User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 352 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 352
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    The greatest game I've ever played. If you like adventure games or platformers you will forever miss out if you don't play this game. I've played through it 10 times and completed it to 100% 3 times and it never got boring once. Best in the series far and away and that's saying something considering this is one of the premier series in gaming for the last 2 generations.
  2. MikeW.
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    This is the one of the best games of 2004 or i have ever played BUY IT NOW !!! seriously why r u still lookin at the screen get off ur butt and got to the mall and get it now.
  3. DME
    Oct 22, 2010
    10
    [MINOR SPOILERS] The series hits it's climax with this game. It's too bad that the later games in the series arent' as good. It's absolutely LOADED with comedy, including crude, dark, slapstick, and even dry humor. The game mechanics are PERFECT for once. Players can now lock the strafing ability, turn to First-Person mode (FPS fans rejoice) and can customize camera speed and[MINOR SPOILERS] The series hits it's climax with this game. It's too bad that the later games in the series arent' as good. It's absolutely LOADED with comedy, including crude, dark, slapstick, and even dry humor. The game mechanics are PERFECT for once. Players can now lock the strafing ability, turn to First-Person mode (FPS fans rejoice) and can customize camera speed and rotation. The new Gadgetron Max-Out button saves a ton of time (instead of buying ammunition for each and every gun of yours, you can click a single button to max out ALL ammo needed for the appropriate price). There are also lots of bonus (optional) missions, secrets, special bolts, skill points, and more! And there is great replay value, too! When the game is over, the player may choose to rewind time to just before the final boss, or continue to "Challenge Mode" (a feature that was in the older R&C) where you get to keep all of your weapons... except now, you get to UPGRADE them farther! Enemies get more challenging, etc. Multiplayer: This is a brand new feature in R&C. I have not played online (no network adapter) but offline multiplayer was a blast! Up to 4 players can compete in Seige (my favorite), Capture the Flag, and Deathmatch. You go teams on all of them or free-for-all on Deathmatch. There are plenty of multiplayer-exclusive stages and weapons. Overall, this a an amazing game. I admit... blood would be nice... but if you can deal with fantasy violence, then you should definitely look into this. Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    Ratchet & Clank 3 is an awesome game. This game provides entertainment with more wacky weapons, lovely graphics and a hilarious but evil antagonist. The game is just like the other two games, a Platformer with Third Person Shooter elements with the focus on blowing the s*** out of everything you see with ridiculous weapons. The 2 lovable protagonists, Ratchet and Clank are back and readyRatchet & Clank 3 is an awesome game. This game provides entertainment with more wacky weapons, lovely graphics and a hilarious but evil antagonist. The game is just like the other two games, a Platformer with Third Person Shooter elements with the focus on blowing the s*** out of everything you see with ridiculous weapons. The 2 lovable protagonists, Ratchet and Clank are back and ready to kick some butt. The game play has improved from the previous game with new gadgets to try out like the Refractor which in turn, can be used to solve some interesting puzzles. The hypershot gadget is a neat idea because it combines the Dynamo gadget and the Swingshot (from the previous game). A good thing improved with the Hypershot (Swingshot) is that you don't have to manually select the gadget before grabbing onto a Hypershot target and swinging across; you just need to press the fire button (even if you holding a selected weapon) and the Hypershot will automatically latch onto the target. The The combat is definitely fast and frantic and never seems to slow down. The weapons that you have at your disposal are very well designed and pack a punch and these weapons can be upgraded as you use them but unlike Locked and Loaded, these weapons can be upgraded to Level 5. Each weapon upgrade either adds a mod to the weapon or increases their damage and this system cleverly makes you use each gun and experiment with their purposes. The new gadgets called the Tyhrraguise and the Hacker can be used to unlock doors. The Tyhrraguise adds a bit of stealth to the Ratchet & Clank game play in which Ratchet activates the disguise and becomes a Tyhrranoid (one of the main enemies that are loyal to the games main antagonist, Dr Nefarious). You walk up to a Tyhrranoid with the disguise active and try to persuade him to disable a force field or lower a bridge so you can move on. You pursuade the tyhrranoid by completing a quick time event and pressing the right buttons at the right time which are shown on a reel at the bottom of the screen. The way the tyhrranoids communicate with each other is hilarious: They pop, they bobble and they burp at each other! The hacker introduces another minigame where you have to stop these red pieces from getting to the core by destroying them while capturing green pieces to override the lock mechanism to the door or what ever your trying to hack into. This minigame is simple but original. Another thing that is awesome in this game is the inclusion of Qwark Vid Comics which tell the story of Captain Qwarks long lasting battle against Dr Nefarious. The Qwark Vid Comics game play resemble a 2D side scrolling shooter which you play as Captain Qwark and have one simple goal. Get to the end of the level and shoot anything that's in your way. Game play is