Onimusha 2: Samurai's Destiny PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 28, 2002
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
Buy On
  1. 80
    In every sense what a gaming sequel should be: bigger, better, and bolder than the previous incarnation in every almost respect imaginable. With huge steps forward in terms of design, graphics, and gameplay, this should equally delight and entertain fans of the original, as well as newcomers to the trilogy.
  2. One of the best games of the year. Even before finishing Onimusha 2, I looked forward to playing through it again.
  3. Brutal, bloody and brilliant with a massive body count. Few can match its looks. [GamesMaster]
  4. Thanks to an interesting trading system and the promise of literally hours and hours of extra gameplay-unlocked goodies, an improved system for absorbing and applying souls and perfectly executed graphical and aural treats as so few developers in this industry can really deliver, the game is simply too good to miss.
  5. 89
    Longer, deeper, and more personal than the original, fans of "Warlords," "Resident Evil," and the like have their next great adventure right in front of them.
  6. 83
    One of the most beautiful games ever to grace the PS2.
  7. Onimusha 2 may not be as great as it could have been, but it's clearly improved and worth your attention if the idea of samurai hacking up demons from hell sounds good to you. It sure does to me.
  8. Has the same drawbacks as its predecessor, including some frustrating camera angles and a relative short main quest.
  9. 100
    Like a new year’s line of automobiles, Onimusha 2 has a sleeker look, more bells and whistles, and improved standard features over its predecessor model, "Warlords."
  10. 80
    Anyone looking for a great hack-and-slash adventure will be more than satisfied with Onimusha 2. You still have to put up with funky camera angles, but the overall control is more than sufficient to get you though this 10-hour-plus trek.
  11. As is the problem with most games built with pre-rendered backgrounds, there are going to be a lot of times where the game camera is going to leave you open for cheap shots as you move from one angle to another.
  12. A good sequel... But if you didn’t like the first one, you won’t find much new to like here.
  13. PSM Magazine
    80
    While a definite step forward in the series, Onimusha 2 doesn't really introduce much that's too remarkably new. [Sept 2002, p.27]
  14. Quite simply, Onimusha 2 is one of the year’s best offerings on the PS2.
  15. It’s certainly a great game, but doesn’t break ground in the same way that Onimusha did.
  16. Game Informer
    88
    Early on, Onimusha 2 showed promise and appeared to be the innovative follow-up that it so desperately needed to be. However, as the game went on, and the entertaining gameplay aspects disappeared, my enthusiasm for the game withered. [Sept 2002, p.77]
  17. netjak
    87
    An enjoyable, but yet again, hack n’ slash fighting type game, but was balanced enough with the way you had to fight a boss that I didn’t mind the hack n’ slash as much.
  18. The graphics have matured to push the bar higher for what a PS2 game should look like and despite flawed localization and some awkward moments in the voice-acting, it delivers the promise of "more, deeper, better."
  19. Part of me is screaming at the lack of analogue support and the frustrating nature of pre-rendered environments. However once you get past that and slaughter your first wave of demons you can’t help but get sucked into the game.
  20. There’s not much here that will entice replayability once the game’s numerous secrets have been uncovered.
  21. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    78
    Dicing up the undead with your oversized Ginsu knife is a helluva lot of fun (if you can live with the occasionally annoying camera angles). [Oct 2002, p.188]
  22. 80
    The production values kick demon ass, it's easier to learn (and yet more difficult to master) than the previous game, and it's almost a constant joy to look at.
  23. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    Includes almost everything we loved in the first game and takes it all to the next level. [Sept 2002, p.113]
  24. Play Magazine
    80
    Gorgeously drawn and richly stylized, constructed with a mystical flair, Onimusha II is a fantastic sequel to one of the best games of last year. [Aug 2002, p.57]
  25. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Visually near-perfect (the opening gave us goose bumps). [27 Sept 2002, p.89]
  26. GameNow
    91
    Sure, you won't be spending "Final Fantasy X"-calibur time with it, but it's a good way to kill a dozen or so hours. [Sept 2002, p.30]
  27. The camera has been improved a good deal, although there are still a few times when you’ll be racking your brain and craning your neck to see where your character needs to go.
  28. Solid gameplay with plenty of new improvements make Onimusha 2: Samurai's Destiny another fine blade.

Awards & Rankings

29
37
#37 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Apr 16, 2017
    8
    Im gonna be focusing only on his flaws, because the good things about this game were already said in my Onimusha: Warlords review, so its aIm gonna be focusing only on his flaws, because the good things about this game were already said in my Onimusha: Warlords review, so its a review more directed to people that already completed the first one.

    It's a good sequel, the combat feels a lil bit better than the first Onimusha, but isn't better than Warlords. Onimusha 2 hasn't many flaws, but those flaws were mean while playing it, and there are four of them.

    1.Bosses: They have 0 technique, doesn't matter if you are god playing this game, the battles of the bosses only consist on doing special attacks with all your weapons, and healing yourself. Okay the bosses from the first part weren't so special, but they have patterns that you could learn and use your technique to counter them. And im not saying the Onimusha 2 bosses were easy (for **** sake Jujudormah it's hard and one of the worst bosses that i ever played on a videogame).

    2.The Escenarios: Okay they are well designed, well connected and there are many of them, but the game force the player to revise them over and over and this is very boring, obviously (SPOILER: I did not find wrong to replace the Mansion from the first Onimusha, but that fact makes it even more tiring: END OF SPOILER).

    3.THE ****ING TRADE MECHANICH: Okay, in Onimusha 2 there are other important characters apart from the main protagonist. You can trade with this characters in order to have rewards like a medicine for example. Until there there's nothing wrong, right? There wouldn't nothing wrong if the game makes you a minimum singal that you CAN PLAY WITH THEM IF YOU TRADE, And i find this very annoying, because i know of this fact while i was finishing the game, and **** i wanted to play with Eiki for example, because anyone that plays Onimusha 2 for the first time wouldn't know of this mechanich.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 10, 2015
    9
    Still one of my favorite games! Remember playing this all the time and completed it way more times then I can remember. It blew my mind howStill one of my favorite games! Remember playing this all the time and completed it way more times then I can remember. It blew my mind how everything was improved, to the combat, weapons, story and shopping system. Still get my PS2 out to play this today! Full Review »
  3. SAV
    Jul 3, 2015
    8
    Seguito di quell'Onimusha che un anno prima tanto successo ottenne su PS2, Onimusha 2: Samurai's Destiny ci riporta nel Giappone feudale,Seguito di quell'Onimusha che un anno prima tanto successo ottenne su PS2, Onimusha 2: Samurai's Destiny ci riporta nel Giappone feudale, questa volta nei panni del giovane guerriero Jubei, intenzionato a sterminare Nobunaga e i demoni Genma per vendicare la morte dei suoi cari. Un titolo bello e divertente quanto il suo predecessore, impreziosito dalla possibilit√† di farsi degli alleati tramite un semplice sistema di regali e dotato di una longevit√† leggermente maggiore. Full Review »