Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SSX On Tour is a completely fresh take on the SSX franchise. Building on the core speed and trick gameplay that has been so successful in the past, players can now choose their way to become black diamond fiends. SSX On Tour allows players to create their own boarder or skier and take them from a wannabe to a mountain rockstar. Players can get noticed in all-new shred challenges where they earn an invitation to The Tour where they'll face the best racers in the SSX cast. Fly down the all-new tracks, and master the new monster tricks for both boarding and skiing to make it to the top of The Charts. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. As addictive as its predecessor thanks to its hypnotic racing, perfect feel and disregard for videogame rules.
  2. The fact that the mountain is alive and teeming with other skiers makes this game that much better because it has a feeling of more realism in comparison to the other games in the series.
  3. Despite the lack of multiplayer options, there are plenty of things to do in the single-player tour mode, and its steady progression in difficulty is wholly satisfying.
  4. EA's desire to reinvent is admirable, but given that this is the fourth outing for a franchise beloved for being different, the move toward the conventional does nothing but hurt it. [Dec 2005, p.114]
  5. Fantastic stuff. It’s the sort of game non-sports fans can pick up and love. Not only is it the best SSX to date, it also features Apply Some Pressure by Maximo Park.
  6. Just doesn't live up to its pedigree which, given the cheaper prices of the older games, are by far better values for those unacquainted with the series.
  7. Dear Tricky, we miss you. [Jan 2006, p.91]

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. JimmyO.
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    Awesome on every level. Stunning art!
  2. EduardoP.
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    Awesome, sweet, BIG.
  3. Mat
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    The best so far... apart from the way you get attributes. If you only buy 3 games this year.. make them SSX on tour, Burnout Revenge and Star Wars Battlefronts 2 Expand
  4. MarkL.
    Oct 17, 2005
    9
    A lot of times it seems like games get critiqued based on the level of innovation or whether or not it introduces something new that's never been seen before. SSX on Tour is every bit as good a game as SSX 3, but I guess because it isn't a next-gen sequel, it fails to get the high marks that previous entries got. Regardless of what anyone says, On Tour provides an action experience that other games don't have. On Tour isn't a huge step up from SSX 3, but it offers some new tracks and the blur effect when you're using boost adds to the feeling of speed. Anthony V., the fact that you're biggest criticism of the game is its "art direction" is pretty telling. I think it's fine, it just adds some personality to what's already a really polished game. There might be less "character development" (you mean there was character development in the previous installments?), but c'mon, everyone knows that the real star of the game is the mountain. I do miss playing as the individual characters in career mode (like in SSX 3), and it was nice to have the character voices. And the addition of skiing doesn't do anything for me at all. The graphics are clearly current-gen, but I can live with it, it's about how the game makes you feel, not how good the graphics are. But one thing I like about this game is that so many games out there might involve violence or have a negative skew (which I don't have a problem with), but it's nice to see a game that you wouldn't have a problem letting your kids play or is about something positive. Not to mention it's one of the most fun video game experiences out there. Inevitably they'll come out with a next-gen SSX game and I'm sure that one'll get all the high marks that this one didn't. Expand
  5. JasonH.
    Oct 19, 2005
    8
    A solid addition to the family. If you have any connection to the 'real' world of snowboarding, you'll recognize that the graphics and boards are ripped right from the hottest 2005/6 trends. Maybe a bit gimmicky to those who just want to max out, level out, and trick out - but for a casual dose of fun it can't be beat. I think Tricky might still be my favorite, but Tour will give you all you need until PS3 comes to town. Expand
  6. HockeyStar
    Nov 27, 2006
    7
    This game is good the "Try To Be Number One On The Charts"is kinda cheesey and the gameplay is fun but there prettymuch is only 2 traks that i like and it isint very realistic with the monster tricks and the giant air but ssx 3 isn't alot more realistic. It is a good game to buy but before you buy it make sure to look up the other options on the internet first. Expand
  7. Drsatan
    Oct 13, 2005
    1
    Same as SSX 1,2, and 3, but now with ski's ! Lacks any character development, brings nothing new to the genre. Career mode is nothing more then a dumb-downed rip-off of Tony Hawk's. Includes a horrible soundtrack, even worse SFX, horrendous artwork, and breaks almost ever rule of design knowen. spend your money on a few elastics and a hair clip, guaranteed more fun. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews