User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 757 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 757
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 17, 2018
    10
    The game starts with the MC (YOU) moving from the BIG CITY to a small, foggy town called Inaba as a transfer student. There you live with your uncle and his cute daughter Nanako. After starting school and making a few friends something shocking happens in the small town. A lady is found hanging murdered upside down from an antenna. The police investigators are obviously stupid, so it’s upThe game starts with the MC (YOU) moving from the BIG CITY to a small, foggy town called Inaba as a transfer student. There you live with your uncle and his cute daughter Nanako. After starting school and making a few friends something shocking happens in the small town. A lady is found hanging murdered upside down from an antenna. The police investigators are obviously stupid, so it’s up to you and your friends to solve the murder mystery.
    The main characters soon find out that the victims are shown on the mysterious midnight channel before they are murdered. By literally entering the TV and fighting the victims’s inner demons they can save them from the TV world and their death.
    While the gameplay is divided in 2 parts it isn’t necessarily 50/50. The game is based on time and scheduled so that certain events take place on certain dates. The first part is the social/story part which I’ll talk more about in a minute and the other part is the dungeon gameplay where you can spend your time in the dungeons grinding levels or equipment and items. Grinding is not something that is really necessary in this game though. As long as you fight all enemies you happen to meet, you should be fine.
    It’s very nice that the game doesn’t have random encounters. Instead you see the enemies on the map and you can easily choose if you want to fight them or not by cutting them with your blade or just running away from them.
    The most important factor in fights are the Personas you fight with. They have physical attacks draining your health to deal damage and magic attacks draining your SP to buff your party or deal magic damage. By hitting an enemy’s weakness or hitting a critical hit they are knocked down. If you knock down every enemy in the fight you are allowed to perform a very satisfying all-out attack that usually ends the fight.
    The entire fighting system takes the basics of a normal RPG fight and removes ALL the annoying stuff while adding a fluid, fast and straightforward system. For example you can change the ”summon” a.k.a. Persona equipped without wasting a turn, which is not something I think I’ve ever seen in a turn-based RPG before. That’s how the majority of the game is. Take the best of both genres and remove the annoying parts of them.
    The other part of the gameplay is social life simulation. Here you experience the story, the sidequests and the preparations for the dungeons.
    The most important thing you will be doing here is improving your social links, or S. Links for short. By hanging out with friends your bonds with them will increase, to the point where you can get intimate relationships with the female ones. You could always try to get all of them, but I would never do something like that… no, I’m serious, I only had one girlfriend, being the **** from the drama club. Joining clubs is optional, but don’t skip that **** your stats can be increased and **** The stats I’m talking about are stats like knowledge, expression, courage and such. Those stats are not used in combat, but rather to unlock more dialogue options, sidequests and part-time jobs giving you money.
    Almost everything you do has a consequence as almost everything you do is indirectly related to one or many stats of yours making you involved in everything you do.
    One aspect of the game that scared me before playing was DUNGEON CRAWLING. Usually exploring dull, depressing, disorienting areas makes me angry in RPGs, but this game made it endurable enough for me to somewhat enjoy dungeons. You see, the dungeons are varied in theme and are easy to navigate as they aren’t even that big. The largest dungeon in the game has like 11 floors, and takes under 2 hours if you do everything in it (unless you level grind). Another pleasant thing when exploring is that you with the right item (it’s cheap as **** in the normal store) can return to the entrance and continue exploring another in-game day with HP and SP fully restored. HP is almost never a problem as you can easily restore it to max with SP or HP items. The SP is on the other hand a slight problem as you can’t buy SP restoring items except from the periodically refilled vending machines in the shopping district. This means that you might sometimes have to quit mid-dungeon because of lack of SP, but this is not really a big problem as blasting through a dungeon in one sitting is tiring to begin with. Luckily the save points are placed well too, so losing a lot of progress because of you being bad is probably not gonna happen.
    The overall atmosphere is further improved by a great, catchy soundtrack and a very unique stylistic style in menus. The game hits the perfect combination of dark and happy and it’s lovely.

