User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 734 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 734

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The most memorable game to date on PS2. Amazing story and snake is and still to this day remains a badass. Great gameplay for a 2001 game, the visual setting still satisfys, not to mention every mission had an unforgettable twist. 10/10
  2. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    The plot becomes appreciated after repeat playthroughs, and the game play kicks ass. I can definitely see why other people would dislike it, but I can't help loving this game.
  3. Apr 3, 2011
    0
    No, I still dont get this, WHO CALLS A VIDEO GAME BAD BASED OFF PLOT? It makes no sense, are you really going to hate this game just because you play as Raiden? Are you high? Not only is his involvment in the game necessary to the plot, but its not that big of a deal, snake and raiden's controls are the same, how big of a baby are you to complain who you are playing as? Plot are youNo, I still dont get this, WHO CALLS A VIDEO GAME BAD BASED OFF PLOT? It makes no sense, are you really going to hate this game just because you play as Raiden? Are you high? Not only is his involvment in the game necessary to the plot, but its not that big of a deal, snake and raiden's controls are the same, how big of a baby are you to complain who you are playing as? Plot are you serious? "Screw the incredible graphic,s and gameplay, the plot was stupid" maybe you people forgot but this ISNT a movie, its a game, if you hate the cutscenes than just skip them, is it really that hard? How can functioning humans review like this, it is the epitome of illogical reviwing, thats like saying the food sucked because it wasnt on a good plate, who cares about the plate???? The food is the main focus. You cant just call food bad because of the plate it is served on. Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Everyone who has a negative review on here complains about the dumbest stuff. "O you have to play as Raidan " and that "the cut scenes are too long". Its just the same when people say that movies are too long. Everyone who says this games cut scenes are too long, are the people who didn't get the story of it. This is a amazing game with a great story and lots of different characters. IfEveryone who has a negative review on here complains about the dumbest stuff. "O you have to play as Raidan " and that "the cut scenes are too long". Its just the same when people say that movies are too long. Everyone who says this games cut scenes are too long, are the people who didn't get the story of it. This is a amazing game with a great story and lots of different characters. If you want all action and no brains just go back to your COD already. Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    This was a good game and provides yet another gripping instalment into the tactical espionage world of Metal Gear. The story goes even deeper as new characters are introduced as well as some old characters returning. The game play has been significantly improved from metal gear solid to allow more fun for players.
  6. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 2 continues the pedigree of trendsetting, pulse-pounding action from its PlayStation predecessor, updating the graphics and introducing more layers of intrigue, betrayal, politics, and technology to an already complex plot. The result is one of PS2's best games ever.
  7. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    This is one of the few games I played from start to finish non stop when I got home with it. I can't even imagine doing something like that now but that might be due to age hehe.
  8. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    I kind of feel like people missed the point on this game; it is, unlike most games, far more about what the game does to the player. Simply put, this was a benchmark for player manipulation and interaction for the purpose for telling a story and creating an experience. The story also gets a lot of unfounded criticism; it is a bit wonky at times, but more often than not, its simplyI kind of feel like people missed the point on this game; it is, unlike most games, far more about what the game does to the player. Simply put, this was a benchmark for player manipulation and interaction for the purpose for telling a story and creating an experience. The story also gets a lot of unfounded criticism; it is a bit wonky at times, but more often than not, its simply brilliantly complex. It's the mindscrew that "The Matrix" and "Fight Club" wish they were. Indeed, as maligned as the ending may be, it definitely elicits a stronger emotional reaction than all but a very, very small handful of other games (three of which are in this same series), and it does so in a way that no other game had ever done before, and arguably has since. It is a twist far more complex than "you are the villan" or "it was a dream" or all the tropes that we accept so easily as "twists". It's not perfect, but damnit, it doesn't need to be; it is an artistic achievement, and a brilliant work of post-modenism.

    Another Kojima Masterpiece.
