.
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    I bought both ESPN & Madden 2005. I felt that Madden was heads and shoulders above ESPN. If you want realistic gameplay then get Madden. ESPN is all flash and too easy. If you want to win every game by 30-40 points, get ESPN. If you want a game that is about as close to the real thing as possible, then you can't go wrong with Madden.
  12. PC
    Aug 22, 2004
    10
    The greatest football game. this is the only sport game out there that makes you want to buy it each and every year a new season comes out.
  13. ShaneN.
    Aug 22, 2004
    10
    Best game i ever played.
  14. JasonP.
    Aug 19, 2004
    10
    This game blows Madden 2004 out of the air! Madden 2005 is a way better graphically engineered game! Madden keeps the score close no matter what! You could be up in the 1st half and wham, a come back from hell! The ESPN game is a great game, but it just doen't have that name-MADDEN!!!!
  15. BillN.
    Sep 5, 2004
    10
    A great game
  16. Will
    Sep 10, 2004
    9
    An excellent game, however, like many others have said, it is very much alike the others. The hitstick is a great addition, but leaves a bit to be desired in visual hits. Furthermore, I believe the commentating can be expanded upon, and the substitutions shouldn't limit players to play certain positions. I remember in older versions you could have a CB play as a WR and vica versa. An excellent game, however, like many others have said, it is very much alike the others. The hitstick is a great addition, but leaves a bit to be desired in visual hits. Furthermore, I believe the commentating can be expanded upon, and the substitutions shouldn't limit players to play certain positions. I remember in older versions you could have a CB play as a WR and vica versa. Overall I love the Madden series and it gets better and better. Expand
  17. JasonV.
    Aug 19, 2004
    9
    Ok I admit it, I was a NFL Blitz fan for years. Sad I know. But, last year my girl bought me Madden 2004---I never looked back. This years 2005 version is way better. It not only has better graphics and gameplay but I love The Franchise Mode! This game is the best Madden ever, which makes it the best football game ever. Yes, I rented 2k5 and it was fun, but it was like playing Blitz, Ok I admit it, I was a NFL Blitz fan for years. Sad I know. But, last year my girl bought me Madden 2004---I never looked back. This years 2005 version is way better. It not only has better graphics and gameplay but I love The Franchise Mode! This game is the best Madden ever, which makes it the best football game ever. Yes, I rented 2k5 and it was fun, but it was like playing Blitz, while Madden has no peer. I actually love playing defense now and I'm playing on the All Madden mode and I can run the ball with the best of them. Not to mention that my passing game is top notch as well. Go Bears!!! Expand
  18. J.B.
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    I bought ESPN 2K5 when it came out, and I loved it. Fun, easy to get in to gameplay, great presentation and killer graphics. It would take a lot for Madden to top it. And top it Madden did. At first glance, ESPN will jump out more (for the reasons I stated), but as I played more and more of Madden 2005, I realized how much the little changes to defense added to the depth of the game. I bought ESPN 2K5 when it came out, and I loved it. Fun, easy to get in to gameplay, great presentation and killer graphics. It would take a lot for Madden to top it. And top it Madden did. At first glance, ESPN will jump out more (for the reasons I stated), but as I played more and more of Madden 2005, I realized how much the little changes to defense added to the depth of the game. It's just a deeper, more rewarding, more intense game of football than ESPN or last year's Madden. ESPN is a better pick up and play with your friends type of game, but Madden is the game to get for those who want to get the best football experience. Expand
  19. HobblesMcG.
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    Best game of any kind ever. If anyone reading this has a different opinion, that person's opinion is wrong, and that person is a fool. As a side note, if anyone gave ESPN a rating higher than 7, they must clearly have thought the scale went to 100. Madden gets a 100.
  20. PaulM.
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    The people at PSM Magazine need to remove their heads from their asses. "Not as ambitious, advanced, or enjoyable as ESPN?"... What the hell are you smoking. If by that you meant lame, slow, and choppy, you may be correct. I got fooled by ESPN's cheap price, and I regretted it until today when I traded it in for Madden. PSM, you fools are out of touch.
