User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 153

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Andreas
    Mar 9, 2002
    10
    It's a great game.
  2. KrizzE.
    Feb 5, 2002
    10
    Best Best and Best.
  3. VampireOfDoom
    Oct 26, 2001
    10
    Very good game..you play in a horror movie..MOEHAHAHA!!!
  4. ChrisS.
    Aug 23, 2001
    10
    It's awesome.
  5. BryanK.
    Jun 4, 2002
    10
    This is so cool, it's the best game ever I could play it for hours.
  6. Rebel
    Dec 31, 2001
    10
    The Game is the best RE ever. It is hard but would you want a game you can finish in 30 min the first time playing? As for the "sucks" rating, must not have been able to get past the first puzzle..HINT: Equip lighter....
  7. LeonK.
    Apr 11, 2002
    10
    Great game. Filled with thrills, shocks, and jump out of your seat moments.
  8. PIRANHAG.
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    A very good game. Resident Evil has always gave us good games, this one is no exception. It´s very long, it has a nice story line, and it has ZOMBIES (stupids but it´s ok...) absolutely great.
  9. AlessandroG.
    Sep 13, 2004
    10
    Simply the best RE game for PS2!! A Classic!!
  10. danielreid
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    I loved this game, thought it was the best of all RE's. It was hard going with insane puzzles, you wanted to pull your hair out sometimes but for me very addictive. If your looking for a fast paced, smooth shoot em up game then you should avoid this, its more puzzles, memory, ammo and health conservation and backtracking. Great graphics and a very long difficult game with plenty ofI loved this game, thought it was the best of all RE's. It was hard going with insane puzzles, you wanted to pull your hair out sometimes but for me very addictive. If your looking for a fast paced, smooth shoot em up game then you should avoid this, its more puzzles, memory, ammo and health conservation and backtracking. Great graphics and a very long difficult game with plenty of sub plots. Bad comments are clearly from people that cant get out of the first room or dont have the patience for a game that actually requires you to use some brain cells! Expand
  11. DavidW.
    Nov 24, 2001
    10
    Best RE game ever.
  12. Blaze
    Dec 12, 2001
    10
    One of the best games ever, but a bit hard.
  13. JasonM.
    Dec 22, 2001
    10
    This game is so Atmospheric...If this is the future of gaming I'm hangin on for the ride!! Scary $h|t!!!
  14. ToddW.
    Dec 27, 2001
    10
    Best Resident Evil game yet!!! THIS GAME IS SWEET ASS!!!
  15. BenW.
    Aug 26, 2001
    10
    Bad ass game.
  16. CreepingDeath
    Aug 26, 2001
    10
    Simply the best Resident Evil game ever!
  17. BrandonS.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    I give 10 because resident evil are my favorite games and I really like horror stuff.
  18. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    I hope the people who rated this game bad get ripped up for their crimes. I had a dreamcast and it was best. Then PS2 came along and made better game version, Resident Evil Code Veronica game fun. I saw it avaialbe in a shop for small pennies the other day and i weeped a weary tear. I played this game for at least 10 days straight. No...seriously. I had fun with it and then played it moreI hope the people who rated this game bad get ripped up for their crimes. I had a dreamcast and it was best. Then PS2 came along and made better game version, Resident Evil Code Veronica game fun. I saw it avaialbe in a shop for small pennies the other day and i weeped a weary tear. I played this game for at least 10 days straight. No...seriously. I had fun with it and then played it more because the music is Choooooons. Like Andreas said It IS a great game. I played as Claire Redfield or whoever and I got right into. Right stuck in. There were zombies left right and center, all around like standing targets i pulled out my pumper and filled em with digital lead. I shot SOOOO many zombies. More than anyone else. Dont even bother trying to compete. I had the VMU on Dreamcast and the 8MB Memory Cardlet for PS2 and it worked. Like John Lennin said 'Imagine all the people' and Resident Evil Code: VX is a good game. Expand
  19. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great Resident Evil. Hard to get used to at first, once you master the controls, it's smooth sailing from then on. The game is arguably one of the most challenging of the series, especially to somebody who is not used to the concept of survivor horror. Conservation is essential to survival. If you waste your ammo, tough,it's not a 21st century war game.. The Knife is the key to killing the basic zombies, while the bosses and advanced creatures require the best in your arsenal. Characters from the first two games are also present, including Wesker, Chris and Claire. Steve Burnside, may be an irritating git, but his cheesy capcom dialogue does not detract from the fact that RE CV is an underrated masterpiece Expand
  20. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Very good resident evil. Boring at the start, interesting later. People who voted down for it, i hope you get ran over by a combine harvester lol. Seriously. The graphics are good, sound is good and story is good. ALSO! ITS BEEN RELEASED IN HD ON PS3 AND XBOX 360 LATE 2011! OMG!