different to the platform/shooter bits found when playing as Ratchet which is a nice change. These Vid Comics are so fun to play and it's just awesome to see the conflict between Qwark and Nefarious presented by comic book style cutscenes with a funny narrative. The series trademark humor has not been lost in this game with some funny cutscenes to drive the story. In the parts you play as Clank are fun to play with more enthuses on avoiding hazards. Clank has to avoid lasers and enemy security with the the help of Clank's sidekick from the Secret Agent Clank TV series who is a monkey. Using the Banana gun, Clank can shoot banana's and lure the monkey (depending where the banana lands) into swinging across a pipe to step on a button to activate a bridge for Clank to cross or to activate the security alarm and draw the enemies fire away so you can sneak by. This game play mechanic at least gives us something fresh and innovative The main antagonist, Dr Nefarious may seem mischievous and serious at first but then he has a comical side to him and this is reflected by him sometimes overloading (he's a robot) and picking up funny radio waves then being slapped to snap him out of it and then having no memory of the overload! He's so funny and such a great villain. The boss battles are just as epic as ever although they are pretty simple to defeat: Just avoid their attacks and shoot the cr** out of them. The flying missions have been kept to a minimum (thank god) because they were just so boring in the previous game. The frantic game play that this game holds continues with arena based challenges which provide... well a challenge with various hazards to tackle while you fight waves of aggressive enemies which can helpfully, earn you bolts to buy ammo and weapons. Just to mention the graphics: There not a huge step up from the previous game but the environments are quite huge in scope and the character models are nicely rendered. I experienced very little slowdown too despite a lot of things going on at once. One more thing: The music rocks! Ratchet & Clank 3 is a brilliant and well designed platformer/shooter in my own opinion Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    The game has even more content than it's predecessor. It's a very fun platformer/shooter game with a unique upgrade system. The story and game play are very enjoyable and the game has a lot of hiddent content. After you beat the game, you can replay it and upgrade your weapons even further. The game is a very good game I'd recommend for everybody.
  6. May 7, 2012
    10
    The best Ratchet and Clank game in the series to date. It even added Multiplayer back when it wasn't that hot in the PS2. An amazing story/platformer with like-able characters new and old. Great soundtrack and has the best weapons in gaming.
  7. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    My favorite game of all time a great story. Lots of replay value and the comedy is top notch too bad Insomniac made all 4 one and made the characters so hideous.
  8. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    The very best game on the PS2. Absolute classic, good story, great weapons, and just amazing gameplay.

    You cannot ask for a better game. If you have a PS3, go on the PS store and buy the trilogy pack and play this diamond in the rough of gaming.
  9. RomelJ.
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    I've been playing video games for 20 years & UYA is the best game I've ever played period. 1 & 2 were awesome also. Actually going backwards 3, 2, 1 is the order of my favorite games ever.
  10. Chuukatu
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    This is the second greatest game out only to Gta San Andreas.
  11. ChungH.
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    This game rocks.The best game i ever played in my life. Well, not yet. Ratchet and Clank:UYA is not out yet in Canada. but Going Commando rocks and UYA will.
  12. Gordy
    Jul 6, 2005
    8
    Not having played the first 2 this is pretty good...but why the lack of save points???!!!! You have to complete each stage at a time. B.S!
  13. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Ratchet and Clank 3 has a little movie that motivates you to play.
  14. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    It might not in my eyes beat the two games that came before, but it's pretty darn close. I love this game and it's my 3rd favorite game of all time. Thinking of that this game was made in one year and how little hype this game had, it absolutely stuns me how awesome it is.
  15. JohnK.
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome! I am much more of a shooter fan than a platformer, but this game has the best of both and really won me over! I had been eagerly awaiting the much-hyped Killzone (as Playstation 2's version of Halo), when this game came out of left field and blew me away! Whether you are a shooter fan or a platformer fan, you will really enjoy this game. Great graphics, lots of This game is awesome! I am much more of a shooter fan than a platformer, but this game has the best of both and really won me over! I had been eagerly awaiting the much-hyped Killzone (as Playstation 2's version of Halo), when this game came out of left field and blew me away! Whether you are a shooter fan or a platformer fan, you will really enjoy this game. Great graphics, lots of fun weapons and vehicles, and on-line multiplayer play! This game really is a cartoon-style Halo! (And that is the highest praise I can give to a game of this type!) Bottom line-- BUY THIS GAME-- YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! Collapse
  16. ThiloH.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    I had the pleasure to play a beta version of this game in the Insomniac Offices and it simply rules. I cannot wait to get my hands on this one. Best $40 you are going to spend this year.