  21. BillK.
    Aug 18, 2004
    10
    First off, let me say that both games are incredibly fun. I am sensing that a lot of people (read "kids") on here bought one game and feel the need to rip the other one. I have both. Enjoy both. Here's the honest break down: Graphics are WAY better on Madden. Gameplay is more realistic in Madden. It is FAR, FAR easier to sit back and chuck it deep in ESPN 2K5. Guys are open First off, let me say that both games are incredibly fun. I am sensing that a lot of people (read "kids") on here bought one game and feel the need to rip the other one. I have both. Enjoy both. Here's the honest break down: Graphics are WAY better on Madden. Gameplay is more realistic in Madden. It is FAR, FAR easier to sit back and chuck it deep in ESPN 2K5. Guys are open everywhere and if a WR is in single coverage its so easy to get a TD...and running is easier in 2K5 as well. Not so in Madden. The D is tougher this year. Also, you can get away with calling the same play all game in 2K5, but Madden makes you switch it up. You have more options when you're on D as well AT THE LINE...like double-teaming a particular receiver, blitzing, spying, etc. Conversely, audibles are better in 2K5 because you have different ones for EVERY FORMATION...and you can switch them on the fly. Unlike Madden where you have 6 (and 6 for D) and you have to pause to change them. Ironically, pausing is how ESPN does Defensive assignments...both games should borrow from each other and allow these changes to be made at the line of scrimmage. My other beef with Madden is the cheap AI...I shouldn't be punished with INTs and fumbles just because I'm winning. In the end, ESPN might be more fun (and the Crib is a far more fun incentive than Madden Cards)...but it might be a bit too easy and too unrealistic (and I'm playing on the same levels on both games.) You can't go wrong with either game and neithr game is perfect, but if you can only buy ONE, I'd say probably get Madden, even at $50 its still the better game. But again, both are great. Expand
  22. [Anonymous]
    Sep 3, 2004
    9
    They need to work on commentating some more but other than that Madden 2005 is just as good as last years edition. which is saying something.
  23. GeeHoneyBee
    Sep 22, 2004
    9
    Hard to run the ball as usual. Big difficulty gap between Pro and All-Pro but the great graphics and all the plentiful features make it a great product.
  24. AaronO.
    Sep 30, 2004
    9
    This game is amazing, yeah it is kind of like the previous Madden, but there is just something about the game that makes it awesome. The graphics on the game are alot better, and what i love most about the game is the new and improved "hit stick" where you can decide whether you want to wrap up your tackle or go for the big hit and fumble, at first i thought that it was dumb but once i This game is amazing, yeah it is kind of like the previous Madden, but there is just something about the game that makes it awesome. The graphics on the game are alot better, and what i love most about the game is the new and improved "hit stick" where you can decide whether you want to wrap up your tackle or go for the big hit and fumble, at first i thought that it was dumb but once i got the hang of using it, it became my favorite feature in the game. People complain about "oh well if you want a unrealistic running game then get madden" the defense on madden is tougher yes, but all the talk about a unrealistic running game is all crap, the running game is tougher, and it teaches you real football. If you yourself know football then it is some good competition, If you know by what formation the defense is in whether you can run or not. And that is what makes the game so realistic. The "unstoppable running defense" is only for the idiots that try to run up the middle while the defense is stuffing "the box" Expand
  25. AaronO.
    Sep 30, 2004
    9
    This game is amazing, yeah it is kind of like the previous Madden, but there is just something about the game that makes it awesome. The graphics on the game are alot better, and what i love most about the game is the new and improved "hit stick" where you can decide whether you want to wrap up your tackle or go for the big hit and fumble, at first i thought that it was dumb but once i This game is amazing, yeah it is kind of like the previous Madden, but there is just something about the game that makes it awesome. The graphics on the game are alot better, and what i love most about the game is the new and improved "hit stick" where you can decide whether you want to wrap up your tackle or go for the big hit and fumble, at first i thought that it was dumb but once i got the hang of using it, it became my favorite feature in the game. People complain about "oh well if you want a unrealistic running game then get madden" the defense on madden is tougher yes, but all the talk about a unrealistic running game is all crap, the running game is tougher, and it teaches you real football. If you yourself know football then it is some good competition, If you know by what formation the defense is in whether you can run or not. And that is what makes the game so realistic. The "unstoppable running defense" is only for the idiots that try to run up the middle while the defense is stuffing "the box" Expand
  26. D.S.
    Nov 9, 2004
    9
    This game is exciting and one of a kind. It kicks ass and with the Tony Bruno show it just get amazing. It could be better if other clubs offered you more trades and the value thing isnt the best.
  27. BobbyV.
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    One word to describe what makes this game better than any of the competition: Gameplay.
  28. ZachM.
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    K-I-C-K-S A-S-S couldn't get any better, i play and play and play. Every single day i play a quick game of Madden. The Franchise Mode got even better, This game couldn't get any better.