  21. May 27, 2012
    10
    My second favorite Resident evil game. This game blew my mind.
  22. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    This had one of the best stories for a RE game ever. The characters were great and the atmosphere was creepy throughout. both campaigns were plenty long, and the scares were still there.
  23. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    I don't think I can rate any Resident Evil game from the PS1/PS2 era lower than a 10 with the exception of the FPS ones. Those were just simply a waste of the Resident Evil title. I will say that CVX is interesting and challenging at the same time. You'll love playing it, and even after beating it you'll still want to play it again because it's just that good of a game. With as long asI don't think I can rate any Resident Evil game from the PS1/PS2 era lower than a 10 with the exception of the FPS ones. Those were just simply a waste of the Resident Evil title. I will say that CVX is interesting and challenging at the same time. You'll love playing it, and even after beating it you'll still want to play it again because it's just that good of a game. With as long as some systems have been out, as long as you get a Resident Evil game then you know it'll be a classic game for that system. This game is simply amazing and you'll be on the edge of your seat as well as scratching your head for some puzzles. It's definitely worth playing. Expand
  24. AfanoftheResidentEvilgames
    Mar 22, 2003
    9
    This game is definately one of the best in the Resident Evil franchise. Great thrills, great cutscenes, lots of action, it is much better than any other game released in the Resident Evil series. Unfortunately, it has some problems. The difficulty is one of them. This game is extremely difficult, with health items scarce, ink ribbons, and handgun bullets also scarce. Not only that, but This game is definately one of the best in the Resident Evil franchise. Great thrills, great cutscenes, lots of action, it is much better than any other game released in the Resident Evil series. Unfortunately, it has some problems. The difficulty is one of them. This game is extremely difficult, with health items scarce, ink ribbons, and handgun bullets also scarce. Not only that, but there is a lot of backtracking involved. Those problems aside, this game is definitely awesome. Expand
  25. annoymousannoymous
    Oct 16, 2004
    9
    The game's good, however, I can't get the devil may cry demo working. I bought it at software exc in the used department. Four things could be wrong with it. 1. It's fragmented 2. It's infected 3. It's not going to work with version 1.10 4. There's an unknown proble, with it. Other than that, it's Great!
  26. SteveR.
    Nov 27, 2001
    9
    This is the best Resident Evil in the series! But a little hard to pass sometimes.
  27. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first played this I didn't like it very much, thought it was kinda boring and too cartoony looking for a horror game. But as I kept playing I really started getting into it and in my opinion it's actually one of the funnest games in the series, as well as the longest. This game could easily take you weeks to beat. However even though this game is super long, not even the amount of character development saved this game from cheese... I still laughed when Steve died. BUT I digress. This is a great game even on it's own, definitely worth a play if you can commit to a 25 hour long play. Expand
  28. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    EN: Strongest game of the series. Cone Veronica X isn't nearly as fun to play as Resident Evil 3, but the classy soundtrack, gorgeous visuals, very challenging boss fights and dramatic story assures its greatness.
    PT-BR: Melhor jogo da série. Code Veronica X não diverte tanto quanto Resident Evil 3, mas a trilha sonora classuda, o visual deslumbrante, as muitas desafiadoras lutas contra
    EN: Strongest game of the series. Cone Veronica X isn't nearly as fun to play as Resident Evil 3, but the classy soundtrack, gorgeous visuals, very challenging boss fights and dramatic story assures its greatness.
    PT-BR: Melhor jogo da série. Code Veronica X não diverte tanto quanto Resident Evil 3, mas a trilha sonora classuda, o visual deslumbrante, as muitas desafiadoras lutas contra chefes e a história dramática garantem a sua grandiosidade.
