MVP Baseball 2003 PlayStation 2

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulD.
    Jul 5, 2003
    10
    This is a great game for baseball fans. I guess some people don't know how to throw a strike out if there life was on the line, well i guess thats why they are playing on the playstation, not in real life, Huh.
  2. DanB.
    Jul 1, 2003
    10
    OK...this is definitely the best baseball game on the market. The pitching interface is the best by far...the homerun showdown is awesome...the fielding has a few annoying glitches...but so do most games. Yea its hard to get strikeouts IF YOU DONT KNOW HOW TO PLAY BASEBALL...so all you reviewers stop whining about how hard it is to throw strikeouts and learn to play baseball.
  3. WilliamW.
    Jun 27, 2003
    9
    This game is excellent. One problem are you can't dive. The computer dives and jumps for you. It it not as difficult to strike people out as others may say. The trick is to paint the corners and change speeds. The camera angle from the pitchers mound is fantastic.
  4. ToneP.
    May 24, 2003
    8
    The baserunning drives me nuts at times. For example, the runner does not automatically run on a base hit. This has caused me many runs because sometimes the runner will advance automatically on base hits as they should. Strikeouts are impossible to get.
  5. MikeP.
    May 21, 2003
    10
    This is by far one of the best baseball games I've ever played!!
  6. B.Foster
    May 20, 2003
    7
    Likes: 1. Pitching (cool control, if you don't understand when to throw a curve and when to throw a fastball, then yes strikeouts are impossible (hint, don't throw an inside curve from a rightie to a leftie) 2. Batting is done good, although sometimes it is pretty easy. 3. Like the stealing (again, you can't steal on a 99mph fastball, wait for the slow breaking balls) Likes: 1. Pitching (cool control, if you don't understand when to throw a curve and when to throw a fastball, then yes strikeouts are impossible (hint, don't throw an inside curve from a rightie to a leftie) 2. Batting is done good, although sometimes it is pretty easy. 3. Like the stealing (again, you can't steal on a 99mph fastball, wait for the slow breaking balls) Dislikes: 1. No gold gloves, batting champion..etc awards. Takes the fun out of defense and offense. 2. Franchise mode (what are the 20 milestones that you have to acheive? Overall...good game, but next year will be even better Expand
  7. DavidV.
    May 5, 2003
    6
    I was glad when the triple play series ended hoping for a better gaming tommrow. When i played MVP at first i was amzed at the greatness but the after i reailezed the franchise mode was not up to par, i had to think again. Baserunning can seem akward at times and strikeouts are way to hard to get. The computer diving for you is the most terrible idea a game could ever have. whats the fun I was glad when the triple play series ended hoping for a better gaming tommrow. When i played MVP at first i was amzed at the greatness but the after i reailezed the franchise mode was not up to par, i had to think again. Baserunning can seem akward at times and strikeouts are way to hard to get. The computer diving for you is the most terrible idea a game could ever have. whats the fun in watching the computer diving for you and making a catch, i just don't get it. Also the feilding in this game is unpredicable. I dont think any of these reviewers have played the game to long beacuse none have mentioned 1. if you are perfectly in position for a ball 9 times out of ten the feilder will dive backwards and catch it on a hop 2. sometimes hwen you are in the circle on a fly ball your guy will start spinning 3. throw meter is stupid beacuse it cvauses to many errors. also where are the monthly best player awards and golde gloves that a game should have and how could you not have player of the game awards. Expand
  8. RogerE.
    Apr 15, 2003
    7
    Don't waste your money. Strikeouts are next to impossible. There is no bullpen. Animations repeat and get boring. Unless you just want an arcade game, pass on this one. World Series 2K3 is far better in the strategy area, makes it feel more like the real thing. Bottom line: rent both and make your own comparison.
  9. RickF.
    Mar 24, 2003
    9
    This game is really fun and has great graphics. It's not perfect but what b-ball title is? This is the best buy for your 50 bucks if you just want to play a realistic game.The commentary and presentation are just like you're watching your current game on live television.
  10. JohnS.
    Mar 15, 2003
    9
    I really liked the pitching.

Awards & Rankings

#95 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Game Informer
    93
    The gameplay exceeds any baseball title to date! [Apr 2003, p.83]
  2. GMR Magazine
    70
    A totally new game. Unfortunately, it lacks the depth of the other games here, and therefore won't satisfy hardcore baseball fans. [Apr 2003, p.64]
  3. Play Magazine
    100
    Without question, EA's latest baseball title is our choice for best baseball game for 2003. [Apr 2003, p.70]