RTX Red Rock PlayStation 2

Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 23
  2. Negative: 11 out of 23
Buy On
  1. Play Magazine
    75
    RTX shocked me with its design, music, and especially story integration which borders on greatness. [Aug 2003, p.77]
  2. RTX combines some unique gameplay elements to enhance a traditional third-personal action game, and while it might not be the best game out there, it does offer a certain charm.
  3. There are a lot of things to do in this game, but at times it seems really scattered, meaning that LucasArts came up with a great idea, but it feels like they didn’t fully realize their vision, and the gameplay reflects that.
  4. If anything lets the game down it’s this combat system, which really doesn’t need to be there.
  5. Game Informer
    65
    The cheesy sci-fi atmosphere won't do much to convince you to play this game, and neither will the derivative gameplay and level design. [July 2003, p.106]
  6. With repetitive gameplay, basic graphics and poor controls, especially in gunfights, RTX is one of those products that sounds good on paper, but weak in execution.
  7. Rather like "Angel Of Darkness," if you're prepared to stick with it and cast off your frustrations and the game's limitations, you'll slowly begin to enjoy what is actually a rather solid enjoyable, well paced adventure game.
  8. With well designed levels, and a multi-purpose eye-piece for the game’s main character, there could have been a lot of fun to be had in this game, but unfortunately RTX is riddled with countless tedious fetch quests and a sketchy enemy lock-on system that seriously drags down the enjoyment of the game.
  9. 56
    Fails to deliver where it counts. The gameplay is unfocused and bland, and from a purely superficial level, it has its share of technical problems too.
  10. PSM Magazine
    50
    An over-reliance on gadgetry and a cumbersome interface make playing the game more of a chore than anything else. [Sept 2003, p.38]
  11. Ultimately, the only ones likely to enjoy RTX Red Rock are the hardcore sci-fi buffs who can look past the flawed game engine and through to the core story. There is a lot of potential in RTX, sadly most of it is unrealized.
  12. Cheat Code Central
    50
    It's void of any scenic ambience which gives the game a sterile appearance that is also, unfortunately, reflected in the gameplay.
  13. An experience that is absolutely marred by several problems working in conjunction with each other. It's just not a very fun game to play.
  14. 45
    Infinite lives can't make up for gameplay that rivals NES games for cheap deaths, many of which are caused by shoddy controls. RTX Red Rock is an experience in pain.
  15. It is the combat that is the most disappointing aspect, despite the game offering such elements as piloting buggies, donning a space suit before exiting space stations, and using jetpacks.
  16. 40
    Sloppy controls, meandering pace, Ginsu-choppy frame rates, generic environments, and beat collision detection.
  17. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    40
    The puzzles are so ploddingly bleak that you might find yourself craving more awful action just to keep you awake. The biggest problem? The utterly lackwit level design. [Aug 2003, p.103]
  18. 40
    The game just never firmly establishes a sense of direction. All told, you're basically thrown into a scenario and told to care, with no supporting material to help an intelligent human being establish anything remotely resembling suspension of disbelief.
  19. GMR Magazine
    40
    A "Metroid Prime" wannabe that fails on almost every level. [Sept 2003, p.76]
  20. A thoroughly substandard game, the kind generally engineered for resale at your local video game store and only worth a few hours of play on a rainy day while awaiting the arrival of something better.
  21. GameNow
    33
    The problem is that the interface used to control the eye is so unintuitive, your invisible assailant will most likely kill you before you can see him get off a shot. [Aug 2003, p.36]
  22. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    32
    The debilitating, clunky controls had me spewing so many expletives in the heat of combat that passersby probably thought I had Tourette's syndrome. [Sept 2003, p.132]
  23. From generic character designs to an underwhelming audio presentation (in a LucasArts game??!!), and from its close-to-unwatchable frame-rate choppiness to the endlessly boring fetch quests across Mars, RTX Red Rock is a laundry list of what NOT to put out on the crowded 3rd person action/adventure PS2 market these days.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Sep 19, 2015
    0
    This game gave me and my friend cancer when we tried it. It was incredibly bad and I feel sorry for anyone that's had the displeasure ofThis game gave me and my friend cancer when we tried it. It was incredibly bad and I feel sorry for anyone that's had the displeasure of playing this. The controls are terrible. You only have 2 zoom options. The difficulty is out of this world, and the level design makes absolutely no sense. Not to mention the plot is your generic "aliens on Mars" story that you don't even hear about in jokes anymore. Nobody should ever bother with this game. Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    This game was my favorite growing up and I still love it. I think the critics were really harsh about it. Yes the story line's cheesy, and yesThis game was my favorite growing up and I still love it. I think the critics were really harsh about it. Yes the story line's cheesy, and yes the graphics aren't the best, but it's an old PS2 game that deserves more credit than it got. People criticize the game play but I don't hear anyone else criticizing the loose controls on Assassin's Creed and how they're storyline bashes an honorable Christian monk order. The music and level design are what make this game so great and no one gives it credit for that. Full Review »
  3. [Anonymous]
    Sep 18, 2003
    0
    English: This is the most boring and frustrating game i EVER played! Spanish: Este juego es una mierda,no lo compren por NADA en el mundo.