Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. The option to equalize the stats of both teams in an online contest stands out as particularly brilliant. Not that most of it isn't already brilliant. Because it is. [Aug 2004, p.100]
  2. An excellent college football game. The controls are spot on. The graphics are solid, and the dynasty mode will keep you playing for a long time.
  3. In all, it felt like the players had a slightly lower center of gravity. This allows not only for a good running back to become extra shifty through better lateral movement (without even having to use the juke button), but it also gives defenders an extra punch to their hits. [July 2004, p.112]
  4. While other games do their damnedest to make first-person football work, NCAA Football 2005 has changed the playing field by tying the college atmosphere into the gameplay, leading to a smart, well-designed sequel.
  5. 100
    When playing in a loud stadium, visiting teams face a rowdily vibrating controller, shaking screen, and players whose lack of composure causes bad plays. If you think you can handle it, you're in for a surpise - the overall effect is huge, really adding to the challenge in key moments like kicking a field goal. [Aug 2004, p.90]
  6. 90
    While NCAA Football 2005 could still use a bit of a graphical overhaul, and the running game still needs some help, the additions of Homefield Advantage and the Matchup Stick really add a lot to the game.
  7. It is far and away the most accurate representation of the sport that we have in gaming.
  8. This is the deepest football game to ever be released on the planet. From players transferring because of a lack of playing time, from your star quarterback cheating on his exams, if you want the most true to life, exciting football game available, NCAA Football 2005 is definitely your choice.
  9. 87
    Home Field Advantage is an inspired idea, the Matchup Stick rocks, and overall the game remains a solid sports title. Don't hesitate buying this if you're a fan of the series, just don't expect a revolution or even much of an evolution from last year's title.
  10. In addition to wedging the usual hundreds of teams, stadiums, and plays into the game, NCAA Football 2005 focuses on what makes college football special: the psychotic fans.
  11. Once again, it's easily the greatest college football game ever made. Once again, it's my new favorite videogame of all time. But despite some really cool additions, NOT once again do I feel entirely wowed by it. Mostly wowed, yes...but not entirely, as I always have been in the past. [Aug 2004, p.88]
  12. By far the best college football game to date. [Aug 2004, p.74]
  13. NCAA's Dynasty is the best "pure videogame" feature in any sports games. Pro franchise modes punish teams who succeed. Here, good play is rewarded with stronger recruiting power. More than any other sports game, NCAA Football plays like an RPG. [Aug 2004, p.18]
  14. The lack of any direct competition seems to be taking its toll on the series as each year it feels like it's slipping ever so slightly in quality.
  15. Sometimes many little things that seem small can add up to make an impact and I believe NCAA has done just that. I am once again impressed EA.
  16. 90
    An ultra in-depth Dynasty Mode and online capabilities will keep you playing until NCAA 2006, or at least until the new Madden comes out.
  17. Definitely a notable improvement over last year's offering and the new Home Field Advantage feature is marvelous, but the recycled visuals and mere handful of other additions may deter those who already own 2004 from purchasing the game.
  18. Honestly, I can pronounce this to be the finest offering for NCAA football ever seen on any home platform.
  19. EA Sports has nailed everything fans love about the college football experience, making it equal to their flagship "Madden."
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. BobB.
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    This is a really great game. The crowd stuff is awesome!
  2. JonathanR.
    Jan 27, 2005
    6
    I am a huge college football fan. I'm also a total Georgia Bulldog fanatic and also a huge fan of NCAA football games. I would love to see more players on the sideline, a real game doesn't have ten players on the sideline with silly expressions on their faces. How about adding different celebrations when you win big rivalry, championship and national championship games. I'm tired of seeing the same celebrations over and over again. Also, change the end zones or the intros during championship games because you can't tell the difference between a reg. season game or a chamionship game. The gatorade dunking of the coach is simply pathetic to say the least. Let the announcers recognize the days the games are being played and comment on that and make them realize what's going on in the game in real time (If you're up by 21 before halftime with the ball, you don't need to make a quick score and it's annoying to hear them say that repeatedly). I have a lot more to say but that's good enough for now. I would love to work easports and work on NCAA at any level. It would be my dream to make this game the best experience possible every year! Full Review »
  3. ChuckC.
    Dec 21, 2004
    9
    Sometimes this game can be really cool. But it takes to long to load and once in a while your players can't catch anything even when they're wide open. But this game is really good. Full Review »