    Expand
  9. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    The game's greatest strength is without a doubt its story. For the first 10+ hours its a contrived, impossible, confusing circus. Then, in the final 5+ hours it all comes together. Looking back, I can safely say that the plot was intelligent, and even moving at times. I don't want to give anything away, but there's one moment late in the game that really moved me, and even depressed meThe game's greatest strength is without a doubt its story. For the first 10+ hours its a contrived, impossible, confusing circus. Then, in the final 5+ hours it all comes together. Looking back, I can safely say that the plot was intelligent, and even moving at times. I don't want to give anything away, but there's one moment late in the game that really moved me, and even depressed me just a little. That's how immersed I was. The gameplay was also very solid (no pun intended), even if the dated controls and camera required a little bit of getting used to. I was initially disappointed with having to play as Raiden for most of the game, but his character grew on me. I also beat Resident Evil 4 a few days before, so it's been a pretty good gaming week for me. Get the Metal Gear Solid HD collection. Expand
  10. Apr 15, 2012
    9
    Sons of Liberty is pretty much what you would expect from an MGS game. The story takes so many twists and turns and is more than a bit ridiculous. The writing and voice acting can go from excellent to decent to laughable all in the same scene. The gameplay is inventive and diverse but a little clunky. With MGS, however, its flaws are just as important to its character as its strengths andSons of Liberty is pretty much what you would expect from an MGS game. The story takes so many twists and turns and is more than a bit ridiculous. The writing and voice acting can go from excellent to decent to laughable all in the same scene. The gameplay is inventive and diverse but a little clunky. With MGS, however, its flaws are just as important to its character as its strengths and the overall product is very entertaining and innovative. Expand
  11. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    This really shows the true potential that the PS2 had during his release and is still intact. No other game had me so amazed during the time i had the console and is incredible the graphics were amazing in those years,the original gameplay,the funny parts ,the top nosh story . Lets put it simply this is a truly masterpiece in the Playstation library and it is already a classic. ThisThis really shows the true potential that the PS2 had during his release and is still intact. No other game had me so amazed during the time i had the console and is incredible the graphics were amazing in those years,the original gameplay,the funny parts ,the top nosh story . Lets put it simply this is a truly masterpiece in the Playstation library and it is already a classic. This cant be missed. Expand
  12. May 19, 2011
    10
    To this day, I think I have more playthroughs logged in MGS2 than any other game (at one point I had all the dog tags). Unbelievable graphics (at the time), awesome voice acting, great story, great cut scenes, intense action, well thought out levels and bosses, this has to be one of the best games ever made.
  13. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    This is not just a game. This here is a work of art. Steeped in metaphor, this game seeks to involve you the "gamer" at a deeper level; breaking all known conventions. Put simply there has been nothing like it before or since. It's far too complex for me to go into within the character limit here, but you should check out the sites : metagearsolid.org/reports_mgs2.html andThis is not just a game. This here is a work of art. Steeped in metaphor, this game seeks to involve you the "gamer" at a deeper level; breaking all known conventions. Put simply there has been nothing like it before or since. It's far too complex for me to go into within the character limit here, but you should check out the sites : metagearsolid.org/reports_mgs2.html and deltaheadtranslation.com/MGS2/DOTM_TOC.htm for a greater analysis of the game. Expand
  14. Apr 9, 2012
    1
