NBA 2K2 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jan 12, 2002
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Buy On
  1. If the game were any more detailed, they would have to include a “Record Shitty Rap Album” mode.
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    The gaming equivalent of a religious experience. [Feb 2002, p.112]
  3. Sure, the graphics aren't what we'd expect from a PS2 title, but the gameplay is what counts, and 2K2 has it.
  4. NBA 2K2 has set the bar for the rest of those basketball titles. No one has even come close to capturing the fundamentals of the game like this series does.
  5. Virtually every aspect of the real NBA game is accurately represented and well implemented to provide a roundball experience that is second to none.
  6. Simply put, NBA 2K2 is the best basketball game on the planet. Although it is not perfect, it does emulate the look, feel, and intensity of NBA basketball.
  7. The best basketball simulation game to date. Everything that can be done on the court can be done equally as well in the game.
  8. 90
    The real star of the game is the stellar A.I. No game rewards you so much for playing smart basketball or punishes you so badly for playing high school ball.
  9. 90
    As I allowed the game to grow on me I began to realize just how completely awesome this game is.
  10. Either too easy or too hard, depending on the setting. You will seethe with frustration on the highest difficulty setting, and easily outscore opponents on the easiest setting. There is no in-between, which makes a great game really frustrating.
  11. When you continually get dunked on, or miss “gimme” jump shots, frustration sets in and you start to wonder if it is me or the game? I am having a lot of fun finding out though.
  12. Game Informer
    88
    NBA 2K2 is money – but I expect more next season. [Mar 2002, p.79]
  13. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    87
    The 2K2 [computer opponents], however, can light it up with more ferocity than a pit bull at a beef jerky convention. [Mar 2002, p.138]
  14. The graphics, the sound, and the street games... Sega knows how to make a winner.
  15. 86
    The Franchise and Season modes offer nearly endless gameplay..., this is the best basketball game to date on the system.
  16. Offers enough graphical flair and gameplay depth to be considered the cream of the current crop of PS2 basketball games.
  17. The best part about 2K2 is without a doubt it’s realism, however that in itself will put some players off. If you aren’t into putting thought into each and every basket you shoot, 2K2 will seem like a slow, methodical bore. But if you’re in the know, the pacing becomes a sweet symphony that is just a few hairs from greatness.
  18. PSM Magazine
    80
    It’s the PS2 basketball game that will best satisfy both hardcore and casual fans. [Feb 2002, p.41]

Awards & Rankings

#99 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. ZiggyStardust
    Aug 13, 2002
    8
    It's definitely the deepest basketball game i've ever played. the graphics a slightly disappointing (they're a little glitchy It's definitely the deepest basketball game i've ever played. the graphics a slightly disappointing (they're a little glitchy or contain incomplete animations at times), but the gameplay is certainly up there. if you're a fan of realistic nba basketball, you couldn't do much better than nba 2k2. for more casual nba fans i recommend nba street instead. i'm quite happy with purchasing both titles though. Full Review »
  2. AndrewH.
    Aug 4, 2002
    8
    Great game, BUT when your passing the ball back in and simply hit 'X' the guy you pass it to might be out of bounds (or backcourt Great game, BUT when your passing the ball back in and simply hit 'X' the guy you pass it to might be out of bounds (or backcourt when running down the court), I wished they'd not pass to them. Other than that, GREAT game. Full Review »
  3. [Anonymous]
    Jun 21, 2002
    5
    Sure, the realism is unbelieveable, the passes, plays and replays are amazing, but if you are not good at basket ball videogames then Sure, the realism is unbelieveable, the passes, plays and replays are amazing, but if you are not good at basket ball videogames then you'd only be playing this game to look at it. Full Review »