Sonic Riders PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Sonic Riders Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Sonic Teaem, Tokyo, Sonic Riders integrates Extreme sports, high-speed racing and head-to-head battles, offering a new racing experience with Sonic unlike any before in other racing games. In Sonic Riders, Dr. Eggman challenges Sonic and his friends to a Worldwide Grand Prix,Developed by Sonic Teaem, Tokyo, Sonic Riders integrates Extreme sports, high-speed racing and head-to-head battles, offering a new racing experience with Sonic unlike any before in other racing games. In Sonic Riders, Dr. Eggman challenges Sonic and his friends to a Worldwide Grand Prix, and the prize for coming out on top is an ultra-rare Chaos Emerald! Gliding on air boards – which are performance-oriented for each playable character – gamers experience a heightened sense of sports-style racing tension as Sonic and his pals perform tricks and stunts over treacherous wide-open terrain. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 41
  2. Negative: 9 out of 41
  1. The biggest problem is that there is no online gameplay. And for the more experienced and hardcore adult gamer, this game will get boring very quick[ly].
  2. Sonic Riders can occasionally be quite entertaining, but too many of those entertaining moments are overridden by bouts of frustration and weak mechanics.
  3. 55
    Sonic Riders is simply a weak attempt to cash in on the popular Sonic brand with a bare bones racer that simply does everything to the “average” degree.
  4. Sonic fans may fill their need for speed here, but everyone else, please walk on.
  5. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    50
    An undercooked cartoon racer that again blemishest eh once-great Sonic name. Only the sense of speed prevents total unplayability. [Apr 2006, p.106]
  6. Computer Games Magazine
    20
    But this isn't so much a racing game as a slapdash splash of smeared color that never quite captures the feeling of hurtling down a track. [Jun 2006, p.92]

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. SamH.
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    Okay, I just got the game and I'm a really big fan of Sonic and found this game so much fun and has amazing graphics. get this game, Okay, I just got the game and I'm a really big fan of Sonic and found this game so much fun and has amazing graphics. get this game, you'd be the happiest person alive. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    9
    This is similar to kart racers, but this futuristic racing style succeeds for the most part. The racing options and the story are very amusing fun.
  3. Mar 24, 2015
    9
    Good things about the game: good graphics good storyline and very enjoyable! Bad things: hardly any stages and the game is at times boring.Good things about the game: good graphics good storyline and very enjoyable! Bad things: hardly any stages and the game is at times boring. But overall Sonic riders is a great game Expand
  4. MarkK.
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    A decent game, just let down by poor mechanics and average graphics.
  5. Feb 21, 2013
    6
    This game has a very interesting spin on the kart racing genre. I like that they didnt go with generic kart racer and went with some new, andThis game has a very interesting spin on the kart racing genre. I like that they didnt go with generic kart racer and went with some new, and quite interesting ideas. however, the controls and overall design hold this game back from being great, and make it more of a lackluster title, which wont quite give you hours upon hours of fun. This game is still fun and enjoyable, but it couldve been excecuted better. I got my copy at a Gian Tiger brand new for $5.77, so i definitely got my moneys worth, but i wouldnt pay anymore than 10$ for this experience. For racing and sonic fans only. If you arent a fan of either, id stay well away. Personally, I think this is a cool game, but it could have been done much better. Expand
  6. DaveCharlton
    Mar 24, 2008
    6
    I don't think Sonic Riders should be judged too harshly on the back of its difficulty level, but criticisms of the soundtrack, graphicsI don't think Sonic Riders should be judged too harshly on the back of its difficulty level, but criticisms of the soundtrack, graphics and level design are well warranted. Whether it's all really worth the learning curve is up to the game. I'm someone who thought the Dreamcast version of F1 World Grand Prix was one of the most rewarding racers he had ever played. Needless to say, Sonic Riders, with its dodgy level design, atrocious music, obnoxious voice overs and unintuitive controls couldn't dream of being in the same league, but there is some fun to be had if you have the patience to get used to it. Collapse
  7. May 19, 2011
    4
    Even at "super Sonic" speed, Sonic Riders feels sluggish. Pros: Flashy visuals; glossy soundtrack; overall, it's a stylish racer that has someEven at "super Sonic" speed, Sonic Riders feels sluggish. Pros: Flashy visuals; glossy soundtrack; overall, it's a stylish racer that has some good ideas. Cons: The turbulence system frequently robs you of gameplay; wonky controls; poor track designs; frustrating mechanics and AI. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#55 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006