User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    HACK AND SLASH GOODNESS! This game did NOT make it to the Dreamcast, however it made up for it by being on the PS2 instead (marking the start of hack n slash games across all other 6th generation consoles). This is now on PSN , so I recommend purchasing it.
    The storyline CAN be a bit slow if you're not too speedy with finishing each level (the story is divided into cut-scenes that are
    HACK AND SLASH GOODNESS! This game did NOT make it to the Dreamcast, however it made up for it by being on the PS2 instead (marking the start of hack n slash games across all other 6th generation consoles). This is now on PSN , so I recommend purchasing it.
    The storyline CAN be a bit slow if you're not too speedy with finishing each level (the story is divided into cut-scenes that are shown AFTER completing a level).
    The camera can be annoying. The game CAN be hard, but REMEMBER that without this game, alot of hack n slashers like Ninja Gaiden / Bayonetta wouldn't exist (Ninja Gaiden: Black Edition even nodded to this game via an unlockable costume).
    Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2011
    6
    It's an awesome premise and the gameplay is extremely stylistic, but it's also repetitive and doesn't prove to that much of a challenge. It's not a bad game, but it's not necessarily a good one either. It's fun every now and then, and the story is pretty good, but I would never buy it at it's original price - however it does live up to it's $2 price at Gamestop. The scene work is probablyIt's an awesome premise and the gameplay is extremely stylistic, but it's also repetitive and doesn't prove to that much of a challenge. It's not a bad game, but it's not necessarily a good one either. It's fun every now and then, and the story is pretty good, but I would never buy it at it's original price - however it does live up to it's $2 price at Gamestop. The scene work is probably the most (and only) truly impressive quality, yet it is limited by it's horrendous voice acting. Collapse
  3. Nov 13, 2010
    8
    This game is very hard. I can't believe I beat it. Its very close in difficulty to the old Sega Genesis games. I think people forgot that. The level design and combat is pretty cool. I think if you like ninja games this is the best on PS2. This is probably sega's only good game in ten years.
  4. B.J.
    Sep 19, 2007
    6
    Meh, its just like any update these days, castlevania, megaman, sonic or whatever, if youve played the 2d ones, then youve not much of a need to play the 3d ones. whomever said that the old shinobis were bad compared to this must have been like 10 years old and hadnt grown up playing good games. shinobi III is 10 times more fun than this game could ever be, im not saying this game is bad, Meh, its just like any update these days, castlevania, megaman, sonic or whatever, if youve played the 2d ones, then youve not much of a need to play the 3d ones. whomever said that the old shinobis were bad compared to this must have been like 10 years old and hadnt grown up playing good games. shinobi III is 10 times more fun than this game could ever be, im not saying this game is bad, but considering the series whos name it has.. its not good. Expand
  5. KevinB.
    Jul 11, 2006
    9
    well look at these losers...EuroGamer? who the hell is that? yeah the game is extremely difficult and the music? well its kinda crappy...but that didnt stop me..i played my own music and spent months on the game and beat it...i was dancing around for at least 30 mins..its extremely rewarding as the masters at gamepro says it is.
  6. Nancy
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    Shinobi is sooo awesome! I just finished playing it finally, after dying like a million times but it's all worth it. The simplicity of hack and slash to make it to the next level is the best way to go. No room for confusion by endlessly searching for powerups and whatnot, Hostuma, Moritsune, and Joe have all the power you'll ever need! I loved everything about this game, even theShinobi is sooo awesome! I just finished playing it finally, after dying like a million times but it's all worth it. The simplicity of hack and slash to make it to the next level is the best way to go. No room for confusion by endlessly searching for powerups and whatnot, Hostuma, Moritsune, and Joe have all the power you'll ever need! I loved everything about this game, even the monotonous levels...atleast you won't be confused on where to go as Akujiki is sucking away at your soul! This game is awesome, end of story. Even though this game is as hard as fu**, it's really really good and refreshing! Expand
  7. TheMACHiNESMiTH
    Aug 25, 2004
    8