  17. GazaP.
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    It is a brill game for the first to have multiplayer it is fun i would highly recommmend this game to anyone who enjoys adventure games!
  18. TheDude
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    This is a brilliant game. You can't go wrong. Very much overlooked with all these other games coming out around the same time (San Andreas, Half-Life 2) but I played this the most. Shame it's too easy and especially those platinum bolts are often in plain sight. Insomniac must think of their fans and not 10-year olds who also wan to get all platinum bolts. It's an excellent This is a brilliant game. You can't go wrong. Very much overlooked with all these other games coming out around the same time (San Andreas, Half-Life 2) but I played this the most. Shame it's too easy and especially those platinum bolts are often in plain sight. Insomniac must think of their fans and not 10-year olds who also wan to get all platinum bolts. It's an excellent game but doesn't beat R&C1 or 2. Still a 10, perfect. Expand
  19. MateusC.
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    The techinics, textures, frame rate, all is perfect.
  20. fahrenheitfrenzy
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    A perfect game with both shooting and platforming in singleplayer AND multiplayer. buy this now!!
  21. AndrewJ.
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    Ratchet and Clank: Up Your Arsenal is the best Ratchet and Clank game for the PS2 that I have ever played.
  22. NickA.
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played!!! It's fun exciting,and intresting. It's worth every penny!!!
  23. GaryB.
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    This is the most purely fun game ever made, hands down. The person who wrote that it doesn't deserve above a 9 because it's a platformer has no idea of how good the game is. It's a genre-bending action game with platforming elements, but most importantly it's fun, deep, and has interesting characters. In my opinion, GTA doesn't deserve the high scores it gets and This is the most purely fun game ever made, hands down. The person who wrote that it doesn't deserve above a 9 because it's a platformer has no idea of how good the game is. It's a genre-bending action game with platforming elements, but most importantly it's fun, deep, and has interesting characters. In my opinion, GTA doesn't deserve the high scores it gets and I'm very skeptical about those magazines that give those games 9s or 10s in graphics... or any other department really. And he shouldn't down on OPM, they write excellent reviews. This game is a 10, because it is without flaw. So stop complaining about the game being a "platformer" like that's a 4 letter word and just play it. Expand
  24. Hades
    Nov 7, 2004
    8
    This is a good game overall and I am walking into it having NOT played the previous installments but I HAD played both Jak 1 and Jak 2 before playing this. Overall this game is quite fun and very enjoyable, but as far as it being the second coming as these reviews would have you think, it still isn't ~that~ good. Definitely a well-produced game with some great gameplay elements This is a good game overall and I am walking into it having NOT played the previous installments but I HAD played both Jak 1 and Jak 2 before playing this. Overall this game is quite fun and very enjoyable, but as far as it being the second coming as these reviews would have you think, it still isn't ~that~ good. Definitely a well-produced game with some great gameplay elements (online is good too, but a little slow to find games..) the graphics are great and the sfx are awesome. The music, however, kind of lurks in the kiddy/generic range. Also, the characters and story are strictly flat, instead you'll just want to get to the next amazing looking locale to blow up more finely animated enemies. Overall a good game, but not as great as all these reviews make it out to be. Expand
  25. GeorgiaF.
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    Greatest game ever. I got an early copy because I work at a video game store, and I played it non-stop for 15 hours. It is the greatest game ever.
  26. TylerM.
    Jan 16, 2005
    9
    This game is really good beside the level crash site its dumb BECAUSE i cant beat it thats all bye.
  27. GerardoR.
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    The best game ever.
  28. ErnieVonK.
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    Awesome. its a sweet game with BEAUTIFUL graphics, WAY better than going commando or the original. (i have beaten both). The only problem is its too short. it can be kicked in about 15 hours, but Challenge mode is Better than the regular game.
  29. NintendoPSBox
    Feb 5, 2005
    10
    Phenomenal game. Excellent graphics, lush gameplay, great multiplayer and single player. Could've done with some multiplayer bots though.
  30. JacobL.
    Feb 8, 2005
    10
    This game rocks and im a champion at it and you guys rock 2!!!!!
  31. ApocalyseBrown
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    I rarely give a ten score but for shear gameplay and fun its fantastic. Now with multi-player and online play its the best action-adventure yet. What you waiting for its 15quid new now, a rare classic.
  32. RatchetFan
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    The flying, trophies, and new vehicles in the third game blow all other games in the universe so hard, it hurts all their great great grandmas! anyways, i still have an all over feeling that the fourth is gonna be better in some impossible way... dont know why, but i do.
