User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JordanM.
    Feb 5, 2002
    8
    Overall this game was good but I think that they should have made the controls easy to use so you would not struggle. I would have made it where you could cut things in half so you could better follow the role of the gundam like when he cuts a zeon moble suit in half in the space colony at the begining of the series.
  2. #1Fan
    Aug 9, 2002
    10
    I love this Game!
  3. TristanR.
    Nov 2, 2001
    9
    This game was one of the greatest I've ever played. The shortness and lack of 2 player of it really blew, but other than that it was awesome. The last level I admit was pretty hard but after a week or so of playing in the Battle Tactics section it became quite easy. The Battle Tactics section might have just been the greatest part of the game. About the graphics, they were awesome, I This game was one of the greatest I've ever played. The shortness and lack of 2 player of it really blew, but other than that it was awesome. The last level I admit was pretty hard but after a week or so of playing in the Battle Tactics section it became quite easy. The Battle Tactics section might have just been the greatest part of the game. About the graphics, they were awesome, I don't see what the problem is. People were spoiled by the Gundam Wing series, or at least facinated by it, and aren't concerned with its beginnings. The controls, yes were hard at the beginning, by the third level, I had them mastered. Eh, people get too bitchy when it isn't centered around their beloved Gundam Wing. Expand
  4. AlexS.
    Oct 15, 2001
    10
    This game is awesome! The reason why you can't move so fast is because you are riding in a 60 ton mobile suit! Other people who reviewed this game (gameshark.com,videogames.com,ect.) all said it sucked because of the slow movement but they are wrong! It's a great game if you like gundam or want to like it more but if you don?t like it or don?t really care for it this might not This game is awesome! The reason why you can't move so fast is because you are riding in a 60 ton mobile suit! Other people who reviewed this game (gameshark.com,videogames.com,ect.) all said it sucked because of the slow movement but they are wrong! It's a great game if you like gundam or want to like it more but if you don?t like it or don?t really care for it this might not be your cup of tea. Expand
  5. KILLA_LOCC
    Oct 5, 2001
    8
    This game was great for us that know and follow the actual Gundum siries. It provides a great great challenge but it should have been longer.
  6. AndrewO.
    Sep 14, 2001
    8
    I really enjoyed this game. I will admit the controls are sluggish and Zeon forces love circling around you and shooting. The controls just take getting used to. The graphics are good. The levels are a little bland but some make up for the others. But this game is just loads of fun. I would suggest giving it a try because I am sure there has been at least one game that the critics hated I really enjoyed this game. I will admit the controls are sluggish and Zeon forces love circling around you and shooting. The controls just take getting used to. The graphics are good. The levels are a little bland but some make up for the others. But this game is just loads of fun. I would suggest giving it a try because I am sure there has been at least one game that the critics hated and you enjoyed. Expand
  7. TyB.
    Oct 15, 2002
    9
    Good but a little short.
  8. DiehardGundamfanWithaVision
    Feb 7, 2002
    10
    Yo, I'm not too sure why everyone hates this game. As Tristan R. said, this isn't Gundam Wing but it's still a darn good game to play! The graphics are incredible. The death explosions have to be the best around, let's face it. The mechs themselves are truly a sight to see. From floating Doms to Lumbering Gundams, the mechs have an incredible amount of detail. When Yo, I'm not too sure why everyone hates this game. As Tristan R. said, this isn't Gundam Wing but it's still a darn good game to play! The graphics are incredible. The death explosions have to be the best around, let's face it. The mechs themselves are truly a sight to see. From floating Doms to Lumbering Gundams, the mechs have an incredible amount of detail. When something comes just a little too close you can whip out your beam sabre and wack that punk up! The free floating camera is gotta be the best little feature in this game. You can actually see the FRONT of your mechs! That's hot $hit right there, friends! Let's see AC2 try to do THAT! Now about the controls. WHAT is so bad about them?!? They're PRACTICALLY IDENTICAL to AC2!! Control pad to move, R1 & L1 to strafe, square to shoot, triangle to change weapons and X to jump! All that's missing is an independent beam sabre button and the ablity to look up and down with the L2&R2 buttons. I'm constantly wondering what people are taking when they spout B.S like: "Duhhhhhh..! Duh Cntrols ur reel baaaad! Dere sooooooo annoying!" It's not THAT hard friends! I made you a freakin list up above! "Well..! Uhh..! My Mech is WAY too sluggish!" Then tap foward to boost across the ground or use a faster mech in Tactics mode! There is a BIG difference between a Gundam's speed and a Zaku's! "My mech dont jump high enough!" Press X MORE THAN ONCE to get a better boost! The Kampfer, for instance, hits the vertical boundary in 4 boosts! "This'll NEVER beat AC2, Man..." Dude! Just LOOK at the game! It's a mutherf** in Ac2/Gundam conversion!! Folks, some skill IS required to play the game! Sound is fine, no qualms about that. The mechs and weapons sound cool. The campaign basically outlines 0079's story which is pretty cool. I like taking part in that. The cutscenes are pretty bad@$$, it's straight from the cartoon. But by far the best part of the game was Tactics Battle. That's virtually all I play and I generally forget 1 player. There are WAY more mechs there. My ONLY qualms with this game are the lack of other mechs/mobile armor with more color variations and also how freaking strong your sheild is! How can it live though a Guncannon 2X cannon blast but your Gouf is literally shattered when it's guard is down? I havent played Zeonic Front yet, but look for my next response there as soon as I master it! Expand
  9. Sean
    Mar 8, 2002
    7
    At first it seemed real great in all with the continuing story line and fighting. But after you earn everything possible in the game it is worthless. Rent it, beat it, and move on.