    Expand
  29. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    Resident Evil Code veronica have a great storyline, graphics, sounds, gameplay, and the greats characters like Chris and Claire made the game more lovely, this is a very good game and very good survival horror too.
  30. AndrewJ.
    May 14, 2003
    8
    THis game is great, although the PS2 version doesn't seem to offer more than some of the PS1 versions.
  31. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    The game is challenging. It's hard. Some parts are frustratingly cheap. The storyline and settings aren't my favorite, but are interesting none the less. The game is visually impressive. Some of the beginning sections with Claire are tedious. Things get better once Chris is playable. This isn't my favorite Resident Evil yet it surprises me that this is a spin off title. Some think itThe game is challenging. It's hard. Some parts are frustratingly cheap. The storyline and settings aren't my favorite, but are interesting none the less. The game is visually impressive. Some of the beginning sections with Claire are tedious. Things get better once Chris is playable. This isn't my favorite Resident Evil yet it surprises me that this is a spin off title. Some think it deserved the Resident Evil "3" title. It's a good game that isn't vastly different from the PSone titles. Beware. The challenge is present. Patience is a must with this game. Collapse
  32. Mar 22, 2013
    8
    This game more or less goes back to it's roots, ignoring many of the RE3 mechanics. It is almost as good as the second game, but it suffers from not trying to do anything new other than following the same old formula a little too loyally. At that time, this style of survival horror was starting to get a little stale. That aside it still is a great game with fantastic animation, greatThis game more or less goes back to it's roots, ignoring many of the RE3 mechanics. It is almost as good as the second game, but it suffers from not trying to do anything new other than following the same old formula a little too loyally. At that time, this style of survival horror was starting to get a little stale. That aside it still is a great game with fantastic animation, great gameplay and "interesting" characters. The story is a little too familiar and comes across feeling a little too familiar for most of the game. The other times when it tries to be original it gets a little weird. Overall: A decent Resident Evil game that does nothing wrong, but could have tried to do something new, aside from introducing a little QTE near the end (thanks for that Capcom since we all looove QTEs *he says with sarcastic smirk.*) Expand
  33. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    It stays true to the series by having all of the difficult puzzles and cheap scares. It great, but not as great, and the main reason for that is that this game is overly cheesy in the dialogue department.
  34. Sep 14, 2014
    8
    Code Veronica é mais um excelente game da franquia Resident Evil, um ponto negativo talvez seja o pouco apelo no quesito replay. Mas todos os elementos que o tornaram uma grande franquia estao presentes neste game.
  35. Feb 3, 2015
    8
    RE: Code Veronica X is a good game, it manages to deliver what a survival horror game is supposed to do.
    The story is interesting with a dark and creepy atmosphere in most of the times.
    Clair's as always an interesting character together with Alfred and Alexia, however Chris is as usual a big disappointment. The other flaw on this game is the graphics level, even when this was the first
    RE: Code Veronica X is a good game, it manages to deliver what a survival horror game is supposed to do.
    The story is interesting with a dark and creepy atmosphere in most of the times.
    Clair's as always an interesting character together with Alfred and Alexia, however Chris is as usual a big disappointment.
    The other flaw on this game is the graphics level, even when this was the first game on this franchise to be able to move 360 it is not at the level of the PS2 capacity.
    This is a game you must play if you are either a RE or survival horror fan.
    Expand
  36. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    When Resident Evil: Code Veronica X first released back 2001, Gameplay is Perfect, Story was Best even more thanks to Wesker.
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Story: 8/10
    Total: 8/10
    I was once Die Hard Fan but stop caring Since Series become crap once Resident Evil 4 Released.
  37. BullT64
    Nov 24, 2001
    6
    Good game but those puzzles...are worse than the zombies.
  38. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    i expected something new for resident evil for the ps2 and i was really hyped for this game but it turned to be nothing new and it is boring bad graphics and it had the worst start ever
  39. Serra
    Dec 5, 2001
    5
    Looks good, but that's about it. It's slow going and some of the puzzles are crazy.