  33. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    If you were hooked up to a lie detector and said Going Commando was pretty good, it would blow up. 10 without a question.
  34. EwanM
    Mar 24, 2009
    10
    I had to choose between a p or 10, and I went for 10. The best Ratchet and Clank out there, closely followed by it's first PS2 brother.
  35. MindoM.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    World's best game!!!!!
  36. JeremyG.
    Nov 21, 2004
    9
    I was disappointed in the first few levels of this game - it seemed very linear and generic. But as the game introduced cooler gadgets (like the infector and deployable turrets), upgrading, and side missions, it really became addictive. The game cleverly adds replay value to missions you've already beaten by offering $ rewards and weapons upgrades. The multiplayer is a blast, BUT I was disappointed in the first few levels of this game - it seemed very linear and generic. But as the game introduced cooler gadgets (like the infector and deployable turrets), upgrading, and side missions, it really became addictive. The game cleverly adds replay value to missions you've already beaten by offering $ rewards and weapons upgrades. The multiplayer is a blast, BUT only if you have at least 4 people playing. The maps can be pretty dull if you only have 2 people playing. One of the coolest aspects of the online multiplayer is the ability to play splitscreen with a friend online. It brings the fun of splitscreen gaming and online multiplayer together and is really enjoyable. One criticism I have for the game is that I was confused by the save system. The game isn't really clear on what progress is saved and when. But now I'm pretty sure checkpoints save most of your progress. Ratchet and Clank 3 gives you a lot of fun for your gaming buck. Expand
  37. A.Person
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    this game is all around perfect. The graphics, sound effects, and background. And unlike some games, you can walk wherver you like! If you don't play this game, I'll turn you into a duck with the quackanator!!
  38. RickG.
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    This is an awsome game except Courtney Gears... she's stupid.
  39. JaredH.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    An awesome single player experience and deep multi-player options -- it's like two games for the price of one! And playing online is FREE! (Except for broadband IP connection costs, but you can't blame the game for that..)
  40. SergeiG.
    Dec 27, 2004
    8
    Yearly produce games suffers from short story and a very mission driven game kinda like xbox games like splinter cell, rainbow six, ghost recon, new maps to explore the area and then finish the game feeling empty. dont get me wrong the games i mention is fairly enjoyable but dont have the quality of game that was well-thought to have a strong feeling of ( yes ive finish the game and itYearly produce games suffers from short story and a very mission driven game kinda like xbox games like splinter cell, rainbow six, ghost recon, new maps to explore the area and then finish the game feeling empty. dont get me wrong the games i mention is fairly enjoyable but dont have the quality of game that was well-thought to have a strong feeling of ( yes ive finish the game and it feel great) it felt empty when you accomplish the game. Expand
  41. AaronA.
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    This game is one of the best i've ever played. It has an awesome story mode with loads of upgrades for unusual weapons. Plus the online mode is a great addition to this game.
  42. MichaelM.
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    Insomniac games have really out done themselves on this one. First there was R.C.1, which I thought was a huge success. Then Ratchet and Clank 2 came out and the prayers of R.C.1 gamers were answered many, of my friends talked about a second game and all of it's possibilities but when it came out, again everyone was pleased. When I caught wind of R.C.3 though, I had a bad feeling Insomniac games have really out done themselves on this one. First there was R.C.1, which I thought was a huge success. Then Ratchet and Clank 2 came out and the prayers of R.C.1 gamers were answered many, of my friends talked about a second game and all of it's possibilities but when it came out, again everyone was pleased. When I caught wind of R.C.3 though, I had a bad feeling that this was just going to be one of those horrible sequels that are trying to imitate the first game(s). Boy was I wrong, R.C.3 is the best Ratchet and clank game in the series. One thing that impressed most was the on/offline multi-player, this was new turf for Insomniac games but they pulled it off nicely. Expand
  43. FrankZ.
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    wow, this game is great it my favorit game so far im tring to get deathlock.
  44. JonnyBoy
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    Great but not as great a Ratchet and Clank Going Commando.
  45. ConstantineH.
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best Ratchet and Clank games ever! If you loved the first and second one you will definitely love this one. The game has loads of weapons and very fun when you get the Ryno 3 gun and when you have the gun at max power you evaporate your enemies like the ray beams on War of The Worlds. This is an excellent game!
  46. WilliamF
    Aug 23, 2008
    10
    My favourite Ratchet and Clank. A brilliant combination of shooting and platforming filled with humour and fun.
