User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 786 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 786

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DillanN.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite game. If you dont have it get it. Trust me it is worth it.
  2. GatsbyJ.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    -I'm on the side of those who think this game is near-perfect. And I have no personal bias in favor of the Resident Evil series, because before I played this game it'd been several months since I had last touched my PS2. But I remembered seeing the Gamecube commercials for this game and thought it looked really good. So I tried it out an LOVED IT. -The graphics still amaze me, -I'm on the side of those who think this game is near-perfect. And I have no personal bias in favor of the Resident Evil series, because before I played this game it'd been several months since I had last touched my PS2. But I remembered seeing the Gamecube commercials for this game and thought it looked really good. So I tried it out an LOVED IT. -The graphics still amaze me, and I think it has some of the best character models and backgrounds on the PS2. The atmosphere is really well-realized: dark, creepy, and best of all, grimy. -The sound was memorable in that subtle sort of way: it's scary when it needs to be, but for the most part the game is silent and uses sound effects to get the mood set. -The characters are hollow but fun to watch on screen. The story is standard Resident Evil nonsense: anyone who plays the series for the story has probably had their brain eaten by zombies. -But the gameplay is what it's all about. The game is fun from beginning to end. The weapons are all great; there's not an over-abundance of ammo lying around so it's challenging. The mutated townsfolk are a nice divergence from the previous zombies, and they're crazy when they run at you. The AI is quite intelligent and challenging. And for those who said there wasn't a single scary moment in the game, well that's cuz this isn't like the old Resident Evil's where things jump out at you. It's a lot harder to do that in true 3-D than pre-rendered games. There's tons of replay value with the different costumes and side-missions. -Yep, definitely one of the best games for the PS2, and one of my all-time favorites. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This game is bloody excellent! The combat, voice acting, graphics, story and characters are all up and above average. It is one of the most atmospheric and suspenseful experiences in gaming, and will stand out as a classic for years to come. Excellent, but is difficult to find in stores and on the internet.
  4. May 27, 2012
    9
    A great game with some of the best tension in a game, i played this game so many times.
  5. Dec 27, 2014
    10
    i swear to god. this game looks like a xbox 360 game or ps3 game. and it was released for the ps2. this game changed resident evil. for the first time this has changed in a good way. but re5 and 6 were bad. i mean 5 was fine but 6 was awful.

    re4 was my favorite ps2 game of all time. it didn't looked like a ps2 game. it looked like a xbox 360 game. awesome enemies like the chainsaw and
    i swear to god. this game looks like a xbox 360 game or ps3 game. and it was released for the ps2. this game changed resident evil. for the first time this has changed in a good way. but re5 and 6 were bad. i mean 5 was fine but 6 was awful.

    re4 was my favorite ps2 game of all time. it didn't looked like a ps2 game. it looked like a xbox 360 game. awesome enemies like the chainsaw and the generators which were scary as **** sometimes hilarious jumpscares from snakes. great story and voice acting. amazing weapons and Quick Time events.
    Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Along with Silent Hill 2, this is THE Survival Horror game. It's amazing, innovative, scary. Controls are amazing, graphics are good. The only downside is probably "LEON! LEON!". But that is nothing compared to the rest of the game.
  7. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    This installment of Resident Evil changed a bit, and introduced more modern characters that move a lot faster, and it was a great update to a series that has been fantastic since Sega Genesis. This game does not disappoint and like all of the main Resident Evil's(Survivor not included) dominate the ratings. You'll enjoy this game until the very end. Also like all Resident Evil games,This installment of Resident Evil changed a bit, and introduced more modern characters that move a lot faster, and it was a great update to a series that has been fantastic since Sega Genesis. This game does not disappoint and like all of the main Resident Evil's(Survivor not included) dominate the ratings. You'll enjoy this game until the very end. Also like all Resident Evil games, expect to be spooked at some point or another, even myself which I rarely ever get spooked. Expand
  8. AlfredG.
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    I've played and past this game 20 times and still it's not starting to get boring I used to play it every Saturday and Sunday from 5:00am to 11:00pm
  9. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Innovative and the best survival horror game of all-time. IT"S ACTUALLY SCARY They should write that on the cover. Pure Genius
  10. RenniV.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    Fun, exciting and easy to play. Best of the series!
  11. PlamenD.
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    Best survivor horror game ever!!
  12. JamesBenjamin
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    Absolutely brilliant, the graphics are a work of art, and the gameplay is awesome.
