Red Dead Revolver PlayStation 2

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
Buy On
  1. One of the best western style games ever.
  2. AceGamez
    80
    There is a surprisingly fun multiplayer mode for up to four players to shoot it out or have a duel.
  3. The cheroots are really the only things missing.
  4. The game is enjoyable to play through, even if the action can be competitive and the game isn’t as polished as it could’ve been.
  5. Red Dead's venomous cocktail of sassy action, swish visuals and sharp scenarios make it a fresh and ballsy alternative to most other third-person console blasters currently roaming the paddock.
  6. Edge Magazine
    80
    Gameplay purists may scowl, but Read Dead Revolver is a triumph for beautifully observed atmospherics, characterisation and slapstick set-pieces you cannot fail to enjoy. [June 2004, p.100]
  7. The problematic A.I. in Red Dead Revolver is the game’s biggest disadvantage.
  8. Game Informer
    80
    Thematically, developer Rockstar San Diego has hit the nail right on the head. You really do feel like the toughest cowboy to ever step foot in the west. [June 2004, p.124]
  9. Had the developers of Red Dead Revolver paid as much attention to mining classic video game control as they did to beloved movie scenes, they might have had a perfect game on their hands. As it is, Red Dead Revolver is a damn fine game.
  10. It's a love letter to Western fans that also happens to be exceedingly entertaining for the everyman gamer.
  11. 90
    A game that finally does the Western action genre some tough justice.
  12. Not as deep as "Manhunt" or "GTA" but some of the best fun you'll have with a bottle of firewater and some very old guns. [GamesMaster]
  13. A fantastic game in a genre that is, sadly, rarely tapped. Its single player mode is more than worth the money, unfortunately the multiplayer modes do little to add to the game.
  14. This game is all about style. And for anyone who’s even remotely a fan of the classic western genre, it’s a must have.
  15. Show-offs can even stealthily duck behind cover and shoot at foes’ feet to make ’em jig like Michael Flatley sans Ritalin.
  16. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    Wild West shooter that's like a cool breeze in Death Valley. Yeehaw! [Jan 2007, p.106]
  17. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    It may not be the deepest (or longest) PS2 shooter, but it's definitely one of the most entertaining. [July 2004, p.98]
  18. The game’s visual style is excellent. Red Dead Revolver very accurately represents the West...Technically, the game doesn’t fare as well. The frame-rate drops a bit too often on PS2 and there are a number of collision detection problems.
  19. Play Magazine
    83
    Seldom have I been so invested in an overal premise; and what beter than a down-and-dirty Western? [June 2004, p.54]
  20. Has a strong, coherent storyline that whisks Red from novice gunslinger to competent bounty hunter in what proves to be the mother of all shooting practice games.
  21. Although there’s no denying that Western fans will appreciate the experience more then others, the truth is that the level of style, inspired design and gritty atmosphere will likely please those looking for a good, straightforward action romp.
  22. When one level plays like the best idea ever and the next feels like turning up to work after five years on the job, you know that some padding has been done. This is a shame because it's obvious that Red Dead Revolver could have been a classic.
  23. The pacing, boss designs and core gameplay are pick up and play easy, but with all the unlockable goodies doled out for replaying the game and finishing up levels with a dead aim and speedy trigger finger offer enough for those perfectionists to get the most out of the game.
  24. The best in a limited line of Western shooters.

Awards & Rankings

#47 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#6 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. SamN.
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    Wow.
  2. KevinG.
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    I am not a "shooter" game player, but I had to have this one! The old west type shootouts, quickdraws and scenery are the main reasons I I am not a "shooter" game player, but I had to have this one! The old west type shootouts, quickdraws and scenery are the main reasons I bought this. I can't stop playing it. Full Review »
  3. Oct 1, 2015
    8
    There are way too little wild west games on the PS2. In fact I only know 2 games worth to mention: Gun (2005) and Red Dead Revolver.

    They
    There are way too little wild west games on the PS2. In fact I only know 2 games worth to mention: Gun (2005) and Red Dead Revolver.

    They are both good games. The biggest difference between them is that Gun offers a free roaming map while RDR is strictly a story mode game and you move from one level to the next. There is the town Brimstone, where you can wander around a bit (and listen to the spaghetti western music) and start your next mission, but there are no side missions and you can't ride a horse (you can only ride a horse in certain missions).

    Another difference between these two excellent games is that RDR has a multi player mode which is fun, but the areas are really small. The only area i like is the one in the fort. Gun lacks a multi player mode.

    Both games capture the wild west feeling very good and the feeling and sound of the shooting is very satisfying. I recommend both games, although the free roaming aspect makes me love Gun more than RDR.

    I rate Red Dead Revolver 8 out of 10.
    Full Review »