    This game is TrueOlDSkool! Lets face it..Gone are the days when games used to be played for the sake of being just played. Nowadays Everyone wants an interactive story that keeps changing every 5 secs. and will ultimately lead to the end of the game within, oh say, 5 hrs? The game is to REMIND you...This is how it all began! The Old HArdcore amongst us (me included!) will definitely This game is TrueOlDSkool! Lets face it..Gone are the days when games used to be played for the sake of being just played. Nowadays Everyone wants an interactive story that keeps changing every 5 secs. and will ultimately lead to the end of the game within, oh say, 5 hrs? The game is to REMIND you...This is how it all began! The Old HArdcore amongst us (me included!) will definitely remember the helicopter boss from the original or the Spiderman/Bot thing crawling on the walls...(sigh) Graphically not too hot, but lets face it compared to its 2-d counter parts its evolved a million years! The tunes all typical of the era back then (but again evolved to suit todays game music standards) BUT the Movies "Ay Mon! Tis the True Spank Business!" it has all the frills of the old classic anime i.e. Brothers, outcasted maiden ninjettes, resurrection etc. and in some cases the movies out do some of the box office smashes in terms of special effects (wait till you see the matrix-type scene...It had my mates & I in bouts of laughter! Dodging bullets in slo-mo? Pffft, only for wusses!) Gameplay? Just like the original: no thinking, all slashing (I dont use the ninja stars...too bothersome) but I like the combo-sequence idea I especially like the TATE slash thing (1. coz its cool and I can dispatch bosses in one hit and still have it look cool 2. TATE in my language means...male testis (how I laughed!) and that proves it...you need balls to play Shinobi-and if you dont like the game then you dont have balls! Simple! Expand
  8. Shinobi
    Aug 12, 2004
    10
    It makes me feel like a badass, plays silky smooth, and looks goregous. That pretty much says it all.
  9. DonaldF.
    Aug 22, 2003
    9
    This is an awesome game. Slashing other enemies like crazy is what I like about this game. I am the true master of the game!
  10. NinjaMafia
    Aug 11, 2003
    9
    This game is an extremely hard, extremely stylish action game. However, don't compare this game to Devil May Cry. Shinobi has a deeper storyline but not DMC gameplay. Okay first the graphics in this ame are okay. The enviroments were a bit repetitive but the character models looked good to me. The sound is a mix of old music (when I say old I mean like stuff you would hear from an This game is an extremely hard, extremely stylish action game. However, don't compare this game to Devil May Cry. Shinobi has a deeper storyline but not DMC gameplay. Okay first the graphics in this ame are okay. The enviroments were a bit repetitive but the character models looked good to me. The sound is a mix of old music (when I say old I mean like stuff you would hear from an SNES) however that brought back some nostalgia. The gameplay may seem repetitive but it is really fun, for me anyway. You can perform a four hit combo, run on walls (which we all know I love) use Ninjutsu (magic) and do a special move called Tate(pronounced Tah-Tay) Tate is basically what happens when you kill four or more enemies in a very fast time, it will go into a cutscene like thing of you doing awesome ninja poses as the enemies fall literally into peices. the Tate will give you more souls to feed your sword and also while killing the enemies, it will power up your sword. Your sword does need souls or else, after a while, will start to drain your life. This feature is suprisingly well put in. The game has enough replay value to keep some people going, like me. First there are two unlockable characters, although they don't have a story of the one, and second, you can unlock movies, art, an extra stage and stuff like that. Overall, shinobi is an awesome game that may not appeal to some people because of its somewhat monotonous gameplay and bad graphics. But people who can look past these problems with have mad fun. Expand
  11. Ninrin
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    The other shinobis compared with this new shinobi game are just one piece of s**t.
  12. Pokermon
    Jul 12, 2003
    10
    I gave it a freaking 10 because I am not a real gamer so I am not one for the complicated games these days...this game is hard as fu.. but so was all the other Shinobis I played, I never even got to the last level on the Master System version for godsake...but what made me give this game a 10 is that it's freakin fun...it brings you back to the old school when all you needed to know I gave it a freaking 10 because I am not a real gamer so I am not one for the complicated games these days...this game is hard as fu.. but so was all the other Shinobis I played, I never even got to the last level on the Master System version for godsake...but what made me give this game a 10 is that it's freakin fun...it brings you back to the old school when all you needed to know was when to jump, when to slash and when to use your magic....I freakin love this game...give me Greatest of Bob Marley CD, a little ganja, this, Vice City and Madden and I will never leave the house on a Sunday...oh and a large pie from Dominos Pizza, tell him to leave it at the door and if he's looking for a tip go look in his mother's bra...i'm out Expand
  13. Shinobi****ingrulez!
    May 18, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome.so all you haters shut the **** up.
  14. YourMom
    Apr 19, 2003
    10
    What are u guys snortin bloxs, this game is the bomb!! The people who dont like it must suck at it, cuz i rule and i love it. i have unlocked moritsune and he is the bomb too!!