  10. SuperSaiya-JinV.
    Jun 28, 2002
    9
    This game rocked, I loved playing as the Principality of Zeon in the Tactics Battle. Fans of Gundam Wing don't give this game a fair chance, you peopel have to realize that this game takes place in the Gundam Universe where Mobile Suits are relatively new, so of course the suits won't go as fast as you want, I got used to it and I pilot those bastards like noone's business, This game rocked, I loved playing as the Principality of Zeon in the Tactics Battle. Fans of Gundam Wing don't give this game a fair chance, you peopel have to realize that this game takes place in the Gundam Universe where Mobile Suits are relatively new, so of course the suits won't go as fast as you want, I got used to it and I pilot those bastards like noone's business, stop bitching about slow maneuverability and adjust. The difficulty of this game is great, where ost games only become more of a screwjob than actually getting more difficult, the later levels prove a tough a challenge but if you lose you don't have that screwjob feeling you do in other video games. The graphics are great but it's annoying how all of the buildings look the same. The sound hauls, and the cut scenes add a little spice from the series. Expand
  11. GundamFan
    Aug 9, 2002
    10
    This Game is awesome!
  12. JagdDoga
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Wow, it is odd how it can get such a good score then some critics are losers...
  13. MooMoo
    Nov 11, 2001
    10
    Best game ever.
  14. VegetaK.
    Nov 15, 2001
    8
    Graphics are good but control is pretty hard to master.
  15. BlakeH.
    Oct 14, 2001
    6
    It's great, but it ends too soon and needs 2 player.
  16. BlakeH.
    Oct 14, 2001
    7
    It's great, but it ends too soon and needs 2 player.
  17. BlakeH.
    Oct 14, 2001
    7
    It's great, but it ends too soon and needs 2 player.
  18. FrankyG.
    Dec 15, 2001
    10
    This game is really good. A true tribute to GUNDAM. I love the in game combat and the weapons. GREAT GAME!!!
  19. UnclaimedGlory
    Dec 29, 2001
    7
    I thought the game was great. All the gundam fans should be amused. I thought the game needed some more control though...that is my only complaint.
  20. JoeJ.
    Aug 25, 2001
    1
    It sucks.
  21. E.Sigismondavich
    Sep 15, 2001
    5
    Controls are sluggish, bosses near the end of the game (Levels 6 and 9) are murderously difficult, and the BGM interferes a lot with gameplay. Graphics are decent, though, and laws of physics are recognized (ie, leading one of the many Dopp fighters you'll face). Still, it was more than slightly disappointing.
  22. [Anonymous]
    Jan 28, 2002
    5
    The game sucked very, short and not a lot to do with it, the zeonic front was a lot better.
  23. GundamFreak
    Feb 19, 2002
    10
    I agree with the "Diehard Gundam fan with a Vision". You DO need some skill to play it. I admit the controls are frustrating at times, especially when fighting Kampfer, who dodges almost every attack...But it's not enough to upset me. I have beaten 1 player, and I have two more MS's to unlock in Tactics Battle. I'VE LITERALLY MEMORIZED THE WHOLE FREAKIN NUMBER CODE FOR EACH I agree with the "Diehard Gundam fan with a Vision". You DO need some skill to play it. I admit the controls are frustrating at times, especially when fighting Kampfer, who dodges almost every attack...But it's not enough to upset me. I have beaten 1 player, and I have two more MS's to unlock in Tactics Battle. I'VE LITERALLY MEMORIZED THE WHOLE FREAKIN NUMBER CODE FOR EACH MOBILE SUIT! Collapse
  24. HeavyArms
    Apr 3, 2002
    10
    This game is the S***. That's all there is to it.
