Shadow of the Colossus PlayStation 2

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 993 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 993
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Steve
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is a masterpiece. The art direction, story, and characters are amazing. This game is the best to be released on any previous generation console.
  2. DavidD.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Desolate environments, difficult and rewarding boss fights mixed with a story that carries itself on emotion with very few words. This game remains the best game ever made, even though the new console generation is already halfway through its lifespan.
  3. Alex
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    I don't know exactly what it is about this game that is so riveting, it just is. This is definetly worth your time even if your an RPG or sports game fan.
  4. Lemonyama
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    Anybody who is too immature, too ignorant or too closed minded to take time to appreciate real digital art will not get this game. If you find the journeys to reach the colussi boring then its only because you are a boring person. Scores out of 10 are thus meaningless depending on what sort of a person you are. My advice - if you want to experience a truely immersive world and fathom at Anybody who is too immature, too ignorant or too closed minded to take time to appreciate real digital art will not get this game. If you find the journeys to reach the colussi boring then its only because you are a boring person. Scores out of 10 are thus meaningless depending on what sort of a person you are. My advice - if you want to experience a truely immersive world and fathom at the originality of this title then its a must buy. Expand
  5. HassanH.
    Apr 30, 2009
    10
    Everything that an epic adventure needs to be. Memorable enemies, a story that allows the player to use their imagination, tight controls, and one of the most impressive soundtracks of recent note. In short, it's classic.
  6. SteveG
    Sep 27, 2009
    9
    16 great battles and the effort in finding them -- that is what this game is. It has beautiful music and a very zen vibe. A truly inspired game. However, the ending is more than a little annoying. I won't give it away, but there is really no foreshadowing of the ending and its kind of a long non-sequitor. That doesn't mean it is not a great game. It is. It is a great game with a 16 great battles and the effort in finding them -- that is what this game is. It has beautiful music and a very zen vibe. A truly inspired game. However, the ending is more than a little annoying. I won't give it away, but there is really no foreshadowing of the ending and its kind of a long non-sequitor. That doesn't mean it is not a great game. It is. It is a great game with a questionable ending. I played it on a PS3 and it looked and sounded marvelous. Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    This is not just a game, it is art. Also, it is unique. You wont find a game like this. People say this game is bad because of the camera or that it is the same all the way... Like the 2 colossus they defeated.... and people who have a hard time with the camera, don´t have a right to say its a bad game just because of that.
    I played the game in my ps2, now I have it in my ps3 and I love
    This is not just a game, it is art. Also, it is unique. You wont find a game like this. People say this game is bad because of the camera or that it is the same all the way... Like the 2 colossus they defeated.... and people who have a hard time with the camera, don´t have a right to say its a bad game just because of that.
    I played the game in my ps2, now I have it in my ps3 and I love playing it from time to time.
    Expand
  8. Dec 7, 2015
    10
    No video game is perfect, but no other video game has gotten quite as close as Shadow of the Colossus.

    The battles against the colossi are epic and breathtaking; the long, quiet journeys on the road towards are great ways to break up the actions, giving you time to think, etc. The sense of scale this game has is amazing. No game environment made me feel quite this small compared to
    No video game is perfect, but no other video game has gotten quite as close as Shadow of the Colossus.

    The battles against the colossi are epic and breathtaking; the long, quiet journeys on the road towards are great ways to break up the actions, giving you time to think, etc.

    The sense of scale this game has is amazing. No game environment made me feel quite this small compared to my surroundings.

