Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Imagine the visual pageantry of "Devil May Cry" populated with the characters of "Dead or Alive," applied to a Greco-Roman era action-adventure. [Dec 2002, p.58]
  2. 91
    Bottom line: if you like to have fun, play Rygar. [Jan 2003, p.54]
  3. With plenty of unlockables, action packed gameplay and awesome graphics. This is a must-buy for an action/adventure fan. But with the short play time, this is a tempting rental for everyone else.
  4. This Greek mythology-based action game is an update of the arcade and NES classic in name only. Fun combat and great music. [Feb 2003, p.93]
  5. This classic next-generation action experience overflows with class and attention to detail, welcoming 80’s veterans and young newcomers into its pseudo-intellectual (!) interpretation of classic Greek motifs and 3D action platforming.
  6. Rygar's environments will amaze you from the beginning. [Dec 2002, p.118]
  7. I'm surprised to say that this is a title that you could play through once, then turn around and play through it another 5 times or so to unlock all of the goodies.
  8. Stunningly beautiful - jaw-dropping at times... One of the finest action games I've ever played. [Jan 2003, p.137]
  9. The constant action featured in the gameplay is just as exhilarating as anything previously seen, as the only thing hampering it is the faulty camera angles at times.
  10. What surprised me most, though, were the incredible, lush visuals. [Jan 2003, p.180]
  11. The game is a bit on the short side, true, but rarely does a game manage to capture the essence of the classics the way this does. The action is fast and furious, the graphics astounding, and the music incredible.
  12. The Diskarmor is one of the most innovative weapons of all time and with the three versions and dozens of combos and unique attacks the possibilities for creatively dispatching your enemies is nearly endless.
  13. 87
    It also does a great job of channeling the spirit of the game it's based on, unlike the recent remake of "Shinobi."
  14. Tecmo looks to have once again put together a quality product, while offering something old and new at the same time.
  15. 84
    A solid, likeable action game that should satisfy old fans and invite newer ones into deadly yo-yo combat.
  16. A truly epic adventure. [Holiday 2002, p.38]
  17. The story and acting is guff - and easily ignored - but the sense of being involved in some epic fantasy movie is quite tangible.
  18. A good leap forward from 2D into the 3D realm. However, a few graphical and gameplay flaws, as well as its short duration, detract from the total overall experience, making it seem like more of an expansion pack than a full title.
  19. 80
    The game’s length, dialogue, and uneven difficulty are this legend’s only blemishes.
  20. This is actually one of the best adventure games we’ve played in a long time—even if pseudo-Conan is killing beasts by the thousands with something from Toys “R” Us.
  21. 80
    Though it only takes five hours to beat, the overall package is so focused and addictive that most will want to play it more than once.
  22. While the enemy selection could have been more diverse, and the camera angles more intuitive, the quality of the environments, control, and music is high enough to live with some of the shortcomings.
  23. The character models are great. Rygar is exquisitely detailed.
  24. There is actually much to praise in Rygar – the style, in particular, being wonderful. The seven worlds are packed with imaginative designs that range from the crumbling Coliseum of the game’s opening to islands in the sky.
  25. 78
    The six hours that I got out of the game were fun, but I was simply left wanting more.
  26. A good couple of days stylish thrash-'em-up violence. Not much variety, but plenty of fun to be had, we feel. [GamesMaster]
  27. The story is weak, the camera forsakes practicality for dramatics, and you'll mostly be fighting different insects throughout most of the game, but Rygar's most stringent issue is its length--the game is only about four and a half to five hours long.
  28. The gameplay is mostly involving and the graphics are impressive. Though the game is far too short and the lack of variety in the enemies is disappointing, I can’t help but recommend this game.
  29. An effective game in terms of delivering visceral thrills and exotic sights. However, I'm not recommending it as a full priced purchase. The biggest reason is that the entire adventure is nearly over before you know it (my first play-through took about five hours).
  30. There are a variety of attacks and moves that can be mastered for the Diskarmor, but sadly you will often find yourself simply using the most straightforward attacks as they are not only the easiest to execute, but also are less likely to leave Rygar open for attack by any one for the handful of different enemies in the game.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    My brother got this for christmas a very long time ago.. The game is outstanding, absolutely great. I like the gameplay and the area's youMy brother got this for christmas a very long time ago.. The game is outstanding, absolutely great. I like the gameplay and the area's you discover, whats most fun is the puzzles you do. Some parts you will go into circles but if you watch carefully and concentrate enough then you will like it. Full Review »
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    4
    Definitely a Devil May Cry sort of a clone. The diskarmor mechanics are strange and not as intuitive as I'd like, what with the combos andDefinitely a Devil May Cry sort of a clone. The diskarmor mechanics are strange and not as intuitive as I'd like, what with the combos and upgrades.

    The graphics and level design are great and spooky, and they take me back to Shadow of the Colossus, but the dialogue and cut-scenes are pretty terrible. Rygar's speech is the worst.

    This is the best rating I'd give for a game I don't have interest in playing for very long. Doesn't mean it won't work for the console action gamer, especially if you like DMC or similar games.
    Full Review »
  3. EricH.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    Great game, not repetitive, ok story, great weapon system, great visuals, great gameplay, an over-all great game...........but this game soGreat game, not repetitive, ok story, great weapon system, great visuals, great gameplay, an over-all great game...........but this game so they make a sequel!!! Full Review »