    I’m happy to say that this is one of the best RPGs on PS2 and so also one of my favourite games of all time. Truly a unique experience.
    Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2018
    9
    Persona 4 really surprised me with how good it was even with it coming out almost a decade ago. Each character in the game has depth with their own problems as well. The Story was very interesting with the game having you go throughout your everyday life trying to solve a murder mystery. My main problem with this game was the dungeons, they were just boring. Not saying the story bits werePersona 4 really surprised me with how good it was even with it coming out almost a decade ago. Each character in the game has depth with their own problems as well. The Story was very interesting with the game having you go throughout your everyday life trying to solve a murder mystery. My main problem with this game was the dungeons, they were just boring. Not saying the story bits were boring or the combat its self-was boring either but the actual means of searching through it. Every floor looks the same until you reach the top. Each dungeon had a cool theme but I wish there was more to it. There were also some moments in the game where the bosses felt cheap, like kanjis and the final boss. Which is apart of another problem with the game which is you can't win if you don't grind. Some of the bosses will just straight up one shot you if you aren't a high enough level or if you personas aren't then the battle will be long and drawn out until you lose your sp and die. I'm not against grinding in games at all, but in this, it just felt like you had to do it at every boss and for quite a while too which wouldn't have been as bad if the dungeons were a bit more interesting to go through. Other than the dungeons everything else about this game was great even the almost 10-year-old graphics didn't bother me as much as I expected them to. Long story short, if the game sounds interesting to give it a shot it's like 10-15 dollars on the ps3 store and there's an extended version with persona 4 golden on the vita. Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2017
    8
    Personal 4 is certainly a unique experience and if you are a fan of JRPGs with turn based combat this is a game that should not be missed. The visuals are a weak point and the dungeons are bland but that is made up for by an excellent story with a ton of depth and detail. There are countless things to do in this game, the soundtrack is memorable, the characters are well fleshed out and thePersonal 4 is certainly a unique experience and if you are a fan of JRPGs with turn based combat this is a game that should not be missed. The visuals are a weak point and the dungeons are bland but that is made up for by an excellent story with a ton of depth and detail. There are countless things to do in this game, the soundtrack is memorable, the characters are well fleshed out and the experience is immersive.

    The story covers an entire year with several major characters who are all fleshed out. Switching between the real world and the tv world gives a good variety of game play and really gives incentive to reach the next goal. The story is well paced and a good blend of fun events and serious dark twists. I can't think of a game that is both very light at times and very dark at others. Some aspects of the story are just ridiculous silliness but those moments are entertaining and are well offset by moments that are equally serious and dramatic. Each character you meet has their own arc and dozens of story events. While the story is very weird and may not be to everyone's taste, it is undeniably well done for what it is. If you hate anime tropes this story is probably not going to appeal to you. If you enjoy or can tolerate that side of it though, you are in for something special, a story full of mysteries, twists and emotional moments.

    The gameplay is a mixed bag. The combat is can be fun when you get new abilities or fight bosses but it becomes very repetitive fighting your way through dungeons. All of the dungeons look different but they are basically just hallways that you run through killing monsters, there is very little detail and interaction within them. Collecting and creating new personas is one of the best parts of the game and that is what really makes dungeon crawling worthwhile. There are countless personas to discover and upgrade. The life sim element of the game is really addicting and the game does a great job of always introducing new elements the further you progress.

    Characters are probably one of the strongest aspects of the game. There are at least a dozen characters that all have stories to be explored. Each character is unique and has depth. You can also choose how well you get to know each character or group of characters by choosing to spend more time with them. These interactions spread throughout the game really help you relationships with each character feel immersive as characters will start to treat you differently the more you get to know them. While many of the characters seem very one dimensional or cliche at first, the more you get to know them the more complex and real they become. Each character has their own set of problems, that you have the opportunity to help them through. My only major problem with the characters is that the anime tropes are often extremely cringe worthy and a few characters never evolve beyond their cliche anime personalities. For example the little sister character is overly cutesy and never really evolves beyond that even though she has tons of screen time.