  15. HusseiniD.
    Apr 7, 2003
    9
    This game is a classic, it beats most of the mediocre games on the PS2. It is very hard, but after a few attempts what seemed almost impossible, isn't. If you have played the original shinobi you should expect this level of difficulty. Lots of games on the PS2 reflect lazy development and make the pc look better, but games like this give the PS2 a fighting chance.
  16. SIN
    Mar 19, 2003
    9
    A lot of people don't know how to rate games. Basing the game on how hard it is is just stupid. The only reason people say its hard because the games that are made nowadays are just plain easy. For anyone who "claimed" to play the original Shinobi and said this one was to hard is full of sh*t. THe original shinobi was hard too and did not give me problems. I have this game a 9 A lot of people don't know how to rate games. Basing the game on how hard it is is just stupid. The only reason people say its hard because the games that are made nowadays are just plain easy. For anyone who "claimed" to play the original Shinobi and said this one was to hard is full of sh*t. THe original shinobi was hard too and did not give me problems. I have this game a 9 because it is a good actions game. Its just hard enought to keep you from beating it in one try. I've tryed a lot of actions games and just destroyed them in a few hours its good to see shinobi is a hard. There are some flaws but its a good game for those who need something to spend a lot of time on Expand
  17. ShinobiSucks
    Mar 9, 2003
    0
    This game is the worst f***ing game ever made. After I RENTED it and played for 5 mins. I was so disgusted and pissed off with it that I threw put it in my microwave, melted the piece of sh!t, then after i pissed on it then fed it to my dog. It cant possibly get any worse. The graphics are bad, the gameplay is horrible, the controls cant get any worse, the enemies you have to fight are This game is the worst f***ing game ever made. After I RENTED it and played for 5 mins. I was so disgusted and pissed off with it that I threw put it in my microwave, melted the piece of sh!t, then after i pissed on it then fed it to my dog. It cant possibly get any worse. The graphics are bad, the gameplay is horrible, the controls cant get any worse, the enemies you have to fight are f***ing so bad, and shinobi is the worst character ever created. By The way my dog died by I dont care, it was worth it to get rid of that piece of sh.t game!!!!!! Expand
  18. KennyS.
    Feb 28, 2003
    9
    This game is very good. To all those who say its repetitive i think you're just trying to insault it for its difficulty. Yes this game is a challenge but that's what real gamers want. If u want a tough great looking hack and slash no nonsense game buy shinobi if you want to be a sissy or complain bout difficulty go play solitare you spinless coward.
  19. UltimateShinobiFan
    Feb 11, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome, any shinobi fan would be open minded to this, this game may be repetitive as hell, but yet it is fun as hell, great controls, amazing game play, and a little flawed, but just enough for you to have fun, the first two levels are kind of lame, then it gets reallly fun and challenging. Reviewers gave this game low scores because those sissies, claimed "it is to hard", This game is awesome, any shinobi fan would be open minded to this, this game may be repetitive as hell, but yet it is fun as hell, great controls, amazing game play, and a little flawed, but just enough for you to have fun, the first two levels are kind of lame, then it gets reallly fun and challenging. Reviewers gave this game low scores because those sissies, claimed "it is to hard", my ass dude, i am playing the game on hard mode, and it is a decent difficulty level. If you watch this game, you may think it looks repetitive but don't let looks decieve you, trust me, i was disappointed when i sawa my friend play it, but when i put my hands on it i was in love with the game. Crappy level desighns, Bleh, seriously, as long as you know where to go you guys should not even care. If you are a real shinobi fan you should really try this one out. It is a great thrill and an amazing, underrated game. Buy this one, or at least give it a rental. Expand
  20. EricC.
    Feb 7, 2003
    6
    Well, it doesn't stink, nor is it really that great either. The graphics and control hold together very well, and I never found it to be that dull. Story is weak, but that's not the main focus anyway. Of course, the challenge is another matter. Shinobi isn't hard because of the controller setup or the enemy difficulty, but because of the save feature. Only one game can be Well, it doesn't stink, nor is it really that great either. The graphics and control hold together very well, and I never found it to be that dull. Story is weak, but that's not the main focus anyway. Of course, the challenge is another matter. Shinobi isn't hard because of the controller setup or the enemy difficulty, but because of the save feature. Only one game can be saved, and there is no checkpoint to save in the middle of a level (why?). So after slashing up a couple dozen enemies, I accidently fumble on a jump, die, and I'm sent back to the beginning (whoopty-s**t.) Similar games, like "The Mark of Kri" and "LOTR: The Two Towers" are much better, but if you can't get to them first, try this once. Expand
  21. RealShinobiFan
    Jan 17, 2003
    0
    Great gameplay my ass. i didnt know going through identical rooms 50 times and fighting the same bad guys 50 times is great gameplay. People like bruce c. telling people they dont have a life is sad. cuz its people like bruce.c who play this game that dont have a life. Stick to the original shinobi games.