  47. AceHardlight
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome!!!!! The only thing I don't like is when you want to get perfect you need to beat Qwark's record in the vid comics but who cares? It's still a perfect 10.
  48. JoeD.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    Amazing.
  49. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Nov 26, 2004
    10
    This is like Going Commando but bigger, better, funner, funnier, and an even larger arsenal of weapons of mass destruction. There is even vehicles except the ship combat that luckily got scraped there's fun side missions a very entertaining plot (it's a generic one but it's entertaining for it's great humor). Also the nostalgic 2D side srolling vid-comics which are This is like Going Commando but bigger, better, funner, funnier, and an even larger arsenal of weapons of mass destruction. There is even vehicles except the ship combat that luckily got scraped there's fun side missions a very entertaining plot (it's a generic one but it's entertaining for it's great humor). Also the nostalgic 2D side srolling vid-comics which are simply pure old skool fun. Yet the biggest thing about this platformer is THE MULTIPLAYER!!! But there are two major flaws with the game; 1. If you go through the main story and skip the side stuff if is a pretty short game but it contains hours of fun if you fully upgrade the weapons and complete all the side-missions and all it is a long game 2. Some weapons feel too similar to those in previous games like the first weapon you get the Shock Cannon which is like the Megarocket Cannon. Oh and Clank gets a banana gun you have to give it props for that. Expand
  50. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Although R+C 2 is the best of the first three, this is'nt too far behind! The storyline is the best of the first three, the weapons and armour are phenomenal and everything else is great about it. Buy it, if you can find a copy somewhere!
  51. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Slick combination of the 3rd person shooter and platforming genre, Up Your Arsenal features a humorous, yet intriguing storyline, less complex, yet diverse gameplay, and perfect graphics.
  52. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    The R&C series steps up a gear to create a game that's more funny, addictive and character-focused than any other title in the series. As is standard for the series, the weapons are unique, inventive and above all crazy. The characters in the game are a mix of many old favorites (Qwark, Al) and some new additions (Sasha, Galactic Rangers). The levels vary from lush jungles to movie sets toThe R&C series steps up a gear to create a game that's more funny, addictive and character-focused than any other title in the series. As is standard for the series, the weapons are unique, inventive and above all crazy. The characters in the game are a mix of many old favorites (Qwark, Al) and some new additions (Sasha, Galactic Rangers). The levels vary from lush jungles to movie sets to icy plains and all look stunning. Controls are tight, making the platform sections a joy to play through. Guns and armor can be upgraded many times, giving replay value. The story is the best yet, thanks in part to Dr. Nefarious. The two previous games lacked an entertaining yet threatening villain and Nefarious perfectly fits this role. The humor is great with Qwark, Nefarious and the Galactic Rangers providing the best lines. This is the most complete and satisfying R&C and is one of the best games on the PS2. Expand
  53. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    One of my favourite games of all time.
  54. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    It takes platformers to new heights. But its not just a platformer. With just one switch of a button you have the option to play this game like a first-person shooter. Theres no going back. You simply have to play this sometime.
  55. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    The best action/platformer you can get. Improves upon its predecessors in every way. The story is engaging, the combat is satisfying and there is much replayability. Multiplayer, too? Heck yeah. You are missing out if you don't try this masterpiece.
  56. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    I remember eagerly awaiting this game...and then finally receiving it for my birthday. One of the absolute BEST birthday gifts I have ever received! By FAR one of the best games EVER made! This game surpasses any other on the console in its day in mu opinion. The game looked great, played great, felt great, sounded great, EVERYTHING about it was perfect and flawless! Humorous as ever, andI remember eagerly awaiting this game...and then finally receiving it for my birthday. One of the absolute BEST birthday gifts I have ever received! By FAR one of the best games EVER made! This game surpasses any other on the console in its day in mu opinion. The game looked great, played great, felt great, sounded great, EVERYTHING about it was perfect and flawless! Humorous as ever, and engaging! I never wanted to stop playing! This was one of the first games that I played over and over again. So much fun! The online was great too! Expand
  57. May 24, 2012
    10
    This is one of my all time favorite games! I played through it so, so many times. The campain is around 40 hours if you want everything and the muiltplayer is the best in the series.
  58. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    This chapter of the saga is proof that other shooters have much to envy. 3 is really the perfect number. This is one of the best games ever released on Playstation. MASTERPIECE!
  59. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    THE best ratchet and clank on Playstation 2. A mixture of excellent gameplay tweaks and new activities make the third one easily the strongest game in the series and one of the best games ever. Up your arsenal entertains you with great humor, gameplay, music, story.... Truly a masterpiece.