  13. KeenanS
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    This is the greatest game I've ever played in my entire life. Everything about this game was spectacular from its graphics, to its gameplay, and even the puzzles. Not to mention this version comes with exclusive missions and weapons that were not in the Gamecube edition. This is easily one of the greatest games ever made and if you hate it, you're an idiot. If you own a PS2, you This is the greatest game I've ever played in my entire life. Everything about this game was spectacular from its graphics, to its gameplay, and even the puzzles. Not to mention this version comes with exclusive missions and weapons that were not in the Gamecube edition. This is easily one of the greatest games ever made and if you hate it, you're an idiot. If you own a PS2, you must own this game. Own one of the greatest games ever made! Expand
  14. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    Completely amazing! A perfect action, horror and survival game, the story is amazing, graphics are really awesome and the gameplay is really funny and interactive.
  15. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you likeResident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  16. May 29, 2013
    10
    Definitely the best RE game to exist! It's exciting, suspenseful, and scary as h**l! Just wish all the newer RE games wouldv'e followed the same formula this one had.
  17. mike
    Feb 4, 2006
    9
    This was a great game, plain and simple. To address those who dislike the shooting system used by RE4, they just did not give enough time to get used to it. When I first bought it and sat down, i was a bit worried about how easy it would be to play. Not a problem after some getting used to, trust me. The graphics are awesome, the cinematics are on target, and overall gameplay is allThis was a great game, plain and simple. To address those who dislike the shooting system used by RE4, they just did not give enough time to get used to it. When I first bought it and sat down, i was a bit worried about how easy it would be to play. Not a problem after some getting used to, trust me. The graphics are awesome, the cinematics are on target, and overall gameplay is all you could ask for and definitely the best RE in the series. Do not be scared away by these reviewers who complain about the drap scheme or the clunky gameplay... its meant to be a horror 3rd person action game and that's exactly what it is. Expand
  18. PDN
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    RE 4 was well designed from the graphics to the revamped control system. With the loss of the fixed camera angles and the addition of the free-aim firing controls, RE 4 has ceased to be simply an amazing game, but a true inovator in survival horror. The story was well written and the game play never became stale. It was scary, exciting and a lot of fun. I would recommened this to long RE 4 was well designed from the graphics to the revamped control system. With the loss of the fixed camera angles and the addition of the free-aim firing controls, RE 4 has ceased to be simply an amazing game, but a true inovator in survival horror. The story was well written and the game play never became stale. It was scary, exciting and a lot of fun. I would recommened this to long time RE fans and newcomers alike! Expand
  19. MichaelD.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Resi-evil HAS to be the best game of the year,along with Snake eater. Hooray to Resi4!
  20. RickN.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    After the intro scene and after shooting a couple of locals I was thinking that the game would ease me in gently before the real madness starts. So the first village section I came across left me a bit shocked, with wave after wave of crazy demonic sounding villagers coming at you, leaving you firing wildly at a group before fleeing to one of the many houses, because you'll be safe After the intro scene and after shooting a couple of locals I was thinking that the game would ease me in gently before the real madness starts. So the first village section I came across left me a bit shocked, with wave after wave of crazy demonic sounding villagers coming at you, leaving you firing wildly at a group before fleeing to one of the many houses, because you'll be safe in there wont you? Not a chance, these deranged psychos will smash windows, open doors, even raise ladders so they can get at you on the upper floors. Zombies these guys aint. They run, oh yes, they run at you waving pitchforks/flaming torches/axes (some of them actually fling axes at you from distance), the new brand of enemy on offer here is quite overwhelming and really do give you a feeling of panic as they come at you, the sack-faced fellas with the chainsaws in particular. Killing them however, is extremely satisfying. Shoot that guy with the axes' hand and he'll drop it, getting pretty pissed off in the process he runs at you, by pressing x Leon leaps up and kicks him in his crusty face, sending him hurtling back into a group of his pals. The combat is thick and fast, making this more of an action horror game. Resi 4's main strong point has to be the atmosphere, it really is gripping and is created by the amazing graphics, attention to detail, sound effects and music. This game grabs you by the balls and dosn't let you go until you've completed it. Get it, right now. Go on. Expand
  21. ResidentE.
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    Atmospheric brilliance.
  22. AnneH.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    i know what your all thinking another resident evil game with the clunky controls but this one does not have it which makes the game easier and if you dont have the game you must be living under a rock.i dont know how to describe it. FREAKIN AWSOME.
