Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. The series captures the claustrophobic feel of pack racing beautifully, and that's no small feat. [Oct 2005, p.106]
  2. No NASCAR fan should go another day without experiencing Total Team Control's addictive magic. It's the ultimate simulation racer.
  3. The Total Team Controls add a new level of depth to the series that makes things much more interesting.
  4. 85
    Tiburon did an excellent job of adding substance to a classically narrow genre without butchering the underlying fundamentals of NASCAR racing. But even if team control is great, it will not enhance the casual player's experience on short runs.
  5. 06 earns a lone caution flag: the sense of speed is still stuck in Sunday-driver gear. If EA fixes that and pretties up the graphics a bit more (though the framerate has improved notably), NASCAR 07 will be something really special. [Oct 2005, p.91]
  6. The Total Team control opens a whole new set of doors for the tired franchise and will definitely have old school NASCAR gamers frothing at the mouth for its new, deeper play mechanic.
  7. 85
    With tons of modes, cars, unlockables, plus online play, this disc should keep you busy until your next mullet trim.
  8. Slowly and deliberately, it's transforming competitive driving from a lonely solo sport to one that brims with interaction. It's turning us from mere drivers into owners and managers, off-track decision-makers and career-seekers.
  9. EA has touched on most of the elements of NASCAR. Now it needs to draw them all together and blow the whole thing out. [Oct 2005, p.119]
  10. NASCAR junkies no longer have to live vicariously through the TV, because NASCAR 06: Total Team Control darn near puts them in the driver’s seat themselves.
  11. If you consider yourself a series NASCAR fan, you must own NASCAR 06. This is the game you have been waiting for and offers more game play options than you can handle. Casual racing fans may be confused by the concept and might want to consider this a rental at best.
  12. Electronic Arts is keying on the sport's blocking, defensive strategy, and teamwork with NASCAR 06—the closest to "Madden" car racing can get.
  13. 80
    It may not be the prettiest game to look at, but in its third year of being the exclusive holder of the NASCAR license, EA Sports and Tiburon refuse to rest on past successes.
  14. Team chemistry and prestige are just as important as your personal points standing in NASCAR 06, which makes the whole experience much deeper. [Oct 2005, p.113]
  15. 70
    Cearly, the new team feature needs to be better tuned as do the disappointing visuals. [Oct 2005, p.100]
  16. 65
    It's clogged up with new features and ideas that simply seem gratuitous. The emphasis on driving skill seems to have been diminished, and in its place the Tiburon team appears to have spent the last year asking "what more can we do to add something new to this thing?"
  17. One of the first squad-based racing games we've played, but the novelty soon wears off. The dull tracks are matched by grainy and blocky graphics, with overly sensitive steering too. [PSW]
  18. More niche than ostrich-whispering and not half as exciting - a beautiful rendition of a sport we can't bring ourselves to care about one little bit. [Nov 2005, p.116]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. MikeG.
    Jul 30, 2006
    8
    I think that this game is a lot of fun, wish that you could drive for the teams that you own, like dale jr does, lol. the games not too I think that this game is a lot of fun, wish that you could drive for the teams that you own, like dale jr does, lol. the games not too realistic so my wife can still enjoy, haven't played any recent nascar games since this. But i bet since EA developed it, it could have been better. Full Review »
  2. KevC.
    Jun 3, 2006
    8
    Love the racing game, car damage isn't realistic yet. still waiting on that.. and I would also like to see 43 cars on the track in 2 Love the racing game, car damage isn't realistic yet. still waiting on that.. and I would also like to see 43 cars on the track in 2 player mode.. by the way, were are all the pit crew members on pit road. are they invisible. Otherwise, this is the most played game I have. Full Review »
  3. ChadC.
    Feb 14, 2006
    10
    i think it is fun for the first few seasons, and the team feature is fine. these guys dont like nascar anyway. i owned nascar games on ps1, i think it is fun for the first few seasons, and the team feature is fine. these guys dont like nascar anyway. i owned nascar games on ps1, 2, and pc. from Nascar 97 to nascar 06, and they get better each year. Full Review »