  60. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    The best game ever made! Move over call of duty, mario, zelda,grand theft auto, halo. this game is the definition of entertainment!
  61. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    in many ways a good ratchet and clank game probably the best sharing it's place with a crack in time maybe even better.
    weapons are great no bad things to say about them.
    gadjets are okay armor sets are awesome as well game is long enough and the story is well worked out characters development is awesome this game changed the ratchet and clank series a lot captain qwuark becoming a
    in many ways a good ratchet and clank game probably the best sharing it's place with a crack in time maybe even better.
    weapons are great no bad things to say about them.
    gadjets are okay
    armor sets are awesome as well
    game is long enough and the story is well worked out
    characters development is awesome this game changed the ratchet and clank series a lot captain qwuark becoming a friend of ratchet and clank made the series much better.
    there are a lot of different characters in this game with their own personality
    the most famous villian from the ratchet series is in this game doctor nefarious
    so in short a very good game that you must have i've you like platforms or the ratchet and clank series
    Expand
  62. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    Out of the three, this is probably the funnest game in the series. I wouldn't know how much fun an adult would have, but I can guess it should still be pretty darn epic!
  63. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    I don't have to explain why this is a good game... dgljdfhugsadlfzkjbvzifdfkjgfdjkfdfdkjfdkjfgjkfdjjkjgkjgjkjbhdifl;uvbgiludfh;lkhf
  64. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    This game is an absolute gem. It's fun, and tells a great story with great humour. If you love platformers, action-adventure or 3rd person shooters, you owe it to yourself to play this game. While veterans of the series might find it a little less challenging than the second and first games, newcomers will find lots of challenge in the main story, with challenge mode further adding replayThis game is an absolute gem. It's fun, and tells a great story with great humour. If you love platformers, action-adventure or 3rd person shooters, you owe it to yourself to play this game. While veterans of the series might find it a little less challenging than the second and first games, newcomers will find lots of challenge in the main story, with challenge mode further adding replay value. speaking of replay value, this game has a ton of it, with titanium bolts to collect, skill points to achieve and weapons to upgrade, completionists will get around 25-40 hours with this game as more than one playthrough is required. Expand
  65. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Simply put, my favourite game of all time. Everything about it is amazing, the gameplay, the graphics, the writing is all superb. This game does not get old, I have beaten it 25 times and it is still enjoyable. GO AND BUY THIS GAME.
  66. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    It's a Masterpiece, a must play, probably the best Ratchet & Clank for PS2. Now i have it for PS3 (because i have the Ratchet & Clank HD Trilogy) and still amazes me.
  67. Sep 4, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My favourite game because it has all that a good game needs i love it soooooooooooooooooooo much. The bosses are fun and hard expacially Dr. Neferious Expand
  68. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    I bought this game at the age of four and it was one of the first games I completed. Over the years of playing this game I cannot find a game better than this

    Story-A
    Gameplay-A*
    Platforming-B

    Oh and you get a gun that turns enemies into ducks!
  69. Oct 8, 2014
    10
    Best game ever. It have great gameplay, graphics and audio. I complete it more than 10 times, and that's my first PS2 game. For Ratchet and Clank i buyed the PS3.
  70. Jun 10, 2015
    9
    I'll do a much longer, Fanboy-ish review later, but in short, this game is really good. It is not as good as the second game for me, but it all goes down to opinion. It is still a fantastic game, and it should definitely be noted in the best games of all time.
  71. Jun 30, 2015
    10
    Probably the best game of my childhood. Words cannot describe. Replayed this when the PS3 remastered version came out and it still was one of the best games ever made.

    10/10
  72. Feb 23, 2015
    9
    There is so much customization in this game! I love it! This was the only Ratchet and Clank game that I played on the PS2, but I had so much fun with it! I wish I still had my PS2 so I could relive playing this game.
  73. Oct 12, 2015
    9
    For what the game is mainly all about, (platforming), it excels at it and a whole lot more. From top to bottom, its a very humorous game to play for everyone
  74. Jan 6, 2016
    9
    This is the game that put the series of Ratchet and Clank truly on the map. More enemies, more planets, more weapons, more characters, more story, Ratchet and Clank 3 screams more. With an array of innovations, including multiplayer game modes, Ratchet and Clank 3 serves as the overwhelmingly perfect finale to the PS2 trilogy.
  75. Aug 10, 2015
    9
    Ratchet and Clank, there is no game more fun than this. Up your Arsenal is one of the best from this saga. The story os good. The gamplay is perfect, the guns are awsome, the levels are perfect, simply one of the best ratchets and clank games.
  76. Oct 4, 2015
    8
    Que recuerdos me trae este juego , Tiene buenos gráficos, historia, y armas. Aunque es un juego, lo que se diría, antiguo a que un seguro que muchos niños ( o no tanto niños ) disfrutarían mas con Ratchet & Clank 3 , que muchos juegos actuales .
  77. Nov 4, 2016
    10
    Ratchet and Clank:Up Your Arsenal refines the formula established by Going Commando and adds several new features including an online multiplayer mode. The new additions include a first person mode, mission-based "Galactic Ranger" sections, an Arena with both platforming and combat gauntlets. Speaking of combat, the weapon line up in this game is arguably the best in the series, withRatchet and Clank:Up Your Arsenal refines the formula established by Going Commando and adds several new features including an online multiplayer mode. The new additions include a first person mode, mission-based "Galactic Ranger" sections, an Arena with both platforming and combat gauntlets. Speaking of combat, the weapon line up in this game is arguably the best in the series, with Re-designed weapons from the first and second game, as well as some of the best weapons from the second game (see Bouncer, Miniturret Glove, Shield Charger, Plasma Coil) and some interesting additions such as the Plasma Whip. There are also brand new "Qwark Vid-comics" which are miniature 2-D platforming challenges that detail both Qwarks backstory as well as justifying Dr. Nefarious' plan. Sticking with Dr. Nefarious, he, his butler Lawrence (and Captain Qwark) have great chemistry, backed up by solid writing and great voice work. The game doesnt take itself seriously, simply aiming to provide the player with great gameplay and a hilarious story, which the game achieves with flying colours. The soundtrack is a mix between the Techno Break-beat tunes of the first game and the more orchestral influence of the second game. Last but not least the gameplay offers excellent controls, fluid gameplay, great graphics and a rock-steady 60fps. An overall excellent single player campaign with a solid (although not entirely original by todays standards) multiplayer component featuring basic Deathmatch/Capture the Flag modes. An excellent game, and a PS2 classic. Expand
  78. Apr 16, 2016
    9
    this game is really good although it is a were the **** do i suppost to go this is the kind of game but its really fun in other words you should get this game is you are good at were the **** do i go games
  79. Mar 13, 2016
    10
    Pretty hilarious, this game is one of the best ps2 releases to come, my favourite is tools of destruction though, good job insomniac. very good
  80. Mar 24, 2017
    10
    One of the true great games that emerged from the PS2 era. It's story line offers enough flesh to to keep the game player stimulated and it's vast variety of weaponry and power ups make the game never exhaust it's surprise factor. But, most importantly, it's tons of fun.
  81. Jul 3, 2016
    10
    I spent hours on this amazing masterpiece which is the best Ratchet & Clank game of all time. The story is great and the controls are good. I love this game and you should play this amazing masterpiece as well.
  82. Jul 30, 2016
    10
    My first ratchet and clank game and still my favourite ps2 game ever, the over the top weapons, humour, sick soundtrack, and many planets to explore, even a damn fun multiplayer
  83. Feb 9, 2017
    9
    For the longest time, my favorite game was this. Ratchet and Clank: Up Your Arsenal. I beat it over and over until I 100 percented the game, then continued to beat it over and over because I was on a complete power trip with the strongest armor, maxed health, and every weapon on max level, and decimating everything was pure unadulterated joy. But what exactly made Up Your Arsenal soFor the longest time, my favorite game was this. Ratchet and Clank: Up Your Arsenal. I beat it over and over until I 100 percented the game, then continued to beat it over and over because I was on a complete power trip with the strongest armor, maxed health, and every weapon on max level, and decimating everything was pure unadulterated joy. But what exactly made Up Your Arsenal so perfect back then, and what keeps it so good now? I'm gonna take a look at that with this review. Up Your Arsenal does some things better than Going Commando, and it's also missing some things that Going Commando had that I wish it had kept. To start things off, it's feels a lot more polished than the previous two games in the original PS2 trilogy, and I tribute that to a higher level of detail, a perfected lighting engine, a slightly upgraded character models. Everything just looks better. The soundtrack this time around is really making an effort to get you pumped to blow things up, but it also has a little bit more of a dramatic feel to it, to reflect what feels like higher stakes. In reality, the stakes are about at the same level as the original, but you care more about what's happening to the galaxy around you because you get to connect to more of it through the characters, which Insomniac really seemed to put a lot of focus on in this game. In UYA, you have a hub world in the form of the Phoenix, where you get missions from, and can interact with your pals in the Q-Force. It is entirely composed of characters that you talked to like, once in the first game, and then never saw again. This game brings them back, and gives them a bigger role. Flawless writing and top tier voice acting makes each member memorable, and you come to feel like your an important part of a team of professionals and there's a sense of gratification in that. And it makes sense, seeing as this time around, Ratchet is at a higher value to his allies. He's saved two galaxies now, at this point, he and Clank have made names for themselves. Ratchet is now a sergeant in the galactic military and dating the president's daughter. And yes, this game is somewhat military themed. You will be fighting large scale battles with the galactic rangers. This game is a lot more combat heavy, and the RPG mechanics introduced in R&C2 have been fine tuned to fit it. Ratchet's nano-tech leveling system has been tweaked to function in percents now, so that damage reduction with armor can actually be measured in a way that makes sense. And the number of times our weapons can upgrade has been increased. You can now upgrade a weapon four times, the first three awarding you new mods, raising the power levels little by little, and then the fourth drastically increasing the power and destruction in an instant. And yes, mega weapons still exist. And they can also be upgraded multiple times now. As a result, in this game, your weapons have the potential to become far more deadly and destructive than the puny little pea shooters you had in Going Commando, the best of which return for free if you gave a GC save file btw, and have been given the new upgrade system treatment as well. You will become overpowered. And it will be amazing. Mowing down all enemies that cross your path with merciless devastation while the army you command and that of the enemy's fight around you in a glorious, chaotic battlefield. Also at your disposal are two vehicles: the Turbo Slider and Hovership. These sections are fun enough, and they don't overstay their welcome. There are optional things you can do to get more bolts as well. Including galactic ranger battles, and arena battles which make a return. I should also mention the Qwark vid comics that become optional on a challenge mode playthrough, but are mandatory on your first. In all honesty, they can be fun if you're in the mood, but most of the time they're just a roadblock when I just wanna get back to blowing stuff up as Ratchet. The comics themselves are 2D platforming segments where you play as Captain Qwark. They don't show up too often though, thankfully. Platforming does still exist for Ratchet too, so don't worry, it is still within the genre. Despite all the fast paced adrenaline pumped action, the game still has it's drawbacks that honestly make it fall below Going Commando in my eyes. You see, the game gives you the option to upgrade your ship, but all the changes are purely aesthetic, To me, the feature feels wasted because in GC, you could trick out your ride for epic space battles. But here, those battles are absent. And where in the last game the platinum bolts bought you mods for your weapons, since the upgrade system has mods taken care of, they now buy you... skins. I also wish the arena level was more fleshed out. These drawbacks aside, UYA is still a great game, from reclaiming your home planet from an alien invasion in the beginning, all the way to an epic final battle where armies clash at the end. UYA is BAD ASS. Oh. And Neffy Expand
  84. Jun 21, 2017
    9
    While I consider Going Commando better, Ratchet and Clank: Up Your Arsenal is quite fantastic and once again proves how such a short development and staying creative to the formula by refinement and improving can really make an experience better. UYA adds a mix of new and old guns, plays off the game's universe creatively like callbacks to previous characters and using the memory cardWhile I consider Going Commando better, Ratchet and Clank: Up Your Arsenal is quite fantastic and once again proves how such a short development and staying creative to the formula by refinement and improving can really make an experience better. UYA adds a mix of new and old guns, plays off the game's universe creatively like callbacks to previous characters and using the memory card system to rewards fans for their dedication to the series that is creative. Dr. Nefarious is a very goofy but far more intimidating villain and going back to some of the original RAC worlds like Rilgar and Kerwan with a better remix version of those themes were very wonderful. The Rangers are quirky and really play a parody on the modern military shooter. Coupled with the humor that the series had done since the first game and it stays consistent where it never feels old. Difficulty is better addressed in this over GC, but the power of the guns in later runs make it an absolute cakewalk. It also has the same feeling of GC, which isn't a bad thing but a common issue the series would start to face is franchise fatigue and not as compelling changes to the formula. That being said, you'd be hard pressed to find anything to fault UYA that some go back and forth on whether they like GC or this entry more. Expand
  85. Aug 3, 2017
    9
    Probably the best game from the original trilogy. It's basically Going Commando with awesome story and great weapons. Completed the challenge mode 3 times and don't regret it!

Awards & Rankings

4
5
#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
10
#10 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. An enjoyable experience worthy of the Ratchet name...even if we're hoping the next iteration of the series pushes the envelope instead of merely experimenting.
  2. One of the best of its genre, of that there is no doubt. But is it really acceptable to release a game that's so similar to the previous two that it would take the most devoted fan to spot the difference at first glance?
  3. With a sublime mix of a humorous storyline, fantastic weaponry, some pure comedy moments, and some amazingly solid platforming sections, there's very little to criticise in Ratchet and Clank 3.