  23. ApocalypseBrown
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    ......................... Sorry i'm too emotional with joy to describe this game. All i can say is i'll never part with game hopefully as its gaming history in a shiny box! EXCELLENT! Well done the lads at capcom for rejigging the series. Oh where's that tissue .........................
  24. B
    Jan 6, 2006
    9
    Great game!!!! The reveiws are so dead on. This game brought life back into a genre that was stagnant. The only thing I thought it was missing was a more stealth approach to attacking the enemies. i.e.- A metal gear solid approach.
  25. SamP.
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    The PS2 version has more extras than its GCN predecessor, but the graphics are slightly but noticeably inferior. Having said that, this game is certainly the best RE ever and one of the best games on either system. The story is admittedly cliche (kidnapping the President's daughter? Come on), and the dialogue is as bad as usual for RE, but none of that matters. This game puts The PS2 version has more extras than its GCN predecessor, but the graphics are slightly but noticeably inferior. Having said that, this game is certainly the best RE ever and one of the best games on either system. The story is admittedly cliche (kidnapping the President's daughter? Come on), and the dialogue is as bad as usual for RE, but none of that matters. This game puts "Action/Shooter" and "Survival Horror" in a blender to make a smoothie of AWESOME. The enemies are pure awesome. The bosses are pure awesome. The interactive cutscenes are pure awesome. The weapons are pure awesome. Detractors either just don't get it or can't or won't handle the controls. Expand
  26. StewartC.
    Jan 22, 2008
    9
    The best game I have ever played and a vast improvement on previous RE titles. I was hooked from the start to the finish. The graphics are great, the plot scary, the gameplay is long and replayable and I'd definitely recommend buying it. Only a couple of very small nagging points, but hardly worth mentioning - ALMOST FLAWLESS...!
  27. jackieR
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    The best resident evil game of all time, the best gamecube and ps2 game of all time, the best survival horror game of all time, the step up from ps2 to ps3 is previewed in re4. and arguably the best andm ost ground breaking game of all time, think zelda for n64
  28. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    Resident Evil 4 was the best game on the PS2. It's graphics were incredible. The replay-ability of RE4 is very high, due to the unlockables and New Game I loved the inventory, which let you hold a lot of items and let you organize them to your liking. There are a great deal of weapons you could buy, depending on your play style. Resident Evil 4 professional mode gives you a certainResident Evil 4 was the best game on the PS2. It's graphics were incredible. The replay-ability of RE4 is very high, due to the unlockables and New Game I loved the inventory, which let you hold a lot of items and let you organize them to your liking. There are a great deal of weapons you could buy, depending on your play style. Resident Evil 4 professional mode gives you a certain level of challenge without it being frustrating and unfair. With there now being HD releases on Xbox 360 and PS3, there is no reason not to own this wonderful game. Expand
  29. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    мистическая, страшная, долгая, реиграбельная и потрясающая игра,мистическая, страшная, долгая, реиграбельная и потрясающая игра, начав в неё играть вас может она и не впечатит, но потом...вы удивитесь как события развиваются.интересные противники, ужасные мутации игеймпей который вас не отпустит,игра в моей памяти навсегда.есть игры с более выдающимся сюжетом, так же серьёзный недостаток в игре это отсутствие быстрой смены оружия как в re5(приходится каждый раз лезть в инвентарь что снижает эффект борьбы с зомби), моя оценка игре 97/100...абсолютный шедевр Expand
  30. RichardB.
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    A great game, albeit maybe a little overrated. Being my first Resident Evil game, the slow movement and turning was a little jarring, but I got used to it. The shooting is very fun, the weapon selection is great, the graphics are awesome, and the sound is pretty good, but some of the dialogue is very cheezy. An excellent game? Yes. Best action game of all time? Not likely.
  31. AdamN.
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    This games is brilliant! One of my faourites and I have completed it, but started playing it again straight after in the new outfit! Truely magical!
  32. DerekL.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The camera angles put you right in the action. That combined with the great controls, commands, 100 out of 10 point graphics, logic requirements, and just plain awesome storyline, wepons, and minigames makes this game 1,000,000 out of 10 in my opinion.
  33. NigeM
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    The best game I've ever played bar none. Yes, its better than any of the GTA's or God of war 2 even. Addictive, atmospheric, and satisfying gameplay. It constantly exceeded my high expectations and the difficulty level was pitch perfect. If resident evil 5 is as good i'll finally upgrade to PS3.
  34. PaulM
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    This game deserve a perfect 10 with it's wicked gameplay and tight controls.