    Standards for video games must have been really low when this game first came out. I didn't play the original but I picked up MGS2 in the HD collection for the PS3. The problem with the game isn't the graphics (as some might say the graphics look dated on the PS3). No, the problem is the same as it was back when the game first came out - the gameplay. MGS2 has the worst gameplay of anyStandards for video games must have been really low when this game first came out. I didn't play the original but I picked up MGS2 in the HD collection for the PS3. The problem with the game isn't the graphics (as some might say the graphics look dated on the PS3). No, the problem is the same as it was back when the game first came out - the gameplay. MGS2 has the worst gameplay of any console game I have ever played. How could reviewers possibly give this game a perfect score? MGS and MGS4 are great games (still have to play MGS3) but MGS2 just doesn't compare. The camera is terrible, the shooting is terrible, your character handles terribly. But the Metal Gear series isn't known for gameplay as much as it is for story, right? You could totally skip this installment. I bought the HD collection to fill in the gap between MGS and MGS4 and what have I gained? Pretty much nothing. The problem isn't Raiden either - I actually like Raiden. Snake controls even worse than Raiden if that is even possible. Why did I give this game a 1 instead of a 0? The cutscenes were the best part of the game, even though they were mindless and nowhere near as good as in the other games. I couldn't wait to put down my controller from playing this horrible game just to watch a cutscene. The only reason I am putting this review here and not in the HD collection is because I don't want to judge the entire collection after only playing one game. I hope the other 2 games are better. Extremely disappointed with MGS2. Expand
  15. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This is just another game, not! This is a game for the ages. The story is so well made and planned that it does not bore the audience and gamer at all. It is such a wonderful and addicting game. The boss levels are boss, just kidding, they are very interesting and fun to play through, at times irritating, but that does not pan in its overall rating. It can't even be considered a quirk inThis is just another game, not! This is a game for the ages. The story is so well made and planned that it does not bore the audience and gamer at all. It is such a wonderful and addicting game. The boss levels are boss, just kidding, they are very interesting and fun to play through, at times irritating, but that does not pan in its overall rating. It can't even be considered a quirk in this game. MGS2 is a must get, a classic if I would say. Expand
  16. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    great game. good graphics, pretty decent controls, crazy ass story line. one of a kind. memorable characters and great voice acting, if you like mgs 1 i dont see why you wouldnt enjoy this game. yes, the very ending is very strange, i dont understand it, but you gotta play this game, but you dont play as snake the whole game, i think thats why there are some bad reviews. non the less stillgreat game. good graphics, pretty decent controls, crazy ass story line. one of a kind. memorable characters and great voice acting, if you like mgs 1 i dont see why you wouldnt enjoy this game. yes, the very ending is very strange, i dont understand it, but you gotta play this game, but you dont play as snake the whole game, i think thats why there are some bad reviews. non the less still a classic in my opinion 10/10 Expand
  17. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I love this game. The story, characters, graphics and music were great. Even if Solid Snake isn't the main character i still like, despise some negativity of some fans. Besides, this my favourite mgs game of all time.
  18. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Thought provoking, clever plot, and playful with the fourth wall. Not the greatest of the MGS series when it comes to gameplay, but is a definite jump in progress from the Shadow Moses incident. The plot twisting, turning, melting, and remolding will be confuse some, if not most, players - but all the confusion is worthwhile when the multiple climaxes surface themselves near the end. ToThought provoking, clever plot, and playful with the fourth wall. Not the greatest of the MGS series when it comes to gameplay, but is a definite jump in progress from the Shadow Moses incident. The plot twisting, turning, melting, and remolding will be confuse some, if not most, players - but all the confusion is worthwhile when the multiple climaxes surface themselves near the end. To top it off, the social and political commentary in Sons of Liberty is the greatest out of the entire series. Definitely a top PS2 game. Expand
  19. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This is by far my favorite game of all time! Tight controls, deep meaningful story, so many plot twists it's unbelievable; this is truly a game of the ages. Kojima is a mastermind for crafting such a delicate piece of art. Everything from the controls to the characters is perfect., and yes even though Raiden is annoying, it was very interesting and thought provoking to see Snake from anThis is by far my favorite game of all time! Tight controls, deep meaningful story, so many plot twists it's unbelievable; this is truly a game of the ages. Kojima is a mastermind for crafting such a delicate piece of art. Everything from the controls to the characters is perfect., and yes even though Raiden is annoying, it was very interesting and thought provoking to see Snake from an outside perspective as the mentor. I highly encourage anyone who hasn't played this game to go out and discover the joy that is this game! I give it a perfect 10. Expand