  25. MeisZ.
    Jun 28, 2002
    9
    I agree with Otaku, Bandai really needs a space combat gundam game. I like Gundam Freak's review too. I have all the MS's in tactics battle and I love the various selections! The controls were too easy! My only complaint about this game is that you don't have a parallel story mode for Zion. I mean you can play as them in tactics battle. Why not make story mode longer and I agree with Otaku, Bandai really needs a space combat gundam game. I like Gundam Freak's review too. I have all the MS's in tactics battle and I love the various selections! The controls were too easy! My only complaint about this game is that you don't have a parallel story mode for Zion. I mean you can play as them in tactics battle. Why not make story mode longer and make you start over as Zion and beat it again before tactics battle. I have all the model #'s down except the Hi-Gogg's.(Which is my favorite MS to use in tactics batlle) One last thing, I agree with everyone who said this game would be better if it were a multiplayer game. I mean, when my friend and I have a dispute on which S is better we can't fight each other to prove it. Well, we do fight, but not on the game like we should. And E. Sig, I beat the Tristars with the hyper hammer, and theres a lttle trick that I'm not going to explain that lets you beat Char's Z'Gok without getting hit. And it doesn't take any extra time at all. Expand
  26. GreenL.
    Nov 5, 2001
    8
    The controls are bad. I love the graphics are awesome. And the shows from the show itself, is cool.
  27. V-chan
    Oct 24, 2001
    10
    Harumph! I loved the game, and I'm a HUGE Gundam fangirl. I think that this isn't quite for incredible gameplay, as it is for people who just love Gundam. And I think Alex-person is right: It's realistic to go slow, and have limitations on movements and abilities! However: It would be nice if it had more gameplay. The boss in level 9 is really tough considering the levels Harumph! I loved the game, and I'm a HUGE Gundam fangirl. I think that this isn't quite for incredible gameplay, as it is for people who just love Gundam. And I think Alex-person is right: It's realistic to go slow, and have limitations on movements and abilities! However: It would be nice if it had more gameplay. The boss in level 9 is really tough considering the levels that came before it: And I had problems with boosting onto the GAW bombers. Anyway, though. Tactics battle gave you special machines to work for(and which I'm still working for), and I liked that. A two-player setup would've been nice, too: But that's why there's Gundam Battle Assault. ^^; Expand
  28. Orbdogg
    Aug 27, 2001
    9
    Hey Joe, this game does not suck, it's da bomb! The graphics kick booty! The storyline is a dogg! This game is a do double g!
  29. EndlessMajin
    Sep 16, 2001
    10
    One of the tightest games ever.
  30. Otaku
    Jun 19, 2002
    5
    I enjoyed this game a little bit besides the sluggish controls and the alright graphics. rather then buying it borrow it from a friend it might even be somewhat enjoyable. I did like how real the moble suits looked to the show, but the gameplay made me re think myself I think its time for bandai to add a new feature...fighting in outer space.
  31. ChrisP.
    Nov 16, 2001
    8
    Pretty good except control and beam saber and heat hawk were crappy cant even cut anything in half but I still loved it because I'm a huge gundam fan.
  32. Ryuitsuisen
    Dec 25, 2001
    10
    This is the only good gundam game released in the U.S. so far, plus it actually follows the UC era. I love it! I just wish it had one of the more advanced Gundams (Gundam F-91, V-Gundam) as a secret. Or does it...
  33. Exaptation
    Dec 11, 2002
    9
    This game is really great and the reason that people don't like it is because they put the limitations of the mechs into their response to your controls. Each mech had a variable tolerance for inputing different types of moves. Once you learn the limitations of each mech it is not hard at all to make them do what you want. The downside of the game is the lack of missions to play. The This game is really great and the reason that people don't like it is because they put the limitations of the mechs into their response to your controls. Each mech had a variable tolerance for inputing different types of moves. Once you learn the limitations of each mech it is not hard at all to make them do what you want. The downside of the game is the lack of missions to play. The story mode is great but very brief and not to challenging. The tactic battles are also great fun (I played them till i had S+ ratings for all the missions) but there were only three mission maps. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#21 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
  1. 65
    It's not a recommended purchase for those who aren't fans of the series (and "Gundam Wing" followers are advised to stay well away), but it was never intended to be anything else.
  2. The control can be a pain but the strength of the Gundam story is good enough to struggle through it.
  3. If, however, this is your first introduction to the Gundam series and a solid game is more your goal, you’ll find the gameplay frustrating and the average graphics and sound disappointing.