Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 988 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Since the incident on Shadow Moses Island, Metal Gear's top-secret technology has been leaked into the black market through the machinations of Revolver Ocelot. As a result, countless variations of Metal Gears have sprung up in every corner of the globe, making the weapon an increasinglySince the incident on Shadow Moses Island, Metal Gear's top-secret technology has been leaked into the black market through the machinations of Revolver Ocelot. As a result, countless variations of Metal Gears have sprung up in every corner of the globe, making the weapon an increasingly common component of the armed forces of nuclear powers.
    In the midst of all of this, Solid Snake, now a member of the anti-Metal Gear group "Philanthropy," has learned that a new prototype Metal Gear has been developed by the U.S. Marines and is being transported in secret to an unknown destination. To learn more about this new machine, Snake must infiltrate the transport, disguised as a tanker, as it makes its way down the Hudson River. Just as Snake is about to begin his mission, however, the ship is seized by a mysterious and well-armed group bent on stealing the new Metal Gear for their own, nefarious purposes. [Konami]
    Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    I know everyone is expecting this game to be good, but I have to tell you I was shocked at how great it is. [Dec 2001, p.159]
  2. You’ll be more impressed that you can make Snake stare lecherously at a centerfold poster one minute, only to have him pop out and choke someone to death the next.
  3. The environments are amazing, when on the deck of the tank the rain effects are extremely lifelike, along with rain drops hitting the ship and characters.
  4. If you’re wearing body armor just before you start a new part of the plot, you’ll see your character wearing it in the cut-scene as well. I feel that this effect really adds to the suspension of disbelief in MGS2 and helps it be that much more impressive.
  5. Enjoyable, captivating, and thrilling.
  6. Aside from the over-abundance of movies and com-link chatter, there is a really great game hidden on this DVD. The freedom to explore and ultimately play this game as you see fit within the confines of the parameters of the script is a great feature that offers excellent replay potential.
  7. SOL's storyline (and this is being generous) is woefully inept, consisting of such high-calibre nonsense that there's absolutely no point following it.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 278
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The most memorable game to date on PS2. Amazing story and snake is and still to this day remains a badass. Great gameplay for a 2001 game, theThe most memorable game to date on PS2. Amazing story and snake is and still to this day remains a badass. Great gameplay for a 2001 game, the visual setting still satisfys, not to mention every mission had an unforgettable twist. 10/10 Expand
  2. PhoebeR.
    Jun 21, 2003
    10
    AMAZING!
  3. MarkL.
    Feb 13, 2003
    10
    Metal gear is amazing should keep em coming.
  4. Ryguy98Mgs4fan
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    I give it a 10 because there was a lot of freakin good graphics and the characters were different abillited people who has different I give it a 10 because there was a lot of freakin good graphics and the characters were different abillited people who has different personalities too! I hope metal gear will keep going until mgs6 ends. That's why i chose 10 for my ratings. Oh yeah also the first person view Is cool with the aiming on the aimsight. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    This game, in a word, is masterful. Every aspect of this game is well done. The story, while difficult to follow at times, is awesome, fullThis game, in a word, is masterful. Every aspect of this game is well done. The story, while difficult to follow at times, is awesome, full plot twists and emotional moments. The ending in particular has the story transform in ways you would never imagine. The music is just outstanding, namely the main theme and the boss battle music. The gameplay takes everything good about the original Metal Gear Solid and just beefs it up to a whole new level. The stealth aspects in particular have evolved exceptionally well. In particular, the ability to hold people up at gunpoint is awesome.
    The biggest complaint with this game is that you don't play as Solid Snake for the majority of it, but rather you play as Raiden. In truth, I really like Raiden as the protagonist. It allows the story center around him and his back story, which allows for more variation in the story. Granted, he's not as cool as Snake, but he's no issue.

    This came is a must play for anyone. It truly is a masterpiece.
    9.3/10
    Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    So the next game of metal gear solid the first one was amazing and one of the best i've ever played the second one i also amazing it has allSo the next game of metal gear solid the first one was amazing and one of the best i've ever played the second one i also amazing it has all the elements of the first one with better graphics the story is a bit complicated but after playing many times you will come to understand it but actually i can't give it 10 out of 10 cause i didn't get to play with snake i didn't really like raiden in this game but still an amazing game with amazing story Expand
  7. PaulF.
    Jan 14, 2003
    0
    OK, you guys are fans of the series, solid snake is a decently cool character, but this game is trash, absolute utter total trash. the OK, you guys are fans of the series, solid snake is a decently cool character, but this game is trash, absolute utter total trash. the storyline is so ridiculously convoluted and just plain silly that any and all redeeming features of the gameplay (and there are a few, but really not that many) are flooded with bad feelings. the cut scenes drag on for ages, explaining, and re-explaining the most ridiculous justifications for the most non-sensical twists. i should probably give it a one because the first section with snake is ok, though not great, and the second character is crap, but even if he had been cool it wouldn't have mattered. Please people, stop giving this game a 10, and stop buyng it, if you keep believing the hype and continue to pretend this game is good just because you liked its predecessor (which wasnt as good as the original Syphon Filter by a longshot by the way) then the game will never improve, the next version will have just as lame a story, with another crappy character, and they'll lazily put in another torture sequence, and stinger fight with an aircraft (how lame was that?) and you'll have paid another $50 for a pile of crap that you can give 10's to again. Expand

See all 278 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001