    Even though this game is quite a rarity nowadays, if you're lucky enough to find it, you NEED to pick it up. Prepare to be amazed at what the PS2 was capable of pumping out.
    Expand
  9. Miroslav
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    The must amazing thing in this game is the movment of horse as it sounds so real!! And also the amzing vew of giant colossus... Its great game.
  10. KyleH.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Prepare to be stunned. This game is a must buy for anyone who has ever played a video game. Shadow of Colossus is a gaming masterpiece, artfully stitched together for an overall breathe taking experience. The vastness of the land and the fluidity of the camera play this game off just like a movie. Don't expect any filler or half-thought out side quests, because this game has none. Prepare to be stunned. This game is a must buy for anyone who has ever played a video game. Shadow of Colossus is a gaming masterpiece, artfully stitched together for an overall breathe taking experience. The vastness of the land and the fluidity of the camera play this game off just like a movie. Don't expect any filler or half-thought out side quests, because this game has none. The entire focus is on the main story-line. Minimalists be praised for this game is a life-changing experience. Expand
  11. ANDYO
    Nov 1, 2005
    9
    I was very impressed by the original concept of the game, no little guppy bad guys, no leveling up, no weapons other than what you got, I was very scared about this one, but I am very happy with this game, it was still overhyped but the monumentous battles are uncomparable to any game I've ever played before, I went through my collection of xbox and ps2 and could not find a game with I was very impressed by the original concept of the game, no little guppy bad guys, no leveling up, no weapons other than what you got, I was very scared about this one, but I am very happy with this game, it was still overhyped but the monumentous battles are uncomparable to any game I've ever played before, I went through my collection of xbox and ps2 and could not find a game with such presentation of battles and excellent music to go with it, but as cool as this is there are downfalls, the biggest being the camera, it is hard to control and frustrating to try to keep track of the giant and yourself when getting to close. The lack of story does not pull you in to the game, I mean here we are in a huge beautiful land to track across to slay the monster but why? for what? to bring someone back from the dead is a little overused I think, it is not stupid but a nick in the story to pull you in wouldn't hurt. Riding the horse altough very cool and very real the camera really screws the enjoyment of riding the horse up. Which is disappointing since a good riding of the horse has not been done since the simple horse riding of dare I say it Ocarina of time. Overall the game is great if you have the patience to deal with the camera, the weak story is ok only because the visuals and huge fights are spectacular. Expand
  12. EricV.
    Dec 10, 2005
    8
    Awesome game, i only give it an 8 because of the boring journeys that get increasingly longer each time you have to find the collossi... other than that, incredible game, technically you dont fight anyone, but the boss battles are incredible... trust me, you will never feel soooo small until you first meet that first collossi. awesome... good job, Never played ICO, maybe if i did i would Awesome game, i only give it an 8 because of the boring journeys that get increasingly longer each time you have to find the collossi... other than that, incredible game, technically you dont fight anyone, but the boss battles are incredible... trust me, you will never feel soooo small until you first meet that first collossi. awesome... good job, Never played ICO, maybe if i did i would understand more and would have given a 10 but keep up the good work anyways. Expand
  13. ben
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    If ICO is anything to go by then shadow of the Colossus being the prequal is a great addition to the story. i love the fact that you have a sword a horse and you, no more looking for that +24 night elf dragon salying sword hilt with the +56 earth armour crap, this is straight and simple game play and i love it. its a shame that this game will fall into the cult status and only played byIf ICO is anything to go by then shadow of the Colossus being the prequal is a great addition to the story. i love the fact that you have a sword a horse and you, no more looking for that +24 night elf dragon salying sword hilt with the +56 earth armour crap, this is straight and simple game play and i love it. its a shame that this game will fall into the cult status and only played by those people who love games, all you NFS MGS FFXI JACK AND DAXTER people forget this and go and buy your next NFS game and for the rest of us savour these moments beause they are few and far between. Expand
  14. CoreyD.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Have only played 5 hours, but there's nothing it can do later on to recieve anything less than a 10.
  15. ChubbyWookie
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    This is truly what "next-gen" gaming should have been about. Instead of just making the same old games "prettier", this game creates something that cannot be explained - it simply MUST be experienced. It is without a doubt the greatest game I have ever played - this is the one by which all other games should be judged.
  16. DevinM.
    Jan 4, 2006
    8
    The game started off amazing, one look at the colossus instilled a real sense of fear, I felt like David against Golieth. The middle was a bit tedious and occasionaly boring especially after the intimidation subsided and the end downright frustrating. Despite some of the colossuses daunting awe inspiring visuals the viceral enjoyment was quickly surpassed by frustrating camera views and The game started off amazing, one look at the colossus instilled a real sense of fear, I felt like David against Golieth. The middle was a bit tedious and occasionaly boring especially after the intimidation subsided and the end downright frustrating. Despite some of the colossuses daunting awe inspiring visuals the viceral enjoyment was quickly surpassed by frustrating camera views and sometimes wonky controls. A great game but I was happy when it was over. The whole experience felt like a gameplay test project, perhaps for future PS3 games, i dunno to me it didn't feel like a entire cohesive game experience. It's fairly short making it a great rental. Expand
  17. Hoover54
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    Alongside its predecessor ICO, one of the most original and beautiful games ever created on any platform. Very rarely do you get to experience games which draw you into the action so completely. Production design, character animation, music/fx, and gameplay all top drawer. Only flaws are the camera which can be a bit skittish and the story which errs on the vague and empty. Definitely up Alongside its predecessor ICO, one of the most original and beautiful games ever created on any platform. Very rarely do you get to experience games which draw you into the action so completely. Production design, character animation, music/fx, and gameplay all top drawer. Only flaws are the camera which can be a bit skittish and the story which errs on the vague and empty. Definitely up there with RE4 for game of the year - beats HL2 in immersive gameplay experience hands down. Expand
  18. NinjaHatori
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    I think this game is awesome n realy enjoyable...simplicity is the key...we dont need unimportant add-on...
    true! this game not for everyone,well its their lost..not everyone can enjoy art..the camera and framerate is frustating,especialy in the middle of action..but graphic,sound,gameplay,realistic movement of heroes n agro is more than enough to cover the flaws
    overall colossus is
    I think this game is awesome n realy enjoyable...simplicity is the key...we dont need unimportant add-on...
    true! this game not for everyone,well its their lost..not everyone can enjoy art..the camera and framerate is frustating,especialy in the middle of action..but graphic,sound,gameplay,realistic movement of heroes n agro is more than enough to cover the flaws

    overall colossus is one true masterpiece...
    Expand
  19. BillyN
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    A cinematic experience that that doesn't take the reigns away from you. You're not watching it, you're playing it. With some of the best control, graphics, and sound design on the PS2. The game opens with a cinematic of you trekking across different lands to find you're way to this hidden/forsaken land. You start from a central "hub", you've ridden in with what A cinematic experience that that doesn't take the reigns away from you. You're not watching it, you're playing it. With some of the best control, graphics, and sound design on the PS2. The game opens with a cinematic of you trekking across different lands to find you're way to this hidden/forsaken land. You start from a central "hub", you've ridden in with what seems to be a comatose or dead girl, who you place on an altar, and are trying to bring back to life through the power of this magical land. A voice tells you that to bring her back to life, you must to defeat colossus beasts one by one. And that's it; off you go making your way across the land to the different boss fights. It's an incredibly simplified game, that somehow manages to pull you in. Once you've started taking down the colossi, you can't help but want to find the next one, and then the next. The boss fights themselves are a mixture of timing and twitch gameplay with a dose of puzzle solving, (you have to find a way to reach the weak points of each boss.) Once you've defeated a boss, you're transported back to the main hub/area, and are treated to a little cinematic/ talk from the omnipresent force. Then you're off again to a different area of the map, riding along huge expansive environments, which is a mix of desert, and plains, with some rocky areas, and some forest /marsh areas in there as well. you don't fight any enemies along the way either, it's just you and you're horse discovering new areas, and taking in the view as you ride along, using your sword as a homing device to find the next boss. Some areas have you dismount and do a bit of platforming before you find your way to the boss. And although this game isn't perfect, (a couple of the boss fights are repeats, just in different areas) and the game play can get a bit repetitive, it's as close to perfect as most games will get, which I think makes it very deserving of a 10. I personally think Nintendo can really learn a thing or two from a design standpoint from this game, when making their next Zelda. Nothing beats riding all the way out to a far off cliff side, and then panning the camera around to take in a view that's ACTUALLY breathtaking, or standing up on your horse mid-stride and using it as a boost to jump off onto a boss that's flying by you. Or firing off you're crossbow on horseback, as a snake boss comes racing up from the sand behind you. Truly epic gameplay. Expand
  20. HarryJohnson
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    Great ****ing game!! Most original game i've played!!
  21. ChasM.
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    Beautiful.
  22. BrianD.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    Awesome game! The visual slendor, the sheer emocional existence, the powerful storyline and great artistic value make this game a tremendous experience. Each colossi is a creature unto itself. Each living and breathing in their own way with their own quirks and ways to take them down. The only real problem was the camera, not enoguh to take away from the game, but a problem none the less, Awesome game! The visual slendor, the sheer emocional existence, the powerful storyline and great artistic value make this game a tremendous experience. Each colossi is a creature unto itself. Each living and breathing in their own way with their own quirks and ways to take them down. The only real problem was the camera, not enoguh to take away from the game, but a problem none the less, Don't let this discourage you thoguh. The game is defnintely one of those defining games that don't belong to an exact genre. Expand
  23. saluddiaz
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    I had the pleasure to play the demo of this unbelievable game. I did love ICO and I would recommend this game to anyone. I'll go further and say that this game alone justify the purchase of the PS2. Unfortunately I cant find (so far) a game that justify the purchase of xbox 360.
  24. LeoF