    The sound design is mostly excellent but once again, not for people who hate anime. The songs are catchy but get very repetitive in dungeons. The voice acting is very good though and the sound effects are all good.

    Overall Persona 4 is a special game, it has a ton of depth, and deserves a lot of the praise it gets. On the other hand it is a game that will likely only appeal to a certain type of audience. It is a game that fully embraces its anime quirks and that can sometimes be off putting. I really enjoy certain anime but some anime tropes drive me mad and this game is no exception. There are many great moments and the overall experience is definitely worthwhile but there were many cringe worthy moments as well and part of this game that grated on me.

    I give Persona 4 an 82%

    Story/Progression – 9
    Gameplay – 7
    World – 6
    Uniqueness Ideas – 9
    Sound Design – 8
    Characters – 9
    Visuals/Style – 7
    Length/Amount of Content – 10
    Atmosphere/Theme – 9
    X-Factor - 8
    Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2017
    10
    One of best games if I already play on PlayStation 2, Give a chance for this game. One of the best turn RPG game with I ever play. Very good, play it.
  5. Mar 11, 2017
    9
    It's amazing how an RPG blends so well with slice of life genre that are rarely as popular in gaming nowadays. It emphasizes the same trend Persona 3 made with a unique gameplay equivalent of friends = strength. The story is not too shabby either considering it has to follow suit with its predecessor's dark storyline. Collecting personas is still as fun as it was before and their is noIt's amazing how an RPG blends so well with slice of life genre that are rarely as popular in gaming nowadays. It emphasizes the same trend Persona 3 made with a unique gameplay equivalent of friends = strength. The story is not too shabby either considering it has to follow suit with its predecessor's dark storyline. Collecting personas is still as fun as it was before and their is no doubt of the series' continuing success in the mainstream market. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2016
    10
    Everything that made Persona 3 great, Persona 4 has and then some. A new setting, a new story, new characters, and everything feels just as great as its prequel. Persona 4 sets the bar just as high as Persona 3, and even surpasses it in some ways.

    If you want to read what makes Persona 4 great, you can read my review on Persona 3 FES, because the dungeon crawling and the high school
    Everything that made Persona 3 great, Persona 4 has and then some. A new setting, a new story, new characters, and everything feels just as great as its prequel. Persona 4 sets the bar just as high as Persona 3, and even surpasses it in some ways.

    If you want to read what makes Persona 4 great, you can read my review on Persona 3 FES, because the dungeon crawling and the high school social life aspects are still there. The characters, however, are even more relatable and likable than before, with some part members feeling like lifelong friends that you would almost wish were real (Yosuke, AKA Brosuke). Each character has their own personal struggles in life, and in connecting with them they'll open up to you and reveal more about themselves as their trust in you grows, and you will feel a connection to these people on a personal level. They'll become stronger in their resolve as you support them, and in turn will become more effective in combat, unlocking certain techniques such as instantly recovering an ally from a status ailment, or even taking mortal blows for you, up to resisting fatal damage once per battle. The characters are believable and very human, and are a very central part of the game as a whole.

    The themes of the game are a bit more lighthearted than 3's depressing motifs, but its every bit as engaging, revolving around a supernatural murder mystery that provides intrigue and suspense, as well as its fair share of twists throughout the entire thing. The game will make you think and deduce things for yourself, and as the main character, you don't just passively watch as the mystery solves itself like in many other games. You are a part of the team, and you are every bit as involved as your friends, and you will be required to think and solve things yourself from time to time, making the game engaging and fun, though it will sometimes test your ability to critically think and deduce solutions from complex situations, which isn't a bad thing, but it can sometimes make you feel in the dark unless you've been paying complete attention.

    Collecting Personas is just as fun as in 3, and fusing and creating new ones is a blast. Finding Personas is all well and good, but creating your own is where the magic happens. That feeling when you create a new powerful Persona and take it for a spin is unbeatable in satisfaction, though the combat will always find ways to test your ability to strategize and think ahead, and the addition of allowing for player control of all party members adds even more strategy and options to combat. Luckily, the AI for team members are smarter than they were in 3, so leaving them to their own devices is just as viable an option, though I personally prefer player control.