  22. Brucec.
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Wow anybody who thinks this game sucks is an awful person even I the king love this game and fat tony get a life this game may not have a good story but it has great gameplay HAIL TO SHINOBI BAYBEEEEE!!!!!!!
  23. Pissedofshinobifan
    Dec 28, 2002
    10
    WTF are you guys talking about this game kicks ass.
  24. tyler
    Dec 28, 2002
    10
    sweet attacks and a deadly sword makes this game extremly enjoyable. But Your gunna need about $500.00 for all the controllers you will be going through
  25. FatTony
    Dec 24, 2002
    0
    This is the most repetitive peace of sh*t game ever. The level design is as bad as the story (actually no level can be that bad). One could fall asleep playing this game its so boring and stupid.
  26. GeorgeC.
    Dec 22, 2002
    10
    This game is ALL action! This game is as hard as you trying to put down the controller while playing it. The music also has good beats that you will never get tired of, just remember... if one part gets too hard, put down the controller and stop playing it FAST... to prevent yourself throwing the controller around in anger.
  27. SammytheBull
    Dec 17, 2002
    10
    This game is really great. It is old school to the bone. Many people say it has poor graphics, but I think the graphics fit this game perfectly. It has a very fitting music as well. The story is pretty good as well. I was surprised that I wanted to get through a mission quickly just to see what happened in the story. Then there's gameplay. The gameplay in this game is just so good, This game is really great. It is old school to the bone. Many people say it has poor graphics, but I think the graphics fit this game perfectly. It has a very fitting music as well. The story is pretty good as well. I was surprised that I wanted to get through a mission quickly just to see what happened in the story. Then there's gameplay. The gameplay in this game is just so good, you'll find yourself replaying levels because they are so fun. Some people say this game is way to hard, but I think the difficulty is just perfect. If it wasn't for the poor level design, this game could've been some truly special. Expand
  28. FlameSniper
    Nov 25, 2002
    7
    I loved the prequels because of the cool graphics and great handling. I never got bored. Shinobi for PS2 hasn't got the innovations and graphics that kick me from my seat. Well, the camera angle is very frustrating. You can adjust it yourself but when you try to adjust you're most likely hit by the enemy already. Weak graphic, good handling, bad camera, too hard but challenging I loved the prequels because of the cool graphics and great handling. I never got bored. Shinobi for PS2 hasn't got the innovations and graphics that kick me from my seat. Well, the camera angle is very frustrating. You can adjust it yourself but when you try to adjust you're most likely hit by the enemy already. Weak graphic, good handling, bad camera, too hard but challenging nevertheless. Expand
  29. RickB
    Nov 21, 2002
    7
    First i would like to say shut the fuck up GRAHAM G. I mean damn, you sound so stupid in your review, oh wait its not a review since you did't say shit about the game you fuck head.. And what the fuck is this thing about having taste in a video game, Who the fuck are you, no one gives a shit about your review.. And "let the big boys play the real stuff" Fuck you. You must be some oldFirst i would like to say shut the fuck up GRAHAM G. I mean damn, you sound so stupid in your review, oh wait its not a review since you did't say shit about the game you fuck head.. And what the fuck is this thing about having taste in a video game, Who the fuck are you, no one gives a shit about your review.. And "let the big boys play the real stuff" Fuck you. You must be some old fart who plays games that his mom still buys( and you have to beg for it).. you LOSER.. Next time say something about the game and i won't make you look like a fag you fuckin bitch.. Now to the game(i'll make it short since i had put GRAHAM(GAY) in his place.
