• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 25, 2005
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Mythological hack and slash epic. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  2. Spartan Total Warrior doesn't remind me of anything before it, which is extremely rare. [Nov p.70]
  3. 90
    Mindless hack-and-whack style gameplay stays hot thanks to interesting objectives. Spartan is constantly throwing new gameplay elements at you.
  4. What Spartan lacks in depth is made good by some top-drawer visuals and satisfying combat. A corking console debut for Creative Assembly. [PSM2]
  5. A very good beat 'em up adventure with hundreds of simultaneous enemies. Too bad the awful Athens-level is a major pain in the backside. [Oct 2005]
  6. Most games lose their luster after you've killed the 999th warrior, but Total Warrior keeps things fresh throughout the journey.
  7. While not the super-strategic romp some of you were expecting, Spartan: Total Warrior delivers the goods if you’re looking for a solid chunk of challenging action from start to finish.
  8. It's one of the most polished games I've played since "The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction." [Nov 2005, p.138]
  9. Aside from the odd mood breaker, somewhat sluggish load times between menus, and occasional repetitive gameplay, Spartan: Total Warrior manages to bridge the familiar RTS brand to the console world through its silky-smooth framerate, very respectable visuals, and deviously violent gameplay.
  10. This is a game about hitting people. It's pretty damn good.
  11. The combat is satisfying, the setting is grand and the amount of troops on screen is amazing - this is war on a scale rarely seen in games and it puts the likes of "Dynasty Warriors" to shame for its combination of sheer numbers and exceptional graphics, with an outstanding soundtrack that completes the atmosphere of this historical adventure.
  12. Spartan is one of those games that may not appeal to everyone, but for those who enjoy the ancient Roman time period and like just hacking and slashing, then Spartan: Total Warrior is a great game.
  13. If you're up for a challange and don't mind taking on the entire Roman empire yourself, Spartan: Total Warrior is waiting.
  14. For an action packed take on the ever popular Roman hack and slash genre, Spartan is the most spectacular example yet. [PSW]
  15. Creative Assembly's first console effort is a satisfying, action-filled hack-and-slash.
  16. Tough but ultimately superb gameplay. Only a hero and story are the game's Achilles' heel. [Nov 2005, p.116]
  17. With its simple gameplay and involving story, Spartan: Total Warrior is a perfect blend of strategy game and hack’n’slash romp.
  18. 79
    It's unfortunate that the unrefined targeting system, cheap boss battles and generally unhelpful friendly AI make the experience a mixed bag of exhilarating and exasperating moments.
  19. The boss fights are frustrating to the point of idiocy, and are made worse by the annoying checkpoint system... It sure beats the hell out of another "Dynasty Warriors" retreat, though. [Oct 2005, p.119]
  20. It tends to shift between greatness and mediocrity with the frequency of your average rollercoaster ride, but the great parts are easily worth a look by anyone who enjoys beat-'em-ups.
  21. We weren’t particularly bothered that we had to wait while our health/power gauge increased slowly, but what we didn’t like was the fact that Spartan couldn’t protect himself at all when praying at the statues.
  22. 74
    An accomplished and well-crafted battle-axe wielding warrior of a game. Just don't expect anything classic, historically speaking.
  23. For the most part, Spartan: Total Warrior is a pretty good action effort. Unfortunately, the high production values and engaging gameplay of the Total War games are nowhere to be found here.
  24. It only betrays itself completely once – in a dismally conventional boss battle around halfway through – though at times Spartan threatens to become routine, it never does, thanks to its strong character, handsome looks and sheer, irrepressible verve. [Nov 2005, p.96]
  25. If "God Of War" never happened, Spartan: Total Warrior would have been a great example of a simple, gratuitous action game. As it is, it’s merely a good one. [Nov 2005, p.124]
  26. Though it can be an intense experience, Spartan does have a tendency to become quite repetitive at times. Having said that there is a solid combat system and enough variety that will please action fans.
  27. The problem with the game, though, is being the only soldier in an army of thousands who's able to do the most basic things - open doors, light fuses, fire arrows. It gets old extremely fast. [Nov 2005, p.76]
  28. If you are looking for an epic battle game that takes place in the ancient world, go get yourself a copy of "Rome Total War," if you want an awesome battle game where you are one soldier against many foes then go get yourself a copy of "God of War."
  29. It’s got some fun gameplay elements and a cool setting, but it fails as a superb action game that a lot of people were definitely expecting it to be.
  30. 60
    But when the balance shifts from "I'm going to keep trying because I know I can get better" to "I'm going to keep trying to justify the $50 I just spent," then there's a problem.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    This game is by far the best game that came ever out on the ps2, lots of actions and challenging missions, THEY NEED TO DO A REMAKE FOR PS4 !! Creative Assembly !! Full Review »
  2. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    When I was younger around 6th or 7th grade. I played this game for a very long time. I might haVE HAD OVER 1000+ HOURS. This and Shadow of Rome.

    I also played and still do play, ALL of the Total War games ever made. Even, "'War Warlord" and Viking. Much love to C.A.

    I trust you'll never release a game in such a mess like you did with Rome: Total War 2 ever again. I hope you've learned your lesson people are mad redeem yourselves.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 24, 2013
    7
    this game is so good and so addictive and it is as well challenging and has a lot of gore and blood and it would have been an awesome game but for it came after god of war so it found a great rival that it can't beat Full Review »