    Just like Persona 3, Persona 4 is a must own for JRPG fans, and hell, even people who aren't into JRPGs and just want a good narrative. It has a slow start, but stick with it and you'll find so much to love.
    Expand
  7. May 4, 2016
    8
    really good game. obviously nowhere near persona 3 which was perfect in every way but still. not all the characters are that appealing but they are fun in the setting. a must play game. great music, characters, gameplay, tone. really good game
  8. Mar 15, 2016
    10
    It would be wrong to call this the new Final Fantasy because eventhough it's a turn-based RPG there are way too many differences with FF, but if there's one saga that's to continue with the legacy of the great turn RPGs, it's Persona, and Persona IV is simply the most refined in the saga. Great characters, great anime-like graphics, great storyline, great music, great everything basically.It would be wrong to call this the new Final Fantasy because eventhough it's a turn-based RPG there are way too many differences with FF, but if there's one saga that's to continue with the legacy of the great turn RPGs, it's Persona, and Persona IV is simply the most refined in the saga. Great characters, great anime-like graphics, great storyline, great music, great everything basically. I just can't think of any RPG saga that is close to Persona nowadays. Expand
  9. Dec 14, 2015
    10
    How should is say it...this is really hard to describe the beautiful things and all of the feelings of this game.
    love,Friendship,family,hate and responsibility.
    story is beyond good.even beyond super good.it is something that only persona 4 have it. game play. dungeons and battles are as the same as other j r pg games.but,the difference,O M G,the difference is the day time.yes,it is
    How should is say it...this is really hard to describe the beautiful things and all of the feelings of this game.
    love,Friendship,family,hate and responsibility.
    story is beyond good.even beyond super good.it is something that only persona 4 have it.
    game play. dungeons and battles are as the same as other j r pg games.but,the difference,O M G,the difference is the day time.yes,it is all about Social Links.Awesome and addicted Social Links.making MAX relationship with you friends in this game will become one of the the most HAVE TO things of your own daily life !
    music...wow.just think about an OST even better than two Persona 2 and Persona 3 .it is beyond again.
    in the end,if you still have not play this game,hurry man,hurry and buy it and make your self drown in the sea of Persona 4
    Expand
  10. Oct 22, 2015
    10
    Game: Persona 4
    Genre: RPG
    Developer: Atlus System: Playstation 2 (PS2) Total Score: 97/100 Value Score: 9.7/10 • Story: 10/10 • Characters: 10/10 • GamePlay: 10/10 • Graphics: 9/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 10/10 • Length: 10/10 • Replay Value: 8/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +Social links are back and consists of deeper narration of stories for more characters and more
    Game: Persona 4
    Genre: RPG
    Developer: Atlus
    System: Playstation 2 (PS2)
    Total Score: 97/100
    Value Score: 9.7/10

    • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 10/10
    • Replay Value: 8/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Social links are back and consists of deeper narration of stories for more characters and more arcanas
    +More fusion forms and combinations available to create more powerful personas
    +Ton of side quests which will have you revisit dungeons again just to retrieve the items and to fight special bosses
    +Uses the same gameplay mechanics as Persona 3
    +A Deep engaging story of mystery and suspense with colorful and memorable characters.
    +New game+ mode which allows you to get more specific items and fight more powerful enemies
    +Multiple endings allow you to see different conclusions to the story depending on the choices you make