  35. TonyM
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    This game has intense action, hard but fun bosses,amazing guns and easy controls. I love the chainsaws when they cut off your head! There are so many fun secrets to die!!! re4 is the best game ever!!
  36. BFG_MAN
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    The game is fantastic It has better graphics than previous versions of RE. There are some unique melee moves that each character has. You can upgrade your weapons and/or buy stronger ones. My favorite part of the game comes when you come in contact with a boss. or a cut-sceen because you have to press a combination of buttons to dodge their attacks. (such as L1+L2) or you will die. If it The game is fantastic It has better graphics than previous versions of RE. There are some unique melee moves that each character has. You can upgrade your weapons and/or buy stronger ones. My favorite part of the game comes when you come in contact with a boss. or a cut-sceen because you have to press a combination of buttons to dodge their attacks. (such as L1+L2) or you will die. If it wasnt for this feature RE4 would be just an ordinary horror game. Expand
  37. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    Perrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrfection.
  38. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    The plot is so weak it's almost absurd, but in almost every other regard this is a truly great game. Call me crazy, but I think this game was far scarier than the trilogy. It's still by all means a horror game, just a different type and more action oriented. To be honest, I always thought it would make more sense for the protagonist of a resident evil game to be more action orientedThe plot is so weak it's almost absurd, but in almost every other regard this is a truly great game. Call me crazy, but I think this game was far scarier than the trilogy. It's still by all means a horror game, just a different type and more action oriented. To be honest, I always thought it would make more sense for the protagonist of a resident evil game to be more action oriented anyway, given what they are and what they're dealing with. The game itself is a ton of fun, very suspenseful, and on top of that goes on and on for probably 20-25 hours in just the story mode alone. Expand
  39. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This is not only the best survival horror game ever but in my opinion the best game ever. The story is great, there is lots of action and great boss fights.
  40. Oct 14, 2014
    10
    my #1 game all the time Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant .............................................
  41. ParkerO'Bryant
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Way better than the Gamecube version.
  42. AnsonG.
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    1st, i thought this game was boring at all. When i play this game, i feel very impressive. No wonder this game was 1st award. i doubt this (ps2) Resident Evil 4 is best then Resident Evil 4(Gamecube) was created in 2004. Anyway i very grateful about this game. Good work, Capcom.
  43. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    If you were not interested with previous RE games, RE4 will manipulate your brain and force you to love it, while you'll be enjoying every microsecond of it.
  44. ZackH.
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    This game i would say is the best in the franchise they got rid of the clunky controls the laser sight had its few flaws like if there was more than one person on the screen it sometimes was hard to get a good shoot. the story was ok i could deal with it. and i liked the bonus content on this game. overall its a good game with some flaws. but i would sugest getting it for the gamecube its better.
  45. mikeg
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    Just finish resident evil 5 and figure i pick up 4 never played it ,,wow its awsome and insane,,don't know which one is better,but do yourself a favor and play this game...i think its longer then 5 and has lots of extra, and no coop and i think thats a good thing cause sheeva can be a pain.
  46. JJReyes
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Man, this game just owns. I am so happy it made its way onto the PS2. I love to extra missions too.
  47. DarthMoonJohn
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    The game is really impressive in every way,the graphics,the design,the gameplay all are done with great detail.The new camera is so amazing making the game feel and look like a true horror movie.My only complain is that in the Castle-chapter the game has some really rediculous moments which seem to be taken from games like Devil may cry, in these particulars moments the game ruins some of The game is really impressive in every way,the graphics,the design,the gameplay all are done with great detail.The new camera is so amazing making the game feel and look like a true horror movie.My only complain is that in the Castle-chapter the game has some really rediculous moments which seem to be taken from games like Devil may cry, in these particulars moments the game ruins some of its realism and thats too bad cause is would have been a truly Flawless adventure.Above all its an amazing game and among the best horror games ever. Expand
  48. BobDole
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Awesome game! Absolutely MUST HAVE!!!!
  49. TomL.
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    The Best PSTwo Game That Ever Did Exist. Period.
  50. LewisD.
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Same as on Gamecube, with more extras.
