Resident Evil Code: Veronica X Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this fourth game of the "Resident Evil" series, Claire Redfield attempts to track down her brother Chris, who went missing during his investigation of the Umbrella Corp., which is responsible for those pesky zombie outbreaks throughout the series. It also comes complete with a playable demo of Capcom's next big thing, "Devil May Cry." Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 100
    This is, for all intents and purposes the same game that was released for the DC over a year ago. It was great then, it's still great now.
  2. The gore is gorier, the booms are boomier, and the guns are gunnier—RE:CVX takes an already near-flawless game and makes it even better.
  3. Clearly the best game yet produced for the survival-horror subgenre of adventure gaming, in spite of its flaws.
  4. Players who haven’t experienced Code: Veronica need to. It’s to die for.
  5. Little more than a slightly enhanced port of an already excellent game.
  6. solid game that will get it's deserved audience and hopefully become the blockbuster the Dreamcast kept it from being. Hunt on zombie killer!
  7. 65
    After having played so many Resident Evil games, I want more from it. I want better controls, less ludicrous key-searching missions, and more forgiving camera angles, for starters.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Very good resident evil. Boring at the start, interesting later. People who voted down for it, i hope you get ran over by a combine harvester lol. Seriously. The graphics are good, sound is good and story is good. ALSO! ITS BEEN RELEASED IN HD ON PS3 AND XBOX 360 LATE 2011! OMG! Expand
  2. LeonK.
    Apr 11, 2002
    10
    Great game. Filled with thrills, shocks, and jump out of your seat moments.
  3. BenW.
    Aug 26, 2001
    10
    Bad ass game.
  4. danielreid
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    I loved this game, thought it was the best of all RE's. It was hard going with insane puzzles, you wanted to pull your hair out sometimes but for me very addictive. If your looking for a fast paced, smooth shoot em up game then you should avoid this, its more puzzles, memory, ammo and health conservation and backtracking. Great graphics and a very long difficult game with plenty of sub plots. Bad comments are clearly from people that cant get out of the first room or dont have the patience for a game that actually requires you to use some brain cells! Expand
  5. annoymousannoymous
    Oct 16, 2004
    9
    The game's good, however, I can't get the devil may cry demo working. I bought it at software exc in the used department. Four things could be wrong with it. 1. It's fragmented 2. It's infected 3. It's not going to work with version 1.10 4. There's an unknown proble, with it. Other than that, it's Great! Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    The game is challenging. It's hard. Some parts are frustratingly cheap. The storyline and settings aren't my favorite, but are interesting none the less. The game is visually impressive. Some of the beginning sections with Claire are tedious. Things get better once Chris is playable. This isn't my favorite Resident Evil yet it surprises me that this is a spin off title. Some think it deserved the Resident Evil "3" title. It's a good game that isn't vastly different from the PSone titles. Beware. The challenge is present. Patience is a must with this game. Expand
  7. Mar 4, 2014
    0
    this game does a very poor job in gameplay wise if you haven't completed the game once then you'll be totally lost what the whole gamethe game playing this game requires you to switch characters of it if you don't have the right items with each character the game is very much hard if you forget items then it's even harderthe point where I have to go back and restart the whole game just to get a certain weapons to help me complete a boss story the game is bad too the voice acting is poor but the graphics are nice Expand

See all 40 User Reviews