User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 185
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    When Resident Evil: Code Veronica X first released back 2001, Gameplay is Perfect, Story was Best even more thanks to Wesker.
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Story: 8/10
    Total: 8/10
    I was once Die Hard Fan but stop caring Since Series become crap once Resident Evil 4 Released.
  2. Jan 4, 2016
    7
    It's far from the worst entry, but it's definitely not the best. Especially when compared to RE1-3. The flow of the game is often tedious and slow. The storyline feels a bit unusual for a Resident Evil game, but still entertaining nonetheless. RE2 and RE3 feel more progressive in the technical achievement department. Code: Veronica feels like a step back to some degree. It has more inIt's far from the worst entry, but it's definitely not the best. Especially when compared to RE1-3. The flow of the game is often tedious and slow. The storyline feels a bit unusual for a Resident Evil game, but still entertaining nonetheless. RE2 and RE3 feel more progressive in the technical achievement department. Code: Veronica feels like a step back to some degree. It has more in common with the flaws of the original (which was a better game), Long backtracking, tedious battles, etc keep this entry from stealing the spotlight from the classic trilogy on PSX. The only thing it had going at the time was nice visuals and cutscenes, which even back in 2001 were very Dreamcast esque hence being a port of the DC version. Expand
  3. BullT64
    Nov 24, 2001
    6
    Good game but those puzzles...are worse than the zombies.
  4. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    i expected something new for resident evil for the ps2 and i was really hyped for this game but it turned to be nothing new and it is boring bad graphics and it had the worst start ever
  5. Serra
    Dec 5, 2001
    5
    Looks good, but that's about it. It's slow going and some of the puzzles are crazy.
  6. Aug 12, 2012
    5
    I really hate giving a Resident Evil game a low score but this one just wasnt so great. The graphics are great, the controls are what to expect. I thought the monsters and bosses were good but the puzzles just sucked. I mean there were just too many of them and some of them didnt even make sense. I think the over emphasis on puzzles is what ruined the game for me but i dont know. iI really hate giving a Resident Evil game a low score but this one just wasnt so great. The graphics are great, the controls are what to expect. I thought the monsters and bosses were good but the puzzles just sucked. I mean there were just too many of them and some of them didnt even make sense. I think the over emphasis on puzzles is what ruined the game for me but i dont know. i thought that the game itself was pretty good, but not as good as compared to the 1st 3 resident evil games. I do like the story however and thats really about it. This is perhaps the lowest score I would give a main Resident Evil Game. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#13 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#49 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Clearly the best game yet produced for the survival-horror subgenre of adventure gaming, in spite of its flaws.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    90
    A necessary part of any adventure gamer’s balanced breakfast…Masterful storytelling and superb graphics. [Sept 2001, p.144]
  3. 100
    This is, for all intents and purposes the same game that was released for the DC over a year ago. It was great then, it's still great now.