  51. JohnK.
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    Okay, okay, the controls are hard at first; trust me, stick with it. It'll take you an hour or two, after which you'll be playing the best game you've ever played. Fun combat makes you feel really bada$$, and it'll frighten you a bit, too (though it prefers to creep you out). This is one of the best games ever made for any console--don't listen to the haters or Okay, okay, the controls are hard at first; trust me, stick with it. It'll take you an hour or two, after which you'll be playing the best game you've ever played. Fun combat makes you feel really bada$$, and it'll frighten you a bit, too (though it prefers to creep you out). This is one of the best games ever made for any console--don't listen to the haters or you'll be missing something spectacular. Expand
  52. NightFallJosh
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    I remember walking into my local gaming emporium and seeing a copy of this when it was a GameCubr title only and being blown away by the demo running on the tv's. After handing over my cash and returning to my cube i can safely say that this is the best RE game yet. Simple gameplay, simple controls, mind boggling graphics that push the limits of the hardware and a compelling I remember walking into my local gaming emporium and seeing a copy of this when it was a GameCubr title only and being blown away by the demo running on the tv's. After handing over my cash and returning to my cube i can safely say that this is the best RE game yet. Simple gameplay, simple controls, mind boggling graphics that push the limits of the hardware and a compelling storyline make the title a joy to play for every second your engrossed, the re-play factor is great with you completing the game numerous times to unlock all the weapons and test them out on it's toughest enemies. If you didn't like this game, throw away your console because, quite frankly theres no point in owning one if this doesn't get you going. Expand
  53. JoseA.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    While the Gamecube version's Graphic's are slightly better than PS2's, I m giving the edge to the PS2 for it's insanely entertaining addition "Seperate Ways".
  54. TimP.
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    I've just read through some reviews on here and can't believe some of the negative comments. What is so wrong with the control system that makes it so difficult? Once you've played this for a little while it becomes second nature like all good games. Graphics and sound are great, but the gameplay, upgrades, bosses, everything about this game are right out of the top drawer. I've just read through some reviews on here and can't believe some of the negative comments. What is so wrong with the control system that makes it so difficult? Once you've played this for a little while it becomes second nature like all good games. Graphics and sound are great, but the gameplay, upgrades, bosses, everything about this game are right out of the top drawer. I've played alot of games in my time and found this tense, atmospheric and just a pleasure to play. A multi-player option might have been nice on the mercenaries game, but I'm nitpicking really. Just superb. Expand
  55. AkeemG.
    May 10, 2007
    9
    This game started off extremely cool but then it started to get a little lame somewhere around chapter3 when you first entered the castle.I only wish that more of the story and gameplay was centered around the village(chapter1-2) area because the village was the best part of the game in my opinion.I don't have much time left to give you all of the details so to make a long review This game started off extremely cool but then it started to get a little lame somewhere around chapter3 when you first entered the castle.I only wish that more of the story and gameplay was centered around the village(chapter1-2) area because the village was the best part of the game in my opinion.I don't have much time left to give you all of the details so to make a long review short all I have to say is that this game is very neat and that it WILL NOT dissapoint you! Expand
  56. RJW
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    I loved this game from the look to he controls. Its easily my favorite game for the PS2 and definitely on my top 3 of all time. If you like action you must play this game.
  57. JaredN.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    The Game is hands down the best Resident Evil game out there, with excellent camera angles, upgradable weaponry, and hell an overall fun time, this game should be 10/10 no doubt, only flaw is the graphics are a bit worse, but not by much...this game is a 10. (to the people who gave this a low score, you must not be into resident evil games to relize this game is a total beauty and should The Game is hands down the best Resident Evil game out there, with excellent camera angles, upgradable weaponry, and hell an overall fun time, this game should be 10/10 no doubt, only flaw is the graphics are a bit worse, but not by much...this game is a 10. (to the people who gave this a low score, you must not be into resident evil games to relize this game is a total beauty and should be cherished) Expand
  58. Virti
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    I loved all resident evil games and this one is no different.
  59. max
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    the best game ever!! I just got it, well ive been playing 4 hours. im in some messed up castle and its the best, craziest, the most inventive, and maybe one of the hardest and longest games ever!
  60. NateH.
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    One of the best resident evils out there. It keeps you on edge every single second. Though it sometimes can be quite the challenge. I love it!
  61. KavveenKanagaraj
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    this game is dicaraquadaly feithasde(english) in german it means est ce ce du da la de.I wan into the local grocery storeand saw this hansome guy on the case just like me(but iam hot)so i brought it for my ps5 but it was crap like my brastlade so i cradewilr iete wo la ce mon cotylydon la diacot vou sec?