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Easily one of the best games I have ever played on any console (and I started with the Atari 2600...) You are NOT a fan of videogames if you don't play this art/game.
  25. MikEYP.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    If you own a playstation 2 and you don't buy this game, you're a fool.
  26. ChrisV.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    This game is an inovative masterpiece. I never played ICO but even if you haven't you can enjoy this game. Controls are take some getting used to, but once you do, its awesome.
  27. JBunka
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played and we loole u must be really bad at this game, dont trust someone who cant spell third right. This game has to be experienced no one colossus is the same and everything is awesome graphics, fights, story (teardrop), and the environment. GREAT GAME.
  28. TerryS.
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    the Times Online reviewer has totally missed the mark with this game - The whole point of this game is to be an experience, your supposed to experience the world, and with a "zelda type" world you wouldnt soak in the beautful landscape through boring monotanous battles, there is a reason zelda is so good - shadow is style and substance, it can be short if u just want to do the battles, or the Times Online reviewer has totally missed the mark with this game - The whole point of this game is to be an experience, your supposed to experience the world, and with a "zelda type" world you wouldnt soak in the beautful landscape through boring monotanous battles, there is a reason zelda is so good - shadow is style and substance, it can be short if u just want to do the battles, or it can last a life time if you understand what the game is supposed to be about. This is more a work of art than a game, its outrageously beautiful and a breath of fresh air from the uninspired games that get churned out over and over - any reviewer that gives this game below 90 is...just...wrong. Expand
  29. JonnyJ.
    Mar 13, 2006
    9
    simply beautiful! stunning visuals and graphics FX, fluid animation, dreamlike fascinating environments, solid gameplay, mechanics and nicely detailed. incredible "WOW" factor. a unique, unforgettable gaming experience.
  30. dankay
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    i felt it my duty to add to the positive accounts of this game....i only got to play about 5 colossi, and i was so enamored i just had to get my hands on my own copy....it in the mail and on the way now.....truth be told....incredible...and the funny thing is.......all the intelligent reviews came from people who rated the game 8 and up....some people less than that are entitled to theiri felt it my duty to add to the positive accounts of this game....i only got to play about 5 colossi, and i was so enamored i just had to get my hands on my own copy....it in the mail and on the way now.....truth be told....incredible...and the funny thing is.......all the intelligent reviews came from people who rated the game 8 and up....some people less than that are entitled to their opinions...but the complete morons who wrote the 0 1 2 3 4 reviews..........holy crap......your ignorance shows in your ridiculous misunderstandings of the game, the fact that you were to stupid to find the next colossi for battle, and in your awful use of the english language....now i know this review doesn't have perfect punctuation, and i'm sure someone will call attention to it...but that's out of choice....not because i don't know how to write correctly....so anyway........point is.....awesome game....totally worth the time and money...and anyone who doesn't think so........should probably go back to kindergarten and start over from scratch..... Expand

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    90
    If you can appreciate artistry in games, if you hanker for an experience that transcends genre, if you want to see what happens when a creative design team is allowed to ignore sales numbers and flavor-of-the-month trends, by all means bring yourself into Shadow's world. [Oct 2005, p.98]
  2. Game Informer
    88
    A truly unique experience that inspires emotions in a way few games can. It has its share of problems, but I love it just the same. [Oct 2005, p.130]
  3. It's unlike anything else you've ever played, and so you may love it or you may hate it. Count me firmly in the "love" boat. [Nov 2005, p.142]