  40. Aug 12, 2012
    5
    I really hate giving a Resident Evil game a low score but this one just wasnt so great. The graphics are great, the controls are what to expect. I thought the monsters and bosses were good but the puzzles just sucked. I mean there were just too many of them and some of them didnt even make sense. I think the over emphasis on puzzles is what ruined the game for me but i dont know. iI really hate giving a Resident Evil game a low score but this one just wasnt so great. The graphics are great, the controls are what to expect. I thought the monsters and bosses were good but the puzzles just sucked. I mean there were just too many of them and some of them didnt even make sense. I think the over emphasis on puzzles is what ruined the game for me but i dont know. i thought that the game itself was pretty good, but not as good as compared to the 1st 3 resident evil games. I do like the story however and thats really about it. This is perhaps the lowest score I would give a main Resident Evil Game. Expand
  41. May 19, 2013
    1
    I beat this recently with a friend after going through RE 1-3 and I have to say this is the worst Resident Evil game I've played. RE1 had it's issues but because it was such an innovator and tried many new things (many ideas worked, few didn't) it was excellent; RE2 doubled the gameplay by adding multiple paths, new weapons systems, more characters, and better plot/writing/acting; RE3I beat this recently with a friend after going through RE 1-3 and I have to say this is the worst Resident Evil game I've played. RE1 had it's issues but because it was such an innovator and tried many new things (many ideas worked, few didn't) it was excellent; RE2 doubled the gameplay by adding multiple paths, new weapons systems, more characters, and better plot/writing/acting; RE3 added the Nemesis, dodging, ammo crafting, and the best overall graphics and controls of the pre-RE4 series. Code Veronica does nothing new and actually does almost everything worse compared to it's predecessors. The pre-rendered cutscenes are all RE3-quality or better, with a few of them being very impressive with their technical prowess. However everything else about the graphics are worse... the beautiful pre-rendered backgrounds are gone and many of the environments have stretched out bland beige and grey textures. Character models textures are average for consoles at the time but particle effects (especially exploding heads) are disappointing. Somehow the sound effects have gotten worse, with many of the weapons lacking punch and enemies sounding weak or obnoxious. Controls are frustratingly worse than RE3, with a lack of dodging and poor auto-aim tracking making fighting airborne targets a nightmare. There's no real reason to replay the game and the bonus game mode you unlock gives you no unlocks for the regular game upon completion. On top of all this you have to deal with the unintuitive game design with every map feeling like a maze, bosses that stun lock or 1-hit KO you, a ton of recycled areas, and the final act's chain of bosses that will leave you stunned at the ridiculousness of it all. Code Veronica is playable, but this is an 80's B-movie caricature of a Resident Evil game that feels like it was crapped out by Capcom's B-team of interns and temps. Expand
  42. [Anonymous]
    Nov 1, 2001
    0
    The game sucks. Period.
  43. Mar 4, 2014
    0
    this game does a very poor job in gameplay wise if you haven't completed the game once then you'll be totally lost what the whole gamethe game playing this game requires you to switch characters of it if you don't have the right items with each character the game is very much hard if you forget items then it's even harderthe point where I have to go back and restart the whole game just tothis game does a very poor job in gameplay wise if you haven't completed the game once then you'll be totally lost what the whole gamethe game playing this game requires you to switch characters of it if you don't have the right items with each character the game is very much hard if you forget items then it's even harderthe point where I have to go back and restart the whole game just to get a certain weapons to help me complete a boss story the game is bad too the voice acting is poor but the graphics are nice Expand
  44. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    The game is challenging. It's hard. Some parts are frustratingly cheap. The storyline and settings aren't my favorite, but are interesting none the less. The game is visually impressive. Some of the beginning sections with Claire are tedious. Things get better once Chris is playable. This isn't my favorite Resident Evil yet it surprises me that this is a spin off title. Some think itThe game is challenging. It's hard. Some parts are frustratingly cheap. The storyline and settings aren't my favorite, but are interesting none the less. The game is visually impressive. Some of the beginning sections with Claire are tedious. Things get better once Chris is playable. This isn't my favorite Resident Evil yet it surprises me that this is a spin off title. Some think it deserved the Resident Evil "3" title. It's a good game that isn't vastly different from the PSone titles. Beware. The challenge is present. Patience is a must with this game. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Clearly the best game yet produced for the survival-horror subgenre of adventure gaming, in spite of its flaws.
  2. A necessary part of any adventure gamer’s balanced breakfast…Masterful storytelling and superb graphics. [Sept 2001, p.144]
  3. 100
    This is, for all intents and purposes the same game that was released for the DC over a year ago. It was great then, it's still great now.