  20. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    Square is to shoot? X is O? Overrated game? Frustrating shooting? convoluted plot? Raiden's a wimp? What are you talking about!? You sorry lads are probably the same unlucky bunch that didn't get Inception the first time. What kind of mongrels are you to not realize the absolute genius that is MGS2? Only a proper fool would have a negative thing to say about this game. If you have anySquare is to shoot? X is O? Overrated game? Frustrating shooting? convoluted plot? Raiden's a wimp? What are you talking about!? You sorry lads are probably the same unlucky bunch that didn't get Inception the first time. What kind of mongrels are you to not realize the absolute genius that is MGS2? Only a proper fool would have a negative thing to say about this game. If you have any sense you will pick this game up as the review finishes. Gameplay is a blend of shooting, sneaking and putting people in lockers. It's so artiscly crafted that it's kind of weird how smooth the gameplay is. You play as Snake in the first chapter which finishes in like 25 minutes. (when you get good at it though) first time it took me an hour and 30 mins. Russians have hijacked the tanker you are on in an attempt to capture Metal Gear Ray. As snake you can choose to sneak through the game using tranqs and boxes or Rambo style with melee moves and pistols. Music is also nice with great themes capitalizing on tense moments. Visuals are stupendous with real time cutscenes and the whole shebang. Raiden is no different. With an upgraded arsenal to house bombs, snipers, machine the works. It never feels wrong to play as raiden instead of snake. The basic plot in this part is dead cell, a group of terrorists, have hijacked the president and his people and you must go in solo to get him home. 10/10 best game ever made. Expand
  21. Aug 26, 2012
    4
    This game was never good. This game still isn't good. The camera is your worst enemy. Guards constantly spot you when you can't even see them and this get's worse once you need to turn on your radar in the rest of the rooms in the game. The Story is just plain un-interesting. Hideo Kojima may be a master writer of stories, but this one doesn't deliver until the last hour or so of gameThis game was never good. This game still isn't good. The camera is your worst enemy. Guards constantly spot you when you can't even see them and this get's worse once you need to turn on your radar in the rest of the rooms in the game. The Story is just plain un-interesting. Hideo Kojima may be a master writer of stories, but this one doesn't deliver until the last hour or so of game play and cut scenes, and even at that point I find myself not caring about some of the things, while the parts while interesting feel more like they belong in a film or some documentary. This is not a good game and it's a boring movie. Expand
  22. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    MGS2 is the most involved with themes, like conspiration, memes, and many others. The protagonist may not be Snake, but this factor put Raiden in other way: the way of the Cyber Ninja. The movement the bosses, the situations, partially all remembers MGS1. The Easter eggs are to funny to, and more exposed. A the moment the MGS with the best Story
  23. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    Whoever says this isn't a good game is a fool. The introduction to first-person shooting was just magnificent, especially since it was the first MGS game to do this. For anyone interested in a sneaking game with an extraordinary(yet sometimes far-fetched & convoluted in all honesty) plot, great music and graphics that would be welcomed for a game on the PS3 then MGS2 is definitely the gameWhoever says this isn't a good game is a fool. The introduction to first-person shooting was just magnificent, especially since it was the first MGS game to do this. For anyone interested in a sneaking game with an extraordinary(yet sometimes far-fetched & convoluted in all honesty) plot, great music and graphics that would be welcomed for a game on the PS3 then MGS2 is definitely the game for you. It is so fun to play and I still play it to this day and don't get bored. The pitter-patter of rain while Snake walks the George Washington bridge in the opening of the tanker chapter, the music while you sneak around the Big Shell, the change of pace according to different missions, the Colonel's crazy sequence towards the end, the nostalgia you get when you emerge on the roof of Strut A as Raiden, the delusional yet righteous villains including Vamp, Solidus, Fatman and Fortune, not to mention Ocelot having a key role as always(his speech while hijacking Metal Gear is fantastic).....all of these moments in the game, they all make this game a treat particularly for a hardcore MGS fan like myself. Expand
