Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2004
  • Also On: 3DS
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 910 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 910
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 26, 2015
    7
    To preface, I didn't really enjoy Snake Eater until the Subsistence/HD versions updated the camera. I found this version very flawed in its sneaking sections; apparently some drug addled lunatic on Kojima's team thought that using the same 'fixed' camera setup from MGS2 would work fine in a jungle environment when you have no radar, and no LOS cones. It doesn't. Maybe I shouldn't takeTo preface, I didn't really enjoy Snake Eater until the Subsistence/HD versions updated the camera. I found this version very flawed in its sneaking sections; apparently some drug addled lunatic on Kojima's team thought that using the same 'fixed' camera setup from MGS2 would work fine in a jungle environment when you have no radar, and no LOS cones. It doesn't. Maybe I shouldn't take discovery so seriously in these games, but I'd like to stay hidden, that's kind of hard when the camera insists it wants to be top-down, or facing Snake from the front, when I need to be seeing in front of me. The R1 first person function is OK, but as Snake is unable to move in this mode, it's borderline useless.

    In all other departments, Snake Eater is excellent and probably my favourite Metal Gear; it occupies a weird line between all the depth and seriousness of an anti-war statement and the OTT silliness of a James Bond movie mixed in with some Rambo; some genuine laugh-out loud moments sandwiched between some thought-provoking writing and genuinely impressive action scenes.

    The gameplay is generally much improved from MGS2, sneaking has added dimensions thanks to the 'camouflage', 'food' and 'cure' mechanics, CQC , as well as the simple fact that the jungle is so much more fun to sneak in.

    Snake Eater might have one of the greatest showcases in a Metal Gear game, the Shagohod/Volgin/Boss section is rivaled only by piloting REX and having a fistfight with Ocelot in MGS4. You can also look forward to more pant-wetting, R1 to boob peeping, sniping bosses early, more crotch-grabbing, anti-Raiden jokes, arguments about James Bond, conversations about movies, shooting green rubber frogs, loads of easter eggs and an impressive level of attention to detail.
    Expand
  2. JamesG
    May 4, 2009
    6
    I fail to see the widespread appeal in this installment. Despite loving both Metal Gear Solid and Metal Gear Solid 2 (and later the portable games) I found Snake Eater a chore. Unlike some other negative scorers I love the long cutscenes and plots that the Metal Gear series offers, the only plot/codec based annoyance for me was the restating of the controls for the first 10-15 minutes. I fail to see the widespread appeal in this installment. Despite loving both Metal Gear Solid and Metal Gear Solid 2 (and later the portable games) I found Snake Eater a chore. Unlike some other negative scorers I love the long cutscenes and plots that the Metal Gear series offers, the only plot/codec based annoyance for me was the restating of the controls for the first 10-15 minutes. The story is a convoluted train wreck which seems to lack any clear direction in places leaving characters to paraphrase what has been said before. I also found it the least interesting in the Metal Gear franchise, as the Cold War scenario eventually boils down to nothing more than a metal gear hunt, wasting much potential. However, the story is passable enough (and short enough - in comparison to the others at least) to carry the game. The gameplay suffers in the jungle environment too. The food system is a fun addition, if nothing more than a gimmick - as is the camo system. Unfortunately the upsides of the jungle end there. For the most part the game feels like a corridor shooter with a few trees painted on the walls. It lacks the amazing artistic direction that so many other games on the Playstaion 2 show. Being a prequel (so it isn't referenced by the rest of the series often) Snake Eater is well worth a go, because it's something you can leave part way through and skip onto the next title in the series. Collapse
  3. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    The healing and eating and the constantly changing of the camouflage are annoying and just disturbs the player. However the story is good and also the graphics are.
    Its a good game but i liked it predecessor more.
  4. JimmyD.
    Feb 2, 2005
    5
    What is it with all of you guys/gals...this is NOT a very user friendly game..the controls are horrendous and the in game graphics sub-par and grainy at times...I dont get it...not worth my time.