  62. AHenry
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    to date the greatest Resident Evil game I played the envoment is more interactive graphics are impressive the A.I is smarter than the zombies in the previous R.E games the abely to make your wepons more powerfull ,reload faster and fire faster. It still have find items to go to diffent places and it realy feels like a servivor horror game . But next year Resident Evil 5 is going to blow to date the greatest Resident Evil game I played the envoment is more interactive graphics are impressive the A.I is smarter than the zombies in the previous R.E games the abely to make your wepons more powerfull ,reload faster and fire faster. It still have find items to go to diffent places and it realy feels like a servivor horror game . But next year Resident Evil 5 is going to blow this game away big time. Expand
  63. Skyle
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    This game is breathtaking--a truly next-generation game on this generation's system. More fun than "God of War", more addicting than "Halo 2", more technically refined than "Chaos Theory"--this is the only game I've ever owned that my friends and family played only to got copies of their own. After sloughing through mundane RE sequels and spin-offs like "RE3" and "Outbreak", I This game is breathtaking--a truly next-generation game on this generation's system. More fun than "God of War", more addicting than "Halo 2", more technically refined than "Chaos Theory"--this is the only game I've ever owned that my friends and family played only to got copies of their own. After sloughing through mundane RE sequels and spin-offs like "RE3" and "Outbreak", I am so glad that Capcom has finally come full circle by bringing the greatest RE to the PS2. I am an avid and discriminating gamer, and trust me, this one is an instant classic. Expand
  64. Muclearelmo
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is hands down the best game of 2005. Resident Evil 4 is also one of the best games of all time. Period. I played and beat the Cube version, and recently purchased the PS2 version. While I haven't finished the PS2 version (therefore unable to play Seperate Ways), I can firmly say that the graphics, frame rate, and animation have suffered very little in the transfer Resident Evil 4 is hands down the best game of 2005. Resident Evil 4 is also one of the best games of all time. Period. I played and beat the Cube version, and recently purchased the PS2 version. While I haven't finished the PS2 version (therefore unable to play Seperate Ways), I can firmly say that the graphics, frame rate, and animation have suffered very little in the transfer from GC to PS2. For those of you PS2 owners who haven't had the chance to play RE4, it sounds cliche, but do yourself a favor and buy it right now. If you don't want to throw down the $40 (yes, $40, not $50), then please, please rent it. I jest not when I say that RE4 does every single thing right. The only few negative remarks I could make about RE4, is that sometimes frequently switching weapons can be annoying (you have to go into the menu to change it), and that the final level feels a little long. These are easily outweighed by the sheer brilliance of everything it does right. Buy it now. Expand
  65. Micka
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    Its a 9. Gamecube is a 10 out of 10 because its looks quite a bit better but over all this is a great port of what is in my mind, not only the best game of the year, but my favorite game of all time!!
  66. DanielEperstein
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    This is a really good game. I can't believe someone on here complained about the controls, especially since the horrid controls of every other Resident Evil game makes them nearly unplayable to a lot of people.
  67. LaputanM.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    Smashing game. Reading about the complaints about running and gunning, I have to say that it would be pointless, anyway, noone can move and shoot with accuracy unless they move painfully slow. It would also ruin the game imo.
  68. D.W.
    Jan 26, 2006
    9
    Som bits were the most exciting, intense and terrifying moments in gameing. Others were fun but let the game down. it had laid the template for a great game. But trust me this game is worth it for the great bits.
  69. IgnacioP.
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    Tis is one of my favorite games. I do not know how some people complain about the movements, when i started the game i thought the controls where difficult, but 20 minutes later they where so easy, i shooted them in the head the most of the times. It is not so difficult with the time. And if you don`t like the conversations just skip them. Besides I think the "challenges" (those that you Tis is one of my favorite games. I do not know how some people complain about the movements, when i started the game i thought the controls where difficult, but 20 minutes later they where so easy, i shooted them in the head the most of the times. It is not so difficult with the time. And if you don`t like the conversations just skip them. Besides I think the "challenges" (those that you have to tap the buttons) are pretty well done, you don`t know what to tap, and in the next moment you`re dead, but that`s fine. And if you want a harder challenge, just put the most difficult difficulty. Expand
  70. Chris
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    Absolutely beautiful! this game is incredible. The graphics and controls work very well compared to previous resident evil games, and has many different ways to get through the same game, many traps and erie scenes make this game my favorite game of the PS2.
  71. Andrew
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Believe the hype. As no great fan of Resident Evil or shooters in general, I was still amazed by this game. Great atmosphere and perfectly escalating challenge, by the end you'll feel exhausted, exhilerated, and amazed you were actually able to survive the horrors found in this quaint little village.