    Cons
    -The transition from P3 to P4 is smaller than the transition of changes from P2 to P3. The game is almost exactly the same as Persona 3 excluding characters, location and story.
    Expand
  11. Jun 7, 2015
    8
    A very phenominal RPG if you can get past the first six hours of relentless dialouge. The dungeons also get a tad repetative at times, but the battle system and social link feature make this game difficult to pull away from.
  12. May 15, 2015
    10
    Only can say that I left in one corner my WiiU and PS4 for returning for play this game in PS2. I dind´t know that Persona 4 can surprising me like it does. Awesome Characters, original and inusual story and hours and hours of diversion. Like FFX, FFVII and Secret of Mana, one of my legandary RPG ever.
  13. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    There is something to be said about Atlus. This company is capable of many great things. This game, is definitely one of their crowning jewels. For me to express my absolute respect for the company would require more space than the 5,000 character limit of this site would allow. So instead, I'll go into further detail about not only what made Persona 4 a fantastic game, but also theThere is something to be said about Atlus. This company is capable of many great things. This game, is definitely one of their crowning jewels. For me to express my absolute respect for the company would require more space than the 5,000 character limit of this site would allow. So instead, I'll go into further detail about not only what made Persona 4 a fantastic game, but also the pinnacle of JRPGS (in my opinion) to this date.

    First of all, let's talk about why I immediately consider this game to be superior to its predecessor. The cult classic Persona 3/Persona 3 FES, is argued to be a better game and the most common (frustratingly so) arguments are because it has a better atmosphere and storyline. Allow me to say, that atmosphere does not mean a better game. My biggest issue with the atmosphere of the first game, while I did enjoy it, was that it made anything outside of the suppressive feeling in the game, feel extremely out of place in the game. While that is usually the point of such moments, the drastic difference just makes you feel like there is a transition that you missed getting there. Persona 4 does not have that problem. It has a naturally lighter atmosphere and the way the characters act in said atmosphere, makes for a much less jarring change between and a much more natural transition for the characters. Then there is the issue with the storyline argument. While I will agree that the overall story of Persona 3 is fantastic and it has some great character mini-arches throughout, the biggest issue is that almost none of the main characters are likable for the vast majority of the game. With no character development for any of them for far too long, the only character I ended up liking for the longest time was one who was there for less time than most of the Social Links in game. Persona 4 did not make this same mistake. It gave access to Main Character Social Links almost immediately after gaining the person in your party. Not to mention that the way the dungeon system works, has you getting to know people even before you get them as party members. Another thing this game did better was dungeons. It separated them all by person and level range in the Persona 4 which I thought was really smart.

    So what does Persona 4 have wrong with it? Well, nothing that I would consider a universal problem. If you don't like long games, give this one a pass. I would have to say the average first play through of the game is a minimum of 80 hours if you are not entirely invested in doing things and over 100+ hours if you really get into it. Like I said, not a big issue but I can see some people having an issue with it. The other thing is... how do I put this... do you know what "moe" (pronounced "mow-ay") is? "Moe" is like a really bright, bubbly type character with a high voice and some "overly cute" mannerisms. Well there is one in this game by the name of Teddie. Like I said, not a universal problem, but I do know that there have been people who quit the game because of this character.

    All-in-all, I award this game a 10/10 and a recommendation to buy it, either in this form or its portable form on the PSVita Persona 4 Golden.
    Expand
  14. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    The best game I have ever played. The game brings out different emotions in you, making you actually care about the story and feel connected to the characters.
  15. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    67 hours and 19 minutes, and i still want more (btw its still my first playthrough).
    The game has great characters, an amazing story, fantastic music and good ( if sometimes repetitive ) gameplay.
  16. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    Persona is a special game that can't be described well in words... It features one of the most compelling stories I have ever had the pleasure of playing through, commentating on 21st century teenage life in all of its complexities and absurdities. Its network of characters are all fantastically developed, which is not a surprise considering that the main premise of the game is saving eachPersona is a special game that can't be described well in words... It features one of the most compelling stories I have ever had the pleasure of playing through, commentating on 21st century teenage life in all of its complexities and absurdities. Its network of characters are all fantastically developed, which is not a surprise considering that the main premise of the game is saving each character from his/her darker thoughts and ambitions. Thematically, Persona is profound, deep, powerful, and at times flat out outrageous. But that's what makes it so memorable. This is one story and cast that you won't be forgetting anytime soon.

