• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2004
  • Also On: 3DS
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1089 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FedericoM.
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    It's simply the best!
  2. Snake!
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    Ohh this is good game i can´t belive some people give it a 0 and they say "konami is a mockery of a company" you guys need a real game like mgs 3, this a great game!! buy it!!
  3. JoeP.
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    This game is the best game in the world to me. it never gets boring.
  4. Donkay
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Can't go wrong with Snake if you like Special Ops games. You'll spend countless hours on this game yet it'll seem to just wiz by cuz of the fun gameplay. The graphics are awesome and the storyline is nicely done.
  5. AlbertoC.
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    Greatest Game Of All-Time. Nuff said.
  6. Tonydannie
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    I loved this game!! Very challenging and the Boss fights are great. my favorite will have to be "The End" sniping fight. This game is with out a doubt the best yet in the metal gear solid series. The story is amazing and it makes better sense then "Sons Of Liberty" And the score is as good as any score in a film( granted it is a film composer's ). But it is as god if not better then I loved this game!! Very challenging and the Boss fights are great. my favorite will have to be "The End" sniping fight. This game is with out a doubt the best yet in the metal gear solid series. The story is amazing and it makes better sense then "Sons Of Liberty" And the score is as good as any score in a film( granted it is a film composer's ). But it is as god if not better then the films this man has scored. Best game ever!!! Until Metal Gear Solid 4 of course. Expand
  7. Chimp
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    This game is not for everyone. and by that, i mean it is not for stupid people. with possibly the deepest plot in any game, it really is more than just a game. yes, i got half life 2 on tuesday and i know how unbelievably awesome that is....but this game is more important and personal to me because of its story. of course, the gameplay is amazing. this time around, you have to beThis game is not for everyone. and by that, i mean it is not for stupid people. with possibly the deepest plot in any game, it really is more than just a game. yes, i got half life 2 on tuesday and i know how unbelievably awesome that is....but this game is more important and personal to me because of its story. of course, the gameplay is amazing. this time around, you have to be stealthier than in the previous two games. the jungle is really cool, with animals and camoflage and all that. speaking of camoflage, let me just say if you're playing on normal or higher you will HAVE to use it. enemies are much more realistic this time around and can spot you from far away if you move or really stand out. the CQC system is genius, and the boss battles are amazing. also, its full of humour just like the other two, but its not in-your-face humour, more subtle. and the main theme is the best in any game ever. simply unbelievable. Expand
  8. Alfgrr
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    This will kill every game that comes out this year.
  9. AndrejJ.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    This is the best game in the world. Congrats to Hideo Kojima and every one who developed this game. It's a world wonder
  10. JesseJ.
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    This is a great game i dont have to say anything, just look at the reviews!!!!!!
  11. Gareth
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    Perfect. A slightly long intro scene will only bother you when you play through the game a second time. MGS had length issues, MGS 2 had pacing problems, Snake Eater has neither and appart from the suggestive subtitle, it has no flaws. Touches of genious such as the very long ladder climb as the music fades in, the increadable graphics atop the cliff, the best ending to a videogame ever Perfect. A slightly long intro scene will only bother you when you play through the game a second time. MGS had length issues, MGS 2 had pacing problems, Snake Eater has neither and appart from the suggestive subtitle, it has no flaws. Touches of genious such as the very long ladder climb as the music fades in, the increadable graphics atop the cliff, the best ending to a videogame ever which needs to be seen to believe superb voice acting and plot and great characters all round. Packed with witt, charm and shear balls its the most perfect action/adventure game you can buy on any of the 3 consoles right now. Trust me, you'll take a week of work to play it none stop and itill stay with you long after you have finished. Top class. Expand
  12. JoshA.
    Jan 5, 2005
    10
    The perfect game. What else can I say?
  13. BlakeY.
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    Wonderful game.
  14. AnonymousAnonymous
    Feb 3, 2005
    10
    Like this was the best game I played. All my other friends think Halo 2 sucks( Most think so). This is or should be the best game of the year, not Halo 2.
    If I rated Halo 2, it would be an 8. (I like Halo 2, but MGS 3 RULES, whoever doesn't think so sucks.)
  15. RafaelH.
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    Just one comment : the best MG game so far and one of the best games I played, and I hve played a lot .
  16. MattB.
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    Oh my God!, this game is so good!, my sons and I have played and finished the game so many times, yet we just keep coming back for more. The game is so life like, the first time I played it, after beating the sorrow, I had my first Nightmare in 30 yrs. WOW!...
  17. Kei
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    A game, no a virtual movie made with real passion.
  18. MartinK.
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    This is the best game of all... until a new MG comes out! Praise Kojima!
