Star Wars: Battlefront II PlayStation 2

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 265
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PeterJ.
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    A little disorientating at first even for the seasoned battlefront player, Battlefront 2 incorporates the best things from the original and then some. Firstly, you'll notice that the hud is different. Secondly, you;ll notice that the original maps (Hoth, Geonosis...) have actually been altered slightly. Also the Infantry and vehicles have been improved graphically. (AT-AT textures A little disorientating at first even for the seasoned battlefront player, Battlefront 2 incorporates the best things from the original and then some. Firstly, you'll notice that the hud is different. Secondly, you;ll notice that the original maps (Hoth, Geonosis...) have actually been altered slightly. Also the Infantry and vehicles have been improved graphically. (AT-AT textures are now far better than they were originally.) Ocassinally, when the battle gets ridiculously tense and there are explosions left right and centre there is a small amount of lag on the PS2, but not much at all. The space missions were an excellent addition, I especially love the screaming voice prompts inside your mother craft. Im too excited about this game to write a fuller review - basically, if you thought Battlefront couldnt get any better - think again. Battlefront 2 will simply blow you away. Can't wait til 31'st October? I got mine today! (30th october) at Choices. Expand
  2. RonitM.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Amazing. Not only are the jedi characters we've been waiting to use since the first battlefront playable, there are amazing space battles, and a variety of missions to keep gamers interested. A must have for star wars fans, this is the best star wars game for any platform ever!
  3. [Anonymous]
    Nov 4, 2005
    8
    This is one of the single greatest games ever, just like its predicessor. Although it is, yes, graphicly inferior to SWBF1, it has its own shining places of glory. Space fights, Jedi, Objectives, its all great. Its just that, space battles aren't that great. It takes way too long just to gte from one cruiser to another, and its really, really, hard to shoot down another ship. It can This is one of the single greatest games ever, just like its predicessor. Although it is, yes, graphicly inferior to SWBF1, it has its own shining places of glory. Space fights, Jedi, Objectives, its all great. Its just that, space battles aren't that great. It takes way too long just to gte from one cruiser to another, and its really, really, hard to shoot down another ship. It can be one of the most enjoyable parts of the game, if you do it with a buddy. The Jedi.... where can i start? If you want a game where you can live through an entire level as a jed, go play Revenge of the Sith. I got killed by pilots( now called engineers) countless times. Of course, it is very rewarding when you get to slaughter clones, rebels, ewoks and everything inbetween. Why an 8? 1) The space battles are very frusterating. 2) Average graphics. 3) Lack of new additions. But the rise of The Empire mode is sooooo cool. THe Jedi Temple level is pretty hard, but rewarding. Expand
  4. Beng.garfinkel
    Nov 8, 2005
    8
    This is game is great! It's just a little better than the first one though. I miss the cool feel and look of the first one, though. It wasn't complicated, just fun. Jedi are cool in this one, there's a sprint meter, you can choose the number of reinforcements, new maps are cool, but space battles are so-so offline. they're fun online though. I'd say this is better This is game is great! It's just a little better than the first one though. I miss the cool feel and look of the first one, though. It wasn't complicated, just fun. Jedi are cool in this one, there's a sprint meter, you can choose the number of reinforcements, new maps are cool, but space battles are so-so offline. they're fun online though. I'd say this is better than the first one but not by much. Expand
  5. DermotR.
    Jan 26, 2006
    9
    The force is very strong in this one. Good work lucas arts.
  6. VinnieP.
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    This game is a great game! You can put the controller down once you start playing!
  7. BobaF.
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    This is definately the best game i have ever played and when i say that i mean it! When i first heard about it i thought it be awesome and i wasnt dissapointed 1 bit.
  8. BigJoe
    Oct 7, 2009
    8
    This game improves greatly on the first, the graphics are better and the gameplay is improved as well with the space and jedi battles. I never really played multiplayer though. The Instant Action and the campaign were created well but the galactic Conquest was better in the first game. However, I do like the new planets and maps. The campaign in the first game had every level the sameThis game improves greatly on the first, the graphics are better and the gameplay is improved as well with the space and jedi battles. I never really played multiplayer though. The Instant Action and the campaign were created well but the galactic Conquest was better in the first game. However, I do like the new planets and maps. The campaign in the first game had every level the same thing, defeat all enemies. This game includes objectives like capture the flag and destroy a certain objective or defend a certain objective. Good work. Expand
  9. LeFarollP.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Better than the first, nice improvment!
  10. LuciW.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    This game is so much bigger than the first and it has a Single Player experience!!! :) I haven't played much of it but its really Awesome so far.
