User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1025 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Muclearelmo
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is hands down the best game of 2005. Resident Evil 4 is also one of the best games of all time. Period. I played and beat the Cube version, and recently purchased the PS2 version. While I haven't finished the PS2 version (therefore unable to play Seperate Ways), I can firmly say that the graphics, frame rate, and animation have suffered very little in the transfer Resident Evil 4 is hands down the best game of 2005. Resident Evil 4 is also one of the best games of all time. Period. I played and beat the Cube version, and recently purchased the PS2 version. While I haven't finished the PS2 version (therefore unable to play Seperate Ways), I can firmly say that the graphics, frame rate, and animation have suffered very little in the transfer from GC to PS2. For those of you PS2 owners who haven't had the chance to play RE4, it sounds cliche, but do yourself a favor and buy it right now. If you don't want to throw down the $40 (yes, $40, not $50), then please, please rent it. I jest not when I say that RE4 does every single thing right. The only few negative remarks I could make about RE4, is that sometimes frequently switching weapons can be annoying (you have to go into the menu to change it), and that the final level feels a little long. These are easily outweighed by the sheer brilliance of everything it does right. Buy it now. Expand
  2. Micka
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    Its a 9. Gamecube is a 10 out of 10 because its looks quite a bit better but over all this is a great port of what is in my mind, not only the best game of the year, but my favorite game of all time!!
  3. DanielEperstein
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    This is a really good game. I can't believe someone on here complained about the controls, especially since the horrid controls of every other Resident Evil game makes them nearly unplayable to a lot of people.
  4. LaputanM.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    Smashing game. Reading about the complaints about running and gunning, I have to say that it would be pointless, anyway, noone can move and shoot with accuracy unless they move painfully slow. It would also ruin the game imo.
  5. D.W.
    Jan 26, 2006
    9
    Som bits were the most exciting, intense and terrifying moments in gameing. Others were fun but let the game down. it had laid the template for a great game. But trust me this game is worth it for the great bits.
  6. IgnacioP.
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    Tis is one of my favorite games. I do not know how some people complain about the movements, when i started the game i thought the controls where difficult, but 20 minutes later they where so easy, i shooted them in the head the most of the times. It is not so difficult with the time. And if you don`t like the conversations just skip them. Besides I think the "challenges" (those that you Tis is one of my favorite games. I do not know how some people complain about the movements, when i started the game i thought the controls where difficult, but 20 minutes later they where so easy, i shooted them in the head the most of the times. It is not so difficult with the time. And if you don`t like the conversations just skip them. Besides I think the "challenges" (those that you have to tap the buttons) are pretty well done, you don`t know what to tap, and in the next moment you`re dead, but that`s fine. And if you want a harder challenge, just put the most difficult difficulty. Expand
  7. DarthMoon
    Mar 14, 2006
    8
    This game confused me quite a lot. It starts amazingly but it seems like the developers where lost in witch direction to take the game. While as a game it plays very well this resident evil doesnt stay true to its name,it gets too much over the top in many moments during the whole experience. I liked that the tried new things like the camera and the village setting but the overall feel of This game confused me quite a lot. It starts amazingly but it seems like the developers where lost in witch direction to take the game. While as a game it plays very well this resident evil doesnt stay true to its name,it gets too much over the top in many moments during the whole experience. I liked that the tried new things like the camera and the village setting but the overall feel of the game is lost. It starts like a really intense and realistic horror adventure with a compelling story behind it but it ends up being a ridicilous story with moments like Devil may cry.It has some great scary moments but it also has some very annoying and very silly moments witch break the horror atmosphere the game tries to put you in.Basicaly the game tries to mix some things that just dont quite work. For an action game its really good but for a Horror game its very dissapoining. Silent Hill 3 a much better horror game than this because it stays focus on what it wants to be and that is a Horror adventure not an action adventure.To sum it,great gameplay , great visuals, poor story , frustration instead of terrifying atmosphere. Expand
  8. Chris
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    Absolutely beautiful! this game is incredible. The graphics and controls work very well compared to previous resident evil games, and has many different ways to get through the same game, many traps and erie scenes make this game my favorite game of the PS2.
  9. Andrew
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Believe the hype. As no great fan of Resident Evil or shooters in general, I was still amazed by this game. Great atmosphere and perfectly escalating challenge, by the end you'll feel exhausted, exhilerated, and amazed you were actually able to survive the horrors found in this quaint little village.
  10. KyleZ.
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    This game has an amazing story line and has exellent game play. The creators should be proud of themselfs for making this game for the PS2. Its a challenge and some peaple dont like that but I take the game as pretty easyon both settings. The creaturs in the game make this the best Resident Evil game yet. I hope to see more games like this one.
  11. DiatrexV.
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    Resident Evil 4 got a 10/10 gold award. It is a very good game but after a while it might start to bore you a bit. The graphics are pretty good. This game on PS2 is better than the one before it. The A.I. is pretty ok but thats not a problem becuase there stupid. Capcom worked hard on this game it I gess it would deserve a 9 (in my piont of view). It sure has a lot of sick shit in it Resident Evil 4 got a 10/10 gold award. It is a very good game but after a while it might start to bore you a bit. The graphics are pretty good. This game on PS2 is better than the one before it. The A.I. is pretty ok but thats not a problem becuase there stupid. Capcom worked hard on this game it I gess it would deserve a 9 (in my piont of view). It sure has a lot of sick shit in it because it has a lot of blood and stuff. It can get very irritating. The controls are ok but kind of strange one PS2. This game has its surprizes. Expand
  12. Mitsos
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    It is a brilliant game.
  13. JohhnyY.
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    Perfect.
  14. PhilipP.
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    I thought I was there for real, I'd like to be able to see forward all the time but hey great fun.
  15. ZachR.
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    By far the best Resident Evil game ever! The new control system and camera angles are great, not to mention the stunning graphics and memorable story. If you haven't played this game yet, you are not a man.
  16. MikeW.
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    The best of the last gen games is THE best game for the PS2 overall. Highly recommended for all of the millions of PS2 owners out there.
  17. CaioK.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    The best game ever made for Playstation2! Good story, excellent graphics. It
  18. AnonymousMC
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    this game is great and semmingly perfect in each way. and if you can find a better game thanthis youre a liar because this is the las gen system game in history and john d. is tootaly out of place by giving a 3 it well deserves this 10 but dont buy the wii versian without a zapper or shooter now stop reading this and play resident evil 4 or 5 when you guys read this because i dont reaalythis game is great and semmingly perfect in each way. and if you can find a better game thanthis youre a liar because this is the las gen system game in history and john d. is tootaly out of place by giving a 3 it well deserves this 10 but dont buy the wii versian without a zapper or shooter now stop reading this and play resident evil 4 or 5 when you guys read this because i dont reaaly care as long as you play one of these games execpt resident evil 3 Expand
  19. shailinderm
    Nov 6, 2009
    8
    this game is fun but VERY HARD!the bosses health are not shown so that makes it boring.but i still like this game.i would have gave it 10 if it was not so hard.
  20. AndrewH
    Feb 9, 2009
    8
    This a very good game. I played it on my ps3 so wasnt overly impressed with the graphics but the gameplay is amazing. A lot of people dont get the controls and find it quite hard to get in to. I dont understand the problem. The only issue is that you cant move while aiming. So what? The game is designed around this feature. Also, some body in there reviem has said its a difficult game. It This a very good game. I played it on my ps3 so wasnt overly impressed with the graphics but the gameplay is amazing. A lot of people dont get the controls and find it quite hard to get in to. I dont understand the problem. The only issue is that you cant move while aiming. So what? The game is designed around this feature. Also, some body in there reviem has said its a difficult game. It isnt. This was my first resi game and i found it very easy. Some bits where you must protect ashlee can be tricky (she is totally helpless) and I found the blind enemies difficult to kill but the game gives plenty of ammo and health. Over all its a solid game and well worth a go, especially with the release of 5 just around the corner. Expand
  21. NathanD
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Personally, I think its the best game of all time. it has that something that makes you not want to set the controller down, and when you eventually do (due to sore eyes and head) you cant help think of it or talk about it! Once you clear it, you want to start again on the harder difficulty...or if your on the hardest difficulty, start again. The graphics are pretty impressive for a ps2 Personally, I think its the best game of all time. it has that something that makes you not want to set the controller down, and when you eventually do (due to sore eyes and head) you cant help think of it or talk about it! Once you clear it, you want to start again on the harder difficulty...or if your on the hardest difficulty, start again. The graphics are pretty impressive for a ps2 game. re5 is out now, but personally it doesnt compare to the story or playable factor of re4. p.s Bring back the merchant. Expand
  22. CodyB
    Mar 18, 2009
    10
    RE4; THE greatest horror masterpiece ever created in the history of horror games and one of my top 10 video games list. From start to finish, this game was, still is, and always will be worth over all game of the year 2005 and all those shit-loads of awards. Imo not all that scary, just disturbing at times but FUN-AS-HELL!!!