  24. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    as the metal gear games go this is probubly my least favorite . ill get all the bad things out of the way first . well to start you only play as snake in the prolouge then you have to play as whinny raiden who doesnt have 1/10 of the coolness as solid snake . the game size is small there are just not many places to go every thing just feels real constricting. the story at times is abit toas the metal gear games go this is probubly my least favorite . ill get all the bad things out of the way first . well to start you only play as snake in the prolouge then you have to play as whinny raiden who doesnt have 1/10 of the coolness as solid snake . the game size is small there are just not many places to go every thing just feels real constricting. the story at times is abit to off the wall. the ending is to big of a cliff hanger and we had to wait all the way to MGS4 which was many years later to see how it resolves. the good . the graphics are amazing they had a big wow factor in its day. even though the story has some off the wall moments most of it is very enjoyable and addictive enough to want you to learn more . the combat system is awsome and being able to sneak up on enimys and make them surrender or take them hostage is sick. i had just a ton of fun playing with the gaurds in this game. good enimy AI . great and fun boss battles . you get to fight ALOT and i mean ALOT of metal gears in this game ...sweeeeeeeet. over all this game has enough good to keep it up there as pretty good game in the MGS series but theres enough bad to keep it in last of the 4 games. Expand
  25. Aug 21, 2010
    0
    You don't play as Solid Snake through most of the game. Instead you play as an emotionally challenged J-pop wimp named Raiden. The bosses in this game are a rollerblading bomber, a bisexual pseudo vampire (like Twilight), and an old man who is being controlled by a dead guy's arm. The gameplay consists of wandering around being spotted and then hiding for 20 minutes while the enemies goYou don't play as Solid Snake through most of the game. Instead you play as an emotionally challenged J-pop wimp named Raiden. The bosses in this game are a rollerblading bomber, a bisexual pseudo vampire (like Twilight), and an old man who is being controlled by a dead guy's arm. The gameplay consists of wandering around being spotted and then hiding for 20 minutes while the enemies go quiet. The enemies are infinite once you've been spotted and you're bound to be spotted since the smallest disturbence sets them off. As a result you spend most of the game hiding from enemies and not doing any combat whatsoever. Normally a stealth game doesn't focus on combat but this is a whole other story. In most stealth games you can occasionally take out a soldier or two without being spotted, but this game demands that you don't do any combat other than the boss battles. Add to all this a terrible plot and you've got one of the most overrated games of all time. Expand
  26. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    This game is inferior to its predecessor (which ought to be played on the Gamecube for a revamped graphic: The Twin Snakes) but it's still very enjoyable. Yes, the plot is really corny and borders the ridiculous many times. The dialogues can even be worse, granted. Atmosphere and character design was also better on The Twin Snakes. Still, how can't we be totally overwhelmed by the sheerThis game is inferior to its predecessor (which ought to be played on the Gamecube for a revamped graphic: The Twin Snakes) but it's still very enjoyable. Yes, the plot is really corny and borders the ridiculous many times. The dialogues can even be worse, granted. Atmosphere and character design was also better on The Twin Snakes. Still, how can't we be totally overwhelmed by the sheer excellence of the visuals, audio effects and cinematic? The game is full of those great, little touches that are a trademark of great productions (too many to mention). The control are as bad as in the predecessor but the action is flawless. Technically speaking this game is a real masterpiece and worth the highest rating. But the problems mentioned above drag it down to a 9/10. Expand
  27. Apr 29, 2012
