Rogue Galaxy Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The newest invention of "Dark Cloud" series developer Level 5, this role-playing game wraps up a neat real-time battle system in a world of unique and great-looking characters and environments. Jaster is a young man who dreams of exploring the galaxy. In a sudden turn of fate, he is mistakenThe newest invention of "Dark Cloud" series developer Level 5, this role-playing game wraps up a neat real-time battle system in a world of unique and great-looking characters and environments. Jaster is a young man who dreams of exploring the galaxy. In a sudden turn of fate, he is mistaken for a renowned bounty hunter and recruited into a band of space pirates in a race to find a legendary planet that holds the key to the greatest treasures and eternal life. Clues to ‘Eden’ are scattered round the Galaxy - Jaster will go onto to explore many different worlds and face countless battles in search for these clues – but some treasures are best left undiscovered. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. 100
    The game offers a cool setting, interesting characters, a great combat and skill system, and lots of extracurricular activities, providing countless hours of RPG fun.
  2. Rogue Galaxy ultimately feels like a mixture of "Final Fantasy XII" and "Dark Cloud 2," which is undoubtedly a great combination. With its gorgeous visuals, its galaxy spanning story, and dozens of hours of gameplay, Rogue Galaxy is probably and sadly the last great RPG that the fading PS2 will see.
  3. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    Deep, addictive and awash with colour and character, Rogue Galaxy is a near-perfect take on the old-school Eastern RPG formula. [June 2007, p.76]
  4. Another outstanding title from Level 5 games. If you like RPGs, get this game now.
  5. 80
    With an awful plot, some shoddy controls and poor dialogue working against it, you might expect that Rogue Galaxy would receive a poor overall score from me... and you'd be right if it weren't for everything else. The gameplay, in particular, was a saving grace but the music and graphics also pulled this game from the depths of despair into something fun.
  6. 80
    With solid localization, fun fighting, and a smooth flow, Rogue Galaxy is a likeable role-playing game that impresses on several fronts -- while at the same time giving a peek at what the future of the genre may hold.
  7. AceGamez
    60
    Inconsistent both in its game world and its gameplay, Rogue Galaxy is a title with much potential that doesn't quite realise it fully.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Never have I seen such a blend of 2 things: Feeling with efficiency. I believe this game is a rare jewel. Much like the best mostNever have I seen such a blend of 2 things: Feeling with efficiency. I believe this game is a rare jewel. Much like the best most well-programmed installations of release after release of the lightest and most epic successes out there, Rogue Galaxy fits its name to absolution. Notwithstanding, this game is far beyond the nature of ANY perspective of rather any in-game or individuals senses. (The con being that you are sort of obligated to be in high-octaveness and measured crashing through side-quests, intelligent strategical choices, etc.) Why did I rate this a 10? Well since I saw the 83 score. That's about IT. For any new-comers to games, this game is a nice primer for the more successful high-octave blasts from the past which is dangerous in stature; yet beautiful at heart. This is a gold mine. (Not talking Vedan here) XD I have finished this game, and I know you will too if you are like me. Anywhere, anybody could (at least in America) get a kick out of this game sooner or later. At worst, cookie cutter bread and butter, at best, Epic nature to a transcendent and majestic extent. Please, go ahead and GO GET IT NAO!!! Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2017
    10
    En mi opinión uno de los mejores juegos de PS2 sin duda alguna.
    Donde realmente brila es en su preciosa OST, su bestial historia y su sinfín
    En mi opinión uno de los mejores juegos de PS2 sin duda alguna.
    Donde realmente brila es en su preciosa OST, su bestial historia y su sinfín de misiones secundarias, cazas, insectron y un largo etc.
    También hay que destacar su cuidado y novedoso sistema de progresión, sin olvidar ese sistema de batalla, que es lo único a mejorar, ya que si bien es ágil y dinámico, concede muchas oportunidades si vas repleto de objetos curativos, al "congelar" la batalla, cosa que se debería de suprimir.

    También a destacar que contiene un muy buen post-game aunque algo repetitico.
    Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    A fantastic RPG! Great graphics, fun gameplay and plenty of stuff to do. The battle can be a little tedious but this game is definitely worthA fantastic RPG! Great graphics, fun gameplay and plenty of stuff to do. The battle can be a little tedious but this game is definitely worth playing if you like Japanese RPGs (especially FF12 -- this game is very similar). Expand
  4. KevinA.
    Oct 1, 2007
    8
    Level 5 always brings out some good titles and this one is no exception. Rogue Galaxy doesn't need to be FF to be great. It just has to Level 5 always brings out some good titles and this one is no exception. Rogue Galaxy doesn't need to be FF to be great. It just has to be itself. Gameplay is good and stable. Tutorials are always when you need them. It's not heavy RPG, it's light and fresh. One thing I really like about this game and wish more RPGs on the PS2 would do, less load times. As any RPG or JRPG fan will tell you, when you leave a shop or go into a cave/dungoen/forest, you'll see a loading screen. Not in RG, hardly any load times at all between cutscenes and buildings. Characters are entertaining but quite forgettable after you beat it. Voice acting is really good but the writing stinks. Funny thing about it is that the characters don't look like pirates at all but the most pirate-looking character (Zegram) isnt a pirate. Anyway, to make a long story short, this is an good game. Pick this one up ON SALE!!! Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2017
    8
    This is a good rpg. The story is fine and it has some funny moments. The game reminds you an anime for its design but it's good. I neverThis is a good rpg. The story is fine and it has some funny moments. The game reminds you an anime for its design but it's good. I never finished this game but I probably played it till the middle or more. I think this game deserves an 8 or 8.5 or barely a 9. A nice rpg anyway. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    Pros: colourful, light-hearted and lively with straightforward gameplay (for a JRPG) that does not punish the player. Save-points and itemPros: colourful, light-hearted and lively with straightforward gameplay (for a JRPG) that does not punish the player. Save-points and item stores are frequent, bosses are never insurmountable (no need to grind) characters are silly and likeable. Cons: random encounters can get annoying, some dungeons are a little large and repetitive. Expand
  7. ZachJ.
    Jul 22, 2007
    3
    From the beginning, I really liked this RPG. The battle system was good enough off the start, and the story seemed interesting. However, as I From the beginning, I really liked this RPG. The battle system was good enough off the start, and the story seemed interesting. However, as I went along, this game just gradually made me start to hate it. Like, absolutely despise it. This game has the worst dialogue out of any RPG I've played. Ever. It's absolutely painful. I mean, if you think that Final Fantasy's stumbles along every once in a while, then you have no idea of what depths of crappiness lie in store for you here. The characters seem fake, the writing is terrible, and it sells the entire game short. Jaster is an awful main character, and all of his lines are crappy segues to the next dungeon or action segment. You know his entire personality within two minutes of dialogue from him (which is all of "leik OMG we have to help out people in need, i totalz want adventure, good is good and bad is not good") and he never changes once throughout the entire freaking game. They could've made so much more interesting characters here, but instead they chose to take the easy route and provide mindless filler between the boring dungeon segments. If you don't like anime-styled RPGs, do not get this game. If you don't like having to sit through hours of the worst cutscenes in RPG history, do not get this game. In fact, just don't get this RPG. In the end, it really is not worth it. I really wish I could say more for this game, becuase it had SO much going for it. The battle system is good! Like, really good! Why the hell did they have to muck it up by making the rest of the game terrible? In fact, the graphics, for a console that's successor has been out for almost a year now, are pretty freaking good! Why, Level 5? Why would you ruin what could've been an amazing game? Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

4
4
#4 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2007
1
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2007