    As a game, Persona captures the essence of a JRPG, mixing together creature collection, summoning and magic systems, and the classic swapable 4 member party. The battles have lots of surprises, flow very quickly and cohesively, and feature some of the most creative enemy design I have ever seen.

    Really, I don't feel I can do Persona 4 justice by simply trying to explain its elements. This is one game you really have to play as a whole to see its genius.
    Expand
  17. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    This game is just legend, i doubt that they ever made games like this. It's old school JRPG style, they don't make games like this now, well just have to wait and see what well be Persona 5.
  18. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    I have played this game like 10 times or more. I liked Persona 3, too. But it was a little dull to repeat the same thing everyday. But P4 changed it like you can fish better in rainy days, cook for your lunch, etc. I really love it.
  19. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    A interesting plot ,a very challenging gameplay and lovable characters makes Persona 4 a cult classic.The game basically sucks you into the game and let you live te game.
  20. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    This game is perfect in every aspect and it is the best game I have played in my life and I have played countless amount of games that are of the RPG genre. I can guarantee that this will at least be worth your time playing if not one best games you have played.
  21. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    The perfect JRPG, if only FF has the story depth and relatable characters of P4, only thing to worry about for the mainstream audience is the rather repetitive combat, but overall this game is'nt made with the combat in mind
  22. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    One of the best JRPGs ever made. One could make the argument that it is the best ever made. Deep, compelling, and at times even emotionally moving, Persona 4 captures the best elements of the zany weirdness that exemplifies classic Japanese storytelling. Part RPG, part murder mystery (and a good one!), this game is a must play.
  23. ERB
    Jul 25, 2013
    9
    I love this game.Best PS2 game I have ever played.
  24. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    great game but i really prefer persona 3 than 4.

    pros: - another great cast of characters that are fun to be with and are still very funny - same gameplay but you can control all your characters instead of just the main character - another great story cons: - living in a small town is not as interesting as living in the city - even on the easy difficulty, you need to grind a
    great game but i really prefer persona 3 than 4.

    pros:

    - another great cast of characters that are fun to be with and are still very funny
    - same gameplay but you can control all your characters instead of just the main character
    - another great story

    cons:
    - living in a small town is not as interesting as living in the city
    - even on the easy difficulty, you need to grind a LOT! and boss's take forever to beat
    - the endings are pretty mediocre
    - almost a carbon copy of persona 3
    Expand
  25. May 2, 2013
    10
    This game is fantastic. The characters are so fleshed out, they're almost like kids you would meet at school. The story also held its own with the greats in my opinion, and with multiple endings, plenty of personas to create and plenty of things to do outside of combat, this game has plenty of replay value. Persona is probably my favorite PS2 series.
  26. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    Here's a quick review... I've been playing this game for more than 100 hours, more than a year to finally get to the end since I was lazy.

    Persona 4 is a game about a group of students trying to solve a murder mystery in the quiet town of Inaba. One day at school, the protagonist hears a story about being able to see your soulmate inside your TV at midnight on rainy days. He sees
    Here's a quick review... I've been playing this game for more than 100 hours, more than a year to finally get to the end since I was lazy.

    Persona 4 is a game about a group of students trying to solve a murder mystery in the quiet town of Inaba. One day at school, the protagonist hears a story about being able to see your soulmate inside your TV at midnight on rainy days. He sees someone and when he goes to touch them, he slips through his TV.

    Persona 4 is a great game if you've got the time to play it. By having players create relationships with other characters, you have specialised and personal character development plus the development that occurs through the story. You also have the option of starting a romantic relationship with the girls in the game.

    Something that really shines within the game to me is the music. The soundtrack of Persona 4 is great. It's upbeat, it's catchy. Really fits the mood. Like other Persona games, the music ties back to the story and what the characters must face. Tracks like "Facing my True Self" emphasise the story arcs about Personas.

    Now gameplay. Persona plays like many other dungeon crawler (J)RPGs. You run through a map and explore. Get treasure. Fight monsters. The camera in the game is a little slow, but you can turn it faster using L/R2. A few things that bothered me about the game is that if you were running from a monster, your AI companions would get in the way after trying to catch up and couldn't be moved by running into them.