    This game is decent, its controls a good, the ninja(Hotsuma) is somewhat very easy, its very nimble and you can quickly pull of basic attack moves..The sound is ok though, kind of popish like to me.. but ok..The graphics is very good almost MSG 2 good. It has many sharp visuals and great effects.. The down side is the camera( which is almost every game's downside) but other than that its pretty good.. I won't go into the camera thing, if your a gamer you know what im taking about, well thats it, i think many gamers should rent then buy this game
    Expand
  30. ShortyD
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    Hey Graham G go suk a big one u big fruit, how dare u not respect ones opinion u little braqt, if i knew where u lived i would go and beat u down myself. NO one has the time to write the essays u write. Go GET A LIFE!!!!!!!!!! Dont bother listening to this @$$hole, now that i got that off my chest, go play this game it brings back the old feel of the shinobi game. the reviewrs are Hey Graham G go suk a big one u big fruit, how dare u not respect ones opinion u little braqt, if i knew where u lived i would go and beat u down myself. NO one has the time to write the essays u write. Go GET A LIFE!!!!!!!!!! Dont bother listening to this @$$hole, now that i got that off my chest, go play this game it brings back the old feel of the shinobi game. the reviewrs are wrong this game is actually kind of easy. Who really cares about the level desighn. All i want is action baybee. If you are a fan of the series go get this game unless ur a little queer like Graham G. Tarik T., Vern V im with u all the way, i only took the time to write this paragraph to back u up homies, do yo gang t hang. Expand
  31. GrahamGreene
    Nov 17, 2002
    0
    Seriously people, who would pay $49.99 to play as some gay ninja who wears skin-tight clothing and a mile long scarf that he probably stole from Santa Clause? Kyle B, even though your taste in games is clearly shitty for giving this "game" a 10, you aer smart for at least writing SOMETHING on this game. I suggest that you (Kyle) just read and not play video games, you're clearly waySeriously people, who would pay $49.99 to play as some gay ninja who wears skin-tight clothing and a mile long scarf that he probably stole from Santa Clause? Kyle B, even though your taste in games is clearly shitty for giving this "game" a 10, you aer smart for at least writing SOMETHING on this game. I suggest that you (Kyle) just read and not play video games, you're clearly way too sophisticated for us gamers. Unlike Tarik T and Vern V (if those r ur real names) who mispell everything and write shitty one-liner reviews like sentence one of both their reviews. And how dare Tarik T compare Devil May Cry to this worthless piece of repetitivness. On top of you two both having shitty ass taste, you both can't write a goddamn review. I wouldn't spend shit on a game because two idiots said it was the shit. Why don't you two go back to playing Antz Extreme Racing and let the big boys play the real stuff. Expand
  32. KyleB.
    Nov 15, 2002
    10
    This wonderfully old school game is a great release from the constant stealth approach from the more popular ninja and ninja like games. This game is completely straight forward, bad guys teleport in and you deal with them in a few seconds. This game, contrary to what most people say, does not have bland back grounds. They are perfect for the game and the enemies do not look unoriginal. This wonderfully old school game is a great release from the constant stealth approach from the more popular ninja and ninja like games. This game is completely straight forward, bad guys teleport in and you deal with them in a few seconds. This game, contrary to what most people say, does not have bland back grounds. They are perfect for the game and the enemies do not look unoriginal. The game is though very, very, very, very difficult. That goes along though with shinboi's proud tradition of great difficulty. The ninja magic is fun to watch and the stealth dash is very cool indeed. Every time you perform a 'tate' you get the satisfaction of a nifty one liner and watching the enemies fall to pieces behind you. This game is a very good action game and should not be overlooked by anyone but people who become very easily frustrated by constant repition. Expand
  33. VernV.
    Nov 14, 2002
    10
    This game is the sh.t. I'm talking all the way i rented it at first but after that i bought it and now i can't put the dam thing down!!!!!
  34. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    It's an awesome premise and the gameplay is extremely stylistic, but it's also repetitive and doesn't prove to that much of a challenge. It's not a bad game, but it's not necessarily a good one either. It's fun every now and then, and the story is pretty good, but I would never buy it at it's original price - however it does live up to it's $2 price at Gamestop. The scene work is probablyIt's an awesome premise and the gameplay is extremely stylistic, but it's also repetitive and doesn't prove to that much of a challenge. It's not a bad game, but it's not necessarily a good one either. It's fun every now and then, and the story is pretty good, but I would never buy it at it's original price - however it does live up to it's $2 price at Gamestop. The scene work is probably the most (and only) truly impressive quality, yet it is limited by it's horrendous voice acting. Collapse
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. There's very little need for strategy and the gameplay may grow weary to some, but it does manage to have tons of style, challenge and action to spare.
  2. Those looking for a game with lots of challenge and a distinct sense of style would do well to check out Shinobi.
  3. 74
    A decent tribute to its source material, but fails to capture its best qualities.