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty was a very interesting game when looking at it. The negative about it, first. The story plot bended and twisted so much, it completely snapped in two! I do not know what a Shadow Moses is and it never explained it! Something to do with Metal Gear Solid, I think. The story just went everywhere and kind of turned me off. Playing as Solid Snake, then asMetal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty was a very interesting game when looking at it. The negative about it, first. The story plot bended and twisted so much, it completely snapped in two! I do not know what a Shadow Moses is and it never explained it! Something to do with Metal Gear Solid, I think. The story just went everywhere and kind of turned me off. Playing as Solid Snake, then as Raiden was like playing as Batman, then as Batgirl. Raiden was wimpy and whiny and asks way too many questions. His catchphrase can pretty much be "What?" or "..." Also, why does he need to call everyone over everything! Solid Snake could handle it without calling on the Codec too much, then again he had real training and not virtual reality training. It was well worth it to see Raiden get peed on by a guard or slip in bird poo to his watery grave or get dramatically electrocuted. The bosses were weird, but interesting. This game would be much better as an first-person shooter so you did not have to keep pressing the button. Now, for the positive aspects. I could not put down the game until it was over! The graphics were a great merge into the PlayStation 3 era. The Easter eggs were pretty cool. A great stealth game overall! Expand
  28. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Compared to the revolutionary Metal Gear Solid on the Playstation many have judged this sequel to be a disappointment yet, despite its many faults, Sons of Liberty makes for an intriguing gaming experience. The cut scenes may still be too long, the plot pointlessly confusing, Raiden slightly annoying and the oil rig setting certainly lacking in the diversity of the Shadow Moses Facility ofCompared to the revolutionary Metal Gear Solid on the Playstation many have judged this sequel to be a disappointment yet, despite its many faults, Sons of Liberty makes for an intriguing gaming experience. The cut scenes may still be too long, the plot pointlessly confusing, Raiden slightly annoying and the oil rig setting certainly lacking in the diversity of the Shadow Moses Facility of the first game but no series has ever made stealth gameplay anywhere near as enjoyable.

    In fact thanks to a number of refinements and additions to the ‘tactical espionage system’ the gameplay itself is actually, for the most part superior to the original even of it is comparatively lacking in the imagination department.

    *For those seeking the best of both worlds I would certainly recommend the GameCube/Wii ‘Twin Snakes’ remake of the first title.*
    Expand
  29. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    For me, it's silly that people attack this game. Sure, in comparison to Solid Snake, Raiden was (at least when he was introduced) a lame main character, but this game, like all the Metal Gear games is unique and insanely entertaining. The style is both badass with the action-packed gameplay/scenes and humorous (yet amazing) in the small details and quirks. Despite not being an open worldFor me, it's silly that people attack this game. Sure, in comparison to Solid Snake, Raiden was (at least when he was introduced) a lame main character, but this game, like all the Metal Gear games is unique and insanely entertaining. The style is both badass with the action-packed gameplay/scenes and humorous (yet amazing) in the small details and quirks. Despite not being an open world game - as Metal Gear games aren't, there is a constant sense of discovery all throughout. The game truly is a masterpiece and is beautifully put together. It doesn't take itself seriously, nor does it expect anyone to, but, in the long run, it's hard not to care about the characters no matter how corny or ridiculous some of them may be. The story, despite is surprisingly in depth, which I liked. I would compare it to James Bond, but that would be an understatement, but it's almost impossible to compare any Metal Gear Solid game to anything. The only possible way to truly understand what kind of game it is, would be to experience it first hand, and it is worth your time and money. Expand
  30. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    It had awesome graphics on the ps2, when it was released. Gameplay is also deep and the story knows how to tie you to your console. However in every aspect it is not as good as Metal Gear Solid.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. The environments are amazing, when on the deck of the tank the rain effects are extremely lifelike, along with rain drops hitting the ship and characters.
  2. As stunning and enjoyable as ever. You may feel foolish gripping the controller throughout a 40-minute cut scene, but MGS2 is something which must be experienced.
  3. 80
    MGS2 suffers in its story. I can't spoil it for you, but I can at least warn you to be prepared for a plot that frequently reaches levels of sheer absurdity.