  5. PaulO.
    Mar 24, 2005
    7
    Metal gear is a good game but it's very long cut sequences and bad camera angles let it down in my eyes but still worth getting. :)
  6. MarcD.
    Dec 4, 2004
    7
    Its a good game...but it simply doesn't impact me the same which Metal Gear Solid 2 did. Perhaps the series is starting to show it's age.
  7. BigRed
    May 15, 2007
    5
    Way too many interruptions in this game. Between the endless calls and the never ending cut-scenes you hardly get a chance to play. 2 hours into this game and I have only played for about 15 minutes of actual game time. Sure you can skip everything, but then you miss out on the story, which starts off promising but then gets crazy and stupid. Some cool gadgets, but I know they didn
  8. Buried-In-The-Box
    Nov 18, 2004
    7
    This is a decent game to fill the void until Splinter Cell 3 arrives, but that's about it. After playing it for a couple of hours, I could see why I moved on when the SC games came out. After getting used to actually being able to play those games, it's hard to go back to this style which is watch the game more than play it since it is about 80% story and about 20% gameplay, This is a decent game to fill the void until Splinter Cell 3 arrives, but that's about it. After playing it for a couple of hours, I could see why I moved on when the SC games came out. After getting used to actually being able to play those games, it's hard to go back to this style which is watch the game more than play it since it is about 80% story and about 20% gameplay, just like every other MG game and up there with FF as far as that goes. Graphics are nothing to get excited about, but that's normal as PS2 has nothing left to offer graphics wise and foliage just can't be done right on it. The mullet thing needs to go to. With games like Splinter Cell 3 on the horizon, this only seems to have come out to take away some of its sales on the XBOX's original realease date of this November. It's too bad for Konami that Ubisoft put off the XBOX version until March, making this entire effort in vein. If you want to WATCH a good story unfold, maybe try this. If you want to actually PLAY a great stealth game, wait for SC3. At least you can PLAY it, instead of only watch it, and it lets you do real stealth moves and procedures along with graphics that stand up in 2004-2005, not graphics that were just OK in 1998-2001. Expand
  9. JohnD.
    Nov 17, 2007
    6
    I have no idea why people like this game so much. Gameplay is very poor, camera is horrible and frustrating and playing through levels take too much time. Changing your camoflage is pretty useless because the enemies can still see you, and if you don't wanna die, you must sit around in the bushes for way too long. Camera makes you want to kill everybody and the way it changest to a I have no idea why people like this game so much. Gameplay is very poor, camera is horrible and frustrating and playing through levels take too much time. Changing your camoflage is pretty useless because the enemies can still see you, and if you don't wanna die, you must sit around in the bushes for way too long. Camera makes you want to kill everybody and the way it changest to a firs-person view when you go to the bushes is anoying, and you cant change it to a third-person viw. Also a big problem is that you can't see your enemies before they can see you because of the camera. The first level is annaoying as hell, but if you can play through that the game starts to get a little better, but still this game has too many flaws to be an excellent game experience. Cutscenes are cool (but a little too long) and graphics are excellent for a PS2 game, but I'd rather buy subsistence. Expand
  10. Jun 30, 2013
    5
    Story is pretty bad, but the game was good until EVA showed up totally ruined MGS experience.no need another words if EVA was not join snake then the game would be 5x better. i remember originaly there was no EVA in the game just a man with motorcycle in the first trailer well that was the real MGS3, Not to mention the idiot James Bond style musics and feeling. yeah i love james bondStory is pretty bad, but the game was good until EVA showed up totally ruined MGS experience.no need another words if EVA was not join snake then the game would be 5x better. i remember originaly there was no EVA in the game just a man with motorcycle in the first trailer well that was the real MGS3, Not to mention the idiot James Bond style musics and feeling. yeah i love james bond movies but this isn't good for MGS univere is just not fit this james bond style for mgs game.Kojima should stop this.Anyway anyone know why kojima keep calling the game MGS without Solid snake? why not just Metal Gear Snake Eater? Expand
  11. Jul 6, 2013
    7