  23. CarlosB
    May 25, 2009
    9
    The game is great, but the controls are not so easy.
  24. JaredS
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of my favorite games ever. The story is excellent and the gameplay is challenging. Yes the controls are very difficult to get used to but IMO make the game much more intense
  25. Wongit
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    This is the game to own on Ps2, without a shadow of a doubt. Beautiful graphics, awsome music and voice acting, and great story telling. This game is hard...very hard. You just need to really concentrate on this game, and you will get it, it takes skill to play this game. Even though its the hardest game ive played its the best one ive ever played, do yourselves a favor and get this game.
  26. shawn
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    the best game i every played
  27. ninjagaidenhayabusa
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    revived my enthusiasm for the franchise, The use of laser aiming weapons is fantastic accurate way of shooting your enemies. Shoot the enemy on the head, it would stun it for few seconds but before that happens approach then kick it, then it will flew throught floor and then leon can knife it on the ground to save your ammo, another is shoot the legs, then you could do a suplex on the revived my enthusiasm for the franchise, The use of laser aiming weapons is fantastic accurate way of shooting your enemies. Shoot the enemy on the head, it would stun it for few seconds but before that happens approach then kick it, then it will flew throught floor and then leon can knife it on the ground to save your ammo, another is shoot the legs, then you could do a suplex on the enemy. theres also traps on the floor along the way if your not careful, you could get hit. I was really impressed with dual between Leon and krauser, during the cutscene, you need to pressed simultaneouly the L1 and R1 or square and X button to avoid being hit by krauser, to progress the game, it rivals the dual between big boss vs. ocelot on mgs3 which is a very high quality of digital perfection. Shinji Mikami is a genius Expand
  28. TylerA.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    Its better on GameCube, better graphics and controls but I would reccomend it on PS2.
  29. JohnT.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    This Resident Evil is the best of all, I like the over the sholder perspective and the extra missions at the end addeds even more depth to the story. and its nice they kept the bad language out of it so that my son can also enjoy this one too.
  30. LingX.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    a must have for the ps2. RE fans might find this a bit different since it doesn't have anything to do with zombies at all. instead, they gave us something different and more intelligent. the game focuses more on action now instead of survival horror. feel the rush to kill as a group of angry parasite-infested villagers carrying all sorts of weapon (from torches, axe, and rakes) swarm a must have for the ps2. RE fans might find this a bit different since it doesn't have anything to do with zombies at all. instead, they gave us something different and more intelligent. the game focuses more on action now instead of survival horror. feel the rush to kill as a group of angry parasite-infested villagers carrying all sorts of weapon (from torches, axe, and rakes) swarm your stronghold, a 2-story wooden house.. that part really gave a "night of the living dead 3 / assault on precinct 13" feel. oh and the game is long unlike the previous REs. the extras really made it longer like separate ways, where you get play as ada. kinda similar to Snake Tales in Metal Gear solid 2: Substance Expand

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PSM Magazine
    100
    Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. Game Informer
    100
    Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant. [Nov 2005, p.158]
  3. Play Magazine
    90
    Capcom turned the venerable but stagnant series around with Evil 4 [Nov p.72]