    The removal of the feature created in Persona 3 Portable allowing you to separate your team to explore faster is a bit of a downside to me. It takes 2x as long to explore the floors and without the option to separate, you gain watered down XP.

    I also believe that each Persona game I have has a coding error. After a while of exploring, battling, whatever, XP is multiplied by a lot. A persona with 30k remaining XP can level up every 2 or 3 battles. However, it might just be the discs I have.

    In closing, Persona 4 is a great game for players with the time to spend on a deep story and engaging characters. With so many options, replay value is very high.
    Expand
  27. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Persona 4 is a brilliant mix of dungeon crawling and solid character development, it transcends JRPGs as a whole and overcomes it few flaws with a fun and interesting story, good character development and surprisingly in depth game play. It is a must have game.
  28. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Let me start by saying that, for the most part, I hate JRPGS. This game has many of the hallmarks of what I usually find unbearable in a JRPG. Grinding, repetition, and a slow start to name a few. Yet, for some reason, I am absolutely in love with this game. Each component of this game, taken by itself, is not that impressive, but taken all together it is a remarkable and addictiveLet me start by saying that, for the most part, I hate JRPGS. This game has many of the hallmarks of what I usually find unbearable in a JRPG. Grinding, repetition, and a slow start to name a few. Yet, for some reason, I am absolutely in love with this game. Each component of this game, taken by itself, is not that impressive, but taken all together it is a remarkable and addictive experience. Except for the music. The music by itself is great. The biggest complaint about the game is the lack of variety and innovation as far as the dungeons are concerned. They're basically just hallways and rooms with enemies and treasure in them. The combat system fares much better. Simple to grasp, hard to master, especially on some boss fights (there's a few that are pretty difficult even on normal). The characters, music, and style of this game are what really does it for me. Okay...I'm rambling. This is a great game. Expand
  29. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    To be honest, I had no idea of what to expect from this game going in. Never played a Persona game before, but knew of the name from its praised reputation. Persona 4 did not disappoint. I absolutely fell in love with this game. I loved the social system and the character development. The music is really great and catchy, visuals are very good and scenic. The translation of some of theTo be honest, I had no idea of what to expect from this game going in. Never played a Persona game before, but knew of the name from its praised reputation. Persona 4 did not disappoint. I absolutely fell in love with this game. I loved the social system and the character development. The music is really great and catchy, visuals are very good and scenic. The translation of some of the dialogue could have been done a little better in terms of localisation to the non-Japanese gaming market, but then again I believe if they did that, then the game would lose a bit of its charm. I learned quite a bit about Japanese customs and speech mannerisms thanks to this game. I really don't get why some people criticize the voice acting, it's some of the best I've ever heard in a JRPG, ever.

    Unfortunately I do have one critique: The dungeons. They get repetitive and a bit dull after the first few levels. It would have perhaps made more sense to have more, but smaller, dungeon types. Allowing players to move through them at a faster pace in order to keep the momentum of the narrative. Luckily grinding isn't really an issue until you get to the last dungeon, where grinding is almost mandatory if you want the best fusions.

    Overall: A really wonderful game and the best JRPG I´ve played to date. I'm really glad I went back to play it and I will recommend this as a mandatory purchase for all JRPG fans.
    Expand
  30. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Persona 4 is not only the best game in the series. But it's also one of the best PlayStation 2 games ever! It's a huge improvement over Persona 3 in every aspect.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2008
1
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2008
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. 94
    Among the cookie-cutter sequels and half-hearted remakes, Persona 4 is a near flawless example of the perfect balance between "falling back on what works" and "pushing the genre forward." That said, I wholeheartedly recommend it as one of the best RPG experiences of the year.
  2. An outstanding achievement in gaming. There’s no question that this is going to be one of my top games of the year, and any fan of JRPGs should be playing it when it’s released next week.
  3. 100
    What really sets Persona 4 apart, though, is its endearing, relatable cast.