  11. SumDood
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    Yes we know its simliar to the first! OK fine but that still doesnt throw it in the bolier room. It is the most solid sequeal i have ever played. I dont even like the movies but the game is great. Buy this one folks!
  12. Mat
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Truly amazing.. The took the first instalment and made it better. BTW Play this in first person as it is sooooo much better.
  13. ZachM.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Great Game. The graphics arnt the best, but all the other aspects of the game make up for that. i sick of hearing people writing that the space battles suck. Take my word for it when i say the space battles rock. Me and my brother have played space battles now for 1 week every free minute we get and am not nearly sick of the space battles. And, adding jedi to game you coundnt get a better Great Game. The graphics arnt the best, but all the other aspects of the game make up for that. i sick of hearing people writing that the space battles suck. Take my word for it when i say the space battles rock. Me and my brother have played space battles now for 1 week every free minute we get and am not nearly sick of the space battles. And, adding jedi to game you coundnt get a better mix. This game is one of the best of there for ps2. Take my word for it after playing, Rainbow six lockdown, and Conflict: Global Terror, and bringing both of them back after about two weeks of owning them. This is a fun and great game!! Expand
  14. KevK.
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    This game is great and I don't care what any of you say. This is the best shooter I have ever played. I have played Halo 2 on my friends Xbox and from playing BFII so much I thought Halo 2 sucked. This game is the pinnacle of perfection. At least until/unless they make BFIII.
  15. LeoHernandez
    Jan 2, 2006
    9
    hey, yeah the game is a bit too similiar to the first one, but hey, SO WHAT? the first one was a great game, so why goin another path from such a great game. hey and online is not bad! haha, seth sorry to let you down but it is ur internet connection that affects it, not ther servers. also games aren about graphics, lol, never, they are about the gameplay, i rather have fun than eyecandy,hey, yeah the game is a bit too similiar to the first one, but hey, SO WHAT? the first one was a great game, so why goin another path from such a great game. hey and online is not bad! haha, seth sorry to let you down but it is ur internet connection that affects it, not ther servers. also games aren about graphics, lol, never, they are about the gameplay, i rather have fun than eyecandy, theres no argue with that. and they did fix a lot of things from the first one, like the facts there wasnt space battles, and starfighters were in maps that had foot ifhgting also, which as really cheap cuz it was impossible to take down a star fighter without another star fighter (ex. Naboo Plains!) also its got jedi, which are awesome if u know how to use them well, and hey the game its fun! even offline! its fun fun fun, doesnt get old. the things that made me unhappy is that now killing enemies is a it tougher, i thing the 1st one had smoother controls and crosshairs, but danm the lasers were so slow people could dodge them easily, not with the 2nd one, they go so fast that they are hard to dodge, but yeah, its also hard to shoot ur target, lol. well i give a 9 because of that controls part, but besides that, greast star wars game, best one there is so far, THIS GAME ROCKS, GO BUY IT IF YOU HAVEN'T. Expand
  16. AnthonyD.
    Jan 9, 2006
    8
    online could use a little work but regular one player gaming is very good, i found the space battles very easy, i dont likecollecting points to unlock special characters and jedi in the other one you dont even have to unlock it, Also the levels in battlefront one has a little better levels and more terrain, but some of the lvls are the same, and u cant jump out of planes and vechicles. so online could use a little work but regular one player gaming is very good, i found the space battles very easy, i dont likecollecting points to unlock special characters and jedi in the other one you dont even have to unlock it, Also the levels in battlefront one has a little better levels and more terrain, but some of the lvls are the same, and u cant jump out of planes and vechicles. so i say its pretty good but could use some work- Expand
  17. okeedokey
    Mar 29, 2006
    8
    I give this an 8 and not 10 because the maps dissapointed me. I like a few of the swbf 1 maps (both the Bespin maps) and also the fact that you could choose to have a air battle or foot battle because I like to switch around every so often and there is an easier way of capping command posts from using an aircraft and going straight to a command post. But I think the new point system forI give this an 8 and not 10 because the maps dissapointed me. I like a few of the swbf 1 maps (both the Bespin maps) and also the fact that you could choose to have a air battle or foot battle because I like to switch around every so often and there is an easier way of capping command posts from using an aircraft and going straight to a command post. But I think the new point system for Jedi and special units and also the maximum is a good change for those online players or players that like a challenge. If they didn't use that point system then i'd probly rate it about a 6. Expand
  18. CharlieS.
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    Great game, hard to play on at start, but great once you get used to it. Much better than the 1st one.
  19. M.G.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    This is a reall fun game. always something new for every mission, wether it bieng an upgrade, or a bonus purchased. this game never gets boring.
  20. JackT.
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    This is the best game. It is super fun when you have a friend over. When you play two player it is always fun to try and kill each other.
  21. GrantR.
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    One of my favorite games of all time. Mark M, you do know that you can turn OFF heroes at any time and that most people do that online. The the "Proning" was removed because snipers could use it to glitch through spaces or camp in places that were completely inaccessible. You wondered why people only played snipers and vehicles in the larger maps of the first game? There are 2 jet-packOne of my favorite games of all time. Mark M, you do know that you can turn OFF heroes at any time and that most people do that online. The the "Proning" was removed because snipers could use it to glitch through spaces or camp in places that were completely inaccessible. You wondered why people only played snipers and vehicles in the larger maps of the first game? There are 2 jet-pack characters (4 if you include heroes), the characters are essentially untouched from the original...jeez, what game were you playing? Oh, and lastly, if "the second one just copied the first one", then how is the "first game better"? Uhhg, Headache... Expand
  22. DerekS.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Great Game! if you like fast paced shooters, being jedi's, and dogfighting in space ships you are going to love this game. It is 10x better than Battlefront 2 and has many online rooms to satisfy all levels of experience and dificultly.
  23. CoreyA.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    This is a great game. Even if ther are a few things that are lacking from the first ther's plenty to make up for it.
  24. ChrisP.
    Nov 3, 2005
    9
    Love this game.. cant type, I have to go and play!
  25. KobeB.
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    This game is gooder then the first because theres a guy with a chaingun.
  26. BenjiO.
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    this is quite possibly the best game i have ever played. The graphics are easily the best ever seen in a star wars game, and i would compare the gameplay to god of war or resident evil 4, due to the fatc that were great games based mostly on the gameplay. The jedi playability in this game is terrific, and it is exactly what we needed in the last game.. wel that and the SPACE COMBAT!! this this is quite possibly the best game i have ever played. The graphics are easily the best ever seen in a star wars game, and i would compare the gameplay to god of war or resident evil 4, due to the fatc that were great games based mostly on the gameplay. The jedi playability in this game is terrific, and it is exactly what we needed in the last game.. wel that and the SPACE COMBAT!! this is the part of the game that simply blew my mind. the animations and the sheer number of units and ships onscreen was amazing. i really believe thisgame is one of the best of all time. As far as online goes, the lag we battled on the last version is nearly eliminated, and up to 30 players could get on and kick butt. I loved the new unit types and ships, and all of these wonderful things combined = a wonderful game. this is trully a 10/10 game. if g4tv's xplay doesn't give this game a 5/5 then i will send more hate mail in 1 day then all the full metal alchemists fans could send in a lifetime. this game was wonderful, and i would b willing to spend $150.00 on this masterpiece. pandemic studios kicked ass on this one! Great Job! Expand
  27. AaronW.
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    star wars battlefront2 rocks the house but i get still have to get online and play with my freind you finally get to play as a jedi.
  28. JakeK.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    this game is amzazing. Whever gave this game less than a 6 has no taste in games. Because this was better than the first. Although some of the maps were a lot better in the first, this was still a great game. Cant wait for the 3rd.
  29. SteveL.
    May 17, 2006
    10
    I love this game.
  30. Nin_ninja
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    Its a great game for you SW fans like me,I love fighting in space.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#12 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. PSM Magazine
    90
    Space battles can be overwhelming at first, but once you get used to them, it's pretty amazing. [Dec 2005, p.82]
  2. The signature piece of Battlefront II is the ship-to-ship combat... This element makes Battlefront II feel much more like the complete Star Wars experience. [Dec 2005, p.108]
  3. 80
    It captures the thrills of the original, and spices up a few areas while adding some new things. Unfortunately, space battles drag down the total package; but at least it's trying something different.