  72. KyleZ.
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    This game has an amazing story line and has exellent game play. The creators should be proud of themselfs for making this game for the PS2. Its a challenge and some peaple dont like that but I take the game as pretty easyon both settings. The creaturs in the game make this the best Resident Evil game yet. I hope to see more games like this one.
  73. DiatrexV.
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    Resident Evil 4 got a 10/10 gold award. It is a very good game but after a while it might start to bore you a bit. The graphics are pretty good. This game on PS2 is better than the one before it. The A.I. is pretty ok but thats not a problem becuase there stupid. Capcom worked hard on this game it I gess it would deserve a 9 (in my piont of view). It sure has a lot of sick shit in it Resident Evil 4 got a 10/10 gold award. It is a very good game but after a while it might start to bore you a bit. The graphics are pretty good. This game on PS2 is better than the one before it. The A.I. is pretty ok but thats not a problem becuase there stupid. Capcom worked hard on this game it I gess it would deserve a 9 (in my piont of view). It sure has a lot of sick shit in it because it has a lot of blood and stuff. It can get very irritating. The controls are ok but kind of strange one PS2. This game has its surprizes. Expand
  74. Mitsos
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    It is a brilliant game.
  75. JohhnyY.
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    Perfect.
  76. PhilipP.
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    I thought I was there for real, I'd like to be able to see forward all the time but hey great fun.
  77. ZachR.
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    By far the best Resident Evil game ever! The new control system and camera angles are great, not to mention the stunning graphics and memorable story. If you haven't played this game yet, you are not a man.
  78. MikeW.
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    The best of the last gen games is THE best game for the PS2 overall. Highly recommended for all of the millions of PS2 owners out there.
  79. CaioK.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    The best game ever made for Playstation2! Good story, excellent graphics. It
  80. AnonymousMC
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    this game is great and semmingly perfect in each way. and if you can find a better game thanthis youre a liar because this is the las gen system game in history and john d. is tootaly out of place by giving a 3 it well deserves this 10 but dont buy the wii versian without a zapper or shooter now stop reading this and play resident evil 4 or 5 when you guys read this because i dont reaalythis game is great and semmingly perfect in each way. and if you can find a better game thanthis youre a liar because this is the las gen system game in history and john d. is tootaly out of place by giving a 3 it well deserves this 10 but dont buy the wii versian without a zapper or shooter now stop reading this and play resident evil 4 or 5 when you guys read this because i dont reaaly care as long as you play one of these games execpt resident evil 3 Expand
  81. NathanD
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Personally, I think its the best game of all time. it has that something that makes you not want to set the controller down, and when you eventually do (due to sore eyes and head) you cant help think of it or talk about it! Once you clear it, you want to start again on the harder difficulty...or if your on the hardest difficulty, start again. The graphics are pretty impressive for a ps2 Personally, I think its the best game of all time. it has that something that makes you not want to set the controller down, and when you eventually do (due to sore eyes and head) you cant help think of it or talk about it! Once you clear it, you want to start again on the harder difficulty...or if your on the hardest difficulty, start again. The graphics are pretty impressive for a ps2 game. re5 is out now, but personally it doesnt compare to the story or playable factor of re4. p.s Bring back the merchant. Expand
  82. CodyB
    Mar 18, 2009
    10
    RE4; THE greatest horror masterpiece ever created in the history of horror games and one of my top 10 video games list. From start to finish, this game was, still is, and always will be worth over all game of the year 2005 and all those shit-loads of awards. Imo not all that scary, just disturbing at times but FUN-AS-HELL!!!
  83. CarlosB
    May 25, 2009
    9
    The game is great, but the controls are not so easy.
  84. JaredS
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of my favorite games ever. The story is excellent and the gameplay is challenging. Yes the controls are very difficult to get used to but IMO make the game much more intense
  85. Wongit
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    This is the game to own on Ps2, without a shadow of a doubt. Beautiful graphics, awsome music and voice acting, and great story telling. This game is hard...very hard. You just need to really concentrate on this game, and you will get it, it takes skill to play this game. Even though its the hardest game ive played its the best one ive ever played, do yourselves a favor and get this game.