  29. CuongL.
    Nov 19, 2004
    9
    It a great games but they aren't much record to break like realz life.
  30. BradC.
    Dec 23, 2004
    9
    I love the new defensive controls. The hit stick is hard to control though. I like the new franchise mode too and all of its new features.
  31. CaseyI.
    Dec 28, 2004
    9
    I'm a former madden hater... every year i find myself going out to buy it in hopes that it will be as good as NCAA Football and each year i am disappointed... Until this morning when i went out and bought Madden 2005 i've played it all day and it has yet to disappoint... If you hated the other ones like me give this one a chance.
  32. AdamF.
    Jan 5, 2005
    9
    I thought the game was better than madden 04. I ove the new hit stick and i find it very easy to use. The Franchise game mode is sweet but i always find myself in a salary cap bind about 5 years into the franchise. However, there arnt enough very exicitn new features added to the game and i have to agree with the fact that creating playbooks and plays is quite pointless becuase of the I thought the game was better than madden 04. I ove the new hit stick and i find it very easy to use. The Franchise game mode is sweet but i always find myself in a salary cap bind about 5 years into the franchise. However, there arnt enough very exicitn new features added to the game and i have to agree with the fact that creating playbooks and plays is quite pointless becuase of the restriction. Expand
  33. JacobH.
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    It is awsome!
  34. DibyajyotiD.
    Feb 13, 2005
    9
    It's a great game especially the gameplay.
  35. NickD.
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    For all y'all who think that the game is unrealistic your wrong. The long pass yes, but you can run the ball like before, and you only have limited time to throw the ball in real life. If your angry about running the ball you can't run the ball up the middle every time. You can but you gotta mix it up. And honestly I've hated runnin a toss play but it is easier I think so For all y'all who think that the game is unrealistic your wrong. The long pass yes, but you can run the ball like before, and you only have limited time to throw the ball in real life. If your angry about running the ball you can't run the ball up the middle every time. You can but you gotta mix it up. And honestly I've hated runnin a toss play but it is easier I think so use that and that can confuse the AI. Expand
  36. BrettW.
    Apr 3, 2005
    9
    The game play is great and the AI is more challenging but i just wish the memory was a little better like remembering the season before for instance who the previous super bowl champs were and the previous records that had been broken for example my team went 16-0 and the talk was about how amazing they were yet the following year they were 12-0 and on the radio show they continued to talkThe game play is great and the AI is more challenging but i just wish the memory was a little better like remembering the season before for instance who the previous super bowl champs were and the previous records that had been broken for example my team went 16-0 and the talk was about how amazing they were yet the following year they were 12-0 and on the radio show they continued to talk about how 16-0 had never been done before now its nothing major and im going to buy the games every year it would just be nice to have the ea sports people to place the same effort and attention in to the additions they are adding surrounding the game as they are adding to the offence and defence as well as the ever changing graphics to create the best video game ever played by its fans. Expand
  37. OscarT.
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    This is the best football game this year.
  38. Sum1around
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    What is ur peepoles problems this is probably the best sports video game ive ever played only behind mlb slugfest loaded.
  39. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    I think this was the Madden that revolutionized the whole series. This was the year they introduced the hit stick and the actual speed made a difference. In the previous years a player with 95 speed could be caught by a player with 80 speed, not in this case. The graphics were amazing for the era of the game and the defense was the king of this game, so long as you knew how to utilize theI think this was the Madden that revolutionized the whole series. This was the year they introduced the hit stick and the actual speed made a difference. In the previous years a player with 95 speed could be caught by a player with 80 speed, not in this case. The graphics were amazing for the era of the game and the defense was the king of this game, so long as you knew how to utilize the players. I played over 500 games while this game was online and I don't think I ever got bored of it. I think most players jumped on the Patriots bandwagon or the Eagles too if I'm not mistaken. This was definitely one of the best Madden games produced. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. It still doesn't own the grahics category, but Madden controls better with that same great pace it's known to have. [Sept 2004, p.86]
  2. [Chris]: Madden just plays better than "ESPN." There. I said it. [Bryan]: No, Chris - It plays a LOT better. And and I'm not just talking about the improved defensive play (especially in the secondary) and, with a quick tap on the new Hit Stick, the bone-jarring tackles. It's how Madden replicates the style of play of actual NFL squads. [Sept 2004, p.94]
  3. 56
    Sure, the series succeeds in the atmosphere department, but atmosphere is more needed for the spectators than the guys playing the game. Madden, to me, is a warm, fluffy roll without the hamburger. Yo EA, where’s the beef?