Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
Buy On
  1. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    73
    I like that in 06's franchise mode each NHL team has its own objectives - be the Wings and anything short of Canada's Holy Grail is a disappointment. [Oct 2005, p.114]
  2. Game Informer
    70
    A complete turnaround from last season, and a direction that I hope EA steers clear of in the future. The user should always have control over the most basic gameplay functions. [Sept 2005, p.96]
  3. Pelaaja (Finland)
    70
    Because of the cheap AI, the single player game is a frustrating experience which is too bad, as the rest of the package is pretty good. Salvation comes in the form of the superb multiplayer modes, which are highly addictive and also feature well implemented online player leagues. If not for the cheap AI, NHL 06 might have been EA’s best NHL game in years, but at the end of the day, this years edition won’t convert the fans of “NHL 2K” –series. [Sept 2005, p 72]
  4. Improvements in puck physics means that hard shots can bruise your opponents, while last year's overly aggressive defense has been scaled back to realistic levels.
  5. So why EA decided to ruin things by putting new 'skill' moves (pirouettes, fakeouts, fancy through-the-leg shots and so on) onto the right analogue stick is beyond us. It sounds fine in principle, but the result is closer to "FIFA Street" on ice. [PSW]
  6. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    70
    Near identical gameplay to its 05 counterpart and a more intricate management aspect - if that floats your boat then hop on board. [Nov 2005, p.122]
  7. 65
    The hyper-speed of this game makes it feel like more of an arcade experience than a real hockey simulator. It's still a huge step in the right direction, though.
  8. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    It's nice to see EA's NHL franchise starting to turn a corner, but it still has a ways to go before besting 2K Sports' stellar efforts. [Sept 2005, p.90]
  9. 60
    It's a different style of game than previous versions, one that dumps some of the innovations from earlier titles in favor of crowd-pleasing simplicity.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Jun 3, 2015
    9
    This game is fast. Somehow even faster than NHL 05. Create a player is great in this game. The right analog stick allows you to pull ofThis game is fast. Somehow even faster than NHL 05. Create a player is great in this game. The right analog stick allows you to pull of ridiculous dekes. If you score on one of these, you feel amazing. I also found the game's soundtrack to be my favourite of any EA sports game I have ever played (and I have played many). One flaw is that slow players get destroyed by quick players in this game. Speed really kills here. Full Review »
  2. Kevin
    Nov 13, 2005
    8
    NHL 06 providing fun gameplay for the average fan. While it lacked in some areas, it was indeed worth the $30. The Creation Zone's faces NHL 06 providing fun gameplay for the average fan. While it lacked in some areas, it was indeed worth the $30. The Creation Zone's faces can be odd, since the faces look the same. But the Player Editor is a blessing, since you will have to change a few things. The NHL 94 retro was so-so. no real names, nor the Hartford Whalers. The Franchise was very disapointing this year, as it was the same as last year, heck, last year's sucked. The Gameplay makes this all good. While the scoring is high, and the game maybe hard, it's very fun. It will give you entertainment, and is the best multi-playing hockey game this year. If your for fun gameplay, NHL 06 is your game. Full Review »
  3. KeytonE.
    Nov 10, 2005
    6
    As a long time fan of EA's NHL series, I'm fearful that I may turn into a 2K convert. NHL06 really takes some good steps forward As a long time fan of EA's NHL series, I'm fearful that I may turn into a 2K convert. NHL06 really takes some good steps forward with stick handling and the best player control to date. However, the game has some serious flaws that really hold it back. The crowd animations are absolutely pathetic. They all just sit there like blank faced idiots while you score a highlight reel goal. The create-a-player feature isn't nearly as detailed as it could be. Take a lesson from your own game EA! Tiger Woods 2005 has a much better create-a-player featrure. The difficulty is the one feature that aggrivates me the most, and shows where the programmers really cut corners. The 'difficult' setting is absolutely annoying. All it does is crank up the computers scoring percentage, makes computer players skate faster, and takes away all your high percentage scoring chances. In some games the computer will score on nearly 50% of its shots, while you're lucky to score once in 25. It definitely looks and plays nice, but the drawbacks ruin the experience. Full Review »