• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 28, 2002
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 100
    Like a new year’s line of automobiles, Onimusha 2 has a sleeker look, more bells and whistles, and improved standard features over its predecessor model, "Warlords."
  2. One of the best games of the year. Even before finishing Onimusha 2, I looked forward to playing through it again.
  3. Quite simply, Onimusha 2 is one of the year’s best offerings on the PS2.
  4. 91
    Sure, you won't be spending "Final Fantasy X"-calibur time with it, but it's a good way to kill a dozen or so hours. [Sept 2002, p.30]
  5. The camera has been improved a good deal, although there are still a few times when you’ll be racking your brain and craning your neck to see where your character needs to go.
  6. Visually near-perfect (the opening gave us goose bumps). [27 Sept 2002, p.89]
  7. Thanks to an interesting trading system and the promise of literally hours and hours of extra gameplay-unlocked goodies, an improved system for absorbing and applying souls and perfectly executed graphical and aural treats as so few developers in this industry can really deliver, the game is simply too good to miss.
  8. It’s certainly a great game, but doesn’t break ground in the same way that Onimusha did.
  9. Brutal, bloody and brilliant with a massive body count. Few can match its looks. [GamesMaster]
  10. 89
    Longer, deeper, and more personal than the original, fans of "Warlords," "Resident Evil," and the like have their next great adventure right in front of them.
  11. Early on, Onimusha 2 showed promise and appeared to be the innovative follow-up that it so desperately needed to be. However, as the game went on, and the entertaining gameplay aspects disappeared, my enthusiasm for the game withered. [Sept 2002, p.77]
  12. 87
    An enjoyable, but yet again, hack n’ slash fighting type game, but was balanced enough with the way you had to fight a boss that I didn’t mind the hack n’ slash as much.
  13. The graphics have matured to push the bar higher for what a PS2 game should look like and despite flawed localization and some awkward moments in the voice-acting, it delivers the promise of "more, deeper, better."
  14. As is the problem with most games built with pre-rendered backgrounds, there are going to be a lot of times where the game camera is going to leave you open for cheap shots as you move from one angle to another.
  15. 83
    One of the most beautiful games ever to grace the PS2.
  16. Solid gameplay with plenty of new improvements make Onimusha 2: Samurai's Destiny another fine blade.
  17. 80
    In every sense what a gaming sequel should be: bigger, better, and bolder than the previous incarnation in every almost respect imaginable. With huge steps forward in terms of design, graphics, and gameplay, this should equally delight and entertain fans of the original, as well as newcomers to the trilogy.
  18. Includes almost everything we loved in the first game and takes it all to the next level. [Sept 2002, p.113]
  19. Onimusha 2 may not be as great as it could have been, but it's clearly improved and worth your attention if the idea of samurai hacking up demons from hell sounds good to you. It sure does to me.
  20. Gorgeously drawn and richly stylized, constructed with a mystical flair, Onimusha II is a fantastic sequel to one of the best games of last year. [Aug 2002, p.57]
  21. While a definite step forward in the series, Onimusha 2 doesn't really introduce much that's too remarkably new. [Sept 2002, p.27]
  22. There’s not much here that will entice replayability once the game’s numerous secrets have been uncovered.
  23. 80
    Anyone looking for a great hack-and-slash adventure will be more than satisfied with Onimusha 2. You still have to put up with funky camera angles, but the overall control is more than sufficient to get you though this 10-hour-plus trek.
  24. Part of me is screaming at the lack of analogue support and the frustrating nature of pre-rendered environments. However once you get past that and slaughter your first wave of demons you can’t help but get sucked into the game.
  25. The production values kick demon ass, it's easier to learn (and yet more difficult to master) than the previous game, and it's almost a constant joy to look at.
  26. Has the same drawbacks as its predecessor, including some frustrating camera angles and a relative short main quest.
  27. Dicing up the undead with your oversized Ginsu knife is a helluva lot of fun (if you can live with the occasionally annoying camera angles). [Oct 2002, p.188]
  28. A good sequel... But if you didn’t like the first one, you won’t find much new to like here.
  29. Onimusha 2 avoids the mistake made by the previous title in placing difficult puzzles, often under a time limit, at awkward points in the game.
  30. This time around there is more character interaction, more action, more techniques, and THANKFULLY the game is much longer.
  31. Anyone coming to Onimusha 2 cold will find brilliant beauty, but baffling execution.
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    Still one of my favorite games! Remember playing this all the time and completed it way more times then I can remember. It blew my mind howStill one of my favorite games! Remember playing this all the time and completed it way more times then I can remember. It blew my mind how everything was improved, to the combat, weapons, story and shopping system. Still get my PS2 out to play this today! Full Review »
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    In most respects, Samurai's Destiny is everything Warlords was and more, though I can't help but feel that Warlords' formula has been dilutedIn most respects, Samurai's Destiny is everything Warlords was and more, though I can't help but feel that Warlords' formula has been diluted somewhat. Nevertheless, Samura's Destiny is bigger, has more of everything and is - for the most part - all the better for it. I finished Warlords in 5 hours, this one took me 10. Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    This is a graphically stunning game with it's own style, great character designs, and plenty of pretty scenery. It's also a fun and addictiveThis is a graphically stunning game with it's own style, great character designs, and plenty of pretty scenery. It's also a fun and addictive action game. Full Review »