    Snake Eater is certainly worth playing. It's a decent game start to finish, but there are some major flaws I would like to point out. The long cut-scenes are not one of them. If they are needed to tell the story, then they are okay in my book. Gameplay is well done. All the gameplay flaws from Sons of Liberty have been ironed out and your vitality in a combat situation is well improved.Snake Eater is certainly worth playing. It's a decent game start to finish, but there are some major flaws I would like to point out. The long cut-scenes are not one of them. If they are needed to tell the story, then they are okay in my book. Gameplay is well done. All the gameplay flaws from Sons of Liberty have been ironed out and your vitality in a combat situation is well improved. Now to some of my major complaints. I actually found the camera excusable in Sons of Liberty due to the small and narrow corridors. In Snake Eater, the camera work is less than stellar. Environments are expansive and huge. The camera is useless now that I can't see ten feet in front of me and the radar has been omitted. I ran into several occasions where the game turned into a frustrating run and gun in some of the areas populated by numerous enemies. There is now a food system, which I thought was implemented well, but now there is a cure system in which you have to pause the game and cure EVERY injury you receive. As you might expect, it can get rather tedious and is just an extraneous addition when bosses hit you with attacks that can constantly drain your health unless cured. The story of the game is superb. It becomes well appreciated and is very thoughtful. The soundtrack is once again composed by Harry Gregson-Williams and I have to say, it is a lot better than the occasional jazzy, lounge like tracks in sons of Liberty. But during the majority of the game, no music is heard except for bosses and alerts. I thought this made the game seem somewhat empty and unfinished. The graphics are gorgeous. They definitely push the PS2 to its limits. Overall, this is a good game especially if you are a fan of the series. It never reaches the heights of Sons of Liberty, but is a welcome addition to the franchise. My score may seem rather low, but if the camera issues and the cure system were fixed, I can definitely see this title receiving a 9. Expand
  12. GiovanniC.
    Dec 13, 2005
    7
    Still a game worth playing but worse than MGS2. The camera is now frustrating. It was still fine when a radar was available but now it is too easy to get spotted because of it. There are too many things that break the rythm of the game (stalking, camouflage, eating, curing wounds...) and they kill the fun. If MGS2 is like a modern movie, Snake Eater is a movie from the '60, pace included.
  13. DanielW.
    May 19, 2005
    7
    Eve disabaying snake souldnt happen in the game and i completed it in one day point to short and when you have to walk eve thats rubbish.
  14. KiwiClay
    Oct 13, 2005
    7
    Hideo Kojima is one of the most dynamic game producers in the world, but he needs to get his head out of his own arse and his ego under control. 20 minute cut scenes? No matter how good the story is (and its not that great), that is not warranted. Particularly when much of this time taken by characters repeating and rerepeating core philosophical concepts (which are not as impressive as Hideo Kojima is one of the most dynamic game producers in the world, but he needs to get his head out of his own arse and his ego under control. 20 minute cut scenes? No matter how good the story is (and its not that great), that is not warranted. Particularly when much of this time taken by characters repeating and rerepeating core philosophical concepts (which are not as impressive as Kojima would like us to think) or blathering irrelevance. As usual, the Japanese sense of humour and plot/character development fail to translate to a Western audience, though that can hardly be blamed on anything more than cultural idiosyncrasies on both sides. The camera system is indeed flawed - almost to a fatal degree. Try stalking an enemy soldier southwards so you can't see them on your screen, and you don't know when to act. Infuriating. What maintains this game however, and keeps it as a "good" game, are moments of sheer gaming bliss scattered strategically throughout the game, particularly the boss battles. The graphics and sound are gorgeous (though some of the voice acting... why does Snake have to deliver every line in the same constipated tone? They need a new actor) and when the game allows you to play it your way, it couldn't be more fun. A muddled, messy, but ultimately enjoyable game. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. netjak
    90
    When all is said and done, Snake Eater achieves what no other game can on such a level: complete immersion into an action-driven interactive movie.
  2. Gaming Target
    98
    Is Metal Gear Solid 3 the best game of the year? Yes. Is Metal Gear Solid 3 the best in its series? No.
  3. There has never been, and will not be for a long time a more convincing and immersive game released.