  86. shawn
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    the best game i every played
  87. ninjagaidenhayabusa
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    revived my enthusiasm for the franchise, The use of laser aiming weapons is fantastic accurate way of shooting your enemies. Shoot the enemy on the head, it would stun it for few seconds but before that happens approach then kick it, then it will flew throught floor and then leon can knife it on the ground to save your ammo, another is shoot the legs, then you could do a suplex on the revived my enthusiasm for the franchise, The use of laser aiming weapons is fantastic accurate way of shooting your enemies. Shoot the enemy on the head, it would stun it for few seconds but before that happens approach then kick it, then it will flew throught floor and then leon can knife it on the ground to save your ammo, another is shoot the legs, then you could do a suplex on the enemy. theres also traps on the floor along the way if your not careful, you could get hit. I was really impressed with dual between Leon and krauser, during the cutscene, you need to pressed simultaneouly the L1 and R1 or square and X button to avoid being hit by krauser, to progress the game, it rivals the dual between big boss vs. ocelot on mgs3 which is a very high quality of digital perfection. Shinji Mikami is a genius Expand
  88. TylerA.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    Its better on GameCube, better graphics and controls but I would reccomend it on PS2.
  89. JohnT.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    This Resident Evil is the best of all, I like the over the sholder perspective and the extra missions at the end addeds even more depth to the story. and its nice they kept the bad language out of it so that my son can also enjoy this one too.
  90. LingX.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    a must have for the ps2. RE fans might find this a bit different since it doesn't have anything to do with zombies at all. instead, they gave us something different and more intelligent. the game focuses more on action now instead of survival horror. feel the rush to kill as a group of angry parasite-infested villagers carrying all sorts of weapon (from torches, axe, and rakes) swarm a must have for the ps2. RE fans might find this a bit different since it doesn't have anything to do with zombies at all. instead, they gave us something different and more intelligent. the game focuses more on action now instead of survival horror. feel the rush to kill as a group of angry parasite-infested villagers carrying all sorts of weapon (from torches, axe, and rakes) swarm your stronghold, a 2-story wooden house.. that part really gave a "night of the living dead 3 / assault on precinct 13" feel. oh and the game is long unlike the previous REs. the extras really made it longer like separate ways, where you get play as ada. kinda similar to Snake Tales in Metal Gear solid 2: Substance Expand
  91. RaquwanM.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    This is the best game of the year
  92. EdR.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Awesome graphics, Innovative game play. The best PS2 game I have played in a long time.
  93. MichaelV.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    This game is better than tacos! (and that's saying a lot)
  94. BlakeY.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Great game, a must play.
  95. TylerW.
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    Great game!
  96. HandyDude
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    There was absolutely no hype on this game because everyone thought same old same old but it isn't. to be honest i was getting sick of the zombies because how many accidental bio hazard outbreaks can you have. exactly its had enough and time for a change. really good game. mercenarie si fun. boss fights are awesome. i think the normal difficulty should be on pro because it is much There was absolutely no hype on this game because everyone thought same old same old but it isn't. to be honest i was getting sick of the zombies because how many accidental bio hazard outbreaks can you have. exactly its had enough and time for a change. really good game. mercenarie si fun. boss fights are awesome. i think the normal difficulty should be on pro because it is much harder and challenging. for those crap players that can't finish on pro bad luck. go play crazy frog racer. great game. Expand
  97. Ahmed
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    it was the best game ever! but it was not as good as god of war.resident evil 4 has good graphics good story a lot of modes and a lot of guns. so i hope there is gonna be a resident evil 5! keep it up.
  98. JamieT.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    How can you give this game any lower then an 8! It's such a fun game to play and has an awesome story to go along with it. It's definantly up there with Half Life 2 and Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. I give it a 10!
  99. SamH.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest experiences that I have ever had as a game. A great selection of villians, a compelling story and fantastic gameplay make this a near perfect game.
  100. AidanK.
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    Having played all previous RE games (and completing them all at least once), i find it my duty to review this game and give it the highest score attainable. Admittedly the graphics aren't perfect..but we can blame that on the ps2's hardware. Keeping this in mind, the game still manages to scare the player senseless through, not only visuals but sound and the general feel of the Having played all previous RE games (and completing them all at least once), i find it my duty to review this game and give it the highest score attainable. Admittedly the graphics aren't perfect..but we can blame that on the ps2's hardware. Keeping this in mind, the game still manages to scare the player senseless through, not only visuals but sound and the general feel of the environment. Also, this game has tons of replay value (as i have completed the game 6-7 times, and 'Separate Ways' 2-3 times) and the Mercenaries Mini Games are a nice little addition. I also find it great how your weapons and cash are transferred over every time you complete the game. The voice acting is great, the animation is smooth and RE4 gets my 10/10. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant. [Nov 2005, p.158]
  3. Capcom turned the venerable but stagnant series around with Evil 4 [Nov p.72]