  19. ThebiggestMGSfanintheworld
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    Quite franckly, the best computer game I have ever played. Well, since I played the first MGS!!!
  20. JesseS.
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Yet ANOTHER great Metal Gear Solid game! Heralded as the best in the series by many, this game is easily one of the greatest games you will play on the Playstation 2 console. The graphics are easily some of the best the PS2 can do, pushing the limitations of the console. The gameplay is VERY deep. There are so many things to do, items to find, etc. that you will want to play through this Yet ANOTHER great Metal Gear Solid game! Heralded as the best in the series by many, this game is easily one of the greatest games you will play on the Playstation 2 console. The graphics are easily some of the best the PS2 can do, pushing the limitations of the console. The gameplay is VERY deep. There are so many things to do, items to find, etc. that you will want to play through this game more than once. The game is also a lot longer than the other Metal Gear solid games, taking 20 to 25 hours on a first time through the game. The controls are the usual for the PS2 Metal Gear Solid games, which is not a bad thing at all. And the story is VERY compelling, especially if you are a Metal Gear Solid fan. If you are, you definitley wouldn't want to miss this story! Overall, one of the greatest games for the PS2 in 2004, and probably for the rest of the life on the console. A must-have! Expand
  21. SimonK.
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    Hideo Kojima does it once again this is one of the best games ever made crisp graphics excellent sound and gameplay that takes the stealth genre to the next level. You dont have it What the hell are you doing. Go buy it!!!!!
  22. GarrethDouble'R'
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Superb graphics, completely unbelievable boss fights, astonishing music, a compelling story and enough genius moments to write pages about. What's most incredable about Metal Gear Solid 3 is that it WILL ruin most other games for you. Once you let yourself fall in love with Snake Eater, it breaks your legs and keeps you in its basement for good.
  23. ChrisZ.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    If people only played past the first few missions instead of saying "I'm done" would they see the amazing work and story line.
  24. AlN.
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    After 2 years still the best game I have ever played.
  25. GrayFox
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    The Guy At Detroit Free Press must be very rough huh?Who played original MG and GMS on other consoles knows the story not just rambo 3 behind it man! Think befor You press and choose wisely because this game have more work in it than you think. Big Red i cant believe you AI is easy??PLay On EU extreme noob!T he Story is crazy? Make better with the whole MGS universe!!Y ou stupid people The Guy At Detroit Free Press must be very rough huh?Who played original MG and GMS on other consoles knows the story not just rambo 3 behind it man! Think befor You press and choose wisely because this game have more work in it than you think. Big Red i cant believe you AI is easy??PLay On EU extreme noob!T he Story is crazy? Make better with the whole MGS universe!!Y ou stupid people who never think just write that bull**it here !keep thinking. Respect To Other Players who take this game with honor. Expand
  26. DougP.
    Oct 1, 2003
    10
    ok first i'm 22 and no don't live at home. I have about 10 games for the ps2 this game rocks. Its easy to play easy to learn and great for company. i still can't beat the dam game. oh yeah did i mention that i got it for under 3 bucks, which makes the value so much better. It should sell for about 20 though - what a game.
  27. AhmedAlataby
    Aug 19, 2003
    10
    Oh man .. Kojima does it again ... the waiting .. THE WAITING .. believe me guys, this game is gonna be the bomb! I guess the people who played MGS2 already know what I mean .. :) .. Anyways .. The graphics looks (very) good, the music .. Hi mister Williams. and the gameplay is just .. WOW .. And they say that you might be play this game .. Online .. :S .. I sure hope so!! .. Thats why IOh man .. Kojima does it again ... the waiting .. THE WAITING .. believe me guys, this game is gonna be the bomb! I guess the people who played MGS2 already know what I mean .. :) .. Anyways .. The graphics looks (very) good, the music .. Hi mister Williams. and the gameplay is just .. WOW .. And they say that you might be play this game .. Online .. :S .. I sure hope so!! .. Thats why I think that this game really is worth the 10 points I gave it :D .. That's it folks !! SeeYa Expand
  28. Sean
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    This is one sexy game.
  29. Alex
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    Sam Fisher, eat your heart out. The king of stealth returns. This is, by leaps and bounds, the best game in the MGS series.
  30. JohnnyS.
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Another great kojima work. these games have real character.

Awards & Rankings

5
2
#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
3
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. netjak
    90
    When all is said and done, Snake Eater achieves what no other game can on such a level: complete immersion into an action-driven interactive movie.
  2. Gaming Target
    98
    Is Metal Gear Solid 3 the best game of the year? Yes. Is Metal Gear Solid 3 the best in its series? No.
  3. There has never been, and